Off The Ball Official Thread <Mod Note - Post #1, #533, #6651>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭Frankie Lee

foxtrot101 wrote: »
    I thought Gilroy by far the better of the two when he was paired with Claire Byrne. She was dreadful. Not particularly bright and not that pleasant a person either. Yet look at how her career has gone since.

Oh she was atrocious but she has a somewhat pretty face. They were very awkward together.
    Ger still couldn't make it despite the number of chances he had on non sports shows. Chris O'Donoghue could.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭Historybluff

pc7 wrote: »
    Don't have an interest in soccer so not enjoying the paper review today. Boo hiss.

I don't think Stephen Kenny was a good guest on the newspaper review today. Joe asked him some fairly innocuous questions and he avoided answering them.

Apparently Kenny stopped going to Ireland soccer matches when Charlton was the manager. Joe asked him if this was true. Kenny spent the next five minutes waffling on about Charlton, Ireland etc. but avoiding giving an answer. Joe pressed him once or twice, asking him if the reason he skipped the matches was because of Ireland's unimaginative tactics. Again, after a nervous laugh, Kenny responded with waffle. In the end, he almost had to be dragged kicking and screaming by Joe and Dan McDonald into revealing that he didn't like Charlton's long ball tactics. Why was he so reticient? Is he so used to manager interviews with the tactic is the talk a lot and say nothing of any real interest?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

It was more like the Stephen Kenny review more than a paper review.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭Historybluff

It was more like the Stephen Kenny review more than a paper review.

Agreed. They talked about nothing except soccer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,367 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

I turned off half way in as I just kept zoning out, hopefully they don't have him on again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Dots1982

I don't think Stephen Kenny was a good guest on the newspaper review today. Joe asked him some fairly innocuous questions and he avoided answering them.

Apparently Kenny stopped going to Ireland soccer matches when Charlton was the manager. Joe asked him if this was true. Kenny spent the next five minutes waffling on about Charlton, Ireland etc. but avoiding giving an answer. Joe pressed him once or twice, asking him if the reason he skipped the matches was because of Ireland's unimaginative tactics. Again, after a nervous laugh, Kenny responded with waffle. In the end, he almost had to be dragged kicking and screaming by Joe and Dan McDonald into revealing that he didn't like Charlton's long ball tactics. Why was he so reticient? Is he so used to manager interviews with the tactic is the talk a lot and say nothing of any real interest?

Was it just me that thought he had a problem with English born players declaring for us? Or maybe with charlton being English himself? He brought up Aldridge and Houghton and seemed to be considering to make a point about them but never committed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,697 ✭✭✭elefant

Least interesting paper review in a long time I felt.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,367 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

Good god Quinlan can't even sound excited after the win against England.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,029 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

I've heard Kenny being interviewed before, and while you can't deny his achievements as a manager, he is the most boring human being on the face of the planet, he has nothing to say for himself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Dots1982

I've heard Kenny being interviewed before, and while you can't deny his achievements as a manager, he is the most boring human being on the face of the planet, he has nothing to say for himself.

Chris Hughton giving him a run in the boring man who is a good football manager stakes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

Kenny was poor. He never really answered a question. He had to be coaxed. e.g. when he was giving out about Charlton's style of football. Did you and your friends slate it? He couldn't give a yes or no answer and then expand.
    Same with the Bayern Munich training session. What did you take from it? Couldn't answer...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

pc7 wrote: »
    Don't have an interest in soccer so not enjoying the paper review today. Boo hiss.

Agree, but I tuned in 20 minutes into the show and thought it was Paul Kimmage talking about all the soccer coaching courses he done and I was wondering if it was for a book he was writing!

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

I was surprised they had Kenny on the panel. He was on a few months ago, maybe it was the Saturday panel?

Even back then he was his usual lots of words around the houses but saying nothing specific on the topic at hand.
    So when I heard he was on the paper review I thought maybe he'd got a handle on himself or the Newstalk team thought they'd got a handle on him.
    Unfortunately neither. Kinda interesting at the beginning talking about his international coaching experience but that dried up quickly.

Nice guy but not fit for discussion radio. A weekend at Kimmage boot camp might do him good :).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,295 ✭✭✭Lt Dan

I've seen lots of people reference this point when discussing this show or Newstalk in general. I am curious why people feel that being an employee of a company owned by DOB should preclude someone from having an opinion on some matters.

Are people who work in the HSE not allowed an opinion on bad practices within it for example?

Ha ha

Ask Sam Smyth

The sudden death of the captain of a LOI team is hardly newsworthy to OTB these days.

It took over 15 minutes of nonsensical banter before they got to it.

The sudden death of the captain of a LOI team is hardly newsworthy to OTB these days.

Thing is, a few years ago, Newstalk took over from RTE as the Official Station for the League of Ireland. When it was a Dublin station is often broadcasted lives games. When they went National and became the Official Station, they barely broadcasted many games. Just a token 30 minute slot with Shoddy Collins .

Previously, RTE Around the Ground radio coverage was unmissable when needing to keep an ear on the other scores or coming out of a game and wanting to check in

So, hardly expect that those tossers were going to cover this, despite many in the Football Community commenting on it

Dare I ask, what did the banter consist of ?

Anyone give me the 411 on Second Captains. Is it any good anymore? Podcasts , eh? Same style as before? Kinda prefer live shows but...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,878 ✭✭✭dr.kenneth noisewater

Lt Dan wrote: »
    Dare I ask, what did the banter consist of ?

Whats the sorest injury to get in soccer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,878 ✭✭✭dr.kenneth noisewater

Anyone give me the 411 on Second Captains. Is it any good anymore? Podcasts , eh? Same style as before? Kinda prefer live shows but...
    I think its improved a lot since the change to paid subscription and having daily podcasts. I felt they were falling behind as they would talking about something big from a Monday night game or Tuesday on Thursday and you had already heard everything already from other sources.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Live shows are much better, but still SC beats OTB easily.

Listened to the Robbie Savage interview last night. Pretty boring, I'm afraid.

OTB in the old days was like some funny blokes talking sport in the pub. Now it's just some regular lads talking sport in Costa.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Plus you don't have to listen to ads for Mercedes Benz and health insurance every 4 minutes.

Whats the sorest injury to get in soccer

"I would imagine death, joe. Speaking of death, we have reports of a sad case in Derry.............."

Some lead up :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 671 ✭✭✭Quintis

The Marmion interview was cringe at times, far from his best

• Closed Accounts Posts: 907 ✭✭✭foxtrot101

Quintis wrote: »
    The Marmion interview was cringe at times, far from his best

"Did your mother and farther come over for the match"..."eh...my farther passed away three years ago"

That was really bad form.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,607 ✭✭✭djemba djemba

Sunday papers review is moving to podcast from next week on until the end of the premier league season.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭PeterTheNinth

lol... Joe caught bad there...

Journalist: "We used to work with Joe Lee, he used to write a weekly column. And we all called him Angelina".
    Joe: "Why?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭PeterTheNinth

Sunday papers review is moving to podcast from next week on until the end of the premier league season.

Interesting to know. Gonna download that today, caught a bit of Andy Lee and it sounded good. They are starting to rely a bit too much on curmudgeon Declan Lynch though, he must live near by or something.