If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Louise O Neill on rape culture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭ Holland Helpful Pita

Well, as RAINN note-it's so unhelpful it's actually doing more harm than good. Plus, as it notes, the blame is instantly on men-like, guilty until proven innocent becomes the norm. When Lon's book wrote 'I am a liar until I prove myself honest'-I just felt it was incredibly blinkered.
    You get into court, accusing someone of a crime, no matter what, you have to prove yourself to be telling the truth. It's cruel when one is the victim, it's even crueller when one is a rape victim. But what if the person accused is completely innocent?
    Men are viewed as guilty without ever going to trial. When Michael Flatley was accused or rape, judgement was already made about him.
    Then when the case went to court, the Judge found the person accusing him so untrustworthy, and her case so flimsy, he was acquitted. (As far as what happened Flatley stated it was consensual, even if he admitted cheating on his then fiance, Lisa Murphy).
    Remember the priest who was accused, by RTE, of being a rapist who impregnated his victim, out in Africa? Most would have been ready to torture him and hang him-yet he was completely innocent. People in RTE lost their jobs for making such accusations. And he was given quite a huge payout for the accusations. But imagine if, just one person, had said 'oh, yeah, the RTE claims are totally true', people would jump to conclusions, and dear God, LoN and her crew would have been carrying torches outside his church.

No, it is not a punishment-but that label will stay with him for life. I would argue even a killer would be forgiven far quicker-look how the late late invited John Gilligan on their show. Would they invite Larry Murphy so quickly? Both have served their sentences, both are unrepentant. But one crime carries far more public disgust, than the other.

A rapist will carry a label for life-that is a punishment he should carry for life. A rapist is irredeemable.
    Someone who takes a life-there could be a number of circumstances surrounding it-a fight that got out of hand, drunk drive, heat of the moment, trying to stop them hurting a loved one etc-things that will be forgiven. There are no circumstances where one can say 'oh, I accidentally raped her/ him'.

A thief, a violent assault-those are all forgiven far quicker. I know some friends of mine who fell off the wayward path in their lives. One got into vandalism (luckily avoided drink and drugs. Never touched either, mainly because everyone in his school did them. And a brother got heavy into drugs) but he was lucky, turned his life around. He was in secondary school at the time, did his LC, did a Fetac after it, and then got a degree in college. He was lucky too, because even in court, folks saw he wasn't a bad apple. Just a bit lost.

I am none too fond of NB, but he seems a decent, if misguided at times fellow. The unfortunate thing is, the SJW's don't allow a mistake. And you really need to look at twitter to see how he gets hammered some times by SJW's-some of whom follow LoN. He's had to block a few of em (They tweet the image as a badge of honour). Yeah, and even got a 'LoN tweet saying she loves the 'pickle'' cos objectifying men is not a problem in a third waver's eyes.
    I'm glad many women are seeing through her crud.
    Tho may I ask, without sounding like a creep, and just wishing to gauge ages, how old is your mom and sister?
    (I just ask because I have encountered some girls with the 'feminist' mentality-and yeah, they are like late teens, early 20s-hopefully they grow out of it).

I am glad to see that-I've had a debate with someone about 'rape culture' saying she believed it was 'kind of true'...but she hangs around Tumblr a lot...tumblr is just a mess of negativity towards humanity. I tried to explain that these issues affect both genders, it's not just a woman thing.

Mothers Mid 50;s and the sisters are both late 20's - they feel she's the type like Una Mullaley and others hinders feminism

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭ivytwine

neonsofa wrote: »
    Sorry, I'm not entirely sure what your point is?
    It's a horrible crime, and those who commit it are treated accordingly. They should also serve the time for it. They are two different things- the label and the punishment. If he doesn't want to be labelled or serve the time then it is very simple to avoid.

I agree. I don't think it should be treated like theft or similar. It's more like murder. A murderer also has that label hanging over them for the rest of their lives. It's up there as one of the more horrific things you can do. Has a fairly high rate of reoffending too.

Also... on John Gilligan... I hadn't heard he had been invited on the LLS. If he had appeared they would have been flooded out of it with complaints. People haven't forgotten what he did- and he was never convicted of murder. Murderers don't get forgiven. Look at Malcolm mccarthur for example.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,772 ✭✭✭RabbleRouser2k

neonsofa wrote: »
    Sorry, I'm not entirely sure what your point is?
    It's a horrible crime, and those who commit it are treated accordingly. They should also serve the time for it. They are two different things- the label and the punishment. If he doesn't want to be labelled or serve the time then it is very simple to avoid.

I was saying that if one is a convicted rapist, they will always be serving time for the crime.
    And rightfully so too.
    Even if he now 'walks free' he's never free-people will know who he is and what he did.
    He's always gonna serve his sentence-so essentially his crime will not be forgotten.
    That's what I've been trying to say.
    ivytwine wrote: »
    I agree. I don't think it should be treated like theft or similar. It's more like murder. A murderer also has that label hanging over them for the rest of their lives. It's up there as one of the more horrific things you can do. Has a fairly high rate of reoffending too.

Also... on John Gilligan... I hadn't heard he had been invited on the LLS. If he had appeared they would have been flooded out of it with complaints. People haven't forgotten what he did- and he was never convicted of murder. Murderers don't get forgiven. Look at Malcolm mccarthur for example.

I see it as a murder too-but I am just saying some circumstances, a murder will be forgiven (imagine if it was a case of someone killing to protect a friend, etc-that would be forgiven. OR a few years ago, in Ireland, a father had to kill his son because he was going to kill the family. He, the son, was mentally unstable, stopped taking his meds, and believed he was getting messages through the radio. He was self medicating with alcohol. The family had suffered for close to a decade from his issues, and eventually, he threatened to kill them all by driving a digger into the house. His father had to shoot him, to save the rest of the family. The son was boarding the digger when the father fired the fatal shot. The dad was given a manslaughter charge, but he essentially had suffered a sentence for all that time, and should have been cleared ). On the other hand, there is no circumstance when rape was 'the only option'.

Sadly, the John Gilligan thing only happened this week-the news emerged Friday or Saturday morning, as Gilligan uploaded the image to a facebook page/ wordpress blog.
    The disturbing element of it also is that RTE wrote a handwritten letter to him-clearly not wanting any records on their email server. It's disgusting they would so disrespect so many of their colleagues by doing so-but this is RTE. Gay Byrne could have done this, and made it a coup (as he did with Terry KEane or Eamon Casey's mistress, who's name slips my mind) but this is Tubridy, he doesn't do hard line interviews.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,476 ✭✭✭neonsofa

Exactly. A label hangs over every person who commits a crime. Murderer, drunk driver, thief. Rapists are treated with more disdain due to the nature of the crime that person committed. It is not like people unfairly label him.The victim also has to live with a label- rape victim/survivor, and they did nothing to deserve that label. The labels are completely separate to the sentence.

I was saying that if one is a convicted rapist, they will always be serving time for the crime.
    And rightfully so too.
    Even if he now 'walks free' he's never free-people will know who he is and what he did.
    He's always gonna serve his sentence-so essentially his crime will not be forgotten.
    That's what I've been trying to say.

I see it as a murder too-but I am just saying some circumstances, a murder will be forgiven (imagine if it was a case of someone killing to protect a friend, etc-that would be forgiven. OR a few years ago, in Ireland, a father had to kill his son because he was going to kill the family. He, the son, was mentally unstable, stopped taking his meds, and believed he was getting messages through the radio. He was self medicating with alcohol. The family had suffered for close to a decade from his issues, and eventually, he threatened to kill them all by driving a digger into the house. His father had to shoot him, to save the rest of the family. The son was boarding the digger when the father fired the fatal shot. The dad was given a manslaughter charge, but he essentially had suffered a sentence for all that time, and should have been cleared ). On the other hand, there is no circumstance when rape was 'the only option'.

Sadly, the John Gilligan thing only happened this week-the news emerged Friday or Saturday morning, as Gilligan uploaded the image to a facebook page/ wordpress blog.
    The disturbing element of it also is that RTE wrote a handwritten letter to him-clearly not wanting any records on their email server. It's disgusting they would so disrespect so many of their colleagues by doing so-but this is RTE. Gay Byrne could have done this, and made it a coup (as he did with Terry KEane or Eamon Casey's mistress, who's name slips my mind) but this is Tubridy, he doesn't do hard line interviews.

I do understand what you're trying to say but... in some cases, self defence as you mention, murder or manslaughter can be justified. I cannot think of any instance where rape can be. Rape could never be self defence etc.

RTE have gone to the dogs completely. Disgusting thing to do.

Mothers Mid 50;s and the sisters are both late 20's - they feel she's the type like Una Mullaley and others hinders feminism

Glad to hear it. I do believe there are decent people out there who do have a more egalitarian view of feminism.
    I see more and more people moving away from feminism because it's hindering them far more than helping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,395 ✭✭✭alan partridge aha

Close this thread immediately

I do understand what you're trying to say but... in some cases, self defence as you mention, murder or manslaughter can be justified. I cannot think of any instance where rape can be. Rape could never be self defence etc.

RTE have gone to the dogs completely. Disgusting thing to do.

That's what I said-there is no justification for rape. It's one of my earlier posts. A murder/ manslaughter could be justified based on circumstances-a rape, never.

Even the way it was done, by RTE-I was absolutely disgusted. But then again, wasn't Gilligan involved in the hard drugs trade?
    Must have supplied Gerry Ryan and co-we know Brendan O'Connor has admitted to using coke, wonder how many more within RTE have a problem.

Hell, Baz Ashmawy made a major career for himself as a presenter, on sky. Despite his drink driving charge where he had been bragging on twitter about all he had been drinking the night he was drink driving (ended up crashing his expensive car). Some crimes get forgotten, far too quickly.
    Close this thread immediately

Ya wha?

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,568 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

mzungu wrote: »
    Taking the usual "rape culture" hysterics out of the equation, I would like to know the exact reasons why he was released a day early. The article implies it was because there are no services at weekends, so would being released a day or two earlier apply to somebody who was in for robbery or assault if their sentences finished on a weekend?

Usually, but not always, non Irish nationals are removed/deported once they finish their prison sentence. To facilitate this, sometimes GNIB will go to the prison, request temporary release from the governor and then bring the person straight to the airport. It prevents them hanging around for a few days and possibly evading deportation.

Not saying that happened here, but being released at 7am for a pre booked flight could indicate a deportation arrangement, whether by agreement with him or otherwise.

Dunno if any of you folks read this article on the IRish independent, by Sinead Kissane of TV3, speaking about Serena Williams latest photoshoot...

http://www.independent.ie/sport/other-sports/tennis/sinead-kissane-serena-williams-sabotages-own-equality-battle-with-softporn-photo-shoot-35461332.html

...but the reaction on twitter...oh boy.

https://twitter.com/sineadkissane/status/832890830293762048

Some of the vilest crap said at someone I have ever read-and really, one could just say 'Dear Ms Kissane, I completely disagree with your article, here is why...' Instead we get 'you're jealous of black women', 'you're racist, and your article is thinly veiled racism' and other comments critiquing her (Ms Kissane's) appearance, and saying 'you're just jealous nobody wants to see you dressed like that'. I happen to think Sinead Kissane is a very attractive woman, as I do the Williams sisters .
    But the comments made, on that feed...dear sweet God.
    They accuse her of every sort of vile accusation you can imagine.

I think I need a shower after reading em.

That's what I said-there is no justification for rape. It's one of my earlier posts. A murder/ manslaughter could be justified based on circumstances-a rape, never.

Even the way it was done, by RTE-I was absolutely disgusted. But then again, wasn't Gilligan involved in the hard drugs trade?
    Must have supplied Gerry Ryan and co-we know Brendan O'Connor has admitted to using coke, wonder how many more within RTE have a problem.

Hell, Baz Ashmawy made a major career for himself as a presenter, on sky. Despite his drink driving charge where he had been bragging on twitter about all he had been drinking the night he was drink driving (ended up crashing his expensive car). Some crimes get forgotten, far too quickly.

Ya wha?

We agree so :)

Ah ya but "celebs" get forgiven for stuff us mere mortals don't- at least not so easily. I can think of people from my own area who got into accidents- not even drunk driving- and are still suffering the consequences.

On Sinead Kissane, haven't read the article but not at all surprised at the reaction. Twitter is a cess-pool. Often those who preach tolerance the most can be the most vicious. I guess they gotta get out their pent up aggression somewhere, and taking up boxing would involve pulling their heads out of their phones/appropriating working class culture :rolleyes:

Edit: read the piece, not sure I agree with all of it, but she does make one very very valid point; that the "Swimsuit Issue" is practically the only time women sportspeople are mentioned by the magazine. That in itself is reason for a woman not to participate IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,845 ✭✭✭py2006

By that logic, as women generally get more lenient sentences (if any at all) does that mean we have a female culture??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,066 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

orubiru wrote: »
    Trying to get this right in my head...

This guy commits a crime (I suppose you argue that "Rape Culture" influenced him)
    The crime is reported to the police.
    The police investigate.
    He is arrested and charged.
    He pleads guilty. (guilty plea probably affected sentencing)
    He gets sent to prison.

He is released a day early... OMG IT'S RAPE CULTURE IN ACTION!!!!

What a joke.

It's not like they were giving the guy a high five and letting him out one day early as some kind of special treat.

If anything the disgraceful part here is that he was only jailed for 15 months but I think we could point out that other serious crimes have punishments that are too lenient so this issue is not only applicable to rape cases.

There is a good reason why he was released early, the situation with flights. There is no defensible reason why he only got 15 months in prison. Why would anyone choose to focus outrage on the former?

Just reading the indo article the guy was initially sentenced to probation and was given a prison sentence after the prosecution appealed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,070 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

py2006 wrote: »
    By that logic, as women generally get more lenient sentences (if any at all) does that mean we have a female culture??

No because the LON Dictionary states that only women suffer

EVENFLOW

http://www.elle.com/culture/career-politics/a43259/milo-yiannopolous-cancelled-book-deal/

LoN shared this horrific article on her feed...dear sweet God, it attacks free speech, literally attacks free speech, for saying or having an opinion-even the 'if you defended a rape joke, you let Milo happen'... Seriously?

Also LoN's been complaining that people are critiquing a movie (Elle) that's Oscar nominated, and she liked--so even when the movie is getting award nods, she finds something to complain about.

Can we add professional victim to her CV?

(Thought she'd quietened down a bit-she's been going on about the 'straight white male' persecution crap too).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 832 ✭✭✭HamsterFace

You should check out the Guerilla Feminism instagram account I see Louise being tagged in every so often.

It's very extreme and quite scary (it's followers are genuinely asking for advice on what it is they're meant to be pissed off about then accepting whatever they're told, most comments are just "Yes!!" or "this" with little critical thought or acceptance of opposing views ,questions are routinely attacked...).

That's not to say she agrees with everything within it, just noticed her being tagged and it may be a source of all this American imported white cis male is the enemy (multiple posts referring to this being tho case, let's drink their tears, misandry is fun etc)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 945 ✭✭✭red ears

Louise shouldn't be given a platform to spout her misandry anymore, it wouldn't be acceptable for a man to be given a platform to spout misogynist nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

red ears wrote: »
    Louise shouldn't be given a platform to spout her misandry anymore, it wouldn't be acceptable for a man to be given a platform to spout misogynist nonsense.

Since she's so keen on No Platform-ing, herself, this is appropriate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 945 ✭✭✭red ears

We know there are misogynists and misandrists in society, there probably always has been and always will be. Neither should be acceptable entertainment though. And Louise's brand is being used in her newspaper as entertainment. Most papers unfortunately have their very own feminist troll, poking at men for clicks and add revenue. Its pretty distasteful.

http://www.elle.com/culture/career-politics/a43259/milo-yiannopolous-cancelled-book-deal/

LoN shared this horrific article on her feed...dear sweet God, it attacks free speech, literally attacks free speech, for saying or having an opinion-even the 'if you defended a rape joke, you let Milo happen'... Seriously?

Also LoN's been complaining that people are critiquing a movie (Elle) that's Oscar nominated, and she liked--so even when the movie is getting award nods, she finds something to complain about.

Can we add professional victim to her CV?

(Thought she'd quietened down a bit-she's been going on about the 'straight white male' persecution crap too).

How does that article attack free speech? All it says is that if someone says something horrible it isn't special because of free speech. It never says people shouldn't be allowed say stuff it just says that claiming they're allowed to because of free speech doesn't make the content acceptable.

Grayson wrote: »
    How does that article attack free speech? All it says is that if someone says something horrible it isn't special because of free speech. It never says people shouldn't be allowed say stuff it just says that claiming they're allowed to because of free speech doesn't make the content acceptable.
    In a culture where the ability to say whatever you want, and hurt whomever you please, is valued over and above anything else, canny manipulators like Milo will always persist. Milo's pedophilia comments and "jokes" are no more shocking than any other "joke" he's made about rape culture—unless you subscribe to the idea that rapes can be quantified, or that teenage boys are inherently less worthy of being victimized than teenage or twenty-something girls, which you shouldn't.

I guess you missed the last paragraph-that's attacking free speech right there.
    There are more examples, but I cannot copy and paste the entire article.

That's not culture, however, that's free speech-governed by law. And one doesn't have 'free reign', you can be prosecuted for things like libel, slander, and other inconveniences if you say something, without proof.

Her previous attack on jokes in the article is another one-like, jokes are jokes. They are words-words only hurt if you let them. IF you start doing the 'you cannot say that, sir' angle, then slowly but surely you let horrible things build up. Milo didn't emerge from people saying nasty things, he emerged from people saying 'you cannot say that'.
    And gradually you get the 'I find that offensive' angle-well, be offended, and be grateful you can be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Bambi985

jeez what a long and bizarre thread.

anyways, I follow yer wan on a few social media platforms and her posts are either of a completely narcissistic, self-obsessed and self-promotional nature ("thank you *obscure publication* for nominating me as best author ever" shyte and thousands of filtered selfies) or just spouting nonsense or bullsheet quotes about men being evil and woman being victims.

She seems to be just another old attention-seeker who has found her audience really.

I can't relate at all to this idea of women being perpetually oppressed by the system and all men being potential rapists. Sure it's a bit shyte that there's an over-focus on beauty, image and youth when it comes to the perception of women in the media, and I'm certain the treatment of the crimes of rape and sexual assault could be reviewed from a societal and legal perspective. But what favours are you doing yourself as a woman by telling yourself that you're a victim simply because you're a woman?

Get on with it like. the rest of us are busy building careers and lives and treating others equally and respectfully and not engaging in gender wars and dramatic rhetoric to attract a bit more attention to ourselves.

i honestly think that's what she's doing. she's found her market and it's quite a lucrative one with a chorus of Yes voices saluting her every move. must feel great alright. will be interesting to see if she ever finds a man to put up with her, seeing as she hates them so much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 825 ✭✭✭jameorahiely

Bambi985 wrote: »

anyways, I follow yer wan on a few social media platforms and her posts are either of a completely narcissistic, self-obsessed and self-promotional nature ("thank you *obscure publication* for nominating me as best author ever" shyte and thousands of filtered selfies) or just spouting nonsense or bullsheet quotes about men being evil and woman being victims.

She seems to be just another old attention-seeker who has found her audience really.

I can't relate at all to this idea of women being perpetually oppressed by the system and all men being potential rapists. Sure it's a bit shyte that there's an over-focus on beauty, image and youth when it comes to the perception of women in the media, and I'm certain the treatment of the crimes of rape and sexual assault could be reviewed from a societal and legal perspective. But what favours are you doing yourself as a woman by telling yourself that you're a victim simply because you're a woman?

Get on with it like. the rest of us are busy building careers and lives and treating others equally and respectfully and not engaging in gender wars and dramatic rhetoric to attract a bit more attention to ourselves.

i honestly think that's what she's doing. she's found her market and it's quite a lucrative one with a chorus of Yes voices saluting her every move. must feel great alright. will be interesting to see if she ever finds a man to put up with her, seeing as she hates them so much.

You follow her on social media, why? You are her audience!

morbid fascination you could say. i also follow Trump for the entertainment value. Point taken tho :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,561 ✭✭✭Sweetemotion

Bambi985 wrote: »

I wonder. Why men aren't attracted to a woman, in her 30's?

Who is still living off Daddy, and sleeps in a bear costume :eek:

I wonder. Why men aren't attracted to a woman, in her 30's?

Who is still living off Daddy, and sleeps in a bear costume :eek:

nothing wrong with being single at any age. but the kind of attitude she has is always going to have a knock-on effect. like the cognitive dissonance in harping on about male privilege and rape culture and the victimhood they inflict on women and at the same time dating them in the hope of finding happiness...

also she sounds annoying. like really really annoying. like that person you know that insists on bringing every single conversation back to her and how great she is. the one that tweets out screen grabs of the most mundane private conversations she had with her mum to show the world how hilarious she is.

I guess you missed the last paragraph-that's attacking free speech right there.
    There are more examples, but I cannot copy and paste the entire article.

That's not culture, however, that's free speech-governed by law. And one doesn't have 'free reign', you can be prosecuted for things like libel, slander, and other inconveniences if you say something, without proof.

Her previous attack on jokes in the article is another one-like, jokes are jokes. They are words-words only hurt if you let them. IF you start doing the 'you cannot say that, sir' angle, then slowly but surely you let horrible things build up. Milo didn't emerge from people saying nasty things, he emerged from people saying 'you cannot say that'.
    And gradually you get the 'I find that offensive' angle-well, be offended, and be grateful you can be.

That's not an attack on free speech. She's saying that the content of it is more important than the ability to say it. Just because someone has the ability to say anything doesn't mean they should be excused when they say something horrible.
    She never said that it should be illegal to say the things he said. She just said that if you want to defend what someone says you shouldn't fall back on "free speech".

It's like when someone says something stupid and you correct them. They say "Well, that's my opinion and I'm entitled to it". Yes, they're allowed to have whatever opinions they want but having the right to have those opinions doesn't place those opinions above criticism and trying to imply that it does is just stupid.

red ears wrote: »

I would argue that Milo and others do have a platform to do so. The difference is that people burn libraries when they hear him turning up. On the other hand, LoN is told she's 'the voice of this generation'. That said, I do admire how secondary schools, when viewing her 'documentary', felt she hated men.
    So if the kids can see it...her audience won't last long.

(I have seen how some are claiming 'this is the end of Milo Yiannopoulos' but I doubt it, tbqh. As Bill Maher, someone who is a pretty funny provocateur, noted in an article, 'people have been trying to shut me up for 23 years, and they succeeded once about 17 years ago for 6 months' (the time may be a bit off, don't have the article to hand)).

That said, we do have some batcrap insane people out there-so she's probably just skulk around rather than disappear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

Forgot to note how the papers, yesterday, were putting all of these 'Michaela's back in Spain' pictures on the front cover, all this 'oh wow, she's looking hot' images that adorned the Irish Sun, Mirror and a few others.

A convicted drugs mule being treated like a celebrity, and then the media having a fit over the invite of John Gilligan on the Late Late. Yet one is a woman, who has a relatively decent figure, but pretty much cared nothing for the lives she destroyed with drugs. Similar to Gilligan.

But of course-society only treats women badly, eh LoN?
    Wouldn't be surprised if someone put her on Dwts or the Restaurant, tbh. IT's not as if TV folks have standards.