Is selling on adverts.ie a joke?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

Exchange I had today, asking price was 375.

17121689_669193883263679_630002649_o.jpg?oh=328a5b4fc866278e9360b00b81a2aeb9&oe=58BDF997

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,622 ✭✭✭topmanamillion

You might want to redact their username!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

You might want to redact their username!

Good call Batman :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭sheepy01

I thought I was the only one thinking that adverts is a joke. Timewasters 24/7

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭Korvanica

I hate that the messages in the app are upside down. Different to every other application. Even different than the actual website. Such a silly UX decision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

sheepy01 wrote: »
    I thought I was the only one thinking that adverts is a joke. Timewasters 24/7

That maybe your opinion but it's a very sweeping generalisation. I've had very few timewasters, but perhaps my years of experience trading on eBay and similar sites have taught me something.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭Jack the Stripper

I am using a new strategy on Adverts, if I get a comment or offer from a user I works out their percentage feedback based on positives and negatives and if it's below 90% I tells that user to stop commenting on my add as their feedback is a shambles.
    It gets a few wound up but who wants to be dealing with a user with 11 negative backs and 16 positives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,776 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

Have a ad up for a phone, ad states I have 2 phone so don't need it.....get the brilliant iphone 5 plus cash my way.......yeh no sorry I'm not spending money to lose money :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭Kamili

Have a ad up for a phone, ad states I have 2 phone so don't need it.....get the brilliant iphone 5 plus cash my way.......yeh no sorry I'm not spending money to lose money :D

Apparently I can't brain today and that made no sense :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,561 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Scummy feckers on adverts no selling ps4s for €230 sealed they have just bought them in Argos for €250 with a game and pad for free, it goes both ways on the site you have idiots trying to low ball or just screw you over then there are the fleabay type fleabags ripping people off and posting ****e like I know the nes is in smyths for €70 so don't post it on my ad where I am selling it for €100.

Still some bargains to be found on there but the hassle can be too much sometimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,871 ✭✭✭skerry

Donedeal is as bad. Anytime I list an ad I get a text from a girl saying she is interested. No option to reply to text and email address is provided. I have no doubt she lives on an oil rig somewhere in the north seas but is willing to offer above asking for an item she has never seen.

Selling my Mountain bike on there at the moment and had a lady offer me some bags of firewood plus cash for it.
    First thought was she was taking the piss but turns out she was deadly serious and had a lot of wood left over after a 'soft winter.
    No harm in asking I guess. Surely there's someone out there somewhere with a mountain bike to flog that's just itching for firewood.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,014 ✭✭✭eamonnq

Kamili wrote: »
    Apparently I can't brain today and that made no sense :P

Guy is selling one phone because he has two.

Gets an offer to swap the phone he is selling for an Iphone5 (but he has to give the person money as well as the phone he is trying to sell to get the Iphone5).

So he can then still end up with 2 phones, but with less cash than he currently has. Standard adverts operating procedure.

Scummy feckers on adverts no selling ps4s for €230 sealed they have just bought them in Argos for €250 with a game and pad for free, it goes both ways on the site you have idiots trying to low ball or just screw you over then there are the fleabay type fleabags ripping people off and posting ****e like I know the nes is in smyths for €70 so don't post it on my ad where I am selling it for €100.

Still some bargains to be found on there but the hassle can be too much sometimes.

I assume they are keeping the game and pad yeh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,058 ✭✭✭✭blade1

I assume they are keeping the game and pad yeh?

No, they'll swap em for your 1.9tdi!!:pac:

blade1 wrote: »
    No, they'll swap em for your 1.9tdi!!:pac:

Ah no I like my Passat :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,512 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

Was this you? :D:);)

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

Was this you? :D:);)

No youtube in work what am I missing!!!!!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,512 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

No youtube in work what am I missing!!!!!! :D

Ah! just a bit of craic, watch it when you get a chance.

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,070 ✭✭✭ScouseMouse

Ah! just a bit of craic, watch it when you get a chance.

Do you want to buy a pic of an iphone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭King of Kings

herself is trying to sell a buggy.
    4 women arranged to meet her to view it - all 4 cancelled on the day.

wasters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,358 ✭✭✭✭893bet

herself is trying to sell a buggy.
    4 women arranged to meet her to view it - all 4 cancelled on the day.

wasters.

Did she leave negative feedback for each of them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Robsweezie

Overwhelmingly poor feedback and lowball offer? Pleasure doing business with you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,370 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

An exchange i had today
    Them: €10 OFFERED
    I need a pan for my baby to make a cheese and others who recomand to me i need 1 small pan i stay close tesco dolphins barn

Me: So you want the bbq grill pan??

Them: I dont know i can prepare the chease for my baby and other stuff ?if yes sure i want

Me: dont think its suitable for cheese..its got holes in it and is for a bbq/grill

Them: I need somethink small to make a cheese for babyes and other souce that all i want do you have

Never knew 'baby cheese' was a thing, however im pretty sure you cant cook it with this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,746 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Guy makes lowball offer on my ad (has a habit of doing this from a look through his offers/feedback). I reject it.. 2 days later, makes the same offer.

I think I'll just stick it up on eBay to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Robsweezie

theres a mini trend lately of certain users placing an offer on my ad, withdrawing, coming back with lower/ lowball offer, then withdrawing again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,058 ✭✭✭✭blade1

See something like this every so often..

WANTED: U2 TICKET
    Will pay €100.

First responder comes up with...
    OFFERED €100.

Cue another few offering €100 for a ticket that doesn't exist!!! :pac::pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭Jack the Stripper

Have ad up with no offers. Even state it in description, two users asking what best price is. You can't educate stupid I'm afraid. Do these no hopers have nothing else to do all day.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 209 ✭✭Live65a846d0ee

Have ad up with no offers. Even state it in description, two users asking what best price is. You can't educate stupid I'm afraid. Do these no hopers have nothing else to do all day.

Yeah, it was me the ad was there for 2 months, good luck with the sale. Will try again in 2 years. I just don't get people that sell something for 40 then you offer 35 and they be like ''mate you can't read the ad?'' f off the ad was there for months and you are lucky I am even making an offer on it and then you dare insult me by saying I offered too low? Yeah no wonder your item is for sale for 4 months with no buyers, time wasted yourself(not Jack the striper, other sellers)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,246 ✭✭✭Dia1988

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭jonon9

Dia1988 wrote: »

The people who like women's used underware might. You know the kind