Tell us about your new improved government regulations compliant cycle part II

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 16,135 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

90k with the regular crew yesterday. Six of us started out, then we dropped to five and were somehow up to eight by the time we got to Laragh. Blowy enough over the Sally gap coming home and a spectacular squall on the last leg made it plenty challenging. Bit of sunshine too, and great to see a few more hours of daylight available to cycle in.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 16,135 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

I'd have to disagree - it's soul destroying. Whatever it is, that road just sucks the life out of me. I only do it when it is part of a sportive or when someone else has organised it. It's a route I'd never voluntarily take.

More of a road for a plodder like myself than someone trying to keep a decent pace. Got passed by nilhg on it a couple of times on the Reservoir dog last year. Real tortoise and hare stuff, though the hare made it home long before the tortoise on that day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭Mercian Pro

secman wrote: »
    It's a lovely spin around back of the lakes, with meandering roads, sharp drags, beautiful scenery, good for the soul:)

I think it depends on whether it comes early or late in a long ride. It always seems a lot nicer on the Tour de Foothills than on the Orwell Randonee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 211 ✭✭grouchyman

secman wrote: »
    It's a lovely spin around back of the lakes, with meandering roads, sharp drags, beautiful scenery, good for the soul:)

Smashing weather on Saturday afternoon the lakes were like mirrors so I stopped in Lacken to take a quick photo.

But the hills. going up was tough but the descents were not for the faint-hearted.:eek: I'll have to work on improving my technique and replacing my back brake blocks :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,979 ✭✭✭secman

I'd normally hit it after 30km from Kilnamanagh, no doubt it's a heavy road, scenery is uplifting and satisfaction when you finish it is too. I'd always take the route past blessington and left for valleymount and finish on " spiders Web " lump at Lacken. Not a spin to get a good Avg but good for the legs and soul :).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭kirk buttercup

Did my first " Club spin" it was a 55 km spin with a climb of just under 600m. I struggled to keep with them on the Climbs but kept good enough pace in the flatter parts . Took in Ashford roundwood laragh rathdrum and barndarrig wicklow.

Up to Foxes and the Pine Forest road at lunch, very blowy out there even though warm. A couple of hairy moments coming down Cruagh road in strong cross winds not helped by roadworks half way down. One of those rare days where the climbing was more fun than the descending.

As I needed 42 km to round up to 800 km for the year to date, my night spin to Lucan tonight involved a good number of loops and repeat loops. It looks like I got lost on strava !
    Anyways mission accomplished. 42km Avg 24kph.

Just in from a short spin back from the parade at Stepaside. Not to bad going out earlier, but the wind on the way back was horrific, particularly the motorway bridge on Blackglen road where I struggled to stay upright. I was on the old hybrid and really missed being able get into the drops to avoid some of the weather. Won't be going out again until the wind drops by a few kph.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,266 ✭✭✭nilhg

Two of us decided yesterday evening to head for Wicklow this morning, was a bit time limited so threw the bikes in the van and drove up to Blessington and parked, as I usually do, near the Garda station and headed on up to the Sally Gap, conditions weren't too bad going up, though it was a bit breezy and it actually brightened up well before we got to the cross roads so the decision was made to continue on to Laragh via the waterfall as that road was more likely to offer a bit of shelter.

It wasn't too bad for the first few km, then the cloud came down and the wind started to blow a horizontal drizzle, it really was a bit miserable, even though I threw on the extra rain jacket I had over my Mistral I was still feeling a bit chilly dropping down into Laragh. The plan was a quick coffee in the fairy cafe but a decent sized Orwell just beat us there and we didn't fancy standing around getting colder in a queue so we had to make do with a quick coffee from the fancy Dan machine in the garage before heading up the Wicklow Gap.

I was sort of dreading this, thought we'd have a block headwind the whole way up but it wasn't too bad, the climbing wasn't long warming us up and the wind really only was an issue near the top and on the steep bit by the carpark.

Cold enough again on the drop back down the western side but we warmed up again once we had to work into the wind on the more level bits and we weren't long getting back to Blessington, but, at the last roundabout before the town the Guards had the road blocked for the parade, which meant we were going to be stuck till it passed, we went round the back way and met a guard who let us through and told us we had about 3 minutes to get the bikes in the van and get out of there.....

So if anyone was watching the Blessington parade and saw two very damp and cold lads leading the parade by 30 seconds in a little white van, that was us......

https://www.strava.com/activities/903585624

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,239 ✭✭✭✭dahat

A4 Landy Cup in Carrick on Suir today for me. Conditions were ok with a tricky headwind for part of it but at least the rain held off.

Stayed prominent most of the race and with 70 lads it was a lot safer than last week's race. I ended up Top 15 maybe and only for a poor line into a technical Sprint I'd have finished top 10 I'd say.

As this was only my second ever race I'm pretty effin pleased and with a Threshold Value of 305 according to Training Peaks after the race it bodes well for season ahead.

I got a bike in January, first time I've had one for 15-20 years. Using it for my commute and hit 500km for the year this week which is a nice little milestone. I know some of you guys would knock that out in a week, but happy enough with it and it's made my commute so much quicker too as I had to drive right through the middle of town previously. Just looking forward to some better weather now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭Unknown Soldier

My spin to day was dedicated to Blacks of Kinsale or rather their lovely High Viz Double IPA

It's 8.5% but doesn't have that "strong" taste you'd associate with such "Strong" beer. It's quite lovely, expensive, but lovely!

Three is more than enough though! Quarter of a bottle and I'd say you are well over the DD limit!

So...

With mini-hangover this morning I headed of to Clondalkin to meet a few folk for a spin. When heading west and the wind tearing the face off me, there was a little piece of me hoping I would be late and that I'd miss the spin! It was a fairly savage and super gusty soul destrying wind!

Sadly I made the meeting point on time! :D

So four of us headed off, me and another fella taking the front. The start of the spin involved going west, a lot. Clondalkin over to Saggart, where we went up the wind tunnel known as Slade hill.
    The first quarter of it was brutal with the wind, until the trees provided "some" respite. The on the N81 towards Blessington and cutting off towards Manor Kilbride, with full wind in face shenanigans. My poor thighs were burning at this early stage! When we got to Blessington the decision was made to cut the ride short and not do Naas/Sallins etc and we headed towards Nass but took the right towards Kilteel and some point. We were blessed with a tailwind for awhile :)

When we eventually got to Saggart again, I split from the other three as they were heading back to Clondalkin, and for some unknown reason I decided that going up slade again and going up Ballinascorney would be a good way home.

Sadly since Oct last year until now, my cycling has taken a bit of a hit. I'm still on the bike but not as much as I'd like, and did I feel if for the rest of the spin today.

Well holy God going up the first quarter of Slade hill again was pure torture. You know it's not good when you keep trying to see if you have a lower gear, even though you don't :D

When I got to the top I could have went left and been blown home back to Tallaght, but Genius Mc Sap here decided to head towards Brittas and up Ballinascorney.

I survived, and then on the descent decided to take a right around the Tallaght reservoirs and to go home via the Bohernabreena descent.

When I took that turn I meet a nice chap on an Obrea? Bike. He looked like a proper pro cyclist! Tall lanky fella with Castelli gear!
    After a brief exchange he headed off while I contemplated if I would be able to make it back up the climbs out of the reservoirs. I wasn't feeling too hopeful. I was making up news reports in my head of "Cyclist found dead in Ditch" etc

I slogged on and came across yer man again, lost :) He'd doubled back on himself taking a certain extra bit, you'd have to know it.

His name was James, I found out, and he was looking for a way up to the Featherbeds!

We had a good natter as I explain I had 65km odd on the legs, mostly into head winds, 800m climbed and was highly unfit, so basically dieing but if he gave me a few kms I'd give him his options to getting up to the Featherbeds. He chose the Cunard climb, bless him!

In fairness, I'd say he was well able for it.

When I managed to drag my sorry ass out of the Reservoirs my wonderfully fast descent down Bohernabreena hill was canceled when I had to tuck in behind a funeral :/ I think it took me 20 odd minutes to get down. It was actually quite a pain in the ass try to descend such a steep hill so slowly! At one stage I just pulled over to the side of the road and had a smoke.

I eventually made it home with 77km done and 935m climbed. The "last year" me would have serious OCD issues and round up the climbing to 1,000m and the KMs to 100, but not today.

I was pooped when I got home. It was seriously testing weather out there today!

I'm now going to have some lovely strong beer.

Couple of pics in my Strava link.
    https://www.strava.com/activities/903587581

Headed out this morning, up the embankment heading for blessington, seriously headwindy. Met a chap on the way up, well he passed me and I tucked in behind him.He took left turn at Brittas for Manor Kilbride, I headed on straight and decided to take next left turn at top of drag and saw him again, about 100 metres ahead.Managed to catch him on the drag beyond the bridge over Liffey. Had a good oul natter with him up to turn for blessington, he headed back on main road. I was undecided about doing lake spin, went as far as turn for Lacken, could hardly see the lakes for the mist and low cloud . Swiftly turned and took back road to Manor Kilbride and back to Brittas. Descent down embankment was a bit hairy at times with a few strong cross winds. Just over 50 km and an Avg 25 kph.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭kirk buttercup

51 km spin from wicklow to arklow and back. Really strong head wind but the group I was with took the brunt of it in fairness to them. Cool dudes letting a newbie like me sit in at the back. Learning alot from them.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 54,495 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

still a bit damp and breezy out there. mild though, it was a sweaty one today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,790 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

Went for a nice 60km spin yesterday and lost my front wheel turning into my estate, jaysus you take a hell of a clatter when that happens, nothing broken, bike fine, but really hurt my shoulder and big bruising on the hip. First time my front wheel ever went out from underneath me, wasn't going particularly fast, I'd guess 25kph, just saw it go and the horrible vision of my bike disappearing out from underneath me ahead of clattering into the tarmac, thought I'd broken my oakleys but fortunately they had just popped out and were easily fixed.

Glad to hear its all just bumps and bruises (and most importantly the bike is ok ;) )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 944 ✭✭✭Luxman

Inquitus wrote: »
    Went for a nice 60km spin yesterday and lost my front wheel turning into my estate, jaysus you take a hell of a clatter when that happens, nothing broken, bike fine, but really hurt my shoulder and big bruising on the hip. First time my front wheel ever went out from underneath me, wasn't going particularly fast, I'd guess 25kph, just saw it go and the horrible vision of my bike disappearing out from underneath me ahead of clattering into the tarmac, thought I'd broken my oakleys but fortunately they had just popped out and were easily fixed.
    . You now really do a need a new bike. To be sure to be sure. Speedy recovery

30min recovery turbo spin after the race yesterday and no club spin tomorrow as my daughter has a swimming Gala soy plan is bring bike and cycle home, 40km or so and tag a bit on locally to make a 2hr+ spin.

Everyone is happy!!!!🚴🚴🚴

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,217 ✭✭✭moonshadow

85 km avg 26.8 , this morning through Louth and Meath in really nasty conditions, worst I'm been out in in some time the good thing about it was I only got wet once ;) at the beginning and the whole way round !

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,271 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

Today was one of those days that everything just goes in your favour.

I did Athlone - Dublin about 133km in 4hrs 5 mins with an average speed of 32.7km/h. Clearly the wind was in my favour. I also got involved with CRC for about 20km. They were really tipping along.

Then came across two leisure groups who had stopped in Mother Hubbards. Got a shout out and asked for my boards name. It was windy so hope they heard me.

Even though I havent do much in the last two weeks I felt really good on the bike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,886 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

Wet then dry which was nice

My weather

https://www.ecowitt.net/home/share?authorize=96CT1F

No racing or Club spin today as had family duties on Tipp Town so brought the bike and cycled home to get a few KMS in.

Did 44km with an average of 36.7km as had a tailwind/crosswinds all way home, tipping away at 40km plus feels great wind or not.

Had a dig at a KOM near home and missed it by 10 seconds, nice effort for 1.6km up a drag all the same.

Roll on Dungarvan next week!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,498 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

godtabh wrote: »
    I also got involved with CRC for about 20km. They were really tipping along.

Couldn't get out with them this morning, pity I missed you.
    Probably a good job I didn't get out with them anyway. Today was torture for me. I had a virus during the week and missed a day at work but felt better yesterday so decided I seeing as I wouldn't make the club spin then I was hitting the hills today. I'm planning on doing the Orwell Randonee and maybe the Mick Byrne so some hills are well needed. Between one thing and another I got delayed and then just said to hell with it and went for a spin locally.

Set off dry but the drizzle soon started as did a rotten headwind. I was half bolloxed after only 30 km. Thank Christ I didn't go up the hills or I'd be ringing for the broom wagon from Glenmacnass. By the time I stopped for coffee I was nearly cramping in my right quad and in dire need of caffeine and sugar. Orwell and MB were beginning to look like drunken promises. I did a fair bit of soul searching tbh. "WTF am I actually at? I'm gone 40, must be some fking midlife crisis. Cocaine and hookers are probably a more sensible option than this fking torture."
    The usual stuff....

Turned around and had the wind behind me and some sunshine too but it took me a good 10-15km to get the lactic out of the legs and then I got a puncture. Surprisingly, I got it fixed easy enough and the extra bit of a break seemed to let the coffee and jellybabies kick in so the final 20k or so didn't seem too bad.

Longwood -Kinnegad -Killucan -Ballinalack and back via Mullingar -Mary Lynches -Kinnegad
    93km @29kmh
    https://www.strava.com/activities/906547026

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,198 ✭✭✭wanderer 22

Daroxtar wrote: »

I'm a decade behind you and can only dream of having a 29 km/h average on a bad day (or even a good day) :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 211 ✭✭coddlesangers

2nd time out after knee op, much much WORSE than 1st time out...don't really understand why, but the last few km of this was horrible,  slowest I've ridden since I got this bike 5 years ago.  Started with 100m of ascent, possibly that was my mistake.  Anyway ended up with 24kms, 22kph average, 350 metres ascent.  It gets better, right?  Strava of shame

colm18 wrote: »
    I'm a decade behind you and can only dream of having a 29 km/h average on a bad day (or even a good day) :o

Worse still, I'm a bit more than a decade ahead of Daroxtar in age and almost a decade behind in kph. Not good. Probably even leaving it a bit late for the coke and hookers....

Whatever you care to say about the Irish weather, we certainly have lots of it. Coming up Pine forest road at lunch I hit a heavy hail shower while still in the blazing sunshine, followed by some black clouds, rain and then wind get blown dry followed by more sun. 25k @ 21kph for what felt like cycling through an extended car-wash. Bikes looking nicely buffed up :)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 54,495 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

so much of lows of 0 to -4C overnight. 7C this morning at 6:30am, quite a pleasant morning out there.