Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kilkenny GAA Thread Part 2 **MOD NOTE POST 1***

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

I would say that Leinster 21s be pretty competitive. Dublin should be at least as strong as last year. Gave Galway a good run but wouldn't have won the final. Kilkenny should be a good bit stronger. Not sure about Wexford in terms of eligibility and so on. I suspect they will not be a s good as of late. KK/Dubs most likely produce the winner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,747 ✭✭✭brookville

Hard luck to cbs and well done Kierans should be a good final cbs gave it a great shot by all accounts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,351 ✭✭✭Rasputin11

Kk 2-25 Tipp 1-15 in the 21 last weekend, Tipp were well outclassed from the small bit I was told.

Rasputin11 wrote: »
    Kk 2-25 Tipp 1-15 in the 21 last weekend, Tipp were well outclassed from the small bit I was told.

Would tipp have many involved in the senior setup?is ronan maher overage?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭paulie gaultieri

Kierans v Templemore colleges final

brookville wrote: »
    Would tipp have many involved in the senior setup?is ronan maher overage?

Ronan is gone, I don't think there's any lads off the senior panel involved, nobody that has played in the league yet anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Was that in a challenge game? Do the KK u21's have any upcoming games, that an interested observer could mosy on along to?

I've a cousin down there for work. He's looking to do a bit of spying for us, before we meet ye in the champo. His work colleagues are telling him eff all, oddly enough. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Was that in a challenge game? Do the KK u21's have any upcoming games, that an interested observer could mosy on along to?

I've a cousin down there for work. He's looking to do a bit of spying for us, before we meet ye in the champo. His work colleagues are telling him eff all, oddly enough. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭dubcat51

I backed them at 7/1 last year,so no predictions from me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭Django99

I'd have good faith in the U21s this year. Eddie will have learned a lot from last year. Having so many lads training alongside the likes of TJ and Richie will hopefully have brought them on a long way. The loss to Westmeath was blown out of proportion last year, that was not a bad team at all. Winning Leinster would give them a great chance at an All Ireland. 2008 was the last one we won I think? Well overdue one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 931 ✭✭✭Cornerback1

Ronan is gone, I don't think there's any lads off the senior panel involved, nobody that has played in the league yet anyway.

Any Templemore lads on the Tipp U21 panel?

I'd say Brian McGrath will be involved, possibly Fairbrother but I'm only speculating.

ProudDUB wrote: »

I couldn't tell you, heard the result from a Tipp man, though getting to see a challenge game is very hard in these times of high secrecy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭FrankCummins

Good few people there Saturday lunchtime in Dunmore happy with the performance last year was a big disappointment hopefully we can win something this year .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 557 ✭✭✭usualstripes

Well done to kierans yesterday and comiserations to cbs. Between the two a lot of fine hurlers. Best of luck to kierans in the final.
    On the final league match v dublin sunday week I presume there won't be too many changes from the tipp match.
    If leahy is fit I would expect him to come in instead of Alan Murphy but out on the half forward line.
    Still haven't heard if ger aylward is near fit yet of is he still in trouble with the hamstring?
    Hopefully maher will get 20/25 mins v dublin as he needs game time to improve his fitness.
    I would expect all bar Murphy to remain starters.
    Any news on lester? He is out since the night before the waterford match.
    Also pat lyng? I know he got a heavy shot but hopefully he will be back soon enough.
    There are other players I don't know the situation of.......
    Joe lyng
    Mark bergin

I don't think john walsh or chris bolger will get on the panel at this stage as I would think if cody had intended to use them they would be part of March day panels before now.
    Any thoughts??

Walsh and especially bolger for me deserve a shot.I know
    alot on here dont think bolger is upto it.but for me there is only one way to find out.his cameo v clare last year was better than many starters have produced.

dubcat51 wrote: »
    Walsh and especially bolger for me deserve a shot.I know
    alot on here dont think bolger is upto it.but for me there is only one way to find out.his cameo v clare last year was better than many starters have produced.

I agree the best way to find it is give them a shot but I think this would have happened already if it was going to happen. I think blanchfield,lyng, leahy and maher will be big players for us and will definitely play some part in the championship this year.
    Add tj, Richie, walter, Colin, ger aylward if he gets back, sean morrissey and Alan Murphy and that's 11 forwards vieing for 6 positions.
    I would like to see those two getting game time but we have had 9 competitive matches so far and none of these lads have got in, albeit being involved in colleges.
    Our backs come the championship will probably be the following. ..........

P Murphy
    P Walsh
    C o shea
    C Fogarty
    J Cleere
    K Joyce
    E cody
    C Delaney
    S prendergast
    J Holden

Midfield the following........

P deegan
    L Ryan
    M fennelly
    O Walsh

E Murphy and R Reid in goals and that's 26 of a panel.

Add to that lads are on the panel already and that makes 29.

R lennon
    M walsh
    M Malone

Not forgetting bergin either.

Am I missing anyone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 castlecat

I agree the best way to find it is give them a shot but I think this would have happened already if it was going to happen. I think blanchfield,lyng, leahy and maher will be big players for us and will definitely play some part in the championship this year.
    Add tj, Richie, walter, Colin, ger aylward if he gets back, sean morrissey and Alan Murphy and that's 11 forwards vieing for 6 positions.
    I would like to see those two getting game time but we have had 9 competitive matches so far and none of these lads have got in, albeit being involved in colleges.

P Murphy
    P Walsh
    C o shea
    C Fogarty
    J Cleere
    K Joyce
    E cody
    C Delaney
    S prendergast
    J Holden

P deegan
    L Ryan
    M fennelly
    O Walsh

R lennon
    M walsh
    M Malone

Am I missing anyone?

Kevin kelly ?

castlecat wrote: »
    Kevin kelly ?

Is conor martin or john joe on that panel above?
    I actually think if we can stay injury free we'll have a stronger panel than last year.I've also being told by a player chris bolger was training with the seniors during the week so it's a very large open panel and anyone who hits form during the spring/summer will be on the panel.
    4 of the six forwards shouod pick themselves so it'll probably be up to ger,kevin,liam,leahy,lyng although it's hard to say this far out
    If the buckley experiment works joyce will probably be at 7 shane pender was very weak in the air last saturday and joey is out of favour at the moment joyce is my preferred choice at half back
    I'd like to see richie reid get a league match in goal when he returns from injury and hopefully conor delaney gets a run

Is conor martin or john joe on that panel above?
    I actually think if we can stay injury free we'll have a stronger panel than last year.I've also being told by a player chris bolger was training with the seniors during the week so it's a very large open panel and anyone who hits form during the spring/summer will be on the panel.
    4 of the six forwards shouod pick themselves so it'll probably be up to ger,kevin,liam,leahy,lyng although it's hard to say this far out
    If the buckley experiment works joyce will probably be at 7 shane pender was very weak in the air last saturday and joey is out of favour at the moment joyce is my preferred choice at half back
    I'd like to see richie reid get a league match in goal when he returns from injury and hopefully conor delaney gets a run

I don't think shane Pender wad too bad v tipp.
    At the moment the two forwards likely to start with Colin tj Richie and walter are blanchfield and leahy.

I don't think shane Pender wad too bad v tipp.
    At the moment the two forwards likely to start with Colin tj Richie and walter are blanchfield and leahy.

I didn't think he was bad just that he struggled under high ball but when he moved out to the wing he done well especially in the 2nd half,he gave hogan a peach of a pass for a great score in the 2nd half

He did. Cleere did well after moving to the centre and will be a big addition or option for us Oving forward.
    Is the panel training this weekend?

He did. Cleere did well after moving to the centre and will be a big addition or option for us Oving forward.
    Is the panel training this weekend?

Cleere did well for his second outing and his learning,it'd be great if he could make the number six position his own.they trained tuesday so probaly thursday and sat evening or sunday

Are they training in Dunmore? Maybe someone here knows a definite time or day over the weekend??
    On cleere I think he will make a great number 6

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭northern lad

P Murphy
    P Walsh
    C o shea
    C Fogarty
    J Cleere
    K Joyce
    E cody
    C Delaney
    S prendergast
    J Holden

P deegan
    L Ryan
    M fennelly
    O Walsh

R lennon
    M walsh
    M Malone

Am I missing anyone?

What about Cillian Buckley? He's 24, has 3 All Irelands and 2 All Stars. Might be worth a look at :)

How we go in the 21s will have a bearing imo on who nakes our match day 26.players who show up well in the 21s may makw a breakthrough.scanlon walsh etc.for me martin malone morrissey maher havent done anything yet when in.for me kelly walsh bolger would be ahead of them
    Imo

How we go in the 21s will have a bearing imo on who nakes our match day 26.players who show up well in the 21s may makw a breakthrough.scanlon walsh etc.for me martin malone morrissey maher havent done anything yet when in.for me kelly walsh bolger would be ahead of them
    Imo

I agree that lads in form during the summer or hurling well for the u21s during the year will leave the door open for themselves.it's a pity we didn't see scanlon or john walsh so far but I think they were injured and maybe both suited to dryer ground
    James maher looks like he needs more time but cody likes him and his used more than others.
    Conor martin played one league match last year against cork and he played one this year and came on for two minutes against waterford players like himself michael walsh and michael malone seem to be squad players and c very little game time.it must be disheartening for these lads after giving 2/3 years on the panel and now lads like pat lyng,leahy,cleere and deegan all starting and pushing for places on the panel
    If the new lads continue having a good league and all the injured lads return for the summer places will hard come by

At least martin maher morrisey etc are getting a chance.bolger for me should be given a chance and then judge.lyng and deegan have done enough to warrant more game time.

I agree re bolger but unfortunately for him his 1st commitment was with the colleges this year and he probably lost our on 6 or 7 games between the walsh cup and the league because of it. I don't know if he will figure in codys plans from here on in but I would like to see him getting some chance.
    At the moment lyng, leahy, blanchfield and maher will keep getting game time and rightly so as they have shown to be capable of competing for positions.
    I don't know what's happening with john walsh or luke scanlon either but hopefully their chance will come.

Morrissey is young he has time on his side if he could make the match day squad he'd probably be happy but it's lads like michael walsh,malone who have very little chance getting onto the team now
    I agree on chris bolger deserves a run but his back in training now so he could get his chance yet