Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Marian Finucane

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

Ah hear, if Mme Le Pen isn't an anti-Semite, I'll eat my hat!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭thedudeinthehat

This guy talking about noble christian indeed catholic values, but says we shouldn't try to help people fleeing death and war , becuse so many people need help. Yep. Live the message of jesus brother. God alt right nut jobs. Why are we given them air time spreading their fear and hatred. Great to hear he found no contacts in Ireland to let him speak. Given our history we have no truck with his hate filled nationailsm islamaphobia and francoist far right christian fascisim. By the way I hope the iona institute dont pick him up on their radar. He would get them aroused with all his talk of decency and universal rights, which are unique to Christians. Jesus wept

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭Callan57

This guy talking about noble christian indeed catholic values, but says we shouldn't try to help people fleeing death and war , becuse so many people need help. Yep. Live the message of jesus brother. God alt right nut jobs. Why are we given them air time spreading their fear and hatred. Great to hear he found no contacts in Ireland to let him speak. Given our history we have no truck with his hate filled nationailsm islamaphobia and francoist far right christian fascisim. By the way I hope the iona institute dont pick him up on their radar. He would get them aroused with all his talk of decency and universal rights, which are unique to Christians. Jesus wept

When he was talking there about rights coming from God ... I was waiting for Marian to ask him which GOD but she let me down (again) :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭PeterTheNinth

Donal55 wrote: »
    Plus Williams.

Can somebody tell me what the story is about Paul Williams today. I heard somebody else mention on another thread that there is a story about him on the Sunday Independent, but I cant find it.

Paul Williams conspicious by his absence ... and where are all the "retired" senior Gardaí (experts on everything since they retired) this morning. Not so fast to answer the old speed-dial today eh? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Oops69

sligojoek wrote: »
    Paul Reynolds is very quiet on all this. He musybe on holidays.
    He'll pop up again within 2 minutes of the next gangland shooting with his usual "I understand","known to the gardai ", "the north inner city "rigmarole , he's not a journalist at all , just public information officer for the Garda .

And where's that retired GArdsa detective superintendent John or whatever he's name is , he's usually chomping aT the bit for his appearance fee.... bunch of cowardly hypocrites .

Being Sunday & listening to the Sgt McCabe story get murkier and murkier I was reminded of the story in the Bible (somewhere) where God says "if there is one good man" .... seems to me Sgt McCabe is that man. He certainly seems to be a man of huge mental, emotional, moral & ethical strengths, what's been done to him would have broken the vast majority of men.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,829 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

Oops69 wrote: »
    And where's that retired GArdsa detective superintendent John or whatever he's name is , he's usually chomping aT the bit for his appearance fee.... bunch of cowardly hypocrites .

They tried to draw the wagons into a circle, but the wheels fell off.

Callan57 wrote: »
    Being Sunday & listening to the Sgt McCabe story get murkier and murkier I was reminded of the story in the Bible (somewhere) where God says "if there is one good man" ....

That girl who made the accusation against him must be under some pressure.

The big cheese himself, Enda Kenny, in RTE studio on a Sunday.... Things must be bad!!

I don't think he'll even know how bad , he's a national embarrassment ,for god sake enda ,just go will you !

Ah come off it , no one was comparing him to Williams And why should he have an "affinity " with guards , he's paid to be an impartial reporter/journalist whatever his personal story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,708 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

He was there for an interview which was arranged weeks ago. It was the last of the This Week series of interviews with party leaders.

"All the kids that she adopted, and ALL had something wrong with them".

Dear god, what a terrible way to put it. I'd say Joe Duffy is at home shouting at the radio .. "There is nothing WRONG with them. They are DIFFERENT".

Let her speak, Marion, she wants to talk.
    God it's so annoying to hear her intakes of breath as she waits to jump in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

Let her speak, Marion, she wants to talk.
    God it's so annoying to hear her intakes of breath as she waits to jump in.

Finucane and all the rte lifers seem to think that the listeners are interested in what they say rather than what the guests say.
    It's one of the main problems with listening to rte.

My OH was interviewed on moncrief and she said he framed the questions so you wouldnt be able to give a one word answer but you didn't waffle on.

My weather

https://www.ecowitt.net/home/share?authorize=96CT1F

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,608 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Who is this woman? Only came in on the middle of the interview

"Trump was elected as President and you just have to get on with it."
    "The media are shocked."

Rather good coming from her, recalling what she and everyone else at RTE postured post-election.

And he'll be back in RTE for the pension shortly, same as f**king D'Arcy.

Ffs, will you stop interrupting the woman, Marian.

Who is this woman? Only came in on the middle of the interview
    Mia Farrow.

Jesus that was awful with Best's old girlfriend. Marion rustling pages, obviously reading them and not listening. What's the point of having people on? Is in just to fill the spaces between when she makes inane comments?

Oh lord jaysus, she's worse than D'Arcy at this stage. Reads out the note that Callan gave to the researchers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭lawlolawl

This is cringe worthy. She's talking over him and actually asking the characters serious questions because Callan is that awful at impressions so she isn't picking up on them.

Have to laugh at Callan critizing state money being wasted on silly things when the national broadcaster pays him to perform his utter garabge.

I'd say Finucane hates him. His impressions of her are less than complimentary.

Marian's answer to new-tech...
    "Ah, do we really want that?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,341 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

The Saturday version is rapidly becoming chaff in broadcasting terms.

Switched off when I heard Mia Farrow coming up.

Disfunctional attention seeker, in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,853 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Didn't bother much past the first five minutes this morning.

I presume the little bit of bother (as Pat Kenny would say) was kept firmly off the agenda.....

Lucky me , Looks like I missed a really Annoying show.

Oops69 wrote: »
    Lucky me , Looks like I missed a really Annoying show.
    Never mind, there's always Sunday's edition :D to get annoyed at.