Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clare GAA discussion thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,517 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

Galway 3-13 -1-11 Clare

expected win for galway in poor conditions in salthill , the sharper galway forwards used the ball well with the wind in the opening half , the pushed up on all our kickouts which were struggling to reach the 45 and had us under serious pressure ,

we carried the ball alot with little impact in front of goal and in truth given the amount of goal chances coughed up we were lucky to be 2-08 -05 down at half time

second half clare started to get back into the game with a kealan sexton goal , along with two more point blank goal chances missed we were punished with a gareth bradshaw goal with 10 minutes to go and put the game out our reach

without brennan, pearse lillis and sean collins for the next two games which will be a huge loss , we will need to pick up 3 points against cork, fermanagh , kildare and meath in our run in to avoid the drop , i would expect us to comfortably do just that but an improved performance is required in front of goal given the amount of squandered chances today

Scorers for Clare:
    E Cleary 0-4 (0-3f),
    K Sexton 1-0, J Malone 0-3,
    D Tubridy 0-2 (0-1f),
    L Markham 0-1, C Russell 0-1

league table after round 3

download.jpg

reaming fixtures
    Cork (H) 5/3
    fermanagh (A) 19/3
    kildare (A) 26/3
    Meath (H) 2/4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

From what I can see I think it's only one change to the hurlers from the Kilkenny game with cathal mcinerney coming in for SOD.

Tough test for us and a chance to see how far we have come from the Cork game. plenty still missing for us so another chance for squad members to put down a marker for their position.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,189 ✭✭✭opinionated3

Pat Kelly in for donal touhy....

Didn't even pay attention to the goalkeeper!!!! I guess they want to give them all a few games as Tuohy has t done much wrong in the first two games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,371 ✭✭✭letowski

Yeah good to see Cathal Mc get his chance after his performance the last day. Also I notice Ian Galvin and David McInerney among the subs so that's good news, I'd be interested to see how Ian Galvin would get on at this level. Its probably a year soon for him though.

I would be surprised if we win tbh, yet Tipp are leaving a few big names out too, there's actually a fair amount of talent not starting for both teams when you think of it. I would back that we have a strong squad but were still only finding our feet under the new management. I'd be happy with a strong, competitive showing from our lads, winning the league is not an important priority right now. Big test on Sunday for the backs, I'm a little surprised we haven't conceded a goal yet after moving away from the sweeper last seaon, so we should get idea where were at there. How Dillon and O'Brien fair again McGrath and Bubbles will go some way in deciding the game. Same could be said at the other end where Shanagher, after a great game v KK, will find himself up against probably the best full back.

Hopefully it will stay dry, as both teams will be trying to play a good brand of hurling. Looking forward to the game.

busy day tomorrow , real acid test in thurles on the back of a good win last time out , tipperary look very strong even with a make shift team, from our own point of view with all the absentees at the moment , on the face of two weeks ago the team picks its self, we have had a number of debates over shane o'donnells roll in the inside line especially his contribution on the score board , while shane is unavailable through injury it is a much deserved start for cathal mac who has rarely ever let down the cause in the past either , pat kelly back in goals is interesting as touhy has done little wrong thus far

i think performance over victory would be acceptable given the transition we are in but a win here pretty much grants us a 1/4 final place which would be huge

https://twitter.com/ClubClareHS/status/837752132975607808

the footballlers go with the same line up that lost to galway last week , i counted nearly 15 unavailable players to colm colins panel from that that were at his disposable against rosscommon last july , between retirements one or two drop outs and the ballyea contingent its a big ask ahead of corks trip to the park tomorrow

for what the footballers ambitions were at the start of the league in consolidating a place in division 2 for next year , it would be hard to argue against drawing a line across the trip to galway or the visit of cork ,

the remaining 3 games after tomorrow are winnable but an improved performance is hugely necessary tommorow from what we saw in salthill last week

https://twitter.com/Clare_Football/status/837764121827356672

the divison 3 match between tipp and longford has been called off tomorrow , it was due to be the curtain raiser to the hurling in semple stadium . pitch must be in a bad state for something like this to happen especially thurles , surly the hurling is in as much jeopardy

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,053 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

I noticed that Paudie Mc Mahon has taken to the Newmarket GAA page to publish Clare news, don't know what Colm Galvin playing with Clare has to do with Newmarket but it's on their website anyway http://nofgaa.com/blog/2017/02/28/galvin-to-discuss-county-future-with-clare-bosses/

I do notice that he isn't posting on the Clare Herald anymore so I guess he's not there anymore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭Gael85

the footballlers go with the same line up that lost to galway last week , i counted nearly 15 unavailable players to colm colins panel from that that were at his disposable against rosscommon last july , between retirements one or two drop outs and the ballyea contingent its a big ask ahead of corks trip to the park tomorrow

for what the footballers ambitions were at the start of the league in consolidating a place in division 2 for next year , it would be hard to argue against drawing a line across the trip to galway or the visit of cork ,

the remaining 3 games after tomorrow are winnable but an improved performance is hugely necessary tommorow from what we saw in salthill last week

https://twitter.com/Clare_Football/status/837764121827356672

Has Shane McGrath left the panel?

Gael85 wrote: »

yeah shane is gone struggled with injury over the last couple of years , by right he should have got his knee sorted this time last year , serious loss in my opinion

I noticed that Paudie Mc Mahon has taken to the Newmarket GAA page to publish Clare news, don't know what Colm Galvin playing with Clare has to do with Newmarket but it's on their website anyway http://nofgaa.com/blog/2017/02/28/galvin-to-discuss-county-future-with-clare-bosses/

I do notice that he isn't posting on the Clare Herald anymore so I guess he's not there anymore

is that not just a copy and paste job from a john fallon report, think it was on the 42.ie or hogan stand last week

Gael85 wrote: »

the players i can think of that were on the panel last year that have left
    since the all ireland 1/4 final v kerry

gone from the panel

shane mcgrath
    kevin harrington
    sean haugh
    jack o'dea
    podge collins
    pat burke
    shane hickey
    enda coughlan

injured or tied up with ballyea
    gary brennan
    damien burke
    martin o'leary
    pearse lillis
    sean collins (inj)

all bar kevin harrington played some part in last years championship , the bulk of subs on the program last sunday were nearly minor or u21 .

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,053 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

is that not just a copy and paste job from a john fallon report, think it was on the 42.ie or hogan stand last week

Good point, I didn't notice that, still weird that that's the report that's selected to be posted, I'm sure there's loads of other articles that could be posted.

but as you said the hearld sport has gone a little secretive since the club clare thing has started up ,i assume he is still busy with that project with the likes of dunphy and co

to be fair they are doing a pretty good job with it at the moment

but as you said the hearld sport has gone a little secretive since the club clare thing has started up ,i assume he is still busy with that project with the likes of dunphy and co

to be fair they are doing a pretty good job with it at the moment

With Dunphy working full time with the council and acting as Press Relations I'd imagine Clare Herald is struggling.

i reckon there main income comes from selling on stories to the bigger media outlets . pat flynn always shows up in one of the tabloids if there is any small story making them from this neck of the woods for example

Lots of advertising and social media shares help as well I'm sure but I don't know if I'd like to be relying on a local new website to make my living.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 10,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭marco_polo

Great result for the footballers huge step towards retaining division 2 status. If they could pull off another few of these might we even dare to start looking towards the top 2 :p

Start on the positive front. Great result for the footballers. Good to see them continue to progress and improve. Presume that means they are safe for another year and can now try and kick in and maybe sneak into the top 2.

Onto the hurlers, never expected us to win but thought we would have performed a little better. Tipp much more physically stronger than us and their ability to win their own ball is much better than ours. Really can't see them being beaten for the all Ireland this year. John mcGrath was a joy to watch.

Started poorly but did really well tobget back into it. Podge was very good with huge workrate, Conlon fantastic in the first half but was anonymous in the second. A lot of players were anonymous today. Malone, Shanahan and shangher were completely dominated while Dave Fitz and reidy made some very poor choices with the ball.

Biggest problem from the game was the injury to O Brien. He will be a very big loss for us. At least we have the likes of gudgie, mcinerney, o Connor, Browne or Flanagan to come into the back line.

Great result for the footballers. That should ensure D2 status, and put them in a chance for a playoff place.

Just watched the deffered coverage there of the hurlers. Small bit disappointed overall with the perfomance, but it probably wasnt unexpected. The first 10mins were a killer with the wind. By the end of the first half, we were working to draw level when we really needed to be building on a lead facing the gale in the second half. I was a disspointed in that I felt we showed Tipp to much respect today in that we were far too stand off at the backs and we didn't face them physically when trying to win ball in the mindfield/half forward area.

We were expecting a test for the back, and they by enlarge struggled, with Tipp's movement and distribution very good. Dillon had a rough day in the office. At least we didnt give up goal chances (never mind goals), but we didn't create any either ourselves. Maybe the biggest negative was O'Brien's injury, it looks serious, probably cruicate which would end his season. I know I said it before but he would be a monumental loss for us, one only needs to see the impact Bubbles did in the 2nd half when he went off him, or not having him to mark Cadogan against Cork.

Shanagher and McInereny were poor after good games a forthnight ago. There were some positives though in Conlon and Podges performances, but we know what they offer. Galvin was excellent when he came on, had a fine cameo. I thought SHanahan and Malone struggled with the pace of the game though.

Big game next against Dublin now.

clare 2-11 0-9 cork

great win for the footballers , to sum it up poor first half great second ,

clare started off like they did in galway last week by showing the oppisition too much respect on the ball and missing too many easy chances down the other , it took over 20 minutes for cian 'odea to strike the sides level , but in truth clare should have been further in front

by half time it was 1-02 to 0-5 with cork playing a possession game against the wind and probably 70 % of the ball , clare started the 2nd like a team that had a dressing down at the break and quickly went 3 points in front with points from shane brennan ,tubridy and ciaran russell , , eoin cleary missed a one on one shortly after , while colm o' neill had a goal ruled out for a square ball , with 9 minutes left jamie malone goaled on the break to leave 7 between the sides and pretty much game over , joe hayes saved a colm o'neill penelty late on but game was up at that stage

excellent performances by john hayes and martin mcmahon at the back while all the forwards played well keelan sexton was and tubridy were almost involved in every score , great win and puts serious pressure on others for the drop zone now and has us looking upwards with a number of players to return

clare scorers
    jamie malone 1-1 , eoin cleary 0-4
    cian o'dea 1-0 , david tubriidy 0-3
    cathal o'connor 0-1 ciaran russell 0-1 shane brennan 0-1

only dissappointment was the small crowd of 985 , we were getting bigger for division 4 a few years back:confused:

going watching the hurling back now , slightly concerned by the scoreline , didnt really expect us to win but didnt see us lose by that much either

There was 3 in it with 69mins on the clock, but Tipp were comfortably the better team. I was a little dissappointed in some of the players looking to break onto the team. I would start McCarthy over Shanahan the next day, Shanahan never got to the pace of the game. Also I like Reidy when he gets the ball, but I think the lad doesn't bring much in terms of tackling and marking when he doesn't have the ball, that's something the management need to consider. I would look at another player over Bugler too, maybe O'Gorman seen as some of the others lads his age like McCarthy, Fitz and Galvin are showing well. Backs and midfield were very loose like they were against Cork, just suicide against a team like Tipp. Dillon struggled alot for sure.

I suppose these inconsistent performances are to be expected with a new management at this time of the year. Loads and loads to work on. Wish we had the Ballyea lads to pick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

I thought Clare did well in Thurles, the weather made it a bit of a lottery at times but Tipp are a bit further down the road.

This was Ian Galvin's second. I wonder could this lad be a dark horse for a senior start. I know that was only his first 15 minutes of hurling, he I think he is definitely worth another look. I think Donal and Gerry are going to develop him for that roaming corner forward role they like to use in the formation. He is not suited as a wing forward at senior level where he played underage. I think if Kelly and Podge are midfield and center forward he could emerge as the leading candidate for that role. He has great movement and shooting ability, scored a point on the left right and center of the pitch yesterday.

EXwF1x.gif

Hard luck to Clare yesterday. I think ye are on the right track with Donal and Gerry and will be dark horses this year.

Congratulations to your footballers on a terrific win and all the best to Ballyea on Paddy's day. Hopefully ourselves and yourselves can become the new firm of sorts in Munster football

letowski wrote: »
    There was 3 in it with 69mins on the clock, but Tipp were comfortably the better team. I was a little dissappointed in some of the players looking to break onto the team. I would start McCarthy over Shanahan the next day, Shanahan never got to the pace of the game. Also I like Reidy when he gets the ball, but I think the lad doesn't bring much in terms of tackling and marking when he doesn't have the ball, that's something the management need to consider. I would look at another player over Bugler too, maybe O'Gorman seen as some of the others lads his age like McCarthy, Fitz and Galvin are showing well. Backs and midfield were very loose like they were against Cork, just suicide against a team like Tipp. Dillon struggled alot for sure.

I suppose these inconsistent performances are to be expected with a new management at this time of the year. Loads and loads to work on. Wish we had the Ballyea lads to pick.

felt in hindsight that if the subs were made earlier we could have been closer to tipp , great to have the options from the bench too , but tipperary are excellent at the moment , john mcgrath is really starting to show his potential

galvin looks like a natural at this level with 3 serious scores ,he will surly start against dublin , as one or two of the posters said above from the point of view for the game ahead next week and to season over all it would be hard not to be happy to see whats developing at the moment

hopefully we see the likes of jason mccarthy and galvin start the next day against dublin

buck65 wrote: »
    I thought Clare did well in Thurles, the weather made it a bit of a lottery at times but Tipp are a bit further down the road.

exactly how i saw it , at this stage of the year its good to see we are rotating the squad well especially under new ,management

i think we have enough now to make the 1/4 finals rather then a play/off for the drop