If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Louise O Neill on rape culture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭Humria

mzungu wrote: »
    That was not the argument. The argument was that places like the DRC and Ethiopia would be examples of countries where rape is normalised and accepted as a part of life in those societies. Ireland is nothing like those countries.

That said, nobody would deny there is a serious problem with rape in Ireland. But that does not make it a "culture", no matter how much some people wish to say otherwise.

All I was saying was there was a problem with rape. I didn't say there was a culture. I've tried to address the rest in the other post and I don't have a link for the taxi thing.

Maybe this will help explain why women are more likely to feel afraid:

http://s3.amazonaws.com/academia.edu.documents/42677770/Brave_men_and_timid_women_A_review_of_th20160214-17699-16f4j7p.pdf?AWSAccessKeyId=AKIAIWOWYYGZ2Y53UL3A&Expires=1488593244&Signature=AdLGWrNaB1hkoRl%2Fw6ZLWf6diwk%3D&response-content-disposition=inline%3B%20filename%3DBrave_men_and_timid_women_A_review_of_th.pdf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,534 ✭✭✭Dave_The_Sheep

Humria wrote: »
    All I was saying was there was a problem with rape.

That's quite the radical opinion.

There's a problem with rape? well, ****. We all thought it was OK up until now.

[edit] Yes, I'm being facetious. Obviously there is.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,568 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

Wibbs- purient nonsense. Its not just me and my personal experience. Time and time again we see feminists, indeed any woman that dares to have an opinion, shouted down.

Susan Denham, Mary Robinson, Francis Fitzgerald, Maire Whelan, Regina Doherty, Noirin O'Sullivan and Claire Loftus were all shouted down because while we have to have female judges, presidential candidates, junior ministers, lawyers, party whips, gardai and prosecutors we can never ever let them rise to the top of their fields because patriarchy.

I'm not sure if any of them consider themselves to be feminists but I haven't heard any of them complain about rape culture or manspreading as a significant issue. Is that because of internalised patriarchy or maybe they just get on with it?
    Lon - shouted down,

Well shouted down is the wrong word. She wrote some books, articles etc and many people disagreed with her. But she was allowed to say it and people are allowed to disagree with her. For every one person who says "I think she should shut up because she is a woman", there are probably a hundred who said "Well I've considered your points and disagree for the following reason".

In her TV programme on rape culture, the only attempt to shout someone down was when Louise O'Neill herself tried to put words in a lawyer's mouth as to how cases are presented in court.
    the woman who said 'why I didn't report my rapist- shouted down.

Quite the contrary, she was invited to discuss the issue on boards as she has previously posted here. She was also tweeted by a number of people respectfully and those tweets were deleted. The posts she didn't delete tended to be the ugly ones which were nasty comments and I and many others wish those people wouldn't make such vulgar comments. But she kept them on her twitter because they could be easily dissected and shown to be internet trolling/misogyny. The respectful and considered criticisms weren't as easy to deal with so she deleted them.

In any event, she chose to ignore some comments which is fine and chose not to ignore others which is also fine. Hardly evidence of her being shouted down when she is clearly able to respond to the ones that she wants to.
    One would wonder why some men are so afraid of women, that they don't let them have an opinion.

Men are afraid of women because they have cooties. But seriously, of course women can have their opinions on any subject they like. And they can keep these opinions to themselves or they can proclaim them at any level they feel comfortable to do so. Some women will only tell their opinions to their best friends, others to larger groups in real life. Some will express their opinions to their facebook friends, others will post anonymously on boards.

There are some women and men who express their opinions on public blogs and in newspapers. When people do this, they are inviting other people to consider their opinions and see if they agree or not. Most newspapers and blogs have comments sections precisely for this purpose.

If I want to express my opinion that water charges are a great thing (which they are, obviously), I fully expect a slew of people to criticise my views, sometimes quite robustly. The same is true for women.

If you advocate that women's views not be subjected to the same level of criticism and instead be subject to some kind of exemption from the normal rules, well that's very patriarchial of you isn't it?
    Get over the fear.

See point above re: cooties.

Ok Dave, I meant a problem with the system in place for dealing with rape.

I hope that helps. Trying to construct an argument at 1.00am was a terrible idea (for me, not you Dave, you're good).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭Smegmaniac17

Jeez, the discourse on this thread is so much more respectful and open than anything I have seen about the same topic on other social networking outlets! Must be a cultural thing!

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,568 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

I actually think the main problem is with the judicial system. Our justice system makes defendants (complainants) witnesses in their own trials. It's not just a problem in rape cases. A male acquaintance of mine was attacked in a nightclub and sustained some really bad injuries. The case went to trail and he said the experience was really traumatic. He said it felt like he was on trail. The prosecution (defence) tried to destroy his character and reputation. So it's not limited to rape victims but it does contribute towards the lack of prosecutions.

I'm not being pedantic I just want to be clear - do you mean the system makes the complainant feel like they are on trial and that the defence lawyers try to make them out to be a liar? Then yes, that's the system. The trial is a way of testing whether their allegation is true or not, so of course it is going to be held up to scrutiny. But they aren't facing a potential jail sentence at the end of it, so they are in no way in a comparable position to the accused person. Likewise, they may try to make them seem like a liar, but that's life. Maybe they are lying.
    So on a different point. I want you to try picture something for me. Imagine a girl walking home at after a night out. She gets attacked and raped. Is there a part of you thinking that she shouldn't have been walking home by herself? I know there is a part of me that does. Now, picture a man walking home by himself after a night out. He get attacked and beaten up. Do you blame him for walking home alone or do you think he was just really unlucky to be in the wrong place at the wrong time? I know I think about them differently, even if I'm annoyed that I do it. But I'm aware of it, that's the point.

In answer to both, I would think either is unlucky as being assaulted or raped while walking home is statistically unlikely, sort of like being hit by a bus. Statistically, the man is less unlucky because men are more likely to be assaulted in this manner. But it does happen, so I think both men and women should take sensible precautions. If that means looking before you cross the road, or making sure if you are going to get drunk that you know how to safely get home, these are sensible things.

I see what you are getting at though, with the whole "victim blaming" campaign. Yes, it is wrong to blame a victim for being assaulted. But no, that does not mean that we should never tell people to take sensible precautions for fear of victim blaming. This is one of the problems with extreme views on any topic - they lead to absurd results.
    As a women I feel like I constantly have to think about my safety. I was really restless last night and would loved to have gone for a run to relax. I didn't though because it was late and I remembered the story of a women who was attacked in the area while out running in the dark.

But the odds of this happening are actually really low. I mean, there was a story about an Irish guy who caught a medicine resistant strain of malaria while travelling in south east asia a few years ago. Would the low risk of that happening prevent you from travelling there?
    If I go out for a night out I have to plan my return home well in advance. Who will I be with, where do they live, how far is it to the taxi, am I safe in the taxi? I think of stories of women in fake taxis who were abducted and raped. I think women get frustrated that some men don't understand this because they take their safety for granted.

Again, while planning where you are going to go is normal, I think you are over anxious about these things. I don't think it is the case that men take their safety for granted. It may well be that the men you know are aware of the risks but find that those risks are acceptably low that they can safely proceed to get drunk. They might not feel the same way if they are drinking alone in a foreign city as they would if they are with friends in their home town.

I also don't think that your view that women are constantly afraid of this stuff is reflective of all women.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

I'm not being pedantic I just want to be clear - do you mean the system makes the complainant feel like they are on trial and that the defence lawyers try to make them out to be a liar? Then yes, that's the system. The trial is a way of testing whether their allegation is true or not, so of course it is going to be held up to scrutiny. But they aren't facing a potential jail sentence at the end of it, so they are in no way in a comparable position to the accused person. Likewise, they may try to make them seem like a liar, but that's life. Maybe they are lying.

I'm just going to be honest, the above is something so obviously true and fair but even as recently as a few years ago, it wasn't obvious to me. I think I'd heard mantras like ''women should always be believed (in alleged rape cases)'' and I just thought yes, that sounds right. That's because I know it's traumatic to be made to feel like you, the victim, are being cross examined and have to mount your own defense. I knew it deterred people from reporting their rape.
    But that's the way it has to be because it has to be fair to all involved. Innocent until proven guilty, even though it is sometimes impossible to prove a person's guilt.
    I was only seeing it from one side's perspective. I imagine others will come to see the whole picture, in time. It is important for people to keep sharing their insights in threads like this.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,315 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I'm not sure what you're getting at? Are you saying you can't compare two countries or rape culture and health care?
    I'm saying the comparisons are pretty empty. To take johnnyskeleton's mention of malaria. A handful of cases of malaria are reported in Ireland every year(tourists and the like coming home), malaria outbreaks occurred in Irish history(marsh fever), but only a madman would say we have a malaria problem like say Tanzania. One could compare the two, but it would only be useful as a comparison of extremes.
    Look, you're right about the words, they're wrong. I don't want to imply we have a culture with particularly high instances of rape. It's a crime with a 10% -20% report rate 18% according to the Rape Crisis Centre). Does that not seem like there is something wrong?
    Statistics like that, particularly from any source that "benefits" from skewed statistics are questionable at best. Take the "1 in 4" statistic. That originally came from a so called "study" on an American university campus in the 1980's. The author of said study went looking for a "rape culture" and found one, by skewing the stats, asking leading questions and even wilfully ignoring women respondents experiences. Always believe women, except when it suits. That 1 in 4 has since become a repeated meme in this debate, a foundation of "rape culture" and it was built on sand.
    It's great the he was condemned in public but that doesn't change what actually happened.
    Actually it does and this is the break in logic that I find frustrating in this debate about "rape culture". You can't use this incident as an example of such a culture when the actual culture condemned it and the muppets involved in no uncertain terms. Indeed it's far more arguable that it disproves Ireland is a "rape culture".
    The girls sat there and saw them all go and shake his hand. The public may condemn something but it's how people are treated that matters.
    The Irish public have a holy horror and deep repulsion at murder cases. Applying your logic this doesn't matter as the victim was murdered and that's what matters in the context of the wider culture.
    I'm guessing you're implying I'm paranoid which is a bit unfair.
    It is a loaded word in fairness and associated with a mental illness. Maybe mild paranoia? For the want of a better word. Paranoia could be described as an unwarranted suspicion of others. You did say "As a women I feel like I constantly have to think about my safety. I was really restless last night and would loved to have gone for a run to relax. I didn't though because it was late and I remembered the story of a women who was attacked in the area while out running in the dark. If I go out for a night out I have to plan my return home well in advance. Who will I be with, where do they live, how far is it to the taxi, am I safe in the taxi? I think of stories of women in fake taxis who were abducted and raped. It is understandable even prudent to be aware of our personal safety, but when it begins to affect our lives far beyond the reality of the risk, that IMH is taking things too far. If I've explained my self better?
    For a lot of women that fear is breed into us, that we have to look after ourselves.
    One could argue the other way that men are more shaped by society to "look after themselves". Men have fewer cultural protections than women. If I get raped I have fewer avenues than a woman. If I'm a victim of spousal abuse I have almost none. If I become homeless, get assaulted, have suicidal thoughts etc I will garner less social sympathy and help than women and the numbers back this up.
    An ad aimed at women basically saying that we need to make sure we can get home safe. You may think the fear is paranoid but it's not being created out of thin air, it's a message women are given.
    I would agree with you here, but I would add that this message is very much promoted by feminism too. Feminism is in a near constant state of telegraphing fear and paranoia and lack of agency to women. The term "rape culture" itself but one very good example.
    There is a certain brand of feminism that echos this but that doesn't mean it's the view of an entire spectrum.
    These are mainstream feminist positions. That's the problem. Its pretty undeniable that the mainstream has absorbed more and more of the extreme. One might argue because the actual equality position has been reached(and exceeded in some areas) so now the philosophy and especially the professional feminists are looking around for windmills to tilt at.

As I said I would have self identified as a feminist twenty years ago as the mainstream was far more balanced, now I would repel from that description as the mainstream too often looks like it's taken the crazy pills.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,363 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

Wibbs wrote: »
    More than bit loaded, it's a hysterical nonsense when applied to Ireland and Western cultures in general.

Except Sweden possibly but that's a whole other thread.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,310 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

All I was saying was there was a problem with rape.
    Yep, and I agree. I think most people do.

However, what you said was:
    Humria wrote:
    On regards the rape culture thing, it's a bit of a loaded term really. I don't accept the argument that because there is far more rape in African countries that it's not a problem here.
    I was pointing out that nobody made that Africa comparison that you refer to there, and neither did they ever deny there was a problem with rape. I was merely pointing out that while Africa was mentioned, it was for a completely different reason and it was not to deflect away criticism from Ireland.
    Humria wrote:
    I didn't say there was a culture. I've tried to address the rest in the other post and I don't have a link for the taxi thing.
    I tried to search for it and couldn't find anything either. In your original post you said you heard it as a "story". Is there a chance it was scaremongering? I'm not saying it doesn't happen, or that it couldn't happen. But it would be good to have some examples to go on or some police reports so the danger could be measured. That said, I still think it is best to only get cabs from reputable companies that you trust. That goes for both men and women.
    Humria wrote:
    That link is dead I'm afraid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,845 ✭✭✭py2006

ivytwine wrote: »
    ^^ excellent post.

I'd like to point out that there are also women who don't understand what sexual assault can do to a person, especially a child. I've unfortunately met some.

Good point. Some believe sexual assault is only something men do, others think its something only some men do!

Also, what is deemed sexual assault by men is not something some women consider sexual assault if they do it themselves. The pinches on the arse I received on nights out or while working in a bar. The crotch grabbing and the nipple pinching I received in clubs. The comments on a particular area of my jeans in WORK etc

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,315 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

cantdecide wrote: »
    Except Sweden possibly but that's a whole other thread.
    Or more hysterical nonsense. A good example of how stats can be interpreted depending on how the frameworks are laid down.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

I'm saying the comparisons are pretty empty. To take johnnyskeleton's mention of malaria. A handful of cases of malaria are reported in Ireland every year(tourists and the like coming home), malaria outbreaks occurred in Irish history(marsh fever), but only a madman would say we have a malaria problem like say Tanzania. One could compare the two, but it would only be useful as a comparison of extremes. .

I think I was actually trying to make the same point in response to others comparing Ireland to other countries.
    "Wibbs wrote: »
    Statistics like that, particularly from any source that "benefits" from skewed statistics are questionable at best. Take the "1 in 4" statistic. That originally came from a so called "study" on an American university campus in the 1980's. The author of said study went looking for a "rape culture" and found one, by skewing the stats, asking leading questions and even wilfully ignoring women respondents experiences. Always believe women, except when it suits. That 1 in 4 has since become a repeated meme in this debate, a foundation of "rape culture" and it was built on sand. .

So we you are saying is we actually have no idea what they actual rates of reporting are. Which means we should probably try find out (as difficult as that may be). Until we do though we can't say it's not a problem because we simply don't know.

Actually it does and this is the break in logic that I find frustrating in this debate about "rape culture". You can't use this incident as an example of such a culture when the actual culture condemned it and the muppets involved in no uncertain terms. Indeed it's far more arguable that it disproves Ireland is a "rape culture". The Irish public have a holy horror and deep repulsion at murder cases. Applying your logic this doesn't matter as the victim was murdered and that's what matters in the context of the wider culture. .

So I find this difficult because I'm not saying there is a rape culture. But I'd argue that culture isn't just about people's attitudes, it's about also their behaviour. We know that what people say in public and what they do in private aren't they same. Our culture is as much about what we do as what wider public beliefs are because they can be different. I think we can still improve the way we treat rapes, which I'd argue is as much a part of the culture as what the wider public believe.
    It is a loaded word in fairness and associated with a mental illness. Maybe mild paranoia? For the want of a better word. Paranoia could be described as an unwarranted suspicion of others. You did say "As a women I feel like I constantly have to think about my safety. I was really restless last night and would loved to have gone for a run to relax. I didn't though because it was late and I remembered the story of a women who was attacked in the area while out running in the dark. If I go out for a night out I have to plan my return home well in advance. Who will I be with, where do they live, how far is it to the taxi, am I safe in the taxi? I think of stories of women in fake taxis who were abducted and raped. It is understandable even prudent to be aware of our personal safety, but when it begins to affect our lives far beyond the reality of the risk, that IMH is taking things too far. If I've explained my self better? .

Two points. Firstly, I didn't mean to imply that I'm sitting around and it's stopping me living my life, it's not. Secondly I'm arguing that women are more likely to feel this way. Something can only be a mental illness if it's unusual in the culture. If a large proportion of women are experiencing the same thoughts around safety (mild as they may be) it's no longer defined as a mental illness, part of society.

One could argue the other way that men are more shaped by society to "look after themselves". Men have fewer cultural protections than women. If I get raped I have fewer avenues than a woman. If I'm a victim of spousal abuse I have almost none. If I become homeless, get assaulted, have suicidal thoughts etc I will garner less social sympathy and help than women and the numbers back this up. .

You can argue that men are more shaped to look after themselves but it's not backed up by current research. While those statistics may exist it's women who are more shaped by biology, society and environment to get fearful and therefore look for protections. I posted the link on a previous post. If you can find research to the contrary I'm happy to read it.

I would agree with you here, but I would add that this message is very much promoted by feminism too. Feminism is in a near constant state of telegraphing fear and paranoia and lack of agency to women. The term "rape culture" itself but one very good example.

These are mainstream feminist positions. That's the problem. Its pretty undeniable that the mainstream has absorbed more and more of the extreme. One might argue because the actual equality position has been reached(and exceeded in some areas) so now the philosophy and especially the professional feminists are looking around for windmills to tilt at.

As I said I would have self identified as a feminist twenty years ago as the mainstream was far more balanced, now I would repel from that description as the mainstream too often looks like it's taken the crazy pills.

I'd argue that modern feminism is actually too fragmented to have a "mainstream". Social media means the we hear random snippets and the most extreme views. The balanced argument isn't going to get the publicity. The history of feminism means that I get career and life opportunities the women in the past never had. I'd feel a bit disloyal abandoning the term because of bad press, even though I don't agree with some views expressed. It's an umbrella term at this stage and one view doesn't speak for all. That's just my opinion though and anyone is entitled to disagree.

You can argue that men are more shaped to look after themselves but it's not backed up by current research. While those statistics may exist it's women who are more shaped by biology, society and environment to get fearful and therefore look for protections. I posted the link on a previous post. If you can find research to the contrary I'm happy to read it.

Your link appears broken, so I had an oul google and found it. I think. Here's a page with the abstract and a downloadable PDF. I'll give it a read and see what it says(the notion itself raises some questions for me TBH).

mzungu wrote: »
    Yep, and I agree. I think most people do.

However, what you said was:

I was pointing out that nobody made that Africa comparison that you refer to there, and neither did they ever deny there was a problem with rape. I was merely pointing out that while Africa was mentioned, it was for a completely different reason and it was not to deflect away criticism from Ireland.

I tried to search for it and couldn't find anything either. In your original post you said you heard it as a "story". Is there a chance it was scaremongering? I'm not saying it doesn't happen, or that it couldn't happen. But it would be good to have some examples to go on or some police reports so the danger could be measured. That said, I still think it is best to only get cabs from reputable companies that you trust. That goes for both men and women.

That link is dead I'm afraid.

I can't find the link so I can't prove it wasn't scaremongering I guess.

The name of the journal article is: Brave men and timid women? A review of the gender differences in fear and anxiety. If you put it into Google Scholar it should come up.

I embedded the link in my last post. Hopefully it works. It did for me anyway.
    So we you are saying is we actually have no idea what they actual rates of reporting are..
    Essentially yes.
    Which means we should probably try find out (as difficult as that may be).
    I'd have no problem with that.
    Until we do though we can't say it's not a problem because we simply don't know.
    We could equally conclude that until we do we can't say there is a problem. Which would be equally daft. It illustrates the point that one's conclusion on the basis of nebulous data presented is usually based on one's predetermined opening position.
    So I find this difficult because I'm not saying there is a rape culture. But I'd argue that culture isn't just about people's attitudes, it's about also their behaviour.
    The former inform the latter in the majority of cases. Take the previous example of how prisoners in Irish gaols attitude towards rapists informs their murderous behaviour towards them.
    Two points. Firstly, I didn't mean to imply that I'm sitting around and it's stopping me living my life, it's not. Secondly I'm arguing that women are more likely to feel this way. Something can only be a mental illness if it's unusual in the culture. If a large proportion of women are experiencing the same thoughts around safety (mild as they may be) it's no longer defined as a mental illness, part of society.
    Not necessarily. Mass hysteria for example can envelop a wider culture. Depending on what research one reads mental illnesses like anxiety and depression are near epidemics within western society. Though it depends on what we define as a mental illness. These days it seems more and more average human experience is wheeled under that particular umbrella, but that's a discussion for another day.
    Well I found the link and paper and had an oul read of it. Fast reader that I am. :D And it raised some questions for me, as I suspected it might.

On your personal point regarding your experience it agrees with you; “Compared to men, women are more likely to overestimate the probability of danger” So this paper is strongly suggesting Women™ as a demographic are more inherently vulnerable than Men™, more likely to overestimate threats, even when threats are minor or even absent and more likely to suffer in daily life from the stresses of daily life and this is genetically heritable. Socialisation is mentioned as a factor exaggerating this inherent difference, but one could just as easily argue that they’re putting the cart before the horse, channeling the blank slate paradigm and ignoring the obvious other option that socialisation factors came about in the first place because of these inherent gender differences(or more likely six of one, half dozen of the other).

OK, but I wonder where this 60’s/70’s notion of nurture and culture being the most important factor and gender differences don’t exist outside of that fits into this? It’s essentially saying the old model of women being intrinsically “weaker” and more “neurotic” and “hysterical” than men was correct(which in my humble is bollocks of the finest sort). I dunno how feminism can be behind that. Though given quite a chunk of feminism is looking for special treatment for one gender and happy to trumpet this women are always victims stuff, while claiming equality between the genders this confusion and contradiction doesn’t surprise me TBH.
    I'd argue that modern feminism is actually too fragmented to have a "mainstream". Social media means the we hear random snippets and the most extreme views.
    Forget social media and the Tumblr nutters and look at mainstream media and mainstream political discourse on the matter. One can find any number of elected politicians spouting the "1 in 4" rape stat(Prez Obama said 1 in 6, the number varies), going on about the "pay gap", the glass ceiling, education gap(which is a complete nonsense, unless it's men we're discussing) and so on. Mainstream. Where are the rape crisis centres aimed at men? Where are the "battered husband" centres, when stats worldwide show the incidences are about equal? Where are the suicide support avenues for men(who make up the majority of such cases)? Mainstream.
    The history of feminism means that I get career and life opportunities the women in the past never had. I'd feel a bit disloyal abandoning the term because of bad press, even though I don't agree with some views expressed.
    20th century socialism has in quite large parts helped the common man and woman in the west, given us more social safety nets and a more equal society, hell, Communism was the overwhelming force that pounded Nazism into the dust and I would be thankful for that, but because of the extremes within that political spectrum I wouldn't call myself a Socialist.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,310 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

I can't find the link so I can't prove it wasn't scaremongering I guess.

Thank you. I will have a read of that.

I embedded the link in my last post. Hopefully it works. It did for me anyway.
    Cheers, it works for me anyways. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,363 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

Or more hysterical nonsense. A good example of how stats can be interpreted depending on how the frameworks are laid down.

Precisely :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,065 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Wibbs- purient nonsense. Its not just me and my personal experience. Time and time again we see feminists, indeed any woman that dares to have an opinion, shouted down. Lon - shouted down, the woman who said 'why I didn't report my rapist- shouted down. One would wonder why some men are so afraid of women, that they don't let them have an opinion.

Get over the fear.

My god, it's worse you're getting. Do you actually believe half the nonsense you write?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,065 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

So if I dont reply to you (posters) get over it! Its like toddlers demanding attention. Me! Me! Me!

The irony of this post :rolleyes:
    Omackeral wrote: »
    Anyway, when you're good and ready midlandsmissus, would you be so kind as to give your take on the below quote? Not saying right now, just whenever you're free to do so.

Not a chance she replies. She took the time to write a snooty reply telling you how busy she is and what a toddler you are and would have replied to the original question in less time if she wanted. It's the same thing time and again in multiple threads, get triggered, post man-hating drivel and disappear and refuse to actually engage in discussion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Wibbs- purient nonsense. Its not just me and my personal experience. Time and time again we see feminists, indeed any woman that dares to have an opinion, shouted down. Lon - shouted down, the woman who said 'why I didn't report my rapist- shouted down. One would wonder why some men are so afraid of women, that they don't let them have an opinion.

Get over the fear.

There's a huge, huge difference. The woman at the centre of the recent controversy over an alleged rape only targeted the specific guy who did it, and others who use similar tactics to pressure women into sex. LON is a classic sexist as she uses the behaviour of some men to smear men as a demographic. The latter is straight up sexism, plain and simple, and any "feminist" who speaks of "men" and "women" in general terms without a "some" prefix absolutely deserves to be condemned for it.

EDIT: Ever notice how "feminists aren't a hive mind" is considered (by feminists) a perfectly reasonable rebuttal to any criticism of feminism, but they feel free to talk as if all men everywhere in the world are part of a hive mind any time they want to attack men as a gender?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 itsme2015

Also has a picture of her, wearing a 'repeal' tee shirt, whilst holding a baby...

Yeah, totally wrong message being sent there.

Why? Pro-choice does not equal baby-hating or even advocating abortion. It advocates the woman's right to choose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 bridgingthegap

I think there is something really important to highlight here that as far as I can tell, hasn’t been addressed in this thread. When the term “rape culture” is used by those who use it in a context to describe the society we live in now, it is being used with the understanding of a definition that appears to be largely misinterpreted by the people, in this thread and elsewhere, that oppose to its use. Below are two sources of a definition that are mostly in sync with what the majority of feminists are attempting to address. I can't include the links because of the new account.

First, the OED, commonly accepted as a reliable authority in definitions.

"A society or environment whose prevailing social attitudes have the effect of normalizing or trivializing sexual assault and abuse.”

Secondly, Wikipedia, a source commonly accepted as not being reliable due to its ability to a edited freely, by anyone. I’m using this because of that very fact.

"Rape culture is a sociological concept used to describe a setting in which rape is pervasive and normalized due to societal attitudes about gender and sexuality."

Both of these definitions, which clearly align with each other, also align with how the term is being used pretty much all the time. What seems to be happening, is that a misinterpretation is taking place that leads people to assuming when they read the term “rape culture”, that it has to be referring to a culture where the act of rape is prevalent, promoted, encouraged and even accepted. This is not what the term is being used to describe and the insistence by some that we must follow a direct lexical interpretation of those two words placed together completely ignores not only the intention but also the way language is used in contemporary society.

The misinterpretation and inherent ignorance within it creates a barrier to actual debate and discussion of the topic taking place. Essentially, both sides are talking about two different things and the people that commonly complain that the current wave of feminism are creating echo chambers for themselves are in fact, doing the very same thing. This thread is an example of that. While there are some posters that seem to open to hearing all sides, it seems like most aren’t really listening. Sure, they are willing to read what is presented to them but aren’t allowing themselves to switch off their preconceptions and take any opportunity to roll their eyes and assume a position ofintellectual superiority. I am aware that the same could be said for all sides in a debate but it appears to me personally that it is much more prevalent on one side in this case than the other.

An important thing to note here is that when people use the term, they are in most cases referring to western society as a whole and are not talking in country specific terms. I think it might have something to do with age, in that people who grew up with the internet tend to think on more of a global scale than a local one. I have noticed over time that it’s quite common on Boards for users to be of the opinion that because this is an Irish forum that all social issues discussed here must relate exclusively to Ireland. There is a lot of talk of “importing” theory surrounding social justice issues from America and elsewhere. It gets brought up in attempts to invalidate people with opposing views. The reality is that those people with the opposing views are looking at these issues in an entirely different context. They are viewing them as issues that all of humanity should be facing together instead of having a narrow focus on this small island. This difference in approach means a lot of the time people are having two different discussions.

Now, here’s what rape culture doesn’t mean. It doesn’t mean that a bunch of interactions that are definitely not rape, are viewed as rape. It does not mean that society promotes sexual violence. It definitely does not mean that all men are rapists. What does it mean then? It means that the act of rape does not happen in a vacuum. Everything that surrounds us, socially and culturally influence who we are as people. Dots have been connected between things that happen in every day life and rape. Harassment, gender norms, sexual objectification (both in the media and on an individual level) are a selection of things that remain present in our society. Some of them are being challenged, and that is great, progress is being made. However, the simple logical connections that are being made between these things and sexual violence are not ones based in delusion. I would hope to think most people in this thread can agree with that. The concept of us living in a “rape culture” is not focusing on the act of rape itself, but on these behaviours and systems that are in place and can play even the smallest part in making someone capable of committing acts of sexual violence on someone else.

The term is getting used more and more frequently as a means of making society recognise that these connections exist. Just because you or the people you know wouldn’t think that you/they are entitled to a person’s body without consent does not provide a reason to deny the connection between the everyday objectification of people and the dehumanising sexual violence that people of any gender can be a victim of, in which they are treated as objects.

It is completely understandable that this makes people uncomfortable. It should. It makes the people that recognise its existence uncomfortable too. The difference arises when those in opposition, more often than not, opt to indulge in denial and rejection of the concept instead of fighting through the discomfort to try to gain a greater understanding how this concept has come to exist, and potentially then being able to admit that it is indeed a reality.

Omackeral posted about the lack of acceptance of rapists in both decent and indecent society using an excellent example from their experience as a prison officer. Feminists are completely with you here. There isn’t really anything there to debate against, its just not exactly relevant to the topic of rape culture as a concept. We know that pretty much all of society finds rape and rapists abhorrent but again, the term rape culture focuses everything that can contribute to the existence of rape and not solely the act itself, or those who commit it.

The prevalence of focusing on lexical and literal definitions is an outdated and misinformed approach, as is thinking that Ireland as a country exists in a vacuum free of external influence. As a society, we uphold debate and the questioning of everything to a point that some people take it so far that that they lack the ability to express appropriate levels of empathy. This thread has the term hysteria thrown around a lot. For obvious reasons, its use is contentious in regard to the topic at hand. While I do think its quite commonly misused. I do think that there are people in the world that are hysterical about this issue but here’s the thing, I think if there is anything that is excusable for people to be hysterical over, this is definitely one of them and my judgment wouldn’t be so harsh.

I am a man. I have been raped. It took me a very long time to come to terms with the fact that that is exactly what it was. The hesitation that I felt for so long was based in what I had learned from the gender norms present in our society. Gender norms that are reinforced not only socially and culturally but also legally in regard to rape in this country. To me, the lack of and acknowledgement and services for male victims of rape is very clearly a facet of the rape culture we live in. This doesn’t have to be about us versus them. If you feel there is a lack of representation for male victims of rape, do something about it, add to the dialogue in a respectful manner that isn’t about tearing other people down.

I know this is incredibly long, but I felt there needed to something somewhat more substantial to balance a thread that was quite overtly one sided. Feel free to tear this to shreds, I wouldn't expect anything less.

The short of it is, people, no matter how small the number (it is not small) are getting raped. There are people that want to address this issue with the ultimate and ideal hope of making it not exist anymore. The approach taken in tackling the issue can hit some wrong notes at times, by few or by many. Still, people are making an effort. However insular and misguided it may seem to you, they are doing something that is creating a dialogue, raising awareness and making people question their conduct with an attempt at making the world a better place. Those in opposition to the term being used do not appear to be doing much in the way of providing an alternate approach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,476 ✭✭✭neonsofa

itsme2015 wrote: »
    Why? Pro-choice does not equal baby-hating or even advocating abortion. It advocates the woman's right to choose.

Also, babies are people. So it is something that affects them.

I think there is something really important to highlight here that as far as I can tell, hasn’t been addressed in this thread.
    It kinda has, but anyway.
    When the term “rape culture” is used by those who use it in a context to describe the society we live in now, it is being used with the understanding of a definition that appears to be largely misinterpreted by the people, in this thread and elsewhere, that oppose to its use.
    OK.
    Below are two sources of a definition that are mostly in sync with what the majority of feminists are attempting to address. I can't include the links because of the new account.

"A society or environment whose prevailing social attitudes have the effect of normalizing or trivializing sexual assault and abuse.”

Secondly, Wikipedia, a source commonly accepted as not being reliable due to its ability to a edited freely, by anyone. I’m using this because of that very fact.

"Rape culture is a sociological concept used to describe a setting in which rape is pervasive and normalized due to societal attitudes about gender and sexuality."

Both of these definitions, which clearly align with each other, also align with how the term is being used pretty much all the time.
    Ok, seems defined enough.
    What seems to be happening, is that a misinterpretation is taking place that leads people to assuming when they read the term “rape culture”, that it has to be referring to a culture where the act of rape is prevalent, promoted, encouraged and even accepted. This is not what the term is being used to describe and the insistence by some that we must follow a direct lexical interpretation of those two words placed together completely ignores not only the intention but also the way language is used in contemporary society.
    O RLY? Hmmm. Let's step back and look at both definitions...

"Official" definition:

Our(apparently) "misinterpretation" definition:

"[It is] referring to a culture where the act of rape is prevalent, promoted, encouraged and even accepted".

They are both essentially saying the exact same thing. About the only difference is the brittlest of semantics. Normalisation can be easily mistaken for prevalence and in this context encouraged and promoted means pretty much the same thing. The addition in the official definition of "prevailing social attitudes", could be swapped out with little fanfare and no change in overall meaning for "culture" in the misinterpretation definition. The differences between "rape" and "sexual abuse" is a red herring in many ways, though the former seems far more calculated to raise eyebrows, hackles and paranoia. So I for one are calling semantic shenanigans TBH.
    The misinterpretation and inherent ignorance within it creates a barrier to actual debate and discussion of the topic taking place.
    O RLY? Part Deux. Yep we're ignorant because so many call shenanigans to this - and I use the word reservedly - theory.
    Essentially, both sides are talking about two different things and the people that commonly complain that the current wave of feminism are creating echo chambers for themselves are in fact, doing the very same thing. This thread is an example of that.
    Three for three. And demonstrably far less an echo chamber than any open platform discussing this that I'd bet you could find. FYI, a platform that basically agrees with your position isn't open. Find me an open feminist platform that comes close to any dissention in the ranks and you get a lollipop.
    While there are some posters that seem to open to hearing all sides, it seems like most aren’t really listening.
    ... to your position.
    Sure, they are willing to read what is presented to them but aren’t allowing themselves to switch off their preconceptions and take any opportunity to roll their eyes and assume a position ofintellectual superiority.
    The feminism Irony gift that just keeps on giving.
    An important thing to note here is that when people use the term, they are in most cases referring to western society as a whole and are not talking in country specific terms. I think it might have something to do with age, in that people who grew up with the internet tend to think on more of a global scale than a local one. I have noticed over time that it’s quite common on Boards for users to be of the opinion that because this is an Irish forum that all social issues discussed here must relate exclusively to Ireland. There is a lot of talk of “importing” theory surrounding social justice issues from America and elsewhere. It gets brought up in attempts to invalidate people with opposing views. The reality is that those people with the opposing views are looking at these issues in an entirely different context. They are viewing them as issues that all of humanity should be facing together instead of having a narrow focus on this small island. This difference in approach means a lot of the time people are having two different discussions.
    This global homogenous west thing is a complete nonsense. Damn near every single feminist tenet of the last thirty years was seeded and grown in American social sciences faculties. Just like the moronic "red pill/MGTOW/PUA" guff is almost entirely of American origin. This is undeniable. The age thing is yet another red herring. One could argue far more easily that those who have grown up with the internet are more prone to import these ideas and think that local culture is the same. Jaysus the number of Irish people(even on Boards) that go on about Trump and MAGA and bleating "cuck" at every turn should illustrate this. More to the point, just because some may go with their mom to the store and buy a boxset of The Wire this is not America. On so many social and cultural and political levels. In the US I'd be socialist to many, whereas here I'm more seen as a fascist. :D To try and graft those increasingly socially decisive American groups of all stripes onto Irish culture is both wrong and wrongheaded.
    Now, here’s what rape culture doesn’t mean. It doesn’t mean that a bunch of interactions that are definitely not rape, are viewed as rape. It does not mean that society promotes sexual violence. It definitely does not mean that all men are rapists. What does it mean then? It means that the act of rape does not happen in a vacuum. Everything that surrounds us, socially and culturally influence who we are as people. Dots have been connected between things that happen in every day life and rape. Harassment, gender norms, sexual objectification (both in the media and on an individual level) are a selection of things that remain present in our society. Some of them are being challenged, and that is great, progress is being made. However, the simple logical connections that are being made between these things and sexual violence are not ones based in delusion. I would hope to think most people in this thread can agree with that. The concept of us living in a “rape culture” is not focusing on the act of rape itself, but on these behaviours and systems that are in place and can play even the smallest part in making someone capable of committing acts of sexual violence on someone else.
    Murders are a common occurrence in films and TV and books and games. I've offed a fair number of people(and zombies) in the latter. Murders also occur in the real world of Ireland. And that's bad. Am I a potential murderer? Do we live in a murder culture? I am not and we do like....
    The term is getting used more and more frequently as a means of making society recognise that these connections exist. pimping imported feminist dogma into the mainstream.
    FYP.
    Just because you or the people you know wouldn’t think that you/they are entitled to a person’s body without consent does not provide a reason to deny the connection between the everyday objectification of people and the dehumanising sexual violence that people of any gender can be a victim of, in which they are treated as objects.
    Yeah, it kinda does. This "theory" seems to completely ignore the most obvious point; evil scumbags/morons exist and some cultures can give them freer reign, but I hate to break it to you, unless we develop new technologies to spot them and wed them out they will always exist regardless of the surrounding culture.

Again back to the "Murder culture" analogy. We dehumanise physical violence on a near daily basis. Indeed physical violence is often used as a mainstream slapstick comedy prop. "Gaol the three stooges for promoting murder culture" TBH I've actually seen that daftness taken in earnest, so... Yet in real life murderers are vilified and gaoled and expelled from Irish society. Though the most vilified of all are rapists and other sex criminals.
    Omackeral posted about the lack of acceptance of rapists in both decent and indecent society using an excellent example from their experience as a prison officer. Feminists are completely with you here. There isn’t really anything there to debate against, its just not exactly relevant to the topic of rape culture as a concept. We know that pretty much all of society finds rape and rapists abhorrent but again, the term rape culture focuses everything that can contribute to the existence of rape and not solely the act itself, or those who commit it.
    I've seen amorous eels tie themselves in fewer knots.
    To me, the lack of and acknowledgement and services for male victims of rape is very clearly a facet of the rape culture we live in.
    *facepalm*. And likely this springs from the "patriarchy". Men's fault as it were.
    This doesn’t have to be about us versus them.
    And yet it is.
    If you feel there is a lack of representation for male victims of rape, do something about it,
    I agree, because you'd need to be Rip VanWinkle to hang around for the feminist ideologues to chime in, unless it's for another dig at the patriarchy.
    add to the dialogue in a respectful manner that isn’t about tearing other people down.
    I have found that usually translates as sit around agreeing with the philosophy de jour.
    The short of it is, people, no matter how small the number (it is not small) are getting raped.
    You, nor I have no actual idea of the numbers.
    Those in opposition to the term being used do not appear to be doing much in the way of providing an alternate approach.
    I suppose it has to be somebody's "fault"...

I think there is something really important to highlight here that as far as I can tell, hasn’t been addressed in this thread. When the term “rape culture” is used by those who use it in a context to describe the society we live in now, it is being used with the understanding of a definition that appears to be largely misinterpreted by the people, in this thread and elsewhere, that oppose to its use. Below are two sources of a definition that are mostly in sync with what the majority of feminists are attempting to address. I can't include the links because of the new account.

Both of these definitions, which clearly align with each other, also align with how the term is being used pretty much all the time. What seems to be happening, is that a misinterpretation is taking place that leads people to assuming when they read the term “rape culture”, that it has to be referring to a culture where the act of rape is prevalent, promoted, encouraged and even accepted. This is not what the term is being used to describe and the insistence by some that we must follow a direct lexical interpretation of those two words placed together completely ignores not only the intention but also the way language is used in contemporary society.
    All the above have been chewed over countless times in the thread.
    The misinterpretation and inherent ignorance within it creates a barrier to actual debate and discussion of the topic taking place. Essentially, both sides are talking about two different things and the people that commonly complain that the current wave of feminism are creating echo chambers for themselves are in fact, doing the very same thing. This thread is an example of that. While there are some posters that seem to open to hearing all sides, it seems like most aren’t really listening. Sure, they are willing to read what is presented to them but aren’t allowing themselves to switch off their preconceptions and take any opportunity to roll their eyes and assume a position ofintellectual superiority. I am aware that the same could be said for all sides in a debate but it appears to me personally that it is much more prevalent on one side in this case than the other.
    Ah, the "You guys just don't get the theory" card. Sorry, but people do get it. You know who else gets it? Rape Crisis Networks. Are RAINN guilty of "misinterpretation and inherent ignorance" on "rape culture"?
    RAINN wrote:
    In the last few years, there has been an unfortunate trend towards blaming “rape culture” for the extensive problem of sexual violence on campuses. While it is helpful to point out the systemic barriers to addressing the problem, it is important to not lose sight of a simple fact: Rape is caused not by cultural factors but by the conscious decisions, of a small percentage of the community, to commit a violent crime.

While that may seem an obvious point, it has tended to get lost in recent debates. This has led to an inclination to focus on particular segments of the student population (e.g., athletes), particular aspects of campus culture (e.g., the Greek system), or traits that are common in many millions of law-abiding Americans (e.g., “masculinity”), rather than on the subpopulation at fault: those who choose to commit rape. This trend has the paradoxical effect of making it harder to stop sexual violence, since it removes the focus from the individual at fault, and seemingly mitigates personal responsibility for his or her own actions.

https://www.rainn.org/images/03-2014...mendations.pdf
    The thing is, people understand perfectly what it means and they do get it, they're just not agreeing with it.

If somebody wishes to discuss the issue on a global scale then all the better. However, have a look at the thread title. IIRC one of the first lines in the documentary was "Ireland has a rape culture". So, considering we are on a thread spawned from that documentary, and we are all (mostly) Irish, is it really all that shocking that we are discussing things in a localised context?

The concept of us living in a “rape culture” is not focusing on the act of rape itself, but on these behaviours and systems that are in place and can play even the smallest part in making someone capable of committing acts of sexual violence on someone else.
    As I stated above, people know that already. They just don't buy into it.
    Just because you or the people you know wouldn’t think that you/they are entitled to a person’s body without consent does not provide a reason to deny the connection between the everyday objectification of people and the dehumanising sexual violence that people of any gender can be a victim of, in which they are treated as objects.
    A big claim (not the first time I have come across it either) but yet very vague and light on evidence. For a start, you never listed what you define to be objectification and how you believe those forms of objectification lead down that road.
    It is completely understandable that this makes people uncomfortable. It should. It makes the people that recognise its existence uncomfortable too. The difference arises when those in opposition, more often than not, opt to indulge in denial and rejection of the concept instead of fighting through the discomfort to try to gain a greater understanding how this concept has come to exist, and potentially then being able to admit that it is indeed a reality.
    Then this would mean that one of the major rape crisis networks in the USA is indulging in "denial and rejection of the concept". I just think they looked at the facts, and used their experience to discern reality from old ivory tower musings.
    We know that pretty much all of society finds rape and rapists abhorrent but again, the term rape culture focuses everything that can contribute to the existence of rape and not solely the act itself, or those who commit it.
    Indeed, I think most know that already. As has been said before in the thread, the net has been cast far and wide in that regard. Quite handy that, eh? :D
    I am a man. I have been raped. It took me a very long time to come to terms with the fact that that is exactly what it was. The hesitation that I felt for so long was based in what I had learned from the gender norms present in our society. Gender norms that are reinforced not only socially and culturally but also legally in regard to rape in this country. To me, the lack of and acknowledgement and services for male victims of rape is very clearly a facet of the rape culture we live in. This doesn’t have to be about us versus them. If you feel there is a lack of representation for male victims of rape, do something about it, add to the dialogue in a respectful manner that isn’t about tearing other people down.
    I am truly sorry to hear what happened to you. However, the "lack of and acknowledgement of services" could be pinned on everything in this country from the health service (trolley crisis every year), housing crisis, prior lax building regulations and our Olympic teams etc. It is not a conspiracy to have poor services just for rape victims, unfortunately it is endemic across most departments.
    I know this is incredibly long, but I felt there needed to something somewhat more substantial to balance a thread that was quite overtly one sided. Feel free to tear this to shreds, I wouldn't expect anything less.
    :confused: It's a difference of opinion. Nothing more, nothing less. I don't agree with any of your post. But, you don't have to agree with anything in mine either. C'est la vie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,772 ✭✭✭RabbleRouser2k

itsme2015 wrote: »

Yes, and I'm pro-choice too...but that photo gives out a dual meaning, and the first one I saw was the totally opposite of what she may have meant. The militant anti-abortionists will see the 'she's holding a baby, wearing a repeal tee shirt' and thus saying 'if you allow abortion, you are killing babies'.

It's why I don't get on board with the repeal movement-yeah, allow choice, sure. But the tees and other crud, pulls me away from it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,772 ✭✭✭RabbleRouser2k

https://www.irishexaminer.com/viewpoints/columnists/louise-oneill/mna-na-heireann-i-am-proud-to-be-one-of-you-444336.html?&session=iCh+95ijx1IGX+vvKZXLyfS1mDCi/XGNPGvifNohO1c=

Oh LoN...why do you make my forehead sore with the needless ridiculousness on your part. I slap my forehead so many times reading her crud, I'm in danger of a brain injury.
    The discussion was varied but to sum up, the panel was asked what we like about being a woman.

It’s a difficult question to answer when you believe, as I do, that gender is a social construct and behaviour that conforms to traditional ideas of masculinity and femininity is learned through cultural cues.

No, just no, no,no,no,no, no...

No it's not. It's biological, inherent, derived from our genes.

Hi bridgingthegap,

I've read your personal comments and I'm very sorry to hear what happened to you. I've tried to keep my comments as polite as possible and confined to exploring the logic of the rape culture movement. I'm sorry if any of it comes across as overly aggressive or otherwise bad as I've no axe to grind with you personally. I just disagree with what you have said and I believe you are incorrect and I would like to try to explain to you why I think your comments are incorrect. So please don't take this the wrong way.

The bit that you hope most people can agree with is in fact the bit that most people don't agree with. Let me break it down a bit:
    Now, here’s what rape culture doesn’t mean. It doesn’t mean that a bunch of interactions that are definitely not rape, are viewed as rape. It does not mean that society promotes sexual violence. It definitely does not mean that all men are rapists.

That's Ok, but we should use words correctly. I think it needs a different name if it isn't about a culture of rape, but we can agree to disagree about this. Whether we call it "rape culture" or something else, let's discuss the merits of this theory.
    What does it mean then? It means that the act of rape does not happen in a vacuum.

Agreed. No one wakes up in the morning and says "I think I'll go out and rape someone today, just to try it out"
    Everything that surrounds us, socially and culturally influence who we are as people.

Also agreed. Those are two influences that affect almost everybody to at least some extent. Other facts affect people too such as biology, education, mental health, alcohol and drugs, people's life experiences, family, intelligence, their sense of logic and thought process, etc etc.
    Dots have been connected between things that happen in every day life and rape.

This is a big logical problem with the theory. What are those connections? I could say dots have been connected between the assassination of JFK and the CIA, but they are tenuous at best. We need to have clear evidence if the connection is to have any substance.
    Harassment, gender norms, sexual objectification (both in the media and on an individual level) are a selection of things that remain present in our society. Some of them are being challenged, and that is great, progress is being made.

Both agreed. These things do happen and I don't think anyone on this thread has denied that harassment or sexual objectification doesn't happen or that it isn't a bad thing.
    However, the simple logical connections that are being made between these things and sexual violence are not ones based in delusion.

The connections between me saying to my friend "I think so and so has a lovely bottom" and another man on the other side of the country beating and raping a woman are neither simple nor logical. I would say they are non-existent, or at least so tenuous as to exist only in the realms of zen philosophy or quantum theoretical physics. I can't exclude absolutely the possibility that because I had two sugars in my tea five years ago that I didn't unwittingly contribute towards the rise of ISIS. But for the purposes of rational debate there is no connection.

So yes, it is either based in delusion or they are so tenuous as not to be worth discussing. If someone rapes a woman after eating a kit kat, we don't talk about the connection between confectionary and rape, do we? So, unless there is a clear, demonstrable link, there isn't really any benefit to discussing it.
    I would hope to think most people in this thread can agree with that.

It's a massive assumption. I think you assuming this is why there is misunderstanding.
    The concept of us living in a “rape culture” is not focusing on the act of rape itself, but on these behaviours and systems that are in place and can play even the smallest part in making someone capable of committing acts of sexual violence on someone else.

Again, see above. While I cannot preclude the possibility of a connection, if the connection is, by your own admission, very small, then it is quite frankly misleading and wrong to talk about it. If the cause of a fatal disease is 99% genetic but there is a possibility that smoking cigarettes contributes 1% to it, it is wrong, indeed irresponsible to talk about how smoking cigarettes causes this disease.

Put another way, if you came onto boards and said we live in a "disease culture" where cigarettes causes this disease, people would rightly point out that cigarettes are not definitively linked and that, in fact, the causes of the disease are widely known and easily demonstrated.

If that happened, the people commenting would not be denying that there are other things that are bad about cigarettes, nor that the disease isn't actually that bad, nor would they be failing to understand your concept of "disease culture", they would be simply disagreeing with you, based on the preponderance of evidence.

And if you were to say, "well, let's ignore the genetics, there is something small to suggest a connection to smoking cigarettes", people would rightly say "we can't just ignore it as it is such an important aspect of it". This, in the analogy, is like you saying "stop talking about how rape is a criminal offence. Let's ignore the 99% of our culture that abhors rape, and instead focus on the 1% that could possibly encourage it."

Has anyone ever actually demonstrated this connection? Because all the articles I've read have just been lists or anecdotes about sexist comments and a vague assertion that this part of rape culture.
    Omackeral posted about the lack of acceptance of rapists in both decent and indecent society using an excellent example from their experience as a prison officer. Feminists are completely with you here. There isn’t really anything there to debate against, its just not exactly relevant to the topic of rape culture as a concept.

Well it is really relevant to determining what society's view towards sexual violence is. See above re: we can't ignore the 99% evidence and focus exclusively on the 1% possiblity.

Because, you see, if there is a possiblity that locker room talk has a small effect on a potential rapist which makes him slightly more likely to commit rape, the incredible abhorrence and risk of significant punishment that he must also be aware of plays an even greater deterrent effect on him.

So if he goes out and actually commits the rape, he does this despite the massive social pressure not to rape, not because of the tiny amount of social pressure that trivialises rape.

This is the thing about social theories - they need to be robust. You can't just pick the bits you like and exclude the bits that run contrary to the narrative. To illustrate this, supposing I want to lose weight and I do three things:

1) exercise every day;
    2) eat really healthy food in a calorie deficit; and
    3) listen to an Iggy Pop record while repeating "I must be thin I must be thin" at least once a week.

Supposing following this I lose 5 pounds and someone asks me what I did to lose the weight and I say "well, I did eat right and exercise a lot, but they are not relevant. In reality, I prayed to Iggy Pop and he made me skinny".
    We know that pretty much all of society finds rape and rapists abhorrent but again, the term rape culture focuses everything that can contribute to the existence of rape and not solely the act itself, or those who commit it.

Why does "rape culture" only focus on anything "that can contribute" to an actual rape, but not on anything that can discourage or prevent such a thing? What a strange theory it is. What is it's purpose if we only focus on the marginal things that we want to focus on and not on the more significant things that go against the theory? To illustrate, again using an analogy:

Imagine I went into a supermarket and said "do you have anything to do with cars?" and they said, "this is a supermarket, we don't sell cars, or parts or petrol or insurance or hire taxis or any of that, maybe try the garage down the road that does all of that". Do you answer this:

A) Ok yeah, I take your point, I'll check out the garage; or
    B) I don't care, just give me anything to do with a car - an air freshener, a toy car, cut me a new set of keys, I'm interested in anything in this supermarket that is to do with cars.

Because no matter how finely you split hairs, if you want to talk about "rape culture" but only in a scenario where we ignore all the relevant matters such as society condemning rape, the state punishing rape, most people understanding rape is bad, everyone saying rape is bad, public bodies actively trying to prevent rape and encourage the prosecution of same etc etc and focus entirely on throw away comments by jocks and distasteful jokes or phrases, then you sound like the mad person described in B) above.
    The short of it is, people, no matter how small the number (it is not small) are getting raped. There are people that want to address this issue with the ultimate and ideal hope of making it not exist anymore. The approach taken in tackling the issue can hit some wrong notes at times, by few or by many. Still, people are making an effort.

This is it and this is very important. The Hippocratic oath "First, do no harm" is as relevant to social discourse as it is to medicine. It is not enough, unfortunately, to make an effort, however well meaning. That effort has to ensure that it isn't aiming in the wrong direction.

In practical terms, I can't help but avoid the belief that the rape culture advocates are telling people to ignore the traditional routes for dealing with rape, such as the gardai and courts, and telling them to instead become internet martyrs or to focus their energies on the wrong things. One final analogy:

Imagine the Minister for Health wants to try to eradicate MRSA in Irish hospitals. He makes a statement of his genuine, but incorrect belief, that one of the reasons for MRSA is that doctors aren't washing their hands properly. He has made the effort to try to solve the problem, but his efforts were misguided and do not cure MRSA. Instead, however, he has made all the doctors in Ireland distrust him. The doctors have derided his theory as lacking in any evidence and have provided evidence to the contrary, and the Minister responds by saying that the doctors are being stubborn because they don't like hearing any criticism of themselves as a profession and that their evidence is not relevant to the discussion. So long as he keeps insisting that not washing their hands is a problem the doctors refuse to engage in meaningful debate with him. He refuses to change his stance and is convinced he is right.

That is probably where the rape culture debate is at the moment. I'm sorry to say it but the solution to the Minister's problem is to stop taking dogmatic approaches to how he tries to help, and instead basing his decisions on realistic appraisals of what is happening.