Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Does anyone know what the ethnic Traveller Status statement actually means?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,298 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Its like the children's card game "Top Trumps"
    Their unique ethic diversity will always trump your right to your own goods, when the case comes to Court.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭12gauge dave

I would tell you of my experiences with travellers but i would find it hard to hold back the rage and in turn get banned from boards so just take my word for it.

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    Their unique ethic diversity will always trump your right to your own goods, when the case comes to Court.

:D:D

You have to laugh at some of the hysteria. I mean come on, "they'll be allowed to steal because of this".

It's just nonsense. Just words fired at a page. Say anything as long as it's bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

mynamejeff wrote: »

the vast majority of those crimes you mentioned aren't traveler speciffic.

You know sometimes I find it very hard to believe you are for real.
    If you are, you are very special indeed.

You claim those crimes are not just traveller specific.
    Judge Anthony Kennedy was told at a sitting of Mullingar Circuit Court, sitting in Tullamore, Co Offaly, that the riot was sparked because a member of the Nevin family had not paid a debt owed to the Dinnegan family.

Members of the extended families live in Mullingar, with many residing on the Dalton Park estate where the riot took place.

The court heard efforts had been made by a Government-appointed mediator to resolve tensions, but these had failed. The families decided to settle the issue with a 30-minute fight using rocks and weapons including swords, baseball bats and pitchforks.

Could you tell us all please when was the last time two extended families decided they would settle a debt between members of their families by holding a riot that involved throwing rocks and using weapons including swords, baseball bats and pitchforks ?
    When was the last time a government appointed mediator had to be used to settle non traveller family financial disputes lest there was violence ?

Come on put up or shut up.

When was the last time you had non travellers chasing each other around the place because of a feud (not going to count drugs gangs which in some cities are actually very much traveller related) ?
    Five Tralee men have been given suspended sentences for a violent incident connected to a Traveller feud....
    The court heard as a result of a chance encounter the men who were in two transit vans followed a car into the Deerpark Estate. Three got out of the van with iron bars, slash hooks, golf clubs and a hatchet and set upon two cars.
    Jimmy Quilligan and Jimmy O’Brien also pleaded guilty to being involved in violent disorder at the funeral in Tralee of a father and daughter who had died in a house fire on May 16th 2012. Garda Emma Mullane said the feud arose from an altercation in a London scrap yard and has resulted in 93 incidents but now everything is peaceful.

How many non travellers have mass brawls at weddings and funerals ?
    A priest has described how he pleaded with a small group to stop fighting ahead of a wedding in Co Fermanagh only for their dispute to subsequently flare up again leading to the death of one of the men.

The man in his 60s died after he was shot shortly after 1 pm on Wednesday outside the Catholic Church of the Immaculate Conception in Newtownbutler, Co Fermanagh.

When was the last time a non traveller was murdered at a wedding ?

And then people like you wonder why hotels and pubs do not want them. :rolleyes:
    actually, they are discriminated against effectively for no reason. bigotry and the fact there are no consiquences for doing so. some black people are involved in crime yet discrimination toards black people as a whole is rightly not tolerated. travelers didn't earn discrimination. discrimination cannot be justified. not fitting into society isn't a justification for anything.

Yeah whatever.
    If you believe the stuff you post then I seriously worry.

BTW could I ask all the usual suspects who are so concerned with rights of travellers are and also so concerned with rights of refugees, which side did they favour when travellers were protesting against Syrian refugees in Castlebar?

Did you flip a coin or go into some sort of cognitive dissonance in order to square the circle ?
    It's almost 2 decades since they were recognised as a separate ethnic group in NI. I presume the apocalypse came to pass up there...

Do you reckon you will get any action where the new social order is found not to be totally endorsed by the settled community and some folks take legal recourse to have their new standing as a different ethnic group fully accepted ?

Think of it as caravan chasing.

I am not allowed discuss …

jmayo wrote: »
    Do you reckon you will get any action where the new social order is found not to be totally endorsed by the settled community and some folks take legal recourse to have their new standing as a different ethnic group fully accepted ?

Oh the Solicitors in NI all retired, made a fortune off it.

And as we know, the sky also fell in there.

If only the people there got all hysterical 20 years ago, maybe they could have prevented the chaos that something something about ethnic designation caused...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Nekarsulm wrote: »

Theyll have an ethnic section in the supermarket......containing knock off generators,socks,slayers and dvds of bare knucke fighting :pac: :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭DavidLyons_

Pretty obvious that some of the posters defending travellers in this thread are using multiple log ins. The lack of thanks on the posts despite the various user names is a dead giveaway. A couple of them are glaringly, pathetically obvious. These people have also most likely never actually met a traveller.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,299 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

Pretty obvious that some of the posters defending travellers in this thread are using multiple log ins. The lack of thanks on the posts despite the various user names is a dead giveaway. A couple of them are glaringly, pathetically obvious. These people have also most likely never actually met a traveller.

I disagree. I don't thank every post I agree with nor do I comment or quote every post I disagree with.
    There could be some truth to this if you found lots of posters defending travellers and the posters are new accounts with only a few comments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,813 ✭✭✭joe40

I could be described a liberal, lefty do gooder. But I for the life of me do not understand this decision. Traveller culture has a lot of problems it needs to sort out. Not sending kids to school, arranged marriages-virtually child brides, ongoing feuds. These are serious human rights abuses in their own community. Traveller leaders would be better off addressing these issues than ethnicity whatever that means

Sleeper12 wrote: »

I disagree. I don't thank every post I agree with nor do I comment or quote every post I disagree with.
    There could be some truth to this if you found lots of posters defending travellers and the posters are new accounts with only a few comments.
    Sure thing Graces7. I mean Sleeper12.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭JamboMac

Yeah you noticed aswell that I had a disagreement with one account and then they responded in the other account but as the same person.

You caught me. I'm glad it's out, changing into ladies clothes every few minutes was wearing me out. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,581 ✭✭✭Squeeonline

Zebra3 wrote: »
    Travelers:"We demand equality and to be treated like everyone else"

Travelers:"We demand special status and to be treated differently to everyone else"

Just like the new wave of feminists.

JamboMac wrote:
    Yeah you noticed aswell that I had a disagreement with one account and then they responded in the other account but as the same person.

Let it go. You made a mistake. I gave you a easy way out without losing face but you went on the attack for no reason. I've left it alone and I suggest that you do the same.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

JamboMac wrote: »

thought i noticed that too , not the first time either

ffs lads its only boards do ye have that little going on in your lives ?

Let it go. You made a mistake. I gave you a easy way out without losing face but you went on the attack for no reason. I've left it alone and I suggest that you do the same.

I'm not attacking anyone and I initially gave you an out, I didn't lose face lose face or am close to losing face. I'm just saying initially it was graces and then it changed to you but the context of the same person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,965 ✭✭✭Help!!!!

joe40 wrote: »
    I could be described a liberal, lefty do gooder. But I for the life of me do not understand this decision. Traveller culture has a lot of problems it needs to sort out. Not sending kids to school, arranged marriages-virtually child brides, ongoing feuds. These are serious human rights abuses in their own community. Traveller leaders would be better off addressing these issues than ethnicity whatever that means

I saw a program where a Muslim woman called arranged marriages, arranged rape. I guess the same could apply here if the girl doesn't want to get married

JamboMac wrote: »

I did indeed. Halfwit hasn't noticed him/herself yet. Some people are just nutjobs.

JamboMac wrote:
    I'm not attacking anyone and I initially gave you an out, I didn't lose face lose face or am close to losing face. I'm just saying initially it was graces and then it changed to you but the context of the same person.

Lol you looked a total plonker. What part of calling a disabled baby a thing rather than a human do you not realise is wrong on so many levels. It's on a par with the ethnic cleansing genius.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,527 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

And then people like you wonder why hotels and pubs do not want them.

i couldn't care a less why they don't want them, they are open to the public so they will put up and shut up. if they won't serve people because traveler/black/whatever, then they have to be dealt with. pubs and hotels have been playing the victim for to long, their status in this country will never return to what it was and they will just have to move on. their services are availible cheeper via other means.

who knows, but no amount of whining will change the fact that travelers are an ethnic minority and have been recognised as such.
    I did indeed. Halfwit hasn't noticed him/herself yet. Some people are just nutjobs.

because there isn't anything to notice. it is you who is making it up that people are using multiple accounts.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

Graces7 wrote: »
    ANYTHING?

This kind of post was entirely sadly predictable. Shameful.
    I'm not suggesting that you intended it to sound the way it did. I sounded like you were calling travellers things. Like their offspring aren't human.
    Well you said anything instead of anyone. What's your primary language?
    Now it looks like you are calling travelers things or disabled people things. It's one or the other. I said originally that I'm sure you didn't mean for it to sound that way but you go straight on the attack. This now leaves me believing that you meant it the way it sounds & you are trying to weasel out of it.
    If I'm wrong here please explain how Thing or anything can refer to a human or handicapped baby?
    Lol you looked a total plonker. What part of calling a disabled baby a thing rather than a human do you not realise is wrong on so many levels. It's on a par with the ethnic cleansing genius.
    Please walk away, i said noting of the sort, go put your words somewhere else other then my mouth whoever your skhizophrenic personality this is.

JamboMac wrote:

Deary me. What a sad life you must lead. You totally misinterpreted what the poster was saying (just to suit your ill-informed agenda) and in the midst of it all, you forgot which one of your usernames you were logged into. And you've the neck to call the poster a plonker?? Get out more. Maybe you'll encounter some travellers and receive an education as to how they usually conduct themselves.

because there isn't anything to notice. it is you who is making it up that people are using multiple accounts.
    Nope. Wrong!

JamboMac wrote:
    Please walk away, i said noting of the sort, go put your words somewhere else other then my mouth whoever your skhizophrenic personality this is.

What did you actually mean when you said anything? If it was your mother, sister or daughter giving birth to a disabled baby would you have used the term"anything"?
    Deary me. What a sad life you must lead. You totally misinterpreted what the poster was saying (just to suit your ill-informed agenda) and in the midst of it all, you forgot which one of your usernames you were logged into. And you've the neck to call the poster a plonker?? Get out more. Maybe you'll encounter some travellers and receive an education as to how they usually conduct themselves.

If you read the thread you'll see I gave him the benefit of the doubt and said that I'm sure he didn't mean it the way it sounded. But he came back on the attack for what reason I don't know.
    I copied and pasted his comments so didn't misquote him at all. I also included the dictionary definition of "anything" showing that it had no place in what he was saying.
    I'm happy for mods to look at both accounts.
    I didn't call anyone a plonker. I don't know him so don't know if he is a plonker or not. I pointed out that his comment was in bad taste and made him look like a plonker.
    I have encountered dozens of travellers and it's been a mixed bag. Criminals, bare knuckle fighters, studying in college, working full-time and paying tax. I even know some married to settled people.
    Unlike most posters here I'm not claiming that it's black and white. I'll even go as far as saying that more than half of travellers are trouble but there's thousands that aren't trouble. Plenty of people just trying to get on with life. I won't judge a traveller or anyone else for that matter based on generalizations or stereotypes. I like to judge a person based on their own actions. Not the actions of their family or friends.

JamboMac wrote:

What did you actually mean when you said anything? If it was your mother, sister or daughter giving birth to a disabled baby would you have used the term"anything"?

If you read the thread you'll see I gave him the benefit of the doubt and said that I'm sure he didn't mean it the way it sounded. But he came back on the attack for what reason I don't know.
    I copied and pasted his comments so didn't misquote him at all. I also included the dictionary definition of "anything" showing that it had no place in what he was saying.
    I'm happy for mods to look at both accounts.
    I didn't call anyone a plonker. I don't know him so don't know if he is a plonker or not. I pointed out that his comment was in bad taste and made him look like a plonker.
    I have encountered dozens of travellers and it's been a mixed bag. Criminals, bare knuckle fighters, studying in college, working full-time and paying tax. I even know some married to settled people.
    Unlike most posters here I'm not claiming that it's black and white. I'll even go as far as saying that more than half of travellers are trouble but there's thousands that aren't trouble. Plenty of people just trying to get on with life. I won't judge a traveller or anyone else for that matter based on generalizations or stereotypes. I like to judge a person based on their own actions. Not the actions of their family or friends.
    Ah here. Utterly laughable stuff.

If you read the thread you'll see I gave him the benefit of the doubt and said that I'm sure he didn't mean it the way it sounded. But he came back on the attack for what reason I don't know. I copied and pasted his comments so didn't misquote him at all. I also included the dictionary definition of "anything" showing that it had no place in what he was saying. I'm happy for mods to look at both accounts. I didn't call anyone a plonker. I don't know him so don't know if he is a plonker or not. I pointed out that his comment was in bad taste and made him look like a plonker. I have encountered dozens of travellers and it's been a mixed bag. Criminals, bare knuckle fighters, studying in college, working full-time and paying tax. I even know some married to settled people. Unlike most posters here I'm not claiming that it's black and white. I'll even go as far as saying that more than half of travellers are trouble but there's thousands that aren't trouble. Plenty of people just trying to get on with life. I won't judge a traveller or anyone else for that matter based on generalizations or stereotypes. I like to judge a person based on their own actions. Not the actions of their family or friends.
    Ah here. Utterly laughable stuff.[/quote]

Now here's me laughing at people that judge people based on stereotypes.
    It's a funny old rock n roll world

wrong, left do gooder pc doesn't exist, apart from in the minds of bigots and racists.

Is that so? Will either you're wrong or 96% of people on this thread are bigoted racists.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057712641

If you read the thread you'll see I gave him the benefit of the doubt and said that I'm sure he didn't mean it the way it sounded. But he came back on the attack for what reason I don't know. I copied and pasted his comments so didn't misquote him at all. I also included the dictionary definition of "anything" showing that it had no place in what he was saying. I'm happy for mods to look at both accounts. I didn't call anyone a plonker. I don't know him so don't know if he is a plonker or not. I pointed out that his comment was in bad taste and made him look like a plonker. I have encountered dozens of travellers and it's been a mixed bag. Criminals, bare knuckle fighters, studying in college, working full-time and paying tax. I even know some married to settled people. Unlike most posters here I'm not claiming that it's black and white. I'll even go as far as saying that more than half of travellers are trouble but there's thousands that aren't trouble. Plenty of people just trying to get on with life. I won't judge a traveller or anyone else for that matter based on generalizations or stereotypes. I like to judge a person based on their own actions. Not the actions of their family or friends.
    Ah here. Utterly laughable stuff.

[/quote]
    I'll thank you not to misquote me. What bizarre behavior. Between that and you being exposed as having several log ins used to spout complete drivel, I think I can sensibly and assuredly move on from engaging with you.

Omackeral wrote: »
    Is that so? Will either you're wrong or 96% of people on this thread are bigoted racists.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057712641

Definition of bigot. : a person who is obstinately or intolerantly devoted to his or her own opinions and prejudices; especially : one who regards or treats the members of a group (as a racial or ethnic group) with hatred and intolerance.

I'll thank you not to misquote me. What bizarre behavior. Between that and you being exposed as having several log ins used to spout complete drivel, I think I can sensibly and assuredly move on from engaging with you.[/quote]

Where did I misquote you. Are you mixing up your accounts? Lmao