Lock, Stock and Chitchat a Seacht

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Grueller

ganmo wrote: »
    hes right
    bps is for maintaining the land, not farming it

Jaysus that's mad Ted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭Odelay

Not my mare so can't order him to put her in I'm afraid :( But I checked her at 5 or so and she was putting a lot more weight on it and it had stopped oozing. She's in a clean field with lots of moss, only moved into it today so best I can do for the moment.

Been there done that with older owners. Try suggesting standing in a bucket of warm water with oooldes of salt.
    It will probably be fine on its own, but I'm a big fan of "no hoof no horse".

A field with moss was a good idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

Odelay wrote: »
    Been there done that with older owners. Try suggesting standing in a bucket of warm water with oooldes of salt.
    It will probably be fine on its own, but I'm a big fan of "no hoof no horse".

A field with moss was a good idea.

She's much better today, moving around rather than standing with her leg pegged out to the side and stock straight. No ooze from it either and it's beautifully clean, thanks to the moss I guess!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭ganmo

Anyone else's attach image button gone from the touch site?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,224 ✭✭✭charolais0153

Anyone else's attach image button gone from the touch site?

I always go into the full site to do it...it wouldn't work using attach button on touch site for me

It's back now :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭MickeyShtyles

Was driving down to Cork on Thursday and the radio had me driven demented.
    So today I treated myself. No more tape cassetes for meeeee! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,847 ✭✭✭✭Shannon757

It's back now :/

It seems to be random as to when it works. I find its there more at night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Was driving down to Cork on Thursday and the radio had me driven demented.
    So today I treated myself. No more tape cassetes for meeeee! :D

Nice one , is bluetooth for the radio on it ? I'm promising myself one in the jeep for yonks and wouldn't mind getting a handsfree version when I'm at it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,688 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Bullocks wrote: »
    Nice one , is bluetooth for the radio on it ? I'm promising myself one in the jeep for yonks and wouldn't mind getting a handsfree version when I'm at it

The Bluetooth is great for the phone in the tractor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭MickeyShtyles

Bullocks wrote: »

€49 JVC. Fitted it myself. Took a hell of a lot of rootin and bollixing to take out the old one. Usb, aux and radio. No bluetooth, no cd player.
    Ye'd getta right good one for about €80-€100.
    I just wanted something grand!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,398 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

Relations between one of the brothers and I are very strained since dad got sick and subsequently died. He's a hard man to deal with at the best of times.no logic in him at all and a short fuse.

Today I went out to dehorn a calf. He offered to give a hand. I said no. Been kicking myself since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭jimmy G M

Relations between one of the brothers and I are very strained since dad got sick and subsequently died. He's a hard man to deal with at the best of times.no logic in him at all and a short fuse.

Today I went out to dehorn a calf. He offered to give a hand. I said no. Been kicking myself since.
    Far be from me to give advice as I dont know any of the circumstances but with family I believe you have to keep extending the olive branch, or in this case accept it.

Maybe go back to him and give some kind of story about cow going wild when she sees strangers etc etc and say you could do wuth a hand doing something next weekend?

Base price wrote: »
    Thanks.
    Daisy (the only cow on the farm) was AI'd in June last year. TBH I totally forgot about her calving date and only weaned her bull calf off her today - my bad :mad:

Feck, didn't realise I just did the same thing, took a blue heifer off a cow during the week and see she's due at the end of March :pac: Though she's usually a ball of fat at calving, much nicer condition at the moment!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,398 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

jimmy G M wrote: »
    Far be from me to give advice as I dont know any of the circumstances but with family I believe you have to keep extending the olive branch, or in this case accept it.

Maybe go back to him and give some kind of story about cow going wild when she sees strangers etc etc and say you could do wuth a hand doing something next weekend?

I know, i was kicking myself I didn't accept.

He only comes down every so often. But I've an incalf heifer down now, must have been pucked by something so I'll ask him to give me a hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,688 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

I'll just leave this here :D

Another farm death :( RIP http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/man-injured-in-workplace-accident-last-week-has-died-781366.html

Relations down that area tell me it was a knock to the head by a gate. Just goes to show how we'd normally pass off something like that as innocuous, but if it hits you in the wrong place it causes serious damage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

Was up in Meath earlier today and saw some cows out. Must be great to have dry ground.
    The fields around home are so wet i reckon the only stock I'd get out is an oxo cube

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭Diarmuid B

We let ours out yesterday, three cows, 2 yearlings and one calf. Never seen so much excitement and joy outta them before. First time any of them have been wintered in a shed before and by god they went mad when they got out!!

Another farm death :( RIP http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/man-injured-in-workplace-accident-last-week-has-died-781366.html

Relations down that area tell me it was a knock to the head by a gate. Just goes to show how we'd normally pass off something like that as innocuous, but if it hits you in the wrong place it causes serious damage.

Ya. A man local enough here was putting a bull into a trailer when the bull twisted and swung back a gate that knocked the man and he hit his head. He was in a coma and his speech is still very affected

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,736 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Cleaned out the calf shed today. They won't be using it for long more but the smell of amonia and softness under foot was getting to me big time. A right breeding ground for all sorts of nasty bugs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,378 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Are magenta and agridirect the only online agti stores? Or are there others

www.animalfarmacy.ie, www.connachtagri.ie & www.agriretailer.ie are a few others. I've used Animalfarmacy before to get pour on & had no issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 878 ✭✭✭Parishlad

Got to do all my genomics tags on Saturday. Have to say it was the easiest thing to do with the locking barriers. It would have been a p.i.t.a. if I had to do it in the crush. Have always questioned whether or not it was worthwhile getting them but for jobs like that they are a godsend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Parishlad wrote: »
    Got to do all my genomics tags on Saturday. Have to say it was the easiest thing to do with the locking barriers. It would have been a p.i.t.a. if I had to do it in the crush. Have always questioned whether or not it was worthwhile getting them but for jobs like that they are a godsend.

Do you find them noisy or have they fixed that? They are supposed to be good to stop calves coming out, they are worth it for that alone. Always found that a pain and they sh*ttin on the silage.

Was doing genomic tags for the old neighbour the last couple of hours. Just waiting on the vet now, spotted a heifer in the far shed with time up last week and full bag but looking uncomfortable/dull in herself and scutchy. Suspect a twisted calf bed but she's not fully broke so hopefully calf will be ok if I'm right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 878 ✭✭✭Parishlad

Muckit wrote: »
    Do you find them noisy or have they fixed that? They are supposed to be good to stop calves coming out, they are worth it for that alone. Always found that a pain and they sh*ttin on the silage.

Don't find them noisy at all. Yes, they make noise, but unless you are hyper sensitive then it's no problem.
    Yeah, great job to keep calves in. Never had one come out through them.
    The downside I suppose is that there are only 7 feeding spaces as opposed to 10 in the regular barriers. It's not an issue for me though as I would never have more than 6/7 cows together in a pen anyway.
    (Also handy when I want to stick the MooCall on one of them!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,411 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Hard to beat a steak dinner on a Tuesday :)