Hitler-ish school rules

• 02-03-2017 09:12PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Commotion Ocean

What rules did (or does for the youngsters here) impose upon you?
    I did my leaving certificate in 2008.

We had two doors on the building, the door at the back of the building was for pupils and the door at the front was strictly for teachers, principals and other staff (cleaners etc.) Even on a rainy pissy day, if a pupil dared to dash for the front door, they'd be accosted by one of the teachers if they were seen and made walk around to the back door. They would be followed by the teacher who caught them who'd walk the perimeter of the building and look the the pupil through the external windows.

When we finished lunch in the canteen room, we had to leave the building for the remainder of break. The school uniform specified a certain jacket, which when I did my leaving certificate was €90. No hats, scarves or gloves were allowed, they weren't part of uniform. On a freezing winters day, you'd still have to be outside for break. If you wore hats or scaarves, they were seized. Similarly, if you even entered the building wearing a different coat, and put it in your locker at the start of the day, it'd be seized if a teacher caught you

The uniform for female pupils consisted of a skirt which had to come to her knees and no higher, with knee-length socks. On very cold mornings, some girls would wear leggings or pyjamas trousers. Apparently when the principal caught wind of this there was murder because so many girls were flouting the uniform (even though you couldn't see the leggings or trousers). He ordered the vice principal (a woman) ask all girls to lift their skirts and anyone found to be wearing leggings or trousers were given detention.

No drinking was allowed in class or between class - even water. I can understand no fizzy drinks, but Christ ... WATER! One one particular occasion I took water from my bag and took a slug during maths class, the teacher marched down and seized the water ... doesn't matter that I was planning on drinking it with my lunch, it was seized for my horrible transgression. Even people who took swigs between class (walking from one class to the other) had bottles seized when they swigged.

A female friend of mine who was 17 in my final year suffered horrifically with period pain. She wasn't allowed to take Neurofen as it was "against school rules". Even with a doctors note and pressure from home, she wasn't allowed, as medication can only be taken when absolutely necessary. I'm surprised they even allowed the diabetic kid to shoot up insulin.

In my opinion, the schools were more focused on discipline than on actual education and developing proper skills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

Jaysus! sounds like North Korea.
    We had to stick to the left at all times. Fecking facists!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Commotion Ocean

Jaysus! sounds like North Korea.

Keeping left is a much better rule !! You just reminded me of the one-way rule that we had! We'd have to circumnavigate the entire building just to go to the classroom next door, then get barked at for being late!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭DontThankMe

No hats or scarves wtf. How is that even allowed to be inforced and no water during class i would of chugged water everyday in clas. What are they gonna do? Suspend you for drinking water in class. Complete ****ing joke they are supposed to look after students welfare not harm it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,439 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

What rules did (or does for the youngsters here) impose upon you?
    I did my leaving certificate in 2008.

Not quite "a concentration camp run by Hitler" level stuff, but there were plenty of rules that had the aim of maintaining discipline, order, and the reputation of the school. I thought they were a perverse, authoritarian regime at the time. Then I learned about the concentration camps in history class. I realised I took an awful lot for granted!

One rule in particular I remember was that the school banned hairstyles that included "rats tails" and "waterfalls". The Principal at the time (mid 90's) interrupted a class, he was carrying a pair of scissors and called the three worst offenders up to the front of the class. They were made cut their own rats tails and waterfalls there and then. Three of the "hardest" lads in the school, reduced to blubbering babies in minutes.

(incidentally, they were instantly transformed from looking like knacks to looking like respectable young men in minutes too)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭Tin Foil Hat

When we finished lunch in the canteen room, we had to leave the building for the remainder of break. The school uniform specified a certain jacket, which when I did my leaving certificate was €90. No hats, scarves or gloves were allowed, they weren't part of uniform. On a freezing winters day, you'd still have to be outside for break. If you wore hats or scaarves, they were seized. Similarly, if you even entered the building wearing a different coat, and put it in your locker at the start of the day, it'd be seized if a teacher caught you

The uniform for female pupils consisted of a skirt which had to come to her knees and no higher, with knee-length socks. On very cold mornings, some girls would wear leggings or pyjamas trousers. Apparently when the principal caught wind of this there was murder because so many girls were flouting the uniform (even though you couldn't see the leggings or trousers). He ordered the vice principal (a woman) ask all girls to lift their skirts and anyone found to be wearing leggings or trousers were given detention.

This kind of nonsense is exactly why compulsory school uniforms need to be banned.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 43 weekday

my german teacher was very strict

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

If they made you stick to the left at all times then they were probably socialists.

My school was grand. Dismal, but nothing like that.
    I'm really here just to praise the thread title :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,372 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

OP should go visit Auschwitz and read his history books if he is going to compare school to a Nazi camp

• Closed Accounts Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Commotion Ocean

OP should go visit Auschwitz and read his history books if he is going to compare school to a Nazi camp
    Not quite "a concentration camp run by Hitler" level stuff, but there were plenty of rules that had the aim of maintaining discipline, order, and the reputation of the school. I thought they were a perverse, authoritarian regime at the time. Then I learned about the concentration camps in history class. I realised I took an awful lot for granted!

http://lmgtfy.com/?q=hyperbole

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

I think the government should commission report on this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,439 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

I knew what you meant, I just stated I never experienced anything that made school feel even remotely like a concentration camp, but in the interests of discussion, I figured you meant an authoritarian regime, hence my example I gave.

Now calm down or I'll give you a wedgie :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,536 ✭✭✭brevity

Not allowed to have our jackets on in the classroom/prefab despite the fact that the radiators were broken and we could see our own breath.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭Bishopsback

Secondary school was like hell for me, I hated it and all the teachers, used to have nightmares about it at the time. If I had been let by the parents I'd have left as soon as I was of age to get out.
    I got through it though and college as well, wahey.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭snowflaker

Earthhorse wrote: »
    If they made you stick to the left at all times then they were probably socialists.

National Socialists

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

weekday wrote: »

Was he just the wurst

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

One teacher would stand outside the classroom for about 2 minutes before the start of class, and if you weren't in the room before he was, you didn't get into that class. If you knocked he didn't answer, if you went and sat down in the room he wouldn't continue the class until you'd left.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

DrumSteve wrote: »
    Was he just the wurst

Only to the brats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Arcade_Tryer

This kind of nonsense is exactly why compulsory school uniforms need to be banned.
    But...but...some kids will feel sad if they can't afford the latest brands...*large sigh" :(

And...and...school uniforms instil some much needed order and discipline in young people...*in case they get notions or anything*

Without school uniforms it would simply be anarchy. Anarchy!

Worst days of my life. Left in 1982 and they were legally allowed to assault children up until 1981. Secondary school they had leathers. These were manufactured in factories for the sole intention of inflicting pain.
    I suppose they are only sold in sex shops now :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

The skirts no lower than the knee rule was wrong very wrong...

Giggity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,779 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

Not leaving skid marks when you have a sh!te. Big no no in my school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

snowflaker wrote: »
    National Socialists

I'm sure there was a secondary school too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,971 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Well here is one and I did my lc in 2005.
    ****ing penalty sheets.
    I couldn't stand them, literally an hour writing out words on a sheet and they'd rarely give you one you'd get 3.
    Your fingers would be ****ed afterwards and you'd still have your homework to do.
    Nathys in ballaghaderren.. fcuk you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭Cortina_MK_IV

A grammar Nazi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,520 ✭✭✭Fighting Tao

Godwinned in the thread title. Well done!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,285 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Did her surname begin with a D?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,687 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

A female friend of mine who was 17 in my final year suffered horrifically with period pain. She wasn't allowed to take Neurofen as it was "against school rules".

How did they enforce that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,129 ✭✭✭griffin100

The OP did his leaving cert in 1998 and had a hard time with stupid rules. God love him if he'd had to endure school in the 1980's when it was perfectly acceptable for teachers to hit you with canes, dusters, their fists, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,669 ✭✭✭Riddle101

Does wearing uniforms count? I mean how more Hitler-ish can you get? I wore a grey uniform that was really uncomfortable and itchy for most of my time in secondary school. It was even worse on rainy days when your uniform got wet and you had to sit in it for the rest of the day. Rag days were like a god send, and PE outfits were the closest you'd come to freedom.

I wish our schools were more like American high schools were you could just wear casual clothes.