Hitler-ish school rules

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,059 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

The idea that soemone who is a teacher is automatically NOT creepy is a bit creepy in itself. That's Christian Brother rationale right there.
    Nobody said that though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,066 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

I finished school in 2002 and the rules they tried to enforce weren't too bad. Three things they were always over the top on were ensuring only black shoes were worn, haircuts weren't too long or too short, and that everybody was clean shaven (it was an all boys school). There were a few instances were lads were sent home for a week as their hair was cut too short.

I was sent home from school to shave one morning as I had a bit of a goatee/smig (:o). I had been warned about it so had trimmed it really short and also the fact that it was really fair, you wouldn't spot it unless you were within a couple of feet of me. That was obviously the day I bumped into the principal first thing in the morning. I was told to go home as I had a moped so I would be quick and wouldn't miss much of class. I took the rest of the day off.

I did feel sorry for one of the lads though who had a bit of stubble and was just too lazy to shave. The principal sent him to the chemist down the road from school, told him to buy a razor and shaving foam and to shave in the school toilets. The toilets were nasty at the best of times, didn't have any mirrors and also no hot water. Think he took a few chunks out of himself shaving that day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

Wow. Just wow. Anytime these type of threads come up, I realise how lucky I was attending school in Germany. I finished school in the early 90s:

- No uniforms (not just the primary and secondary school I went to, I don't know of any schools in Germany that would have uniforms)
    - No corporal punishment (outlawed in the early 1980s federally, and had been outlawed in practically all states individually well before that)
    - No regulations on appearance. You could have hair any length or colour you wanted, any type of jewellery you wanted, piercings, etc. The only thing I can recall being outlawed was spray-on deodorants in the late 1980s, both for environmental impact ('twas the days when these things were still using CFCs back in those days) and because students and teachers complained that they stank the place out.
    - Usually very good relations with teachers. Outside of school hours, many would offer voluntary classes (teaching additional languages, musical instruments, arts and crafts and the like), during which we would call them by their first names.

I'm actually a little ashmed that I never at the time realised how fantastic a system it was, and how much I profited from it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,932 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

threetrees wrote: »
    I was in secondary in the late 80s, early 90s. My son is in secondary now. Honestly, the rules are still the same. Walk on the left anticlockwise, only use particular doors, only the school coat allowed, plain black shoes and very strict on no branding on shoes that are slightly like runners.

These schools have 800+ students. Rules have to be made and enforced. It's hard to let exceptions pass in a school of 800 impressionable teenagers. The rules might seem silly but they are a way of preparation for life which is full of silly rules.

1800 in my school and we could wear whatever footwear or jackets we wanted. Anarchy didn't ensue, employment wasn't impossible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 892 ✭✭✭BlinkingLights

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    Could have done with your help, got an f in pass French in the leaving, didn't help I had undiagnosed dyslexia. Fair play to you, languages are hard

We all have different talents! Could also have been how you were taught. There are much better ways of language teaching than typically were used here.

If someone's dyslexic, you just need to focus on learning though speaking and listening and absorbing media. It should be really good fun and not dry boring grammar lesson.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    We had a rule in our school to not poo in the sinks.
    It was broken a number of times.

Mr. Mackey:

Now you might all think I've given up finding out who crapped in the urinal. M'kay? And maybe, maybe you think it's a victimless crime. This, is Mr. Venezuela [walks up to a school janitor, who's a Latino with mop and bucket in hand], the school janitor. Okay? [the fourth graders are shown with some kindergartners in front of them] He's the person... who has to clean up... when some trickster... drops a dook in the wrong toilet! Mr. Venezuela makes six bucks an hour at best! Okay? He's got three kids at home, he's got a car that barely works, he's gotta clean up puke with sawdust, m'kay, then he walks into the boys' room and sees a big meaty chud starin' him in the face! [the sixth graders are shown seated to the left of the fourth graders] So when you crapped in that urinal, m'kay, you might as well have just dropped your pants, and laid a turd right on top of Mr. Venezuela's head! [the kids laugh] Oh, you think it's funny, huh?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

In 2nd class we'd have to sit with our hands behind our back at certain times when the teacher was speaking. If you had an itch and scratched it, you were thrown outside the door.

Our teacher was an old school elderly woman who at a guess began her career in the late 50s (this was late 90s). We were all very intimidated by her, she'd throw copy books at you or turn over your table if she lost her cool.

One thing I will say about her though was that we all learned and got on very well in that class. The fear she instilled in us was a great motivational tool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,151 ✭✭✭daheff

had one crazy sub teacher who spent more time doing doing prayers than teaching us....mad old biddy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭dollyk

I went to primary in 1968, and I still remember a nun going around every class
    and pulling me and maybe a few more out in front of everyone,
    and saying how dirty looking pups we were.
    Aw sweet Latern Jesus she knew there was 14 in our family,
    and where did she think the money for nice clean uniforms came from ?
    "the back to school allowance":rolleyes:
    But the choir nun used to buy us poor pups pencils and copies
    and sneak them to us. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,351 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

In an all boys secondary school the principal for some reason wasn't too bothered about long hair but if you tied it up he went mental. I was working in the metal work room and using the lade so I naturally tied my long hair back so it wouldn't get caught in the machine. While a few inches away from the spinning metal and cutting tool I feel this hand grabbing my head pushing me forward and hen yanking me back.
    It was the principal trying to pull the bobbin out my hair. I completely flipped at him calling him every name under the sun pointing out how dangerous he just behaved. The teacher ran down to separate us as I was very close to hitting him. If another pupil had done this they would have been suspended if not expelled. The teacher led the principal out of the class was gone about 10 minutes came back to me and said I should report him. Never did as my parents would not have supported me because they had a weird idea of authority figures always being right.

McGaggs wrote: »
    1800 in my school and we could wear whatever footwear or jackets we wanted. Anarchy didn't ensue, employment wasn't impossible.

It's odd that's how schools work in most of the Western World, except Ireland and some in Britain, and somehow they don't all meltdown into social chaos and actually in a lot of cases greatly outperform us in education.

The most important thing here seems to be to knock any degree of creativity or personal expression out of you and ensure you regurgitate the correct answers to a Leaving Cert paper.

We had a teacher who was in charge of fines and used to walk around with a "fine book". He'd shout "THAT'S A FINE!" constantly. Once someone threw a ball of paper into the bin instead of getting up from his desk and was told "THAT'S A FINE!" a girl had a sip of water in class "THAT'S A FINE!" being on your phone in between classes whilst walking to your next class, another fine. Then he'd hound you for the money until you paid. What a joke. He was probably just running the whole thing himself to get money together for the weekend the scab.

We had that in our school, until it resulted in one of the kids robbing to pay an accumulated fine of about £45.00 which he couldn't pay off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,612 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

Shenshen wrote: »
    Wow. Just wow. Anytime these type of threads come up, I realise how lucky I was attending school in Germany. I finished school in the early 90s:

- No uniforms (not just the primary and secondary school I went to, I don't know of any schools in Germany that would have uniforms)
    - No corporal punishment (outlawed in the early 1980s federally, and had been outlawed in practically all states individually well before that)
    - No regulations on appearance. You could have hair any length or colour you wanted, any type of jewellery you wanted, piercings, etc. The only thing I can recall being outlawed was spray-on deodorants in the late 1980s, both for environmental impact ('twas the days when these things were still using CFCs back in those days) and because students and teachers complained that they stank the place out.
    - Usually very good relations with teachers. Outside of school hours, many would offer voluntary classes (teaching additional languages, musical instruments, arts and crafts and the like), during which we would call them by their first names.

I had similar except the last one. We had continuous assessment (as every school had) and we were under quite a bit of pressure to pass the year. We were first year that didn't need certain points in version of junior cert to get in. Unofficial policy in first year was to flail people they didn't think we're capable enough and get them to repeat or in first year preferably change the schools. It was quite a shock in first year and probably the most pressurized environment I ever had schools/universities. Most of us were A grade students in primary school and most of us had to get used to lower results. Once you got to third year you were mostly fine. The 'leaving cert' was easy in comparison to some internal exams. We moved to different classroom for different lessons. There were certain classrooms we opened the windows straight after we came in because there was such a strong stink of nervous sweat. It was only in a few classrooms where certain teachers taught. Calling teachers by name wasn't something we would even consider.

We had freedom to wear whatever we wanted but we knew that more rebellious was the outfit more likely we will be called for oral exam. Informal pressure to conform can work just as well as formal. :D The height of formal prohibitions was probably that they decided to prohibit smoking on school grounds during the breaks when stricter smoking law came into effect. We moved next door and continued. :D it was a great school but it was not cushy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

osarusan wrote: »
    Nobody said that though.

Fair point: but my point was that just because someone is a teacher doesnt mean they should automatically be above criticism.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,496 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

meeeeh wrote: »
    I had similar except the last one. We had continuous assessment (as every school had) and we were under quite a bit of pressure to pass the year. We were first year that didn't need certain points in version of junior cert to get in. Unofficial policy in first year was to flail people they didn't think we're capable enough and get them to repeat or in first year preferably change the schools.

Whoah, that's taking corporal punishment a bit far!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

It's amazing how apparently awful school was for people that I get the feeling that when any of these threads appear there is a massive degree of hyperbole being used by the majority of posters.I'd say for 95% of people who attended school there wren't really any issues like the ones highlighted here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,059 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Whoah, that's taking corporal punishment a bit far!

In keeping with the tragic and violent revelations in the thread though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

It's amazing how apparently awful school was for people that I get the feeling that when any of these threads appear there is a massive degree of hyperbole being used by the majority of posters.I'd say for 95% of people who attended school there wren't really any issues like the ones highlighted here.

The issues, for the most part, are kinda minor and the thread is a but light-hearted. But it's not really about school, it's about Rhee needlessness of rules for the sake of having rules and idiots who uphold them for the sake if upholding them.

As the guy who went to school in Germany said, they had none of this crap over there, and yet life still went on, peacefully and productively.

What I find interesting is that virtually every rule discussed relates to uniforms...

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭languagenerd

What I find interesting is that virtually every rule discussed relates to uniforms...

I never minded having uniforms in principle, but it was the relentless strict policing of it that still strikes me as so unnecessary. Hours wasted on checking if necklaces were tucked in, handing out demerits for people wearing a non-uniform raincoat over their school fleece on a rainy day, forcing kids to walk in the door in uniform and get changed within 5min arriving for PE, arguing with students who wore their school-crested fleece or scarf inside the building when they were cold, etc. What on earth did it achieve other than wasting everyone's time and energy?!

On one hand, they were giving out that girls didn't do enough exercise and promoting cycling/walking to school, yet on the other, they banned any uniform transgressions from the minute you arrived in the morning - how could you reasonably be expected to cycle in a skirt and black leather school shoes? Or to walk instead of getting a lift on cold mornings when you weren't allowed to enter the building wearing runners or trousers?! (even if you had your skirt and school shoes in your bag to put on once you got in - nope, still a detention). So counterproductive.

Ray Palmer wrote: »
    In an all boys secondary school the principal for some reason wasn't too bothered about long hair but if you tied it up he went mental. I was working in the metal work room and using the lade so I naturally tied my long hair back so it wouldn't get caught in the machine. While a few inches away from the spinning metal and cutting tool I feel this hand grabbing my head pushing me forward and hen yanking me back.
    It was the principal trying to pull the bobbin out my hair. I completely flipped at him calling him every name under the sun pointing out how dangerous he just behaved. The teacher ran down to separate us as I was very close to hitting him. If another pupil had done this they would have been suspended if not expelled. The teacher led the principal out of the class was gone about 10 minutes came back to me and said I should report him. Never did as my parents would not have supported me because they had a weird idea of authority figures always being right.

You could quite literally report that to the Health and Safety Authority these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 402 ✭✭Exeggcute

christ where to fcuking begin

School in Limerick that's considered "posh" but was a total nuthouse with crazy teachers.

One of them ended up a convicted rapist.

The TD teacher was totally crazy - was convinced the Russians were coming every time a large plane flew over. Made everyone hide under their desks.

He built a boat in his backyard and then realised it was too big to get out so he sawed it in half and brought one half to the park across the street. When he returned with the other half he found the first half on fire.

He had a stuffed cat named Tiger. He also had two goldfish that he tried to sell because he was convinced the cat was after them

The business teacher was also mental. Had a love of punc-tuality. His idea of teaching was to make everyone start writing out the book page for page. So he could stand by the window picking his nose and flicking his boogers across the room

Hated smiling. Considered it sniggering. Would go ape**** if you smiled in his class.

"I don't give lines, I give tigers!"

I'm sure anyone that reads this thread from Limerick will know exactly the school and the teachers. Infamous

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

Robsweezie wrote: »
    Only thing that could be said for uniforms, is it stopped you worrying about what to wear and competing with other kids to see who had the best tracksuit, latest runners, and cut out bullying relating to that.

still not a fan though.
    I went to a school with no uniforms and there was no bullying over what people wore. Everyone knew who the rich/poor kids were. Parents have different incomes, cars, houses etc and everyone knows everyone else's background. Some could afford to go on holidays, some not. Some had branded clothes, some not. It's just life that some families are better off financially and forcing everyone to wear the same thing isn't going to change that.

I worked in a B&B looking after students attending Yates. The all came from schools with uniforms. They were nervous because there was no uniform in Yates and they thought everyone would be judging each other but realised after a day or two that no one gave a sh!te.

Teenagers tend to be more critical of social interactions and their peers behaviour than what they are wearing.

What rules did (or does for the youngsters here) impose upon you?
    I did my leaving certificate in 2008.

Did mine in 2007.
    We had two doors on the building, the door at the back of the building was for pupils and the door at the front was strictly for teachers, principals and other staff (cleaners etc.)

Same set up but if it were lashing out of the heavens no student would think twice about going in the front door no matter who was standing there. Sure we all even knew the keypad code. Although if it wasn't raining, the secretary would swiftly tell you where to go and we went. We had more respect for her than the vast majority of the teachers in fairness.
    When we finished lunch in the canteen room, we had to leave the building for the remainder of break. The school uniform specified a certain jacket, which when I did my leaving certificate was €90. No hats, scarves or gloves were allowed, they weren't part of uniform. On a freezing winters day, you'd still have to be outside for break. If you wore hats or scarves, they were seized. Similarly, if you even entered the building wearing a different coat, and put it in your locker at the start of the day, it'd be seized if a teacher caught you

Again, similar rule. We cleared the canteen at a certain time on the dot to facilitate the indoor care taker to clean up. Great respect for him too from the students. Some of the 5th and 6th year lads would hang back and help when they could. Helped out a few times myself. We had a jacket too that also cost €90. Horrible sports jacket that gathered sweat by the liter. We had to wear that all year round until the parents put a stop to it. They tried the whole seizing of winter garments thing too but that didn't work out.
    The uniform for female pupils consisted of a skirt which had to come to her knees and no higher, with knee-length socks. On very cold mornings, some girls would wear leggings or pyjamas trousers. Apparently when the principal caught wind of this there was murder because so many girls were flouting the uniform (even though you couldn't see the leggings or trousers). He ordered the vice principal (a woman) ask all girls to lift their skirts and anyone found to be wearing leggings or trousers were given detention.

I went to an all boys school so obviously didn't experience any of this but if I found out anything like this was happening in my nieces school I'd personally pay a visit to the principal and vice principal myself.
    No drinking was allowed in class or between class - even water. I can understand no fizzy drinks, but Christ ... WATER! One one particular occasion I took water from my bag and took a slug during maths class, the teacher marched down and seized the water ... doesn't matter that I was planning on drinking it with my lunch, it was seized for my horrible transgression. Even people who took swigs between class (walking from one class to the other) had bottles seized when they swigged.

They tried the water rule with us too. Didn't last long either. The four water fountains in the school never worked and were manky at the best of times.
    A female friend of mine who was 17 in my final year suffered horrifically with period pain. She wasn't allowed to take Neurofen as it was "against school rules". Even with a doctors note and pressure from home, she wasn't allowed, as medication can only be taken when absolutely necessary. I'm surprised they even allowed the diabetic kid to shoot up insulin.

Again, can't really comment here but see post about my nieces.
    In my opinion, the some schools were more focused on discipline than on actual education and developing proper skills.

One of the few things I admired about my school was their focus on a decent education and the development of proper skills with a hint of discipline. The school had a list of rules like every other school on the planet. The important ones were highly enforced and respected by the vast majority and the idiotic ones were challenged if needed (like drinking water in class).

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,566 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

No hats or scarves wtf. How is that even allowed to be inforced

Hats are the devils dumplings and lead to wantonness and lust.

Scarves were invented by judas.

Questioning any of the rules....youd better believe thats a paddling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,324 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

I often thought that at secondary schools in Limerick whenever my Citylink bus travelling en route from Galway to Cork stops during lunch time, that the way they make the girls wear these Florence Nightingale style schools dresses is very old fashioned and religious, in the sense that they cover the legs.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

I consider it a form of abuse to force a child to wear a woolly jumper in the middle of a sweltering summer when he has a skin condition that makes extreme heat unbearable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭spiralism

Mine was not as strict as many but i definitely remember a few things:

-No long hair, they sent people home and suspended them for that. Also liked students who had facial hair to be somewhat well groomed, although they didn't mind unless they were quite scruffy looking. Just wanted their students to look respectable

-Loved their uniform alright, you had to wear it, would get pulled up for not having a tie etc.

-Nothing with a hood. No hoodies especially but this extended to jackets which often had the effect of us being drowned in the frequently wet irish weather.

-They banned jackets and scarves entirely in my last year. With the exception of the school jackets they made and charged a hefty amount for. Screamed a money racket that. Naturally these jackets didn't have hoods so you were still getting a wet head all year round. Thankfully the leaving cert students were left alone in that. We were left to our own devices as we were mainly 18 and not long from being out the door.

-Teachers were mostly sound but i recall one bag of an irish teacher who inappropriately insulted and chided students, similar to a poster earlier in the thread. There was also another teacher in the school who had a reputation for this but i didn't have her. She would mock them making mistakes, insult them, their appearance and generally take the piss out of them and embarrass them in front of the class . It was totally out of order in many instances, often made some students extremely uncomfortable and humiliated them. Often it gave bullies extra material to pick on somebody with. You can't be at this ****ing craic when you're a teacher, as the same poster said, these are not your mates down in the pub. Totally inappropriate and unprofessional.

-We also had a maths teacher who was a bit of a cantankerous old bollix. Apparently was very fond of the aul corporal punishment back in the day and you could tell he missed it, loved roaring at students to shut up if they spoke in his class and the like. Also had a nickname and he would lose his **** if students ever called him it within earshot, to the point of keeping an entire class in for a lunchtime and threatening mass suspensions until someone ratted them out. Ridiculous behaviour like. In fairness though, he was a good teacher, was known to be good craic outside hours and was there for years so we get the feeling the principal and vp put up with ****e like that for that reason.

-Also had another loon of a teacher who lost the plot at one class per year and would call for them all to be suspended or get detentions for "not respecting her" or some ****. It would be over something ridiculous and arbitrary, maybe someone gave cheek back and people laughed or the lads on the football team didn't get the homework and do it. This would end up with the comical sight of half of 6th year off for a day or in detention for nothing because the office wanted to keep their staff happy.

In all they weren't too bad by the standards of a lot of schools i've read here, but they definitely had their moments. On the plus side, they were horrid sound to the 6th year students at least and treated us as adults

It's striking how different it is to the culture in schools on the continent though. Here in Holland for example, there are no uniforms and students don't get homework.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,730 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

sugarman wrote:
    What really grinded my gears was that he'd stand at the main entrance every morning pulling up anyone with piercings, earings, long hair etc.. usually the rocker types that were quite and were doing academically well in their studies.

I and a few others got singled out for having long hair by our principle, he tried to say that we were bringing down the public appearance of the school, I told him that the public appearance of the school was mainly due to the conduct of the staff. I'm not sure he liked that one, parents were asked to attend school. father was regrowing his hair at the time, was a very well educated man and also an educator himself. Recommended some books to the principle on how to educate kids, I'm not sure he liked that either, end of argument over hair. God love the man, he hadn't a clue

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,496 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

I consider it a form of abuse to force a child to wear a woolly jumper in the middle of a sweltering summer when he has a skin condition that makes extreme heat unbearable.

What country was this in? School during the sweltering summer?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 663 ✭✭✭9or10

Wouldn't call it Hitlerish, but there was a tendency to blame the victim.

There was a thing at school to go around "peanuting" people's ties. The tie was yanked so that the knot was so small and tight you couldn't undo it. Victim then gets punished. :confused:

Another time during an applied maths lesson, the biggest twat in the class was tied up and gagged behind the roller blind. Halfway through the lesson teacher notices he's missing "Where's B________y?" B______y chooses this point to make himself know by falling through the blind. Teacher "Get out B_________y".