Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rate your Primary school, Secondary and College experience.

• 05-03-2017 12:43am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,218 ✭✭✭✭

1:
    Overall I enjoyed my experience in secondary school. Teachers were sound enough and once you weren't disrespectful and the principal/vice were fine once you wore your uniform. Their was only really one strict teacher. One teacher wasn't very pleasant but he retired when I was in first year. School was fairly liberal and nothing was really mad a big deal of. Homework was fine in generally(apart from one teacher 1st-3rd). Their wasn't much bullying apart from the odd thing.
    Primary school was okay. Some teachers were a little over bearing but it was just a little clammy for me. Had great friends in primary school and their was great times tough.
    College for me was disappointing it might have being because I had such a good experience in secondary school. Lecturers were strict and were constantly nagging about attendance/assignments(Whilst saying this isn't school). The head of our year rang peoples parents regarding their attendance and other issues.(even when people supported themselves). I went to an all boys primary/secondary school(A few girls used attend classes in secondary) in college I had a mixed class and the amount of bullying from female students was unreal. It was directed at both male and female students. I always got the impression that college was meant to be a lot more relaxed and bullying didn't exist either because everybody was so mature.

How would you rate your experience in primary, secondary school and college?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭Jack the Stripper

I learned a lot in school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

I missed the first day and then never caught up :(

Hasn't this type thread been done to death before?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,218 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Hasn't this type thread been done to death before?

AH, just give me your 1,2,3!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,309 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

1:
    Overall I enjoyed my experience in secondary school. Teachers were sound enough and once you weren't disrespectful and the principal/vice were fine once you wore your uniform. Their was only really one strict teacher. One teacher wasn't very pleasant but he retired when I was in first year. School was fairly liberal and nothing was really mad a big deal of. Homework was fine in generally(apart from one teacher 1st-3rd). Their wasn't much bullying apart from the odd thing.
    Primary school was okay. Some teachers were a little over bearing but it was just a little clammy for me. Had great friends in primary school and their was great times tough.
    College for me was disappointing it might have being because I had such a good experience in secondary school. Lecturers were strict and were constantly nagging about attendance/assignments(Whilst saying this isn't school). The head of our year rang peoples parents regarding their attendance and other issues.(even when people supported themselves). I went to an all boys primary/secondary school(A few girls used attend classes in secondary) in college I had a mixed class and the amount of bullying from female students was unreal. It was directed at both male and female students. I always got the impression that college was meant to be a lot more relaxed and bullying didn't exist either because everybody was so mature.

At third level? Never heard of that happening.

mzungu wrote: »
    At third level?

Yes, my secondary school was more like a college experience nearly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,812 ✭✭✭mailforkev

"School was the best days of my life" is probably the saddest eight words a person can ever say.

That was did you enjoy school? this is a thread about rating primary, secondary school and college.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,443 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Primary school was grand, my mother was one of the teachers so I was expected to behave to a higher standard than everyone else.

Secondary school was grand, had some inspirational teachers. Still have some great friends, never understood the whole "single sex schools are bad" stuff I read on here, I got on grand with guys in school and the girls in the Convent.

Third level was grand the first two times, then I went a third time to study social care. It wasn't what I thought it would be at all and was more like a course in identity politics. I bailed after two years, I'd had enough.

I'll probably study something else, but honestly I'm not enamoured by the idea, probably do the Hibernia course, people are doing it like the ECDL to gain their teaching qualifications. I'll see what happens, but I would have no interest in actually becoming a teacher, I just enjoy education for education sake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

Primary: Enjoyed it. Had a nice circle of friends and was stuck in to football. Didn't have to grow up too quick. Some great memories.

Secondary: Just as good. Was in an all boys school so that was fun :P did a fairly good Leaving Cert.

Third level: Did Arts as an undergrad. Got a good chance to go on the doss and do plenty drinking/sleeping. Met the missus. Got grades good enough to do a masters which I'm currently at. It's a joke. The timetable is scattered and the workshops/lectures are completely random as if everyone has a different plan. Oh well, there'll be a job at the end of it :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭robman60

Primary: Liked the early years of it mainly. Towards the later years it was somewhat difficult because I was a bit of a nerd and this led to some mild degree of bullying but worse than that it led to me not really being myself at times in order to be more in with the crowd. It's hard to be very critical of myself looking back now though as I was so young and necessarily unsure of myself at the time. 6/10
    Secondary: Secondary years were quite awful on the whole. Overbearing teachers and especially the principals and vice principals (they changed while I was there). Whoever was in charge of choosing the principal seemed to always opt for a disciplinarian rather than someone who would get on with students. Add to this teenage angst/attitude (which hit me like a f*cking train), and the fact that the school was plagued by suicides and it made for a rather unhappy time. I pulled a decent Leaving Cert in the end and the last few years weren't too bad but overall I would say it was a negative experience. 3/10
    University: I'm in third year at university and it definitely exceeded my expectations. Ok, it maybe wasn't as party oriented as I may have thought but I got pretty tired of that after first year anyway. In my degree the hours are very manageable, the content is on the whole quite interesting, and the level of academic autonomy is liberating compared to a secondary school environment which stifles any creativity or personal input (except for English maybe). Overall, the last couple of years have been the best I've had, with some difficulties thrown in here and there. 8/10 overall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,559 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Rate it against what?

1:

I do not care. Why would you think that anyone would care?

lawred2 wrote: »

Maybe op smoked.

Rate it against what?

Last thread maybe.

Rate it against what?

It's fairly obvious to be honest!

A few people have, so some people do care.

Rate it against what?

It's fairly obvious to be honest.

Unless people went to multiple primary schools, secondary and third level institutions how are they supposed to rate anything? It's entirely context free

Rate it against what?

It's fairly obvious to be honest.

Unless people went to multiple primary schools, secondary and third level institutions how are they supposed to rate anything? It's entirely context free

Well at least those who actually read my opening post and got what was going on also had sense not to double post!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

To be honest...

Primary School:
    Was meh. It was what it was.

Secondary School:
    Didn't like it to be honest.

Third Level:
    Got myself a degree but education is... not sure what word to use. It's over-rated in a sense. Experience weighs more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭newdriverlad

Well at least those who actually read my opening post and got what was going on also had sense not to double post!

Clearly he went to a terrible school OP!

1. Primary(Mainly due not having any worries)
    2. College
    3. Secondary

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Primary school was good....but I have virtually no memories of it good nor bad

Secondary school was good...like got on well etc....but wouldn't ever wish to repeat it....found the year seemed to drag on from March onwards and most subjects were pointless

College....never been for a full year... only for phases of FAS....really enjoyed them though tbf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

1. Was a very nervous child and had a lot of anxiety. Got bullied a lot too. Overall fairly unpleasant.

2. Was determined that I'd never be bullied again and didn't luckily. First year was awkward trying to make new friends but from second year on it was great craic. A lot of fun times and good memories.

3. Best years of my life. Have never laughed so much and had so much fun. My final year was fairly stressful though and had a lot of work to do, still managed to sneak in the odd party though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

mzungu wrote: »
    At third level? Never heard of that happening.
    Yeah I witnessed girls bullying other girls in college. The lads in the class just started hanging around with the girls that were getting bullied and that put an end to it. You'd think people would be a bit more empathetic when they reached adulthood, but unfortunately some people are just arseholes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,363 ✭✭✭KingBrian2

Primary school was okay.

Secondary school was were all the action was. I stayed away from most of the commotion and just saw it all as a chore.

College is complex suffice it to say you learn about the world after the exams.

All great. Particularly secondary and 3rd level.

AH, just give me your 1,2,3!

1. freshpopcorn
    2. freshpopcorn
    3. freshpopcorn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

1. Bad
    2. Bad

Best day ever was the day I left.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭FizzleSticks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭dar100

Excluded from primary

Same with secondary

Undergrad I enjoyed

Postgrad just finished and was also enjoyable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,733 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

All were grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭pauliebdub

Primary school was great, had a nice circle of friends. Headmaster was a bit of a bollox and very religious, it was like a conveyor belt of priests, nuns, missionaries, consecrated virgins and people from religious charity groups coming in to speak to us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,951 ✭✭✭B0jangles

Primary was great; educate together school in which many of the parents were artists, musicians and other creative types so the ethos was very open and interesting.
    Secondary was pretty good too even though it was a girls-only convent school - the teaching nuns were pretty decent and not into pushing hardcore catholicism on us.
    Third Level was great fun - course was interesting and I made a lot of good friends in the Drama Society :)
    One minor irritation was that one history tutor I had said she'd always treat us like adults and if we missed essays or tutorials she'd write to us, not our parents.

Except she only ever sent postcards...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

Good
    Bad
    Ugly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

Primary school- Horrible. We were forced to do Irish dancing and learn to play the tin whistle in my school.( All boys school too btw).

Secondary School - It was a horribly underfunded facility lacking basic utilities such as showers or sports hall. Lots of bullying especially towards lads who were gay. We had lots of stupid rules like not being allowed to leave the class to go to the toilet. You were expected to go at the start, or end of class. A great place for people with authoritarian personalities.

College - Still in my degree, A lot better, more emphasis on critical thought. It's nice be treated like a human being. I hate looking at lots of powerpoint slides though. And some lecturers evidently cannot teach a class without it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,435 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

not great, took nearly 30 years of studying within our educational system to be diagnosed with 'laziness'(dyslexia):rolleyes:, and this was dealt with very questionable upon diagnosis. was diagnosed during a masters course which i subsequently ran from, very enjoyable subject matter but i was unable to deal with the workload and method of teaching. i now enjoy my own research by my own methods.

my appearance was questioned in secondary school, long hair, i questioned the principle on his methods of running the school. parents were called, backed me, end of discussion with said principle. father was very well educated and also an educator, advised principle to educate himself on educating children. i dont think he liked this but i do feel my father was correct. this event taught me to question authoritative figures, always, as they really do get things wrong, sometimes. authority doesnt always like being question as well

our educational system is designed to create 'worker drones', people who will obey and be obedient at all times, people who will not question authority. it does a very poor job of developing kids so that they can be prepared as best they can for adulthood, even though this is improving, there is more to life than creating 'worker drones'. kids should be shown how to maintain their physical and mental well being. homework should be banned, not only do we tell kids, you must spend all day in work(school), you must also take work home with you. failure to do so will increase your chances of failure in life. what a load of crap! home time is for family and friends, one of the most important skills in life.

our educational system is an example what i call a 'hyper competitive' system, this kind of behaviour is actually destructive for society as a whole. we need to create cooperative systems or our planet and species is toast!

our educational system needs a massive overhaul but that ll probably never happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

1. Primary school was OK. A window seat was great if you could get it. Most fun days were when your teacher was out sick and they'd split up the class into all the rest of the classes and you might do a project or essay or just generally mess for the day.

2. Secondary school - very tough going, didn't have the energy for it.

3. College - a little bit like secondary but things I did stood well to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Arcade_Tryer

Miserable Irish weather Hitlerish school rules.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

Didn't mind primary (had some good teachers)
    Hated secondary (mainly due to the amount of bullying and **** teachers)
    Loved Third Level

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Primary was ok, secondary was absolutely awful, third level was good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

Primary was grand. I went to 4 primary schools in 3 countries (England, France, Ireland). Can't really remember England. Was very young. France was a lovely school. I remember the lunches being very long and we had to go for a "sieste" after lunch which I found ridiculous (at 6 years old :rolleyes: ) so usually coloured instead. I picked up the language fairly fast, as you would at that age. My French is gone to sh*te now though!

Went to 2 schools in Ireland. One was a tiny school in the country. Was only there for a year, can't remember much of it. For the rest of my primary school years I went to a big Catholic school. Had a great time! Was very quiet and a bit of a teachers pet. Had a few friends but found it hard to keep friendships as I was in France for all the school holidays every year.

Hated secondary school. It was an all girls Catholic school. Didn't have very many friends and suffered with depression/other issues. Was average enough academically. Could have done a lot better if I had any interest in school. I just wanted to get out of the place! The last few years were a lot better as I had a nice group of friends and did a bit of sport. The teachers were mostly nice. At the time I didn't enjoy secondary school but looking back I had some good times too.

College was great! The course I did was interesting, had loads of friends, went out all the time (probably a bit too much). Did well enough in my degree. Could have done better of course if I didn't go out all the time. Also met my boyfriend in my class and we are still together 5 years later, woop!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

My family moved to Ireland so I joined 3rd class and got on grand, got on with everyone and enjoyed school. I was a bright child and did well.
    Pretty much the same with secondary, bar hating PE and Geography, it was grand, I got on with it. I did well in the Inter and Leaving Certs.
    I went into college and the course was not what I thought it would be, and I was unwell for some of it which didn't help. I struggled through to get it finished and graduated, pregnant at the time of graduation but without realising. I threw myself into rearing my daughter, and never pursued the subject I had studied again. As an adult I went back to education in a field that was much more my thing, graduated and got work out of the course. I think you are very lucky if you know for sure what you want to do leaving school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭Glenster

Primary school:
    I don't know, I was a nipper. It was probably fine.

Secondary school:
    Hated it, trap a teenager in a building for 22 hours a day (I was in boarding school) with life failures (teachers) and watch him act out.

College:
    It was fine, more social than anything else. TBH it was only 20% of my day. I don't define that period of my life by it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭Glenster

dar100 wrote: »
    Excluded from primary

Same with secondary

Undergrad I enjoyed

Postgrad just finished and was also enjoyable

How do you get excluded from primary? I was too busy playing with POGs to go around committing hate crimes and setting fires.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,363 ✭✭✭KingBrian2

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    not great, took nearly 30 years of studying within our educational system to be diagnosed with 'laziness'(dyslexia):rolleyes:, and this was dealt with very questionable upon diagnosis. was diagnosed during a masters course which i subsequently ran from, very enjoyable subject matter but i was unable to deal with the workload and method of teaching. i now enjoy my own research by my own methods.

my appearance was questioned in secondary school, long hair, i questioned the principle on his methods of running the school. parents were called, backed me, end of discussion with said principle. father was very well educated and also an educator, advised principle to educate himself on educating children. i dont think he liked this but i do feel my father was correct. this event taught me to question authoritative figures, always, as they really do get things wrong, sometimes. authority doesnt always like being question as well

our educational system is designed to create 'worker drones', people who will obey and be obedient at all times, people who will not question authority. it does a very poor job of developing kids so that they can be prepared as best they can for adulthood, even though this is improving, there is more to life than creating 'worker drones'. kids should be shown how to maintain their physical and mental well being. homework should be banned, not only do we tell kids, you must spend all day in work(school), you must also take work home with you. failure to do so will increase your chances of failure in life. what a load of crap! home time is for family and friends, one of the most important skills in life.

our educational system is an example what i call a 'hyper competitive' system, this kind of behaviour is actually destructive for society as a whole. we need to create cooperative systems or our planet and species is toast!

our educational system needs a massive overhaul but that ll probably never happen.

Your very opinionated on this subject perhaps you should consider running for our next education minister. You can design you very own school system for the country well good luck to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Primary: Warm fuzzy memories. Not a care in the world.

Secondary: Loved it. The best days of my life. Surrounded by your best friends all day, every day.

College: ****, hated it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Glenster wrote: »
    How do you get excluded from primary? I was too busy playing with POGs to go around committing hate crimes and setting fires.

Pogs were awesome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,435 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

KingBrian2 wrote: »
    Your very opinionated on this subject perhaps you should consider running for our next education minister. You can design you very own school system for the country well good luck to you.

extremely opinionated, politics to change things, i think not! our political systems are almost defunct at this stage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,973 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

Primary was pleasant enough. Perhaps a small bit of bullying because I was a bit of a teacher's pet but nothing to sinister or anything that had any lasting effects.

Secondary. After the nuns and before social media. The Golden Era to have gone through secondary school.

I hated college. Absolutely hated it.