Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Galway GAA discussion thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

Django99 wrote: »
    That's an interesting theory and it makes sense based on what we saw today. Galway surely aren't content to keep things the way they are.

i am convinced to be fair that this is what they really want to do ....just too many short term obstacles,

Team named for today is very similar to the Cork game.

Arnstrong luckily retains his place, Cummins and Brannigan return.

Back 7 look identical to the first two games and same midfield as Fermanagh.

McDaid and Daly are probably going to be unlucky unless there's some pre match changes.

Hoping for Cork and Derry wins today, it would put us firmly in the driving seat.
    I don't think Cork winning would be too much of a stretch(despite being second bottom) and Kildare could be a false dawn yet.

We need to be winning pulling up today. We should be beating Clare as much as Dublin would beat us.
    They were convincingly beaten twice by Kerry last year and I'd be surprised if they win another game in the division tbh.

Shame I didn't bet on that sequence, I'd have fancied us to win by 5+, and didn't see much to say Cork and Derry couldn't win.

I think we'd have beaten them by 12+ if we weren't so clueless on our kick outs. Clare must have got 1-4 of their total of ours, granted we somewhat secured the ball for their goal, it was never fully secured.
    Our lads just run out with their backs to our goalie and any short ones come from poor pressing or singular intuition rather than pre ordained methods.

Contrast that to Clare where all their players are moving in their 45.

I think it'll be our downfall later in the summer against a quality side but we'll survive for now as things our.

In his limited appearances to date, McHugh has looked like one of the best free takers in the country, which is even more critical than hurling(more common there).

We looked better from open play than the Cork game, worked the ball well at times, especially for the first goal.

Its in our hands now, could afford one loss and still make top 2.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

A few very good showings today. Bradshaw and Conroy were head and shoulders above the rest. Thought Heaney, Lundy and Daly were also very good.

Our fullback put themselves under enormous pressure for no reason. Kyne got yellowed within 5 minutes and handcuffed himself for the rest of the match.

Walsh was very wasteful too. 1-2 he left behind him from fairly straight forward scoring positions.

That said I was pretty happy with the overall showing. FOC was a lot better today, we were spraying in some lovely ball into the forward line and Sicey came back for a lovely scrap.

Results went our way and for the first time in a long time we're starting in a very decent position going into the latter stages rather than finishing strong after a poor start.

A few very good showings today. Bradshaw and Conroy were head and shoulders above the rest. Thought Heaney, Lundy and Daly were also very good.

Our fullback put themselves under enormous pressure for no reason. Kyne got yellowed within 5 minutes and handcuffed himself for the rest of the match.

Walsh was very wasteful too. 1-2 he left behind him from fairly straight forward scoring positions.

That said I was pretty happy with the overall showing. FOC was a lot better today, we were spraying in some lovely ball into the forward line and Sicey came back for a lovely scrap.

Results went our way and for the first time in a long time we're starting in a very decent position going into the latter stages rather than finishing strong after a poor start.

good win today , ye have some excellent forwards , but to be fair yourselves cork and possibly kildare will be the runaway teams in the top 3 everyone else are a fair bit off that level , would expect ye to go up and be a better addition to division one next year then one or two teams that are going to come down

taught shane walsh was better then credited he set up alot also , michael daly is another fine player in the making too , how many to come in from corofin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,560 ✭✭✭✭gammygils

how many to come in from corofin?

Micheal Lundy started. Liam Silke & Gary Sice got late run outs. Micheal Farragher was on the bench. Don't think there was any others

gammygils wrote: »
    Micheal Lundy started. Liam Silke & Gary Sice got late run outs. Micheal Farragher was on the bench. Don't think there was any others

remember thinking ye have gary sice we have.... to come on , gary did spend the best part of the last 5 minutes fighting with john hayes though

ye are going in the right direction but there is still an element of doubt among this side ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭TCDStudent1

gammygils wrote: »

Do you know the full list of subs?
    Because of the Corofin lads, the programme was all over the place and i didnt take much notice of them warming up yesterday. I don't remember seeing peter Cooke yesterday.

I think Ian Burke, Cathal Silke, Steede Molloy and Mike Farragher might be on the extended panel. Wouldn't expect any of them bar Steede to be regular subs off the bench.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,598 ✭✭✭MfMan

remember thinking ye have gary sice we have.... to come on , gary did spend the best part of the last 5 minutes fighting with john hayes though

ye are going in the right direction but there is still an element of doubt among this side ,

Think Sice's best days are nearly gone at county level, though he might be an option at wing-back as our HB line is usually cack against the better teams (and Tipperary). Can any sentient Galway fan think Flynn is a better footballer than Mike Farragher?

MfMan wrote: »
    Think Sice's best days are nearly gone at county level, though he might be an option at wing-back as our HB line is usually cack against the better teams (and Tipperary). Can any sentient Galway fan think Flynn is a better footballer than Mike Farragher?

Mike farragher is better.

Tom Flynn has had a poor league so far and will be struggling to hold onto that jersey v Meath. Players like sice, cummins, farragher will be putting him under major pressure for that position.
    Comer also to come back into that forward line.

If only we'd same competition in the backs....

I think Ian Burke, Cathal Silke, Steede Molloy and Mike Farragher might be on the extended panel. Wouldn't expect any of them bar Steede to be regular subs off the bench.

Yeah they are. I'm more curious by who was dropped from the subs to see where they are currently standing. Going by the numbers on programme, silke was 17 so he replaced Cooke. Sice was 22 so he replaced hoare. Don't know what number farragher was.

I'd be extremely doubtful that steede will play a part. Farragher and Burke would be more likely to feature I think.

Yeah they are. I'm more curious by who was dropped from the subs to see where they are currently standing. Going by the numbers on programme, silke was 17 so he replaced Cooke. Sice was 22 so he replaced hoare. Don't know what number farragher was.

I'd be extremely doubtful that steede will play a part. Farragher and Burke would be more likely to feature I think.

Agree on Steede, seriously limited player and you can't carry limited midfielders in the modern game. While I wouldn't use either of yesterday's two, they both have strengths, whereas Steede has no standout ability.

Find it hard to believe people think Farragher is the most likely, Burke is far and away their best attacker.
    Can win his own ball, relatively quick and is extremely accurate off both feet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,683 ✭✭✭elefant

Agree on Steede, seriously limited player

That's really very harsh. He's a quality footballer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,030 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

I would have serious doubts about Ian Burke's ability to make it at intercounty level. He's a very skillful player but he's not big or strong and he's not particularly quick and athleticism is increasingly important at the top level. I just see him having a hard time getting away from most intercounty corner backs. Would be happy to be wrong though.

I'd give Steede a shot over Flynn or O'Curraoin tbh. Neither of them are consistent enough to start as often as they do and Flynn wasn't even really used as an aeriel target in the few games I saw this season. FOC had a good second half yesterday in fairness though.

elefant wrote: »
    That's really very harsh. He's a quality footballer.

Maybe quality in the club sense but someone like MDMA would eat him alive in county.

In the club semi he kicked a nothing ball across the pitch that was picked up by a Crokes player, kicked a free kick over the end line for a wide just before HT and missed a sitter.

Any of the top 4s midfielders would make hay against him.
    He's a good club level player but he wouldn't cut it at the top level.

Agree on Steede, seriously limited player and you can't carry limited midfielders in the modern game. While I wouldn't use either of yesterday's two, they both have strengths, whereas Steede has no standout ability.

Find it hard to believe people think Farragher is the most likely, Burke is far and away their best attacker.
    Can win his own ball, relatively quick and is extremely accurate off both feet.

Farragher is accomplished enough in fairness to him. One of the few that looked up for it v. Crokes, better than Ian Burke also I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

Mike farragher is better.

Tom Flynn has had a poor league so far and will be struggling to hold onto that jersey v Meath. Players like sice, cummins, farragher will be putting him under major pressure for that position.
    Comer also to come back into that forward line.

If only we'd same competition in the backs....

For sure. We're in good shape in the forwards where we now have serious competition for places and other than Damien Comer you couldn't say anyone is guaranteed a starting jersey in that forward line.

You'd have to worry about the defence though when we come up against any of the better teams. What is with Galway that we consistently produce talented forwards but not defenders? Even during the glory years with O'Mahony our defence was always suspect*, and we got away with it due to the sheer quality we had at the other end of the pitch.

*even Deccie Meehan and Sean Og DePaor were basically converted forwards who were much happier bombing forward to support the attack than actually defending.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭RobbieRuns

A fit Shane Walsh is guaranteed a starting place ......

RobbieRuns wrote: »

If he stays fit and playing as well as he can, he'll get his place. And he looks in good shape right now.

However, his form has deserted him at times in the past.

I would have serious doubts about Ian Burke's ability to make it at intercounty level. He's a very skillful player but he's not big or strong and he's not particularly quick and athleticism is increasingly important at the top level. I just see him having a hard time getting away from most intercounty corner backs. Would be happy to be wrong though.

You could be right but he certainly deserves to be given a chance.

If he stays fit and playing as well as he can, he'll get his place. And he looks in good shape right now.

However, his form has deserted him at times in the past.

Don't think KW/mgmt (who seem to be overly-defensive anyway, despite presiding over a team with a bog-standard defence) are fully sold on him, remember they brought him on v Donegal 15 minutes too late. He proceeded to stroke over a superb point on the run a couple of years ago in Croker.

MfMan wrote: »
    Don't think KW/mgmt (who seem to be overly-defensive anyway, despite presiding over a team with a bog-standard defence) are fully sold on him, remember they brought him on v Donegal 15 minutes too late. He proceeded to stroke over a superb point on the run a couple of years ago in Croker.

No and a lot of supporters aren't fully convinced him about him either. I spend a lot of time telling fellow supporters that this guy is absolute class. But then sometimes he goes missing..... needs to get a bit more consistency into his game

RobbieRuns wrote: »

I don't agree.

For all Shane's undoubted ability he has yet to really shine in a Galway jersey. He has the talent to be a great player but so far all we've seen is little snippets and cameos and he has yet to produce a standout performance over 70 minutes (rather than being good in little flashes here and there).

With the competition for places in the forwards now he is not a certain starter by any means, if he could bring a more consistent level of performance then it might be different.

aidan24326 wrote: »
    I don't agree.

For all Shane's undoubted ability he has yet to really shine in a Galway jersey. He has the talent to be a great player but so far all we've seen is little snippets and cameos and he has yet to produce a standout performance over 70 minutes (rather than being good in little flashes here and there).

With the competition for places in the forwards now he is not a certain starter by any means, if he could bring a more consistent level of performance then it might be different.

I agree with the general gist of your post except for that one line. He was absolutely outstanding for 70 minutes v Cavan last year in a very important league match (decided who got promoted).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,024 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

Shane was amazing against Mayo in Castlebar his first proper year as a senior. Gets forgotten about because we got beaten comfortably. He was poor last year, could possibly be put down to what happened the year before. I have a sneaking feeling that KW will only start one of either him or Michael Daly out around HF later in championship given that they are quite alike, and he'll want the stability the others offer in the other positions. A pity as both look like match winners. Thats unless they convert Shane back into an inside forward and play him in there with Comer, which would be intriguing but probably wont happen this year.

I agree with the general gist of your post except for that one line. He was absolutely outstanding for 70 minutes v Cavan last year in a very important league match (decided who got promoted).

Point taken, and I wasn't at that Cavan game but in general I don't think he has produced enough of the sort of performances that his talent suggests he might.

I still don't think we're getting the best out of him for whatever reason.

And maybe I'm being harsh or expecting too much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,742 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

aidan24326 wrote: »
    Point taken, and I wasn't at that Cavan game but in general I don't think he has produced enough of the sort of performances that his talent suggests he might.

I still don't think we're getting the best out of him for whatever reason.

And maybe I'm being harsh or expecting too much.

I dont think Kevin really fancies him to be honest. You need a Shane Walsh on every team. He has the ability but the problem could be that he isnt getting that bit of TLC that he may need to actually flourish in the team. Kevin has a very organised and structured system and Shane will never and should never be tied down to a role in a team. I think its a case of trying to fit a square peg in a round hole!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 143 ✭✭Curly head

Is Michael Meehan coming back?