Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clare GAA discussion thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,371 ✭✭✭letowski

Reckon we have our full back line fairly sorted. O'Brien is a superb man marker and has good physicality while Morey has great pace and is good with the ball. Fitzgerald is nailed on for wing back spot, TK in midfield, conlon, podge and shanagher in the forwards. Plenty of spots still up for grabs and great to hear that Dave Mac was back training on Friday night.

Yeah O'Brien is a very important component of our backline. We saw the loss he was to the team last week when Cadogan ran amuck. This is the second time he has shut down Hogan.
    It will be interesting to see where McInerney and O'Connor will come in. McInerney is a gaurenteed starter, but I think O'Connor is going to be in a fight for his place, probably against Morey. I think O'Brien, Dillon, McInerney and Cleary are definates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,519 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

letowski wrote: »
    Yeah O'Brien is a very important component of our backline. We saw the loss he was to the team last week when Cadogan ran amuck. This is the second time he has shut down Hogan.
    It will be interesting to see where McInerney and O'Connor will come in. McInerney is a gaurenteed starter, but I think O'Connor is going to be in a fight for his place, probably against Morey. I think O'Brien, Dillon, McInerney and Cleary are definates.

cleary has answered his critics this one anyway , but today speaks volumes about davey fitz and his complete inability to rotate a squad , huge number of lads playing today over looked over the last number of years , guys like jason mccarthy would probably be lucky to get 30 seconds at the end also today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

I'd forgotten about O'Conner aswell. You have gudgy aswell to possibly come in. Plenty of choices and hopefully the level of competition in the squad keeps the players on their toes.

cleary has answered his critics this one anyway , but today speaks volumes about davey fitz and his complete inability to rotate a squad , huge number of lads playing today over looked over the last number of years , guys like jason mccarthy would probably be lucky to get 30 seconds at the end also today

Yeah, McCarthy is a high quality prospect, had a very nice cameo. He is usually a half back but maybe a little undersized. Malone is putting himself about, giving it his all. Would still have some reservations about him when the ground hardens, but he is absolutey worth his chance. Criminal davy didnt try him. Your right, davy always used the same squad, despite the very good depth he had available, at least the management were quick with their bench. And theyll have more options after the injuries clear up, and Galvin returns.

The second goal today was of true quality it must be said. Lovely stick work and support running. Weve got the hurlers in the county, we just need to get it right.

KXCwEk.gif

The second goal today was of true quality it must be said. Lovely stick work and support running. Weve got the hurlers in the county, we just need to get it right.

KXCwEk.gif

i know i speak at length about shane o'donnell , and using him as an impact sub rather then a starter , at least we have a few impact subs to call on now in maca and jason mccarthy , in my opinion thats how the squad should be used when everyone i back fit

malone might not seem like the best option come the summer but like a rugby team in hurling needs ball winners and breakdown winners to go with the flair players , i just think if too many light lads are picked we get pushed around if we throw in a bit of muscle we can compete with anyone

the style of hurling used today is far more akin to what lads play with there clubs so common sense seems to be prevailing at the moment

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,053 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

I know I'll be castigated for this, but I think it's about time Shane O'Donnell is given a break, besides the replay in 2013 I can't remember the last stand out performance he's had, he's completely dominated by backs most of the time, whether it's legal or not it doesn't matter as he isn't getting the frees, saying that a 3 man full forward line should suit him a lot more.

I think Shane will be the one to lose out on his place when McGrath returns (imagine the damage he would have caused yesterday). Shane's decision making is awful, he is far too predictable also. I think the coaches need to sit him down in front of the vt and try to get him to move and shoot for points more. Like just on the stroke of half time is collected a ball 20yrds out from goal. All he had to do was step to the side and slide it over. Instead he trys to burrow his way through 3 defenders and loses it. Its very frustrating.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

Why does he rise the ball from 3 feet behind the ball instead of standing over it and protecting it. He's too easy do disposess at times.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,053 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

He's a very frustrating player to watch, he's always falling over or being caught by the defender, he also struggles to get the ball first time and when he does he's going for the spectacular rather than the simple, he seems hell bent on going to the outside trying to go up the end line rather than cutting back.

I agree. I think there is a bit of a coaching issue too. When he goes to take on a player, he runs very upright with his hands in the air. It just makes him so easy to push off balance and fall over. He should be dipping the leading shoulder with the ball tight to his chest.

To me he's more interested in drawing a free than getting the ball and when he does get the ball he goes down blind alleys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,091 ✭✭✭Reputable Rog

I know I'll be castigated for this, but I think it's about time Shane O'Donnell is given a break, besides the replay in 2013 I can't remember the last stand out performance he's had, he's completely dominated by backs most of the time, whether it's legal or not it doesn't matter as he isn't getting the frees, saying that a 3 man full forward line should suit him a lot more.
    A very overrated player, I'm tired of the excuses being made for him.
    He's living off one day out against a poor Cork team in 2013.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,288 ✭✭✭mickmackey1

According to Liam Sheedy, O'Donnell 'ran the show' yesterday!

I honestly believe that in 2013 that Clare caught Cork out tactically in the first 20 minutes, we had played a 2 man full forward with Honan as a target for most of the games but in the replay we went man on man and ran at the defenders which left space for SoD to avail of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭Django99

O Donnell gave Paul Murphy a right run around in 2015 in Nowlan Park in the relegation final. I think he's suited to a certain style of play which Clare aren't really implementing at the moment.

Just looking at their panel, Clare have a depth only rivalled by Tipp on the amount of players who could start on the team without weakening it. The big problem is that when you take out Kelly, McGrath and Galvin I think they struggle. Most of the players are good, but those are the three great players they have. Need all of them on form and fit to challenge for an All Ireland.

Do ye reckon Galvin will be back?

Django99 wrote: »
    O Donnell gave Paul Murphy a right run around in 2015 in Nowlan Park in the relegation final. I think he's suited to a certain style of play which Clare aren't really implementing at the moment.

Just looking at their panel, Clare have a depth only rivalled by Tipp on the amount of players who could start on the team without weakening it. The big problem is that when you take out Kelly, McGrath and Galvin I think they struggle. Most of the players are good, but those are the three great players they have. Need all of them on form and fit to challenge for an All Ireland.

Do ye reckon Galvin will be back?

The 3 players you mentioned were missing yesterday and gave KK their biggest loss under Cody.

I'm hearing he won't be back and he's going to the states, but that could be a rumour.

still think o'donnell should be used as an impact sub again , i called for ages when he was an impact sub to be a regular starter but over the last couple of years he dosent contribute to the score board enough , he would cause havoc if bringing him on for the last 20 minutes against a tired defense

cathel mac should be also used in this way ,

its been proven time and again that when clare go direct they can cause anyone trouble , also need to go with more physical teams like we saw yesterday ,even if that means dropping one of the lighter , and probably more skillful players , squad rotation is everything now in the modern game

looking at tipperary yesterday and how many first team players they were missing is an example to everyone else

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭Stationmaster

The 3 players you mentioned were missing yesterday and gave KK their biggest loss under Cody.

I'm hearing he won't be back and he's going to the states, but that could be a rumour.

Don't think he'll be going to the states anyway. He's some loss but management had no choice. He still has a chance to turn things around but it's up to himself now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭cul beag

Potentially Clare have the players to be contesting the big prizes and from the outside looking in ye are dark horses for the all Ireland. Given that ye were missing so many last Sunday it was a tremendous performance,completely transformed from the previous week against Cork. What alot of us in Waterford are looking for is that the players aren't strangled with defensive tactics so that they can be left hurl more freely. You can see the new Clare management trying to implement this style and when it will be bedded in it will be interesting to see your performances. Galvin though is a huge loss if that's not sorted out.

I don't think we potentially have the players, we have the players, in the past 5 years 3 teams have won the All Ireland, these should all be contesting for the All Ireland, 2 of them are while the other hasn't got past the quarter final since.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

No I wouldn't agree with that at all. He has had some fine performances before and since that day. Has an eye for goal and is fearless, consistently draws frees and by him playing he creates space for others. I think in Sunday Shanagher benefited from this. I think he has lost a bit of confidence and his finishing is off therefore he tries to play the extra pass at times rather than having a go himself.
    Definitely needs a break and win back his place perhaps from the bench he will offer something different.

(He did destroy Murphy in Nowlan Park, had a big day against Waterford in 2014 league, v Limerick in last year's CShip he was good scoring 3 points and played on the half forward line - just some performances that come to mind)

Mixed news today as Conor Ryan will take a year out on medical advice, but David McInerney is back training.

I think I speak for all supporters, that whatever about anything else, the health of the two lads is paramount. David really shouldnt have played last year, at least certainly not against Limerick. Back injuries have long term effects so if David still needs another month or two before playing a full match, then thats fine. Wrt Conor Ryan, he has had two serious injuries the last two years, so a year out sounds reasonable from the medics. I hope we see him back strong next year, he is a good player for us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

Mixed news today as Conor Ryan will take a year out on medical advice, but David McInerney is back training.

I think I speak for all supporters, that whatever about anything else, the health of the two lads is paramount. David really shouldnt have played last year, at least certainly not against Limerick. Back injuries have long term effects so if David still needs another month or two before playing a full match, then thats fine. Wrt Conor Ryan, he has had two serious injuries the last two years, so a year out sounds reasonable from the medics. I hope we see him back strong next year, he is a good player for us.

Bad news alright. Literally only came to prominence during 2013 and hasn't really had much chance to push in since then. Hopefully the break will do him the world of good and he can get back to full health and fitness so he can give it a go again.

Yeah I think it could be a positive sabbatical for him, definitely when considering long term.

Club Clare also reporting that Conor McGrath and Patrick O'Connor are due back in April. I think O'Connor is counting down the days, he will be under pressure for a starting role with the likes of Morey, Cleary, O'Brien and Fitzgearld in good form.

Just as a side, the Club Clare updates are very good, especially for someone like myself living outside the county. Its good for supporters that there is transparency with regards to the status on team news and updates, twas like the Gestapo under Davy that last few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 988 ✭✭✭Benbecul97

Can you post a link to Club Clare? Can you subscribe to receive updates?

Benbecul97 wrote: »
    Can you post a link to Club Clare? Can you subscribe to receive updates?

Yes, so I get the updates from their clubify app page. So basically you download the clubify app to your phone, once that is done, it will ask you for your club, which you select Club Clare. All the updates are there.

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.theclubapp.smb&hl=en

More info can be found on their website.

http://clubclare.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 988 ✭✭✭Benbecul97

Thanks for that info letowski!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 603 ✭✭✭eoins23456

Yes, so I get the updates from their clubify app page. So basically you download the clubify app to your phone, once that is done, it will ask you for your club, which you select Club Clare. All the updates are there.

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.theclubapp.smb&hl=en

More info can be found on their website.

http://clubclare.com/

Just downloaded that there.Great app!

no gary brennan or pearse lillis due to ballyea commitments , sean collins out with a hamstring injury , 4/1 with the bookmakers who offer a -4 head start to the tribsmen on sunday ,

with all that included anyone would think there would be no point in turning up in salthill sunday , in truth it will be a close game with very little in it , two players in are cian o'dea and cathal o'connor , will be no slouches either in brennans absence , descent looking forward line as always , who have yet to fire on all cylinders , very poor performance at times against down two weeks ago , while 13 points up it is easy to forgive a team to take there foot off the pedal but the sloppy nature of that last 20 minutes should have ment for a few tough sessions in u.l since ,

i expect this game to go to the wire and would'nt surprise me if we get the better of the connaght champions , a win puts us in the promotion hunt with 4 games to go and almost garuntees us a place in this division next year at worst , a defeat will meen back to the drawing board for cork in ennis

probably a big ask without brennan but the others have to stand up and be counted now

clare_v_galway.jpg