If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

"Significant" numbers of babies remains actually found

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,207 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

jimgoose wrote: »
    I take it you're referring to Henry VIII of England and his spat with the Pope over the annulment of the former's marriage to Catherine of Aragon? Protestantism began around ten years before that in Wittenberg, Germany with Martin Luther's 95 Theses.

Yes, you are 100% correct, but it's quite possible it may have died out without H8 basically turning it into a state religion in sort of a similar way to the effect the Roman Empire had on boosting Christianity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,214 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Zebra3 wrote: »
    Yes, you are 100% correct, but it's quite possible it may have died out without H8 basically turning it into a state religion in sort of a similar way to the effect the Roman Empire had on boosting Christianity.

Point. But it was probably big enough in Continental Europe and in Scotland via John Calvin to have survived regardless of Big Hal's hard-on. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Mr.Wemmick

ThisRegard wrote: »
    That clown is on Sean Moncrieff now.

Proof, if any is needed, that the poison is deeply embedded in society and the sickness has become acceptable/normal. The fact that he thinks he can get away with saying that is truly shocking. I hope C. Corless and the relatives of some of those dead children sue the arse off him.

“Female is real, and it's sex, and femininity is unreal, and it's gender.

For that to become the given identity of women is a profoundly disabling notion."

— Germaine Greer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,775 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Zebra3 wrote: »
    The only reason any bishop should be part of an investigation is when they are being questioned.

The guards should be all over this, raiding whatever premises and seizing whatever documents necessary to get to the bottom of this.

I don't give a toss if some building is "holy" or how important some religious weirdo is meant to be to his slavish followers.

Get the finger out, lads.

It is Galway County Council who are suppose to have all the documents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,946 ✭✭✭✭Neyite

pilly wrote: »
    Jesus Christ, that's just unreal, although to be fair the majority of people would just see that as insanity.

What did make me take stock over the weekend though was the lack of response from the Tuam people. A reporter who was there on Friday notes that there was no-one at the sight and one small bunch of flowers.

Also people actually asked her to leave it alone.

The only person I know from Tuam said "well sure we knew that 2014 why does it all have to be dragged up again" and I get the feeling that's the general consensus.

Whilst I understand that they must feel ashamed, unfortunately shame is a necessary emotion so as that mistakes from the past are not repeated.

Could they now show some love and support?

Anyone on this thread from Tuam might tell me what the actual local response is?

It's not the general consensus. Anybody I know from the area support the tireless work of Mrs. Corless. Most were already aware of the mass grave, that it had been reported decades ago to the authorities who claimed it was a famine grave and filled it in with rubble.

Everyone I know from Tuam - and from the West of Ireland - are heartbroken and disgusted at this. Not a single person that I know has indicated that it should be left alone or not fully investigated. It may well be that one or two are vocal about it being left alone but they do not speak for the majority. Or maybe the papers like that angle and have been selectively quoting I don't know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭nelly17

RobertKK wrote: »
    It is Galway County Council who are suppose to have all the documents.

Is it not Tusla?

Jesus Christ, that's just unreal, although to be fair the majority of people would just see that as insanity.

What did make me take stock over the weekend though was the lack of response from the Tuam people. A reporter who was there on Friday notes that there was no-one at the sight and one small bunch of flowers.

Also people actually asked her to leave it alone.

The only person I know from Tuam said "well sure we knew that 2014 why does it all have to be dragged up again" and I get the feeling that's the general consensus.

Whilst I understand that they must feel ashamed, unfortunately shame is a necessary emotion so as that mistakes from the past are not repeated.

Could they now show some love and support?

Anyone on this thread from Tuam might tell me what the actual local response is?

Why does it matter what the locals in tuam do? Or say?
    I'm sure they are as disgusted by the way the babies bodies were treated, just like the rest of the country.
    Why do they need to come out crying?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

bubblypop wrote: »
    I'm sure they are as disgusted by the way the babies bodies were treated, just like the rest of the country.

Exactly.this matter should be put of their hands and the gardai taking over the scene.if the remains of a child was to show up in an average joe's back garden would you need someone to be upset to kick start an investigation?

nelly17 wrote: »
    Is it not Tusla?

It has been said that Galway County Council received all the documents from the Tuam Mother and Baby home, many years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

Am I missing something?

I understood that the story was about the disgraceful treatment of children and the callous disposal of their bodies.

But is there an allegation that they were murdered?

We need to have all of the remains examined first.800 is a suspiciously large amount of bodies.Thing is given the amount of time the church has covered up the burial site alot of key evidence may have already been destroyed.investigators should move fast on this site and others to preserve the evidence.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,005 ✭✭✭pilly

It matters because it's on their doorstep. I don't think they should come out crying but would it kill them to bring some flowers down there, hold a vigil or something? It would show their support.

Why are you sure they're disgusted? Do you know them all?

I remember when there was the Kilkenny incest case and an article was written in the Sunday Independent, it disparaged the local residents of Castlecomer because they were not out crying, and life was getting on as normal.
    btw the man involved served 7 years in jail, and went back to England where he was from when released.

Local people were disgusted, but what could one do? We have to trust the justice system to deal with it.
    With Tuam, and given it is 56 years since it closed, one suspects the time from events will affect things, but like he above, there is not much the locals can do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭valoren

smurgen wrote: »

I welcome into the debate opinions such as Donahue's. I welcome them with open arms. Let them talk. Let their mask of respectability slip. let their hatred shine through.

I don't believe in God. That's just my outlook. But I do believe there was a preacher called Jesus Christ. His message was simple yet dangerous.

Love each other. Don't be a dick. Be grand. He preached using fable like and easy to understand analogies.
    He was like a nomad Tony Robbins, just without the power point slides or the veneers. His message, his sermons developed into Jesus mania as he toured. While there were other preachers who made similar pronouncements, they didn't get their message across in simple terms or as effectively as Jesus.

But his message was dangerous and it was spreading uncontrolled. It's what got him eventually killed by the Romans. He was essentially a celebrity in his own time but he was just a mortal man. He became bigger than 'God'. He was given a 'god' like status such was the power of his basic message of Love one another. The concept of God the creator was well established during the time of Christ. His revolutionary notion was that we are all 'God', that he is each and every one of us. It was his unique selling point. It was a new concept. It was a dangerous one. If we are all God and if you believe that God is Love, then if you do not Love then you are against that God. People loved it and followed it. But the same oppressive forces which we are familiar with did not like it. To them God was a tool that could be exploited to provoke fear and ultimately control over people.

His message is what separated him from a crowded field. It would ultimately prove to be his fatal mistake. This status brought a trumped up charge of blasphemy against him. He was put on trial and was executed. He died for his hippy like beliefs of a common humanity, of love. He became a threat to Rome such was the popularity of his ideas but he was ahead of his time and they got rid of him.

He, and this 'God' like attribution was subsequently exploited. He was re-invented to be divine, a figure head for a new religion, created by subsequent generations of his fan base. They called it Christianity. Such was the lack of documentation and historical artifacts of the time, his life, his legacy and his message was a blank canvas for this new Church. Church leaders were free to create 'scripture' as they saw fit. The narrative, the cult of Jesus was created in the centuries following his death e.g. God had cleansed his mothers soul, so she could conceive him as a virgin, he came, tried to save us, failed and died to save our souls. Now. Follow him and you'll save yourself. He'll be back. You'll be sorry if you don't. Purple Monkey Dishwasher. The actions and deeds ascribed to the characters in the Bible, transubstantiation, heaven, hell, purgatory, are as ridiculous to me as the concepts of Xenu and Thetans in another 'Religion', Scientology. The multitude of authors who collaborated on the hodge podge that was the 'Bible' were essentially L Ron Hubbards of their day enthused with 'divine' intervention. When the printing press came along, and the content was solidified with the King James version, it became an instant classic, and topped the best sellers list in the centuries that followed.

Jesus was re-imagined as being the son of God, the sky phantom who had created the earth, water, fire and air. The message of Christ thus became a fable, a spiritual exaggeration of his hippy philosophers message of love. But the exploitation didn't end there. While most used this new church to practice what they preached, an element within, which grew over time, came to understand how the growing popularity and globalization of it (see The Crusades), could be exploited to achieve such wonderful things as; subjugation, suffocating control, and dominance. The best way to look at the church in Ireland is that it is a Wolf in Sheeps clothing.

While elements within the church will preach love, forgiveness, understanding and respect of each other under the love of 'God', there were other elements within who would exploit the idea of this God as a tool to scaremonger, intimidate and frighten. The whole organisation was based on suspension of disbelief. That a sky wizard had created everything, including us. The world was 6,000 years old. And that was that. If you had the intelligence to see it was all BS, you also had the intelligence to shut up about it too. Because when you're in a nest of vipers, you dare not move or make a sound. This inertness in society became normalized over time. A stifling, suffocating status quo was established. It was this inertness, submissiveness to the all ruling Church that resulted in such a scandal as the Tuam M&B homes.

While many would clash openly with the elements in the church, they were in the minority. A powerful defence mechanism was developed by the church. Anyone questioning it, asking pointed questions, demanding accountability was just being tempted by the devil. This worked beautifully to keep dissent contained. The church and the authority it carried steadily became infallible in our country. Anyone openly questioning it risked social isolation. It became too much of a risk to toy with Excommunication, a serious consequence, a proverbial death sentence for many, particularly rural communities.

The church in Ireland focused on children. They grasped control of the education system here. They got them young. The same negative elements recognized the enormous power and influence they could wield within such a framework. A coup of Irish hearts and minds. People who were inherently decent human beings, corrupted by a nefarious cult which was thoroughly enmeshed in society and our value system.

Such was the power given to the Church by the early state, it attracted such people who were attracted to exploiting such unbridled power. Thus heartless bullies, ambitious socipaths, sadistic bitches, malignant narcisists and power hungry and violent psychopaths flocked to the church. Those of such an otherwise perverted persuasion would exploit being a 'wolf in sheep's clothing' as cover for decades of horrific, endemic child sexual abuse, rape, sodomy. They would intimidate, harass and belittle anyone, who would dare question them. Even from their own order. They would suppress criticism. The domineering church became normalized.

The mother and babies homes were a product of all of this. Of exploitation, subjugation, dominance, control, manipulation, abuse, bullying, harassment. These women had babies. The most natural thing in the world. Absurd as it seems now, they did not have those babies within the framework society had been brainwashed into believing was the correct way. Not within a marriage, which was conducted in the eyes of holy God. 'God' needed to be witness to the marriage. A toxic dichotomy developed between 'pure' children, born under God, and 'unclean' babies, whose souls were corrupted by their mother, herself tempted by The Devil. Her covert punishment was deserved, she was a sinner, undeserving of care, help, love or support. It is both infuriating and depressingly sad to read accounts from those women.

They were thrown to the wolves. Of Mercy. Of Charity.

The way the were treated was all as far away from the message of compassion that Christ had espoused and preached about as was possible. The arrogant hypocrisy of those who are responsible is suffocating.

When I read opinions from clowns like Donahue, I only see the wolf in sheeps clothing. So let the wolves show up. And let them vindicate people like Catherine Corless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭nhunter100

valoren wrote:
    When I read opinions from clowns like Donahue, I only see the wolf in sheeps clothing. So let the wolves show up. And let them vindicate people like Catherine Corless.

+1 to all you have wrote.

It matters because it's on their doorstep. I don't think they should come out crying but would it kill them to bring some flowers down there, hold a vigil or something? It would show their support.

Here's a quote from this mornings news from Paul Redmond:

Tuam must not be seen in isolation
    It was the fifth biggest of the nine so called “Mother and Baby Homes” and it is the tip of the iceberg for deaths which amount to at least 6,000 babies and children across the nine homes.

There are over 227 confirmed deaths in the notorious Bethany Home in Dublin, and recent research has revealed the names of over 200 babies and children buried in the Angel’s Plot at Castlepollard Mother and Baby Home. These range from a few hours old to over two years.

There were also at least 77 confirmed stillbirths in Castlepollard, above and beyond the 200 registered deaths. There will be hundreds of unregistered stillbirths discovered in Tuam too.

The worst is yet to come as the huge behemoths of Saint Patrick’s, Bessboro and Sean Ross Abbey have yet to be revealed. But it is likely that the total for these three “Homes” alone will be well over 4,000 babies and children buried in shoeboxes and rags.

Seems like every community in Ireland should be out protesting and demanding inquiries into their local Home.

Neyite wrote: »

Seems like every community in Ireland should be out protesting and demanding inquiries into their local Home.

There actually were people around the country saying prayers and laying flowers for these women and babies yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭nelly17

Neyite wrote: »

Seems like it but there is not another 6 months in power for our politicians in it for them - they got that 2 weeks ago by setting up the Maurice McCabe Tribunal so sadly as per usual its a case of 'move along, nothing to see here'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,971 ✭✭✭laoch na mona

sugarman wrote: »
    No, even before. Its worse than anything the British ever done to us.

Worst things the Brits did was build Maynooth

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

It was an Irish man in what was the Irish Parliament at the time as far as I know.

There actually were people around the country saying prayers and laying flowers for these women and babies yesterday.

Many of us had our quiet moments were we took some time to remember them. I just didn't do it gurning for a reporter and their photographer.

Residents of Tuam have been tending that spot for decades. They put up a plaque, and mow the grass, plant flowers weekly and regularly stop and say a prayer whenever they are passing and have done since the graves were discovered. They did all of this because those in the local authority didn't care.

They are being blasted for not turning up in front of the media. No doubt if they did, they'd be accused of being hypocritical.

But why does it matter?
    Are you trying to suggest that people in tuam had something to do with it?
    Really not understanding your point here?
    You think that people in tuam should put down a few flowers or tell journalists how bad the nuns were.
    Hold a vigil? What even is that? People standing around with candles shaking their heads over it?
    Makes no difference whatsoever if people in tuam are shocked, disgusted or even if they don't care.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

They're not to blame for this. There are countless people to blame, but the locals are not, simply by virtue of their address.

Direct your anger at those responsible, and those who continue to blindly support them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,207 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

The worst thing the Brits did in Ireland was let over a million starve to death.

The worst thing the Brits did? Hmmm, some fierce competition there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,166 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Ah here, there's things now you can't go blaming 'the Brits' for. Go bang that drum somewhere else.

We did this to our own people, to pregnant women, children and babies FFS.

Successive Irish governments, Gardai and our own people nurtured and gave support to and covered up for this monster.

But why does it matter?
    Are you trying to suggest that people in tuam had something to do with it?
    Really not understanding your point here?
    You think that people in tuam should put down a few flowers or tell journalists how bad the nuns were.
    Hold a vigil? What even is that? People standing around with candles shaking their heads over it?
    Makes no difference whatsoever if people in tuam are shocked, disgusted or even if they don't care.

It matters because if you've ever lived in a small village in Ireland you'd know the mind-set of people who live in small villages is completely different to what is generally the norm in the country as a whole and it's important that this changes.

If it doesn't then this will happen again. Maybe not a mass graveyard but abuse by the local priest brushed under the carpet etc.

It does matter to me how the people of Tuam feel about this. I haven't said that they're all ignoring it, I've simply asked the question.

It may not matter to you but it does to me and many others in the country. And I'm damn ****ing sure it matters to any survivor of the home who probably still lives in Galway. There are people still alive effected by this bubblypop and just because you don't want to see support out on the street doesn't mean they don't.

Small village attitudes HAVE to change for these problems ever to be fully tackled.

It matters because if you've ever lived in a small village in Ireland you'd know the mind-set of people who live in small villages is completely different to what is generally the norm in the country as a whole and it's important that this changes.

If it doesn't then this will happen again. Maybe not a mass graveyard but abuse by the local priest brushed under the carpet etc.

It does matter to me how the people of Tuam feel about this. I haven't said that they're all ignoring it, I've simply asked the question.

It may not matter to you but it does to me and many others in the country. And I'm damn ****ing sure it matters to any survivor of the home who probably still lives in Galway. There are people still alive effected by this bubblypop and just because you don't want to see support out on the street doesn't mean they don't.

Small village attitudes HAVE to change for these problems ever to be fully tackled.

I grew up in a small town, I know exactly what the attitudes are like.
    Doesn't mean that the people of tuam have to parade themselves on TV and newspapers for other people in this country to feel better about what happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭marienbad

Fish rots from the head - small villages in Ireland are a long way down the blame list .

And don't forget the homes in the big urban areas . Small villages were effectively powerless in these affairs in the 50's and 60's .

I grew up in a small town, I know exactly what the attitudes are like.
    Doesn't mean that the people of tuam have to parade themselves on TV and newspapers for other people in this country to feel better about what happened.

You haven't answered my question about the victims and survivors? Do they not deserve to feel better?

How would you feel as a survivor of that cesspit if you went down there this weekend and there was nothing but an eerie silence. Lonely I'd imagine.

We can all sit around on our arses and feel crap about it and rant on internet forums and cause silly arguments but yes I believe showing your disgust and support is important.

If you don't then fine, we'll have to agree to disagree.

You really don't get it do you?

Its because of the people of Tuam that this grave was ever uncovered in the first place.
    The townfolk went to the Gardai in 1974 when two boys discovered the grave.
    The townfolk were the ones who created the shrine to those buried there several decades ago.
    The townfolk were the ones who refused to forget that there were bodies there.
    They were the ones that refused to accept Galway Co Co's assertion that it was a famine grave, and always believed it was a grave from the Home.
    They were the ones that stopped and said a prayer for those baptised souls when no priest or nun ever did.
    They were the ones called liars by the authorities and the orders for years.
    They were vindicated when Mrs Corless did her research and compiled a list of potential names to put to those bodies there.

Others might try to sweep this away, white wash it or drag out a lengthy inquiry until all that should have to answer for this are well in their consecrated grave. But it wont be the Tuam people who do that. They've wanted this day to come for decades.

But the paper grabbed one quote from auld grump who likely doesn't want her garden dug up in an inquiry and suddenly 'nobody' cares?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

You haven't answered my question about the victims and survivors? Do they not deserve to feel better?

How would you feel as a survivor of that cesspit if you went down there this weekend and there was nothing but an eerie silence. Lonely I'd imagine.

We can all sit around on our arses and feel crap about it and rant on internet forums and cause silly arguments but yes I believe showing your disgust and support is important.

If you don't then fine, we'll have to agree to disagree.

Not hugely comfortable talking about this, nor is it my place, but I know of one survivor of these places, not Tuam though.

He won't set foot near the place, and never will. He cares little for trinkets and flowers.

He'd much prefer that something actionable is done, but he's not the one to do it.