Rate your Primary school, Secondary and College experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭dar100

Excluded from primary

Same with secondary

Undergrad I enjoyed

Postgrad just finished and was also enjoyable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,059 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

All were grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,073 ✭✭✭pauliebdub

Primary school was great, had a nice circle of friends. Headmaster was a bit of a bollox and very religious, it was like a conveyor belt of priests, nuns, missionaries, consecrated virgins and people from religious charity groups coming in to speak to us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭B0jangles

Primary was great; educate together school in which many of the parents were artists, musicians and other creative types so the ethos was very open and interesting.
    Secondary was pretty good too even though it was a girls-only convent school - the teaching nuns were pretty decent and not into pushing hardcore catholicism on us.
    Third Level was great fun - course was interesting and I made a lot of good friends in the Drama Society :)
    One minor irritation was that one history tutor I had said she'd always treat us like adults and if we missed essays or tutorials she'd write to us, not our parents.

Except she only ever sent postcards...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

Good
    Bad
    Ugly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

Primary school- Horrible. We were forced to do Irish dancing and learn to play the tin whistle in my school.( All boys school too btw).

Secondary School - It was a horribly underfunded facility lacking basic utilities such as showers or sports hall. Lots of bullying especially towards lads who were gay. We had lots of stupid rules like not being allowed to leave the class to go to the toilet. You were expected to go at the start, or end of class. A great place for people with authoritarian personalities.

College - Still in my degree, A lot better, more emphasis on critical thought. It's nice be treated like a human being. I hate looking at lots of powerpoint slides though. And some lecturers evidently cannot teach a class without it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,730 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

not great, took nearly 30 years of studying within our educational system to be diagnosed with 'laziness'(dyslexia):rolleyes:, and this was dealt with very questionable upon diagnosis. was diagnosed during a masters course which i subsequently ran from, very enjoyable subject matter but i was unable to deal with the workload and method of teaching. i now enjoy my own research by my own methods.

my appearance was questioned in secondary school, long hair, i questioned the principle on his methods of running the school. parents were called, backed me, end of discussion with said principle. father was very well educated and also an educator, advised principle to educate himself on educating children. i dont think he liked this but i do feel my father was correct. this event taught me to question authoritative figures, always, as they really do get things wrong, sometimes. authority doesnt always like being question as well

our educational system is designed to create 'worker drones', people who will obey and be obedient at all times, people who will not question authority. it does a very poor job of developing kids so that they can be prepared as best they can for adulthood, even though this is improving, there is more to life than creating 'worker drones'. kids should be shown how to maintain their physical and mental well being. homework should be banned, not only do we tell kids, you must spend all day in work(school), you must also take work home with you. failure to do so will increase your chances of failure in life. what a load of crap! home time is for family and friends, one of the most important skills in life.

our educational system is an example what i call a 'hyper competitive' system, this kind of behaviour is actually destructive for society as a whole. we need to create cooperative systems or our planet and species is toast!

our educational system needs a massive overhaul but that ll probably never happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

1. Primary school was OK. A window seat was great if you could get it. Most fun days were when your teacher was out sick and they'd split up the class into all the rest of the classes and you might do a project or essay or just generally mess for the day.

2. Secondary school - very tough going, didn't have the energy for it.

3. College - a little bit like secondary but things I did stood well to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Arcade_Tryer

Miserable Irish weather Hitlerish school rules.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

Didn't mind primary (had some good teachers)
    Hated secondary (mainly due to the amount of bullying and **** teachers)
    Loved Third Level

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Primary was ok, secondary was absolutely awful, third level was good.

Primary was grand. I went to 4 primary schools in 3 countries (England, France, Ireland). Can't really remember England. Was very young. France was a lovely school. I remember the lunches being very long and we had to go for a "sieste" after lunch which I found ridiculous (at 6 years old :rolleyes: ) so usually coloured instead. I picked up the language fairly fast, as you would at that age. My French is gone to sh*te now though!

Went to 2 schools in Ireland. One was a tiny school in the country. Was only there for a year, can't remember much of it. For the rest of my primary school years I went to a big Catholic school. Had a great time! Was very quiet and a bit of a teachers pet. Had a few friends but found it hard to keep friendships as I was in France for all the school holidays every year.

Hated secondary school. It was an all girls Catholic school. Didn't have very many friends and suffered with depression/other issues. Was average enough academically. Could have done a lot better if I had any interest in school. I just wanted to get out of the place! The last few years were a lot better as I had a nice group of friends and did a bit of sport. The teachers were mostly nice. At the time I didn't enjoy secondary school but looking back I had some good times too.

College was great! The course I did was interesting, had loads of friends, went out all the time (probably a bit too much). Did well enough in my degree. Could have done better of course if I didn't go out all the time. Also met my boyfriend in my class and we are still together 5 years later, woop!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

My family moved to Ireland so I joined 3rd class and got on grand, got on with everyone and enjoyed school. I was a bright child and did well.
    Pretty much the same with secondary, bar hating PE and Geography, it was grand, I got on with it. I did well in the Inter and Leaving Certs.
    I went into college and the course was not what I thought it would be, and I was unwell for some of it which didn't help. I struggled through to get it finished and graduated, pregnant at the time of graduation but without realising. I threw myself into rearing my daughter, and never pursued the subject I had studied again. As an adult I went back to education in a field that was much more my thing, graduated and got work out of the course. I think you are very lucky if you know for sure what you want to do leaving school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭Glenster

Primary school:
    I don't know, I was a nipper. It was probably fine.

Secondary school:
    Hated it, trap a teenager in a building for 22 hours a day (I was in boarding school) with life failures (teachers) and watch him act out.

College:
    It was fine, more social than anything else. TBH it was only 20% of my day. I don't define that period of my life by it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭Glenster

dar100 wrote: »
    Excluded from primary

Same with secondary

Undergrad I enjoyed

Postgrad just finished and was also enjoyable

How do you get excluded from primary? I was too busy playing with POGs to go around committing hate crimes and setting fires.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,360 ✭✭✭KingBrian2

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    not great, took nearly 30 years of studying within our educational system to be diagnosed with 'laziness'(dyslexia):rolleyes:, and this was dealt with very questionable upon diagnosis. was diagnosed during a masters course which i subsequently ran from, very enjoyable subject matter but i was unable to deal with the workload and method of teaching. i now enjoy my own research by my own methods.

my appearance was questioned in secondary school, long hair, i questioned the principle on his methods of running the school. parents were called, backed me, end of discussion with said principle. father was very well educated and also an educator, advised principle to educate himself on educating children. i dont think he liked this but i do feel my father was correct. this event taught me to question authoritative figures, always, as they really do get things wrong, sometimes. authority doesnt always like being question as well

our educational system is designed to create 'worker drones', people who will obey and be obedient at all times, people who will not question authority. it does a very poor job of developing kids so that they can be prepared as best they can for adulthood, even though this is improving, there is more to life than creating 'worker drones'. kids should be shown how to maintain their physical and mental well being. homework should be banned, not only do we tell kids, you must spend all day in work(school), you must also take work home with you. failure to do so will increase your chances of failure in life. what a load of crap! home time is for family and friends, one of the most important skills in life.

our educational system is an example what i call a 'hyper competitive' system, this kind of behaviour is actually destructive for society as a whole. we need to create cooperative systems or our planet and species is toast!

our educational system needs a massive overhaul but that ll probably never happen.

Your very opinionated on this subject perhaps you should consider running for our next education minister. You can design you very own school system for the country well good luck to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Primary: Warm fuzzy memories. Not a care in the world.

Secondary: Loved it. The best days of my life. Surrounded by your best friends all day, every day.

College: ****, hated it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Glenster wrote: »
    How do you get excluded from primary? I was too busy playing with POGs to go around committing hate crimes and setting fires.

Pogs were awesome.

KingBrian2 wrote: »
    Your very opinionated on this subject perhaps you should consider running for our next education minister. You can design you very own school system for the country well good luck to you.

extremely opinionated, politics to change things, i think not! our political systems are almost defunct at this stage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 32,687 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

Primary was pleasant enough. Perhaps a small bit of bullying because I was a bit of a teacher's pet but nothing to sinister or anything that had any lasting effects.

Secondary. After the nuns and before social media. The Golden Era to have gone through secondary school.

I hated college. Absolutely hated it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭mickmac76

Primary School
    Hated it. The teachers only cared about gaelic football and if you were good at that nothing else mattered. I've hated gaelic ever since.

Secondary School
    Was fine, I was pretty quite but I had good friends and did ok with my exams.

Third level.
    I tried it twice but I couldn't settle in and make friends so I dropped out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,360 ✭✭✭KingBrian2

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    extremely opinionated, politics to change things, i think not! our political systems are almost defunct at this stage

These parties have different politics. They all want to have their own way.

KingBrian2 wrote: »
    These parties have different politics. They all want to have their own way.

course they do, control is powerful drug

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,369 ✭✭✭nozzferrahhtoo

1: Overall I enjoyed my experience in secondary school.

I can not say I did in my school in Raheny. They described themselves as a "college" for some reason I never thought to work out. But to say the teachers were pretty universally awful would be an understatement.

From a Religion and Irish teacher who got teary eyed every time she discussed god (in both subjects)......

to a German teacher who periodically collected a lot of money for tatty ripped books that already were in our library only to show up the following week in new sweaters.............

to a year head (chemistry teacher, thankfully I never took chemistry) who gave detention to anyone he found actually studying..... on the sole assumption they must have been doing homework they were meant to do the night before..........

to a french teacher who did nothing but play Monthy Python films for us over and over.........

to an english teacher who did nothing but make us learn reams of texts off by heart while trying to recruit us all into the boxing club and selling us his own book on leaving cert English which he apparently self published because no one else would.............

to a slurring history teacher smelling of fresh whisky with a strangely German name who spent the entire class mumbling towards the black board while half the students screamed obscenities at him and threw enormous spit balls.........

.............to a library that no one was actually ever allowed to enter without written permission from your year head AND at least one of the principle or vice principle, and even then for 10minutes maximum............. it was a joke of a school.

The sole exception to just how awful the teachers were was a maths teacher bearing an insane resemblance to Billy Crystal. He genuinely knew his stuff, loved his subject, loved his students, and communicated ALL of that effectively and well and made you love his subject as much as he did.

I had assumed all schools were that bad, until I repeated the Leaving Cert in Whitehall and it was the EXACT opposite and I got straight As in all the subjects I repeated there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,819 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

Primary:

Great for the first six years with wonderful teachers. Even the old-school ones close to retirement who used to still punch us (1980s)! At least they were fair and had no favourites. One teacher in second class caught me messing during a maths test and made me finish my test standing up in front of the class. When she marked the tests I'd come first, she gave me the prize anyway despite my messing about.

Then the final two with a bullying principal who hated me and went out of her way to humiliate me and any other child who wasn't in her favour. Including her own niece and nephew whose dad (her brother) she didn't talk to.... :rolleyes:

Secondary:
    Grand overall, I was bullied off and on (quiet, a little eccentric, marked out as a victim from primary school) but always had my friends. The day I came back voluntarily to repeat my leaving cert despite some of the bullies still being there ended it all, they ignored me after that, it was like whatever they did or said was of no consequence. The teachers and principal were great though, there was a good pastoral care ethos in the school, which I am happy to have attended overall.

Third level:
    First year was tough but enjoyed my undergrad overall. Postgrad studies were better, full time as well as part time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

My Primary school was run by a cruel bastard and most the other teachers weren't much better, two of them were raging alcoholics. The headmaster used to hit kids for any kind of indiscretion, lots of capital punishment in that school. The headmaster of that school was a pure scumbag, the worst of the worst and shouldn't have been let anywhere near kids he seemed to take pleasure in punishing people and dealing out slaps.

Secondary school was much better but it was still run by a bully, luckily he's short fuse ment he was running from one student to another. So he would tell you to wait outside he's office then come back an hour later having completely forgot what he made you stand there for.

We didn't have much bullying amongst the kids, their was a comradery against the teachers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

to a french teacher who did nothing but play Monthy Python films for us over and over.........

Was it the 'I fart in your general direction' scene from the Holy Grail?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Primary was ok, apart from Irish which I felt was the most uselss, overhyped load of bull**** and completly irrrlevant.

Secondary was a pain in the ass because everything was uselss, overhyped bull**** and completly irrrlevant.

A lot dependon the the teachers though. **** teacher, awful experience. Good teacher, abotu as positive an exeprience as could be hoped for.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭Hector Bellend

The only thing that got me through secondary was the possibility of having sex with my french teacher.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,369 ✭✭✭nozzferrahhtoo

gramar wrote: »
    Was it the 'I fart in your general direction' scene from the Holy Grail?

That was certainly one of his favorites. The French Teacher in question was in fact also one of our resident "live in" priests. Though I never myself saw him work in that capacity in any way. But he seemed to be one of the more liberal, less devout, priests I ever met. Must check out where he ended up actually, be interesting to see what happened to him. I dropped French after 3rd year in favor of German so no idea what happened him next. What Monthy Python videos had to do with French Class however I am still unclear on.