Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread MOD WARNING POST #2944

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

Have Dublin broken or equaled the record?

Terrible play by Kerry with that free at the end.They should have kicked it back to the goalie and tried to play keep ball and run down the clock.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,785 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatInABox

Terrible play by Kerry with that free at the end.They should have kicked it back to the goalie and tried to play keep ball and run down the clock.

Equalled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

We equaled it tonight. We get to bate it against the Rossies.

However, technically one of Kerrys games in their unbeaten streak was a walkover, conceded by Wexford. That shouldn't really count in their unbeaten tally, as the game wasn't never played. So in my very unbiased eyes, we equalled it last week and beat it this week. :D

Jesus Christ, I'm feckin' WREAKED after that !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,790 ✭✭✭Bret Hart

They've broken it tonight. Roscommon will pose no threat at all next Saturday night.

ProudDUB wrote: »
    We equaled it tonight. We get to bate it against the Rossies.

Jesus Christ, I'm feckin' WREAKED after that !

If the GAA have any cop on they should be hyping the hell out of that game in the next week and trying to get as big a crowd in as possible.I never even knew this record existed before this year which shows what an unbelievable achievement it is by this Dublin team so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Horan thinks that was a great game, shows how poor football is these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

Didnt see it but seemed to be a dog of a game from DMT twitter?

Bambi wrote: »
    Horan thinks that was a great game, shows how poor football is these days.

I missed the first half but the second half was very enjoyable.

What the hell do people expect in that kind of ****e weather.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 696 ✭✭✭Noddyholder

Dublin have now equalled Kerry's record, set between 1928 and 1933, of 34 League and Championship games unbeaten. That's quite an achievement.

The Dubs fans on Hill 16 On Tour serenade their players after the final whistle.

From rte.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,820 ✭✭✭corny

Ah i like honest effort in sport. Watching 30 men drag out of each and cheat to win does nothing for me. Cheapens the game and the spectacle. Its gonna force people away from the GAA (sorry football) eventually.

Dublin still too conservative in their build up play. It was stupid what they were doing with the wind. Sideways, sideways, backwards, sideways,.......

corny wrote: »
    Ah i like honest effort in sport. Watching 30 men drag out of each and cheat to win does nothing for me. Cheapens the game and the spectacle. Its gonna force people away from the GAA (sorry football) eventually.

Dublin still too conservative in their build up play. It was stupid what they were doing with the wind. Sideways, sideways, backwards, sideways,.......

Any foul play going unpunished is 100% the referees fault.

So you'd like everyone to go out play and not really care about winning you know just 100% honest effort with the only thought in your mind being producing a wonderful spectacle and no thought of winning the game?

Second half had lots of good play it wasn't that cynical apart from right at the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

I agree was at it lads going full tilt lots of mistakes by both teams and to end stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Kilkenny had a really nice ball popped over the Kerry press to him and he solo'd it right back to where it had been kicked from before handpassing it across the pitch...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

Dublin have now equalled Kerry's record, set between 1928 and 1933, of 34 League and Championship games unbeaten. That's quite an achievement.

The Dubs fans on Hill 16 On Tour serenade their players after the final whistle.

From rte.

I doubt it was much on their minds, but it is some feat. Brian Fenton has never played on a beaten Dublin team in over 30 games! That in itself must be a record?

Those boys just don't know when they are beat. By far the best Dublin team of all time and vying for best of any team of all time.

So you'd like everyone to go out play and not really care about winning you know just 100% honest effort with the only thought in your mind being producing a wonderful spectacle and no thought of winning the game?

Nice edit.;)

No. You can win by playing the game in the right spirit though.

You win these days in football by cheating and stopping the opposition. Thats the starting point. If you can pile the pressure on the ref and force him to send off a player all the better.

the Princes of the Pigskin have been reduced to developing a short arm neck high "tackle."

no doubt that will be lauded as tradition if they ever win another, and hopefully they will not.

Then again they used under hand dirt to beat Laois in 1938 when they batter young Tommy Murphy, Armagh in 1953 when they just punched lads running onto a pass; Dubs in 1955 when they battered Heffo.

Down gave it back to them in spades in 60s as did Dublin and Tyrone in 1970s and 2000s.

they do not like it one fkn bit :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

There's actually **** all Kerry men, bar staff aside, here.

Practically ruined the weekend ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Bonniedog wrote: »
    the Princes of the Pigskin have been reduced to developing a short arm neck high "tackle."

no doubt that will be lauded as tradition if they ever win another, and hopefully they will not.

Then again they used under hand dirt to beat Laois in 1938 when they batter young Tommy Murphy, Armagh in 1953 when they just punched lads running onto a pass; Dubs in 1955 when they battered Heffo.

Down gave it back to them in spades in 60s as did Dublin and Tyrone in 1970s and 2000s.

they do not like it one fkn bit :-)

I remember that game against Laois well!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,994 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Fair play to Kilkenny for taking that yellow towards the end.

There is a time and place for 'nice' football and tonight was not one of them.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

Slattsy wrote: »
    I remember that game against Laois well!!

They do!

They have a song about bating the ****e out of Dublin in 1955 sure.

That's why Heffo was so obsessed with them. 1977 would have been perfect ending. Pity he didn't live to see the real vengeance on the fkers :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,036 ✭✭✭Ken Tucky

My little fella who is 7 had a great time at the game but as we were leaving he began to tire and started crying because of the violence he had witnessed on the pitch.

One part of me found it amusing and another part of me thinks he has a point.

Some of the melees out there tonight were fairly heavy. Kerry's tactics for the coming season or were we as bad?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,036 ✭✭✭Ken Tucky

My little fella who is 7 had a great time at the game but as we were leaving he began to tire and started crying because of the violence he had witnessed on the pitch.

Some of the melees out there tonight were fairly heavy. Kerry's tactics for the coming season or were we as bad?

Nice edit.;)

No. You can win by playing the game in the right spirit though.

You win these days in football by cheating and stopping the opposition. Thats the starting point. If you can pile the pressure on the ref and force him to send off a player all the better.

But what exactly is "playing the game in the right spirit"?.

In order for that sort of bolloxology to work it requires player and team to have the exact same set of morals and view of what the right spirit is.As soon as anyone breaks the code then the other teams/players "playing the game in the right spirit" lose out by being too honest.

You play the game right to the limit of what the ref allows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

Nah the league usually brings up a few settlers from the previous years championship - Omagh readily springs to mind and we've had a few in Killarney. Mayo/Kerry had a few scores settled too - the real stuff in august is a different matter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Fair play to Kilkenny for taking that yellow towards the end.

There is a time and place for 'nice' football and tonight was not one of them.

So much to chew on. Be very interesting to hear what the people at the match thought. From watching it on the telly, the kickouts were worrying. It wasn't so much that Kerry pushed up on them, but that so many of them wound up in Kerry hands, by purely traditional means. What is going on with Deano? Is he taking more time than usual to take them, or are refs deliberately cutting down on time wasting? He never struck me as someone cough...cough..Cillian O'Connor....cough, who goes over the top timewise.

Think O'Gara is best as an impact sub. He brings an energy in the last 15 minutes. that just isn't being channeled properly when he starts. Be very interesting to see what Fenton learns from not having things all his own way for a change. Was disappointed in Scully. If he really wants to challenge for Flynners jersey, he'll need to figure out how to impose himself on games more. Especially as Flynner himself looks close to being back to his imperious best. Still, I love how eager he is to get really stuck in and he is deffo one of years best surprises.

Special mention to Darren Daly too. He seems to be out growing the 10 minute cameos at the end of games & growing into an almost Dennis Bastick type of role. Any word on John Small? He looked to be in some distress coming off. Am deliberately ignoring our butchering of yet more goal chances. I won't sleep tonight if I don't.

But what exactly is "playing the game in the right spirit"?.

In order for that sort of bolloxology to work it requires player and team to have the exact same set of morals and view of what the right spirit is.As soon as anyone breaks the code then the other teams/players "playing the game in the right spirit" lose out by being too honest.

You play the game right to the limit of what the ref allows.

Don't accept your assertion and playing the game in the right spirit is playing the game as its set out in the rules. Not rigidly obviously but with a degree of respect to the game we play. Why the **** would you write rules if lads are playing their own version of the game.

You can horse into the other team and lay down a marker within the rules. Happens in hurling all the time. I'd celebrate that. But this overtly negative approach to the game is ****ing killing it for me. Pulling, dragging, cheating, complaining, ****ing up the refs day, whats not to love right?

Anyway....carry on.

Don't accept your assertion and playing the game in the right spirit is playing the game as its set out in the rules. Not rigidly obviously but with a degree of respect to the game we play. Why the **** would you write rules if lads are playing their own version of the game.

You can horse into the other team and lay down a marker within the rules. Happens in hurling all the time. I'd celebrate that. But this overtly negative approach to the game is ****ing killing it for me. Pulling, dragging, cheating, complaining, ****ing up the refs day, whats not to love right?

Anyway....carry on.

But this approach is tolerated by the officials.It's their fault this sort of stuff happens.

If I was a football ref there would be at lest 3 or 4 red cards handed out in every game I reffed and eventually the players would learn their lesson. Unfortunately the refs in GAA don't have the balls to dish out the cards over and over again so that players behaviour changes.

But this approach is tolerated by the officials.It's their fault this sort of stuff happens.

If I was a football ref there would be at lest 3 or 4 red cards handed out in every game I reffed and eventually the players would learn their lesson. Unfortunately the refs in GAA don't have the balls to dish out the cards over and over again so that players behaviour changes.

Refs are up **** creek and you never hear anything about the personal responsibility of the lads playing the game. Kerry systematically took turns in doing the fouling and no player goes in for wrestling match twice. Its not heat of the moment stuff. MDM upset every Kerryman around him when a free went against him. Didn't even accomplish anything, just jostled for the fun of it or for a reaction. The rules tell the ref to move the ball forward not to teach MDM how to not behave like a wagon.

Ken Tucky wrote: »

That is a sad tale.

There is a fair bit of nastiness between current players from the top teams. I doubt there be too many of them having the crack in 40 years time like Paddy Cullen and Mikey Sheehy.

I know one Dub player who retired a few years ago and he absolutely hates some of his opponents. From one county in particular...

Kind of sad really.

Refs are up **** creek and you never hear anything about the personal responsibility of the lads playing the game. Kerry systematically took turns in doing the fouling and no player goes in for wrestling match twice. Its not heat of the moment stuff. MDM upset every Kerryman around him when a free went against him. Didn't even accomplish anything, just jostled for the fun of it or for a reaction. The rules tell the ref to move the ball forward not to teach MDM how to not behave like a wagon.

The Refs have all the power.They can send players off if they misbehave enough.

The players are taking advantage of them (as you'd expect) and as the saying goes if you have an ass ride it.