Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off Topic Thread 3.0

I've never been to IKEA. Am I missing out?

awec wrote: »
    There's some sort of IKEA collection point in Carrickmines now. I think you have to order online beforehand and get your order delivered to IKEA carrickmines.

Useful if you know exactly what you want and don't want to drive the whole way to Ballymun.

There is, it's a small store also but mostly a collection point. Rumour has it that they are going to build a full site out this way though.

I've never been to IKEA. Am I missing out?

Yes, I think you should go around 2:00 this Saturday, should be quiet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

Anyone have any experience dealing with Sony regarding a PSN account hack? Feckers got in, managed to bleed my PayPal dry and change the email... Can't find any emergency contact on their website.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,634 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

There is, it's a small store also but mostly a collection point. Rumour has it that they are going to build a full site out this way though.

I think that rumour is now put to bed. It was going to be where the Cherrywood development is being built. I think if they had built it there it would have the been the shortest distance by road between two Ikeas anywhere.

.ak wrote: »
    Anyone have any experience dealing with Sony regarding a PSN account hack? Feckers got in, managed to bleed my PayPal dry and change the email... Can't find any emergency contact on their website.

No idea but as a victim of theft the first thing I'd be doing is informing the Gardai.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Synode

Was your PayPal password the same as your PSN account? Or is PayPal linked to PSN?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,003 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

You should send your bank details to that Nigerian prince that's been emailing you....

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 6,525 Mod ✭✭✭✭dregin

awec wrote: »
    There's some sort of IKEA collection point in Carrickmines now. I think you have to order online beforehand and get your order delivered to IKEA carrickmines.

Useful if you know exactly what you want and don't want to drive the whole way to Ballymun.

You have to go there to order, pay them 15 quid to bring it to that collection point, then return to pick it up... or you can just have them deliver it to your home. There is no online ordering for Ireland. It was on the way when I was last out there a couple of months ago, though.

https://twitter.com/transhuman/status/836800795857285121

God help the poor ****er who wrote/reviewed/ran that script.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

Synode wrote: »
    Was your PayPal password the same as your PSN account? Or is PayPal linked to PSN?

Nope

But this site is handy to finding out how they possibly got the password:

https://haveibeenpwned.com/

lastpass the **** out of everything.

Thread over on BA saying that three is changing everyone's contracts, upping the price and changing the T&Cs to stop people abusing the new roaming laws.

It means if you're billpay with three you're entitled to call them up and cancel your contract. You'll get to keep your phone. If you're on three and on billpay and have anything more than a few months left in your contract this is a sweet opportunity.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057712087

errlloyd wrote: »
    Thread over on BA saying that three is changing everyone's contracts, upping the price and changing the T&Cs to stop people abusing the new roaming laws.

It means if you're billpay with three you're entitled to call them up and cancel your contract. You'll get to keep your phone. If you're on three and on billpay and have anything more than a few months left in your contract this is a sweet opportunity.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057712087

If you keep the phone you will have to pay them back. No such thing as a free meal.

I have my phone through my company and business rates are so incredibly much better it's laughable.

If you keep the phone you will have to pay them back. No such thing as a free meal.

I have my phone through my company and business rates are so incredibly much better it's laughable.

I could very well be wrong on this, but a mobile phone contract is a services contract, not a lease plan. So they can't actually do that. Anyway, two of my mates cancelled contracts that were less than 4 months old and both got to keep their unlocked phones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Same here, ridiculously cheap if your company gets corporate rates.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 29,815 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Is 3s all you can use data actually unlimited? I have a phone through work here with unlimited data which it took me a while to realise was actually unlimited - I now have no data connection at home and churn through about 200GB a month hotspotting via my phone. 4G is as good as landline really.

Podge_irl wrote: »
    Is 3s all you can use data actually unlimited? I have a phone through work here with unlimited data which it took me a while to realise was actually unlimited - I now have no data connection at home and churn through about 200GB a month hotspotting via my phone. 4G is as good as landline really.

4G is fine for browsing, streaming and downloading but your latency / ping is going to go to shiite if you try and game on it.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 29,815 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

4G is fine for browsing, streaming and downloading but your latency / ping is going to go to shiite if you try and game on it.

I've managed alright in the past though not been gaming massively the last couple years. Was able to handle Mass Effect 3 multiplayer and Zero Hour alright. Though they're probably showing my gaming age a bit...

Podge_irl wrote: »
    I've managed alright in the past though not been gaming massively the last couple years. Was able to handle Mass Effect 3 multiplayer and Zero Hour alright. Though they're probably showing my gaming age a bit...

Nice! Didn't realise they were still making amiga's.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,111 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Will it be possible now to get a mobile contract from another European country? The Irish ones would die off in a week.

Anyone watching the toughest trade Shane Williams is training with a football club in Donegal and Michael Murphy is over with Clermont on rte 2 really interesting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,878 ✭✭✭b.gud

Anyone watching the toughest trade Shane Williams is training with a football club in Donegal and Michael Murphy is over with Clermont on rte 2 really interesting

Yeah thought it was a really great show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,782 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

Of all the ones I've seen, this was the best one.

Two lads who suited the swaps and got into it.

What channel was it on? Might give it a watch tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,878 ✭✭✭heroics

What channel was it on? Might give it a watch tomorrow

Rte2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,833 ✭✭✭CMOTDibbler

I use 4G exclusively now. DSL in my area is seven floors below sh1te and effectively useless.

Ping tests are giving me 30ms latency, pretty much all the time. Using a 4G modem connected to Three with an external antenna. From what I understand, you'd only notice if your lag is in excess of about 150ms.

Three's all you can eat data has a 60Gb acceptable use limit. I've broken that a lot as I suspect others have as well.

The episode is on YouTube
    https://youtu.be/n1T1gCEBVpY

Very enjoyable show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,047 ✭✭✭Bazzo

I use 4G exclusively now. DSL in my area is seven floors below sh1te and effectively useless.

Ping tests are giving me 30ms latency, pretty much all the time. Using a 4G modem connected to Three with an external antenna. From what I understand, you'd only notice if your lag is in excess of about 150ms.

Three's all you can eat data has a 60Gb acceptable use limit. I've broken that a lot as I suspect others have as well.

This snippet is also in the small print of Three Ireland contracts
    The data service is available for use with your Three SIM Card in your Three handset only. Tethering or use of the Three handset as, or the sim in conjunction with, a modem is not allowed and may be disabled.

My Three UK account, on the other hand, has a data limit of 11 terabytes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,833 ✭✭✭CMOTDibbler

Bazzo wrote: »
    This snippet is also in the small print of Three Ireland contracts

My Three UK account, on the other hand, has a data limit of 11 terabytes.
    Yeah, I'm aware. But they're never going to be able to enforce that really. It's very hard to identify where the traffic originates without doing a hell of a lot of work.

I'd be happy to throw the toys out of the pram about the disparity, but in reality it's just a function of the market. What surprises me is that the other operators here haven't tried to compete with Three's 60Gb. Vodafone are incredibly miserly with 3Gb and 5Gb offerings. People should really be walking away from them.