Lock, Stock and Chitchat a Seacht

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 878 ✭✭✭Parishlad

pedigree 6 wrote: »
    A bit more formal.
    He's a long time supporter of the party.

Very good. Nice gesture!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

:cool: Im one of the generation where lengths can be cm and foot

So whats the volume of a 9ft roller with 32inch drum.
    am I right that its 1357 litres ? or 1357kg additional weight if its filled with water plus unladed weight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

How's your lad now Titanium? :D

Ah he's only alright. Had the vet to him and he reckoned that he had fractured his digit as well as cracking the hoof. Was injecting him for a week. He still won't walk on it or stay standing for long.
    Vet said that it would take at least 3weeks to come right

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭Diarmuid B

fingers crossed he comes good! We had our yearlings dehorned there two weeks ago and they're only coming back to normal now. Suppose we would be too if we had two holes created in our skull!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭ganmo

:cool: Im one of the generation where lengths can be cm and foot

So whats the volume of a 9ft roller with 32inch drum.
    am I right that its 1357 litres ? or 1357kg additional weight if its filled with water plus unladed weight

i'm figuring 1422L

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

ganmo wrote: »
    i'm figuring 1422L

ye I was giving 12inches as 300mm so im probably out on that a little

so 1400kg so with water

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

ye I was giving 12inches as 300mm so im probably out on that a little

so 1400kg so with water

Throw in a few gallons (or litres ) of waste oil to slow corrosion on the inside.
    Have heard of antifreeze being mixed in as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭davidk1394

Are ye going to a few parades tomorrow or taking part in them ?? Planning on heading for Kilkenny tomorrow night.. it was a few busy days and long nights so i think i deserve a few beverages :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,847 ✭✭✭✭Shannon757

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,398 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

davidk1394 wrote: »
    Are ye going to a few parades tomorrow or taking part in them ?? Planning on heading for Kilkenny tomorrow night.. it was a few busy days and long nights so i think i deserve a few beverages :D

Thinking of heading to Ennis for one but it was awful slow last year. also might go to kilrush but I think it's on during the ballyea match.

Dying of the thirst myself but knowing herself I'll be guilted into driving and minding the small lady.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Butcher Boy

it looks like purcells are under pressure to fill there order I was in skibb mart to day and after the mart they were weighing bulls from 210kgs to 370 kgs giving 2;70 kg for middle of the road stock , they must be born after the 1/5/16 was told they cant b got as lads have squeezed them,was talking to the lad sourcing them and he told me he is after only after getting 80 bulls out of west cork and that's after putting adds on paper and donedeal,.

Thinking of heading to Ennis for one but it was awful slow last year. also might go to kilrush but I think it's on during the ballyea match.

Dying of the thirst myself but knowing herself I'll be guilted into driving and minding the small lady.

We were thinking of heading up to Galway but the weather doesn't look like it will be great. Couldn't face another one in Ennis this year. Went the last two years and thought they were really bad. Mostly made up of various clubs or teams of kids just walking through the town. Drives me nuts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭davidk1394

Parishlad wrote: »
    We were thinking of heading up to Galway but the weather doesn't look like it will be great. Couldn't face another one in Ennis this year. Went the last two years and thought they were really bad. Mostly made up of various clubs or teams of kids just walking through the town. Drives me nuts.

Stay in and watch the hurling I'd what I'd be thinking. Christ that was a busy hour. 8 lambed and another 2 lambing now. Auld lad took over the night shift which i gladly handed over to him with both hands

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭148multi

Got 1423 litres

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

Sold that cow who had the premature calf today, 715kg & got exactly €2/kg for her so I'm happy enough. She's going up north too, didn't expect that!

davidk1394 wrote: »
    Stay in and watch the hurling I'd what I'd be thinking. Christ that was a busy hour. 8 lambed and another 2 lambing now. Auld lad took over the night shift which i gladly handed over to him with both hands

Yeah, whatever happens I am watching the hurling! Will have to make some sort of an effort though to do something with herself and the kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,389 ✭✭✭orm0nd

Sold that cow who had the premature calf today, 715kg & got exactly €2/kg for her so I'm happy enough. She's going up north too, didn't expect that!

Not a bad auld place "up north" ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,378 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

We watch the parade on the television. Bring kids to the shop beforehand for some treats. I find it's always a cold day and they end up with a cold after being at the parade. Alot less hassle to stay at home. They don't mind either. They are supposed to be in it with their football clubs . They would be frozen walking around in their shorts etc. As for trying to get parking etc...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

Probably won't bother going to watch any the local parades. The ones I saw in previous years were very much mainly a display by local contractors of their latest purchases. Someone dressed as St. Patrick driving a 171 registered Massey and pulling a Fusion around my local town 3 or 4 times while standing beside a lot of people well the worse for wear from drink, is not my idea of fun or what the whole day is about.

Having said that Happy St. Patrick's Day everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Farrell

Surprised me too as I didn't think there was any Northern buyers either.
    Great trade with not as many buyers as other years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,398 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

The one in Doonbeg on Sunday is good. The small lady loves all the tractors and there is usually 10 floats. There is a woman who makes balloon animals.

Herself is Aussie so always wants to go to parade.

Farrell wrote: »
    Surprised me too as I didn't think there was any Northern buyers either.
    Great trade with not as many buyers as other years

Yea Jos Donnelly was there, think he buys for McCanns? Grand trade alright, were you there? Did you see that big ch cow over at the far wall who weighed almost a tonne? Wouldn't like her stepping on my toe :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,621 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

vIc2IDo.jpg

TyEZCuG.jpg

I came across this bird after killing a magpie yesterday evening. Pics not great as I didn't want to get too close but the bird had a red ring around its eyes as well.

Any ideas what it could be?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

vIc2IDo.jpg

TyEZCuG.jpg

I came across this bird after killing a magpie yesterday evening. Pics not great as I didn't want to get too close but the bird had a red ring around its eyes as well.

Maybe a sparrowhawk ?

Bullocks wrote: »
    Maybe a sparrowhawk ?

Looks like a sparrowhawk tail alright. Strange to see them taking a mag!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,224 ✭✭✭charolais0153

vIc2IDo.jpg

TyEZCuG.jpg

Seen something like that happen yesterday but they were taking a pigeon...I thought they were mating or whatever at first until I see all the blood o the front of the pigeon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭ganmo

Seen something like that happen yesterday but they were taking a pigeon...I thought they were mating or whatever at first until I see all the blood o the front of the pigeon

or a peregrine
    nice to see something taking a magger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,821 ✭✭✭✭Base price

I'm definitely tuning into BBC 2 tonight at 9pm. Should be worth watching after all the excitement of St. Patrick's day parades :)
    Colin Stafford Johnson 2 part series - Wild Ireland: The Edge of the World.
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b08jgr5r

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Farrell

Yea Jos Donnelly was there, think he buys for McCanns? Grand trade alright, were you there? Did you see that big ch cow over at the far wall who weighed almost a tonne? Wouldn't like her stepping on my toe :D
    Yea she didn't sell that well, purebred too.
    Sold 3, got €2/kg for 2 & €1.50/kg for an old red LM

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,847 ✭✭✭✭Shannon757

Not looking good for Ballyea