Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Marian Finucane

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,012 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

I'd say Finucane hates him. His impressions of her are less than complimentary.

Can any impression of her be complimentary?

Basically its just wheezing, hacking, coughing and some throat clearing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭PeterTheNinth

And how many things does Marion get wrong in her four hours of shows?? Even Callan was slagging her yesterday about the les affairs attitude that she has to the preparation of the show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Oops69

Am I hungover or are they really saying paschal o'donohoe is a potential contender for ENda's replacement ?....sweet Jesus , I GIve up on this country ever having a real leader again .

Oops69 wrote: »
    Am I hungover or are they really saying paschal o'donohoe is a potential contender for ENda's replacement ?....sweet Jesus , I GIve up on this conurty ever having a real leader again .

I'm curious about that as well. Did he not explicitly say that he was NOT interested in the job?

It really annoys me that this is this underlying tone about all of these cosy discussions that the election of Trump and the vote for BREXIT were the WRONG things to do. Both of these were voted through democratically by the two nations. What right do a lot of well heeled Irish commentators have to question the democratic right of other sovereign nations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,829 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

It really annoys me that this is this underlying tone about all of these cosy discussions that the election of Trump and the vote for BREXIT were the WRONG things to do. Both of these were voted through democratically by the two nations. What right do a lot of well heeled Irish commentators have to question the democratic right of other sovereign nations.
    They have every right to discuss and question it.
    Just like the boneheads have every right to choose or reject it.
    It's getting boring now, though.
    It's done, it's over, just get on with it and drive off that cliff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

But they were man

That's what "your betters " think.

Why do you think the brian Hayes of the world keep sneering at "populism" when democracy is all that is .

"the people" are a threat to him and his .

Many in politics think we should just Feck off once we elect them . If Brian Hayes is tellin me the banks are grand its time to buy a safe :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 696 ✭✭✭Noddyholder

Donald Trump can be our new pope :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,023 ✭✭✭Donal55

Godwin being thrown about like snuff at a wake this morning.

That one with de tick dubelin accent , is she on because she has something of substance to say or as some kind of token to 'de wurrking' classes ?, the latter I think,I've no problem with an accent but if it's an accent spouting ignorance ,It's a different story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 696 ✭✭✭Noddyholder

He promised the earth moon & stars, just like every politician everywhere, except Ireland of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭Callan57

I'm curious about that as well. Did he not explicitly say that he was NOT interested in the job?

Perhaps "someone" wants him in there as a vote splitter or just to muddy the waters .... or maybe it's just giving someone time to get their ducks in a row? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,341 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Am I hungover or are they really saying paschal o'donohoe is a potential contender for ENda's replacement ?....sweet Jesus , I GIve up on this country ever having a real leader again .

I guess you must be hungover, you don't even know the guys name.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 907 ✭✭✭foxtrot101

What right do a lot of well heeled Irish commentators have to question the democratic right of other sovereign nations.

Oh, the same right as you have to complain about them Peter and you do so at about the same frequency. So I do understand your annoyance, because I feel the same way about your compulsion to document on here every slight to Donald that you hear on the Irish airwaves.

I guess you must be hungover, you don't even know the guys name.

Easy enough common error to miss out an 'o' in a name ,is that as good as it gets from his petty childish supporters ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,341 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Easy enough common error to miss out an 'o' in a name ,is that as good as it gets from his petty childish supporters ,

Oops, it's not quite as simple as that.

You use the forum to heap odium on the political scenario, just a straightforward attack .............

And you allow the post to go out with the wrong name.!!!

Posts like that have zero credibility and calling them out is neither petty or childish.

It encourages posters to be a little more careful and maybe will be taken seriously when they get their act together.

Oops, it's not quite as simple as that.

You use the forum to heap odium on the political scenario, just a straightforward attack .............

And you allow the post to go out with the wrong name.!!!

Posts like that have zero credibility and calling them out is neither petty or childish.

It encourages posters to be a little more careful and maybe will be taken seriously when they get their act together.
    Whatever about missing an 'o' in a name being petty or childish , believing that Mr O' Donohoe , who barely retained his seat at the last election is a real contender for party leader or even Taoiseach is just simply foolish , dumb and naive , which of course your diversionary post is really about , and by the way who made you a moderator and I don't need to be 'encouraged ' to correct a post .

foxtrot101 wrote: »
    Oh, the same right as you have to complain about them Peter and you do so at about the same frequency.

hah! Fair enough.

I'm just not prepared to let people on the radio tell me how I SHOULD think or define what is an "acceptable" opinion to hold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭thedudeinthehat

Just because something was democratic- does not put it beyond valid discussion. Yes the election itself is to be respected -even though if in both cases there was some unchallenged lies ( Brexit: NHS 350MM) (Trump: He would make america great again)- the causes/course/consequences are surely to be monitored. Especially as in case of Trump if he engages in illegalities ( racist muslim travel ban) - or in case of Brits- threatening rights of EU citizens living in UK as a bargaining strategy. All these elements are to be carefully analysed and debated where necessary. Else we may as well go down the road of bread and circuses and trust that politicians always act in our best interest, which (as McCabe case here showed)  cant always be counted on!

Healy-Rae, an admirer of Trump.
    LOL. This wont fit Marion's agenda. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,853 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

At least he's stopped talking about the 'rodedondrons' (sic).

He'll be handing over the bowl of shamrock in a few weeks , stranger things have happened .

Why doesn't Marion put a few of Oliver Callan's accusations to Healy-Rae?

(Tubridy is such a painful fop in this clip as usual.)

I believe everything Healy-Rae does is an act. everything he does is contrived to be populist and get votes.

RTE isn't having a problem accessing cash to pay your wages Marion, just selling off the family silver in montrose , she's very flippant about that, she's some brass neck.

ffs, Put it to him directly. He's hiding behind emotive issues. Is he getting millions from the state for contracts or is he not?? If so, this IS a conflict of interest and it needs to be pointed out.

Finucanes's carefully 'researched 'ambush is falling a bit flat, and she's supposed to be a professional .

Really poor from Marion. She obviously hadn't researched what Callan was saying, and did not have enough research to ask probing follow up questions. They should have got Callan in the studio to stand over his article.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭thedudeinthehat

It doesn't fit anyone's thinking or agenda. Generally when people say they are "for" trump it is code for "for" casual racism, anti state anti public policy or against progressivism.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 216 ✭✭Matt.ie

what did they say is bad for the bees?

i missed the beginning of the interview

It doesn't fit anyone's thinking or agenda. Generally when people say they are "for" trump it is code for "for" casual racism, anti state anti public policy or against progressivism.
    Really ?, its great you can 'generally ' read peoples minds .