What unusual things does your pet do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 656 ✭✭✭AryaStark

My husky just loves to take peoples socks off and lick their feet. If she sees somebody in socks she gets very excited and the socks come off in 2 seconds flat. She will then hold the foot down with her paw while she goes mad on the toes!!! Freaks some people out!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,816 ✭✭✭lulu1

AryaStark wrote: »
    My husky just loves to take peoples socks off and lick their feet. If she sees somebody in socks she gets very excited and the socks come off in 2 seconds flat. She will then hold the foot down with her paw while she goes mad on the toes!!! Freaks some people out!!!

Our dog is exactly the same you can not go in your stocking feet. And shoelaces when he was a pup
    A lady used to come to visit and he always made for her shoelaces we laughed but she wasn't amused :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Well, yes it would! A dog that size attacking your feet! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 656 ✭✭✭AryaStark

Graces7 wrote: »
    [/B]

Well, yes it would! A dog that size attacking your feet! :eek:

Here she is hard at work... as you can see she likes to get a good grip!

I have very ticklish feet so she cannot do mine!!!

Oh god, I hate a foot licker! We had a foot licking dog when I was a kid, might be why I never take my shoes off ever, as an adult! I don't like being licked by dogs, which is unfortunate because my ma's Lab is a licker. we were lucky for about 15 years every dog we had wasn't a licky one. But Reggie is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,377 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

I don't know if it's unusual but out puppy won't stop eating my shrubs in the garden. She has one of them near destroyed. When I tell her no she'll stop and walk away but the second I go back inside she's at them again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,556 ✭✭✭mymo

Jayop wrote: »
    I don't know if it's unusual but out puppy won't stop eating my shrubs in the garden. She has one of them near destroyed. When I tell her no she'll stop and walk away but the second I go back inside she's at them again.

May be boredom, find something else for her to destroy, a friend put treats in papers inside boxes, shoe box then more papers with treats into bigger box.
    This was for a small breed dog, and she used some of her dog nuts.
    Or try a kong or two.

However some dogs just like attacking stuff, they go through crazy phases as pups too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,360 ✭✭✭BetsyEllen

Cleo my 8 year old cat goes funny when I'm chopping carrots.
    I'll give her a piece and she'll roll all over it, heabdutt it and go into a weird trance like state.
    Similar to catnip!

Also when I wash the kitchen floors with bleach I have to put her outside as the smell has the same effect as carrots - she starts rolling around like a mad thing!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,377 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

mymo wrote: »
    May be boredom, find something else for her to destroy, a friend put treats in papers inside boxes, shoe box then more papers with treats into bigger box.
    This was for a small breed dog, and she used some of her dog nuts.
    Or try a kong or two.

However some dogs just like attacking stuff, they go through crazy phases as pups too.

Thanks mymo. I doubt it's boredom because the garden is full of toys and that's the first thing she does when she goes out. So long as it does her no harm it'll be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

BetsyEllen wrote: »
    Cleo my 8 year old cat goes funny when I'm chopping carrots.
    I'll give her a piece and she'll roll all over it, heabdutt it and go into a weird trance like state.
    Similar to catnip!

Also when I wash the kitchen floors with bleach I have to put her outside as the smell has the same effect as carrots - she starts rolling around like a mad thing!

Bleach is a thing for some cats all right - a colleague of mine has to lock her cat out when she's cleaning the bathroom as the cat will lick the tiles.
    And I can't stroke one of ours when I've been to the local pool. The smell of bleach off my hands makes him try and eat them....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,360 ✭✭✭BetsyEllen

Shenshen wrote: »
    Bleach is a thing for some cats all right - a colleague of mine has to lock her cat out when she's cleaning the bathroom as the cat will lick the tiles.
    And I can't stroke one of ours when I've been to the local pool. The smell of bleach off my hands makes him try and eat them....

It's strange that's it's only some cats, my other 2 aren't bothered at all by it. Or the carrots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭MadamRazz

Pepper likes to drink the water at the bottom of the shower when I get out. Anyone elses do that?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,005 ✭✭✭pilly

MadamRazz wrote: »
    Pepper likes to drink the water at the bottom of the shower when I get out. Anyone elses do that?

Don't know if Pepper is a dog or cat but yes my old dog used to always do that. At first I thought there was no water in his bowl but no it was full to the brim, he must have just like the taste of chemicals. :)

pilly wrote:
    Don't know if Pepper is a dog or cat but yes my old dog used to always do that. At first I thought there was no water in his bowl but no it was full to the brim, he must have just like the taste of chemicals.

Sorry Pepper is a cat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,663 ✭✭✭Milly33

love the stories! the joys of animals... Mr. B has many quirky ways, one would be he plays fetch (he is a cat) he goes made for those bulldog hairclips, you thow it and he will go get and bring it back to you. He also goes into a bit of a trance when you rub his nose and he likes when you file his nails

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

Squeaks slipper fetish is getting worse by the day :pac::D I can't leave them anywhere without her sleeping on them!

Yr6wSSBl.jpg

When the Pepper cat was small, he used to get my used underwear out of the wash basket and sleep on them.

Jacob cat cannot bear to let a day pass without bringing me a gift... They are getting smaller every day.. today a pygmy shrew, poor wee thing....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,005 ✭✭✭pilly

MadamRazz wrote: »
    When the Pepper cat was small, he used to get my used underwear out of the wash basket and sleep on them.

TMI Madam. :D:D Since we're being so open though I'd a dog that used to eat them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭jenn1984

Our 10 month old male kitten Zaza will growl at the other cats if anyone comes near him when he is eating veggies (cooked broccoli and sweet potato are his favs). He also goes mad for vanilla ice cream (when he gets it).

pilly wrote:
    TMI Madam. Since we're being so open though I'd a dog that used to eat them!

No such think pilly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,300 ✭✭✭hairyprincess

My 10 month old pup when we go to the beach will only dig holes between my two feet. And will bark into the hole. He will only dig so far before he'll give me the look that tells me to move on so he can start another dig!

Well, when I crawled out of bed earlier, it was to find my big old boycat apparently chewing.. in fact I had thought he was at the raw chicken leg that was in their bowl...was what roused me the crunch munch crunch noises...

Then I saw the fur.

I have no idea what it was when alive or what part of what it was when it was alive. Not rodent. I can guess who brought it in... :eek: Very furry though... Managed to scoop it up and evict it but still no idea what or who it was.

I can guess who brought it in though....

All three now fast asleep on the bed... Well fed clearly :rolleyes:

Until we came here in January Jacob had never been outside and now he is a world class hunter and killer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭Shivi111

The other day I found Loki in the kitchen in the process of cracking open an entire raw hens egg.

I have absolutely no idea where she got it, or how she managed to transport it home. :confused:

Made me think about when Willow was a kitten and brought home a pork chop, warm and covered in gravy... I still suspect some poor neighbour went without dinner that day...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,745 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Shivi111 wrote: »
    The other day I found Loki in the kitchen in the process of cracking open an entire raw hens egg.

I have absolutely no idea where she got it, or how she managed to transport it home. :confused:

Made me think about when Willow was a kitten and brought home a pork chop, warm and covered in gravy... I still suspect some poor neighbour went without dinner that day...

A friend's cat once got into the neighbour's house and tried to abscond with a salmon, from the dinner table. The neighbour was, shall we say, less than impressed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,048 ✭✭✭.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

Lol at that! ^^^

Kovu actually asks for food very politely, he goes out to the back kitchen and just sits there staring at his bowl with his head down and a pitiful look on his face. Always makes me feel so guilty because i never know how long he could be sitting there as he's ridiculously quiet unless he wants someone to chase him or the attic opened for him.

The fecking eejit followed me on a walk last night, nearly 2km! I had to pick him up twice because of cars & each time he gave out while I was catching him because he wanted to walk.