Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kilkenny GAA Thread Part 2 **MOD NOTE POST 1***

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭citykat

Reid not listed amongst the subs

Well if Richie can't make it brother Murphy can step up. Outside of the panel, I'd have no worries with Brennan, Murphy (OLG) or Duggan. Scruff is numero uno but any of the others mentioned have plenty of ability.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,747 ✭✭✭brookville

citykat wrote: »
    Well if Richie can't make it brother Murphy can step up. Outside of the panel, I'd have no worries with Brennan, Murphy (OLG) or Duggan. Scruff is numero uno but any of the others mentioned have plenty of ability.

Seems to be a lot of injuries at the moment lester obviously out but john joe,michael walsh,pat lyng,rob lennon and kevin kelly not part of the squad for sunday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 557 ✭✭✭usualstripes

brookville wrote: »
    Seems to be a lot of injuries at the moment lester obviously out but john joe,michael walsh,pat lyng,rob lennon and kevin kelly not part of the squad for sunday

Hopefully Jason Cleer will show promise tomorrow as we would benefit from having a new strong number 6

Hopefully he goes well it's his first game of the year coming back from injury. Conor o shea will have his hand full with cadogan but this weather could slow him down.
    Paul murphy back corner back should strengthen the full back line and cleere should have two good wing men to help him out with buckley probably helping out

brookville wrote: »
    Hopefully he goes well it's his first game of the year coming back from injury. Conor o shea will have his hand full with cadogan but this weather could slow him down.
    Paul murphy back corner back should strengthen the full back line and cleere should have two good wing men to help him out with buckley probably helping out

With Cleere still u21 it's a great opportunity for him tomorrow. Good hurler with plenty of awareness. Got motm award v Thurles in all ireland final a few years ago. Hopefully there will be a never say die attitude tomorrow even if things are not going to plan. I think it's only a matter of time that these guys will start creating opportunities for our forwards but the forwards need to be constantly on the move looking for the right ball to make use themselves or bring others into play.
    Hopefully conor martin is able to work well in full with walter and Richie beside him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭dubcat51

Dont think anyone said we were favourites for u21 title(im sure were not)however we should have s squad to give it a real go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 thebigmann

Kilkenny would be the top 2 in the under 21 championship along with waterford, limerick have lost arguably there best player in barry nash who's opted to go to america for the duration of the summer,

thebigmann wrote: »
    Kilkenny would be the top 2 in the under 21 championship along with waterford, limerick have lost arguably there best player in barry nash who's opted to go to america for the duration of the summer,

Id imagine dublin will fancy their chances with a lot currently on the senior panel. I know con o callaghan is focusing on football but if he was to play u21 hurling he'd also be a big help

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭dubcat51

Dublin will be strong at 21s but with the game in nowlan pk would expect us to overcome them.

Interesting articles from nick brennan, dj Carey and brian cody in the last couple of days.
    Carey and Brennan going on the basis that a lot of young lads blooded very quickly and might need a year or two to adjust. Cody stating he has a wealth of young lads between u21s and college's players around the county.
    It's time to row in behind the lads and get the numbers to nowlan park tomorrow, whatever the weather. These lads need support and we need to give it to them.
    Colin fennelly will add some impetus and all that is needed is a full on commitment for the 70 plus minutes. Hopefully a win and whats as important is the performance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 496 ✭✭68deville

Interesting articles from nick brennan, dj Carey and brian cody in the last couple of days.
    Carey and Brennan going on the basis that a lot of young lads blooded very quickly and might need a year or two to adjust. Cody stating he has a wealth of young lads between u21s and college's players around the county.
    It's time to row in behind the lads and get the numbers to nowlan park tomorrow, whatever the weather. These lads need support and we need to give it to them.
    Colin fennelly will add some impetus and all that is needed is a full on commitment for the 70 plus minutes. Hopefully a win and whats as important is the performance.

Well Cody is hardly going to say anything else is he?? I'm sure any inter county
    Manager managing their native county isn't going to run down the the situation in fairness or be completely blunt in an interview?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,087 ✭✭✭kk.man

This match will tell us exactly where we are. Apart from the obvious (defeat is a certain demotion). Cork wouldn't be in a great place at the moment so I think this match is the best barometer of where we are.

On another subject I was just thinking when did KK play in the second division (i know its not called that now) but I guess it was 35 odd years ago? Almost every hurling county has being demoted in that time including Kerry footballers. There is 1a and 1b now but ya what I mean.

It's a hugely important game today cork have excellent forwards if there let play but I'd be hopefull you'll see a response from our players if we could win today and beat dublin we should get avoid a relegation playoff.
    The league has being very inconsistent but maybe we're not giving dublin enough credit for beating cork.I think ger cunningham will be happy enough with his teams last two performances considering who their missing
    Just on today's team im suprised buckley hasnt being tried at 6 and the number 5 might suit cleere better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭Ompala

kk.man wrote: »
    This match will tell us exactly where we are. Apart from the obvious (defeat is a certain demotion). Cork wouldn't be in a great place at the moment so I think this match is the best barometer of where we are.

On another subject I was just thinking when did KK play in the second division (i know its not called that now) but I guess it was 35 odd years ago? Almost every hurling county has being demoted in that time including Kerry footballers. There is 1a and 1b now but ya what I mean.[/QUOTE]

I am open to correction, but I think Tipp and KK are the only 2 counties that have never been relegated from division 1.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,428 ✭✭✭Powerhouse

kk.man wrote: »

On another subject I was just thinking when did KK play in the second division (i know its not called that now) but I guess it was 35 odd years ago? Almost every hurling county has being demoted in that time including Kerry footballers. There is 1a and 1b now but ya what I mean.

You have a short memory. Kilkenny played in the second tier in 1993-94. I have no recollection of Tipperary playing in the second tier since then - you could be going back 30 years for that. Cork were last there in 1997 I think. I'd say there are no constants in the top division since. Kilkenny also finished bottom of their group in 1998 but were spared relegation because the format changed for the following season.

I doubt Kilkenny will drop this time either. They should beat Cork for starters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭Stopitwillya

68deville wrote: »
    Well Cody is hardly going to say anything else is he?? I'm sure any inter county
    Manager managing their native county isn't going to run down the the situation in fairness or be completely blunt in an interview?

You obviously never read any of Derek McGraths interviews then. Winning an all ireland under 21 is like winning the Vauxhall conference is one of the beauty's he has come out with. His interviews are nearly as negative as the ****e brand of hurling he has us playing.

Kilkenny to hammer Cork today, be there or thereabouts come September and win the under 21 all ireland this year. Ye have nowt to worry about, even if the rest of us would love if ye were really in trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,561 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

Powerhouse wrote: »
    You have a short memory. Kilkenny played in the second tier in 1993-94.

I dunno how you can say that he has a short memory... it was over 20 years ago! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,474 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

expect a back lash today form the cats , cody had a smile on his face near the end of the clare match which was very similar to the one he had on during john mullhalls version of "hon the super cats" at the 2011 home coming ,

the wether conditions will probably take the good out of both televised games today though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,561 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

Halfway through the first half and nothing too inspiring from us so far...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,428 ✭✭✭Powerhouse

I dunno how you can say that he has a short memory... it was over 20 years ago! :)

Fair point! Although when he was referring back 35 years himself I kind of assumed he was an ould lad. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭unrealtime

Cody needs to get a grip. This is dire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭dzer2

unrealtime wrote: »
    Cody needs to get a grip. This is dire.

He did

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭unrealtime

Better second half but not great. No obvious players coming through. Deegan put in a good stint and got it tough too. Still entirely rely on the old warriors though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Topcat32

unrealtime wrote: »
    Better second half but not great. No obvious players coming through. Deegan put in a good stint and got it tough too. Still entirely rely on the old warriors though

I think Richie Leahy looks like a great prospect.

A lot better showing today, particularly for the 1st 15 mins of the 2nd half. Still think conor o shea is not the answer. Cleere did ok for his 1st outing. Deganwy poor but did come into it in the last 20 mins. Conor Fogarty very good. Colin fennelly got through a hell of a lot of work and was a threat. Walter did well and Richie hogan good today. TJ found more space today. Leahy a lot better but conor martin doesn't seem to be strong enough. All in all a lot better showing and in fairness the lads created a lot more space. Big test next Saturday evening in Thurles but this performance will give the lads a lift. Need to create more in the full forward line.

Hard to disagree with this we'll have to be patient with cleere I wouldn't be critical of him. I thought conor o shea did ok when he went off cadogan but i dont think his the awnser.colin fennelly was very good and created two good goal chances richie leahy looked good and fogarty was probably my mom

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,369 ✭✭✭JJs Left Hand

Jesus Cork are pathetic. Completely downed tools after 5/10 minutes of the 2nd half.

I don't know how it's happened but we've ended up with a lot of players who aren't playing the game in front of them. Even someone like Buckley thinks a ball lobbed in on top of a full forward and a full back is a good ball into a forward line when there is space either side. Even when we do go crossfield the weight on the ball is all wrong so instead of the ball bouncing into the space for a forward to run on to its still a 50/50 ball between the forward and back the only change is the angle of delivery.

Also how easy is it for a team to pull us out of shape. For the first 15 minutes Corks half forward line stood in midfield and our half back line followed them leaving 50 yards of grass in front of our full back line. Our forwards werent closing the puck outs down well enough so the ball was getting pumped in front of Lehane for that period. We got to grips with it but I think that was as much to do with Cork as us.

Fogarty was good but don't understand the logic of him and Buckley swapping places.

All in all I thought we were pretty poor for the most part but on the brightside at least we're not Cork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 642 ✭✭✭mullinr2

I'm afraid for us going to Semple next week. Tipp could do to us what we did to them in 09 league. They're too far ahead

mullinr2 wrote: »
    I'm afraid for us going to Semple next week. Tipp could do to us what we did to them in 09 league. They're too far ahead

I understand that you are afraid going to semple next Saturday but look at game today.
    On the negative side we did give cork an awful lot of space on our half back line but we have to learn our lesson here. Also our 1st touch is still not what it will be or should be.
    On the positive side our forwards were pulling their backs around but aside from fennellys two chances we didn't create any goal chances.
    A team is only as strong as it's weakest link and unfortunately o shea, deegan and conor martin were found wantin today. Deegan did come into the game but only when we had a lot of space around the middle in the last 20 mins.
    Evan cody had a rough day v clare but could get another chance in at no. 4. My personal choice here would be conor delaney or at least someone who is up with his man coming out to the ball. When we give away cheap scores it's disheartening for the team.

My team v tipp:

E Murphy
    P Murphy
    P Walsh
    C Delaney
    C Fogarty
    J Cleere
    K Joyce
    R Hogan
    C Buckley
    TJ Reid
    C Fennelly
    R Leahy
    W Walsh
    L Blanchfield
    J Maher

This takes into consideration lester is still recovering and Pat lyng injured.
    Any reason why ger aylward is not on the panel the last few weeks and is john walsh going to come onto the matchday panel?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 642 ✭✭✭mullinr2

I understand that you are afraid going to semple next Saturday but look at game today.
    On the negative side we did give cork an awful lot of space on our half back line but we have to learn our lesson here. Also our 1st touch is still not what it will be or should be.
    On the positive side our forwards were pulling their backs around but aside from fennellys two chances we didn't create any goal chances.
    A team is only as strong as it's weakest link and unfortunately o shea, deegan and conor martin were found wantin today. Deegan did come into the game but only when we had a lot of space around the middle in the last 20 mins.
    Evan cody had a rough day v clare but could get another chance in at no. 4. My personal choice here would be conor delaney or at least someone who is up with his man coming out to the ball. When we give away cheap scores it's disheartening for the team.

My team v tipp:

E Murphy
    P Murphy
    P Walsh
    C Delaney
    C Fogarty
    J Cleere
    K Joyce
    R Hogan
    C Buckley
    TJ Reid
    C Fennelly
    R Leahy
    W Walsh
    L Blanchfield
    J Maher

This takes into consideration lester is still recovering and Pat lyng injured.
    Any reason why ger aylward is not on the panel the last few weeks and is john walsh going to come onto the matchday panel?

I mentioned on here after the Clare game, that apparently there was discipline issues with Ger Alyward. Two sources told me at the Clare game. Maybe that's why we haven't seen him.