Have you ever lost respect for a hero?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Keith Fahey signing for Rovers.

Disgusted :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Donal55 wrote: »
    I thought Sids treatment of Nancy would have been more apt.

I think that whole episode was more of a drug fueled mayhem than anything.

That's no excusing anything, he was a nasty piece of work.

At least he got some of his bad karma back in the time he spent in Rykers Island. The prison guards intentionally housed him with certain inmates. He was raped on a daily basis.

When he finally got bail, he got his mother to get him heroin and he overdosed. The thought of standing trial and going back to prison was too much for him.

I think that whole episode was more of a drug fueled mayhem than anything.

That's no excusing anything, he was a nasty piece of work.

At least he got some of his bad karma back in the time he spent in Rykers Island. They prison guards intentionally housed him with certain inmates. He was raped on a daily basis.

When he finally got bail, he got his mother to get him heroin and he overdosed. The thought of standing trial and going back to prison was too much for him.

Ah stop. No matter what someone is accused of or convicted of, prison rape is an inhumanity no one should suffer.

The punishment is prison, not rape. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Ferrari3600

Candie wrote: »
    He's serving time for sixteen convictions of sexual assaults on four victims, the youngest eight. Further charges recently resulted in jurors not reaching a verdict on four, and his being acquitted of three.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rolf_Harris

Even if he had been acquitted, he admitted having an affair with his daughter's friend which would have ruined his 'benevolent harmless grandad' image.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,360 ✭✭✭Lorelli!

A part of my soul died when Alan Partridge left North Norfolk Digital Radio to take the big bucks in Hollywood.

Awh you could never not love Alan! He always means well :pac: :)

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,424 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

I don't think I have any heroes :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Are you talking about this kid? :P It never gets old..

That's the fella, he's lucky Southall didn't go for him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,796 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

what about that leginadary tipp hurler that said horrible things to anoponant about his relitive that comited suicide

housetypeb wrote: »
    I lost all respect for Cuchulainn, when he couldn't beat Ferdia in a fair fight.

Ferdia was his lover too. They were the first gay relationship in Ireland.

Chris Benoit, pro wrestler who went mad and murdered his wife and son.

I know of him but I don't remember him in wwf when I was a kid but I have heard what happened with him in his real life and with his family and it is tragic.

I remember, I think it was a "Royal Rumble" or something where Lovely Elizabeth revealed to Randy Savage that she betrayed him with Hulk Hogan and it was a really big deal :pac:

I always liked The Bushwackers myself :pac: i thought they were funny :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭chicorytip

buried wrote:
    A good few years ago I met a fairly underground music artist I was a big fan of, a few mates of mine booked him to play a gig so they had to basically look after him while he was here. The most absolute belligerent, ignorant and altogether sad individual I have ever encountered, his work is still brilliant in my eyes and I still enjoy it to this day but it was hard seperate the music I enjoy from the persona who created it. It taught me a very good lesson though, not to put anybody up on a pedestal and eventually get dissapoint

So, go on, put us out of our misery. Who is he?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,311 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

Sleeper12 wrote: »
    They had the right to own slaves at one stage. Just because they have a right doesn't make it right. That's my humble opinion.

Still, with a clown like Trump as commander in chief I think I might want to own my own gun!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭longshanks

VonLuck wrote: »
    What did Pierce Brosnan do to lose your respect?

What did he do to gain it in the first place?

Candie wrote: »
    Ah stop. No matter what someone is accused of or convicted of, prison rape is an inhumanity no one should suffer.

The punishment is prison, not rape. :(

He had nobody to blame but himself. That's the reality of being on remand in Rykers Island with the reputation he had.

He did no good in his lifetime , he was a sadistic abusive person. A degenerate. He couldn't even play the bass guitar.

He got what he deserved in the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,115 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Kinda lost respect for the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle Donatello after he retreated into himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭longshanks

He had nobody to blame but himself. That's the reality of being on remand in Rykers Island with the reputation he had.

He did no good in his lifetime , he was a sadistic abusive person. A degenerate. He couldn't even play the bass guitar

He got what he deserved in the end.

The worst crime of all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

Chris Benoit, pro wrestler who went mad and murdered his wife and son.

Not hero's, but some of my favourite MMA fighters, Werdum and Nurmagomedov I found out they were friends with a dictator.

I didn't hold him as a hero personally but what he did was despicable. Of course you have your conspiracy theories that he didn't do it however whatever happened in his head that time will never go away for Chris's family or Nancy's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,980 ✭✭✭buried

chicorytip wrote: »
    So, go on, put us out of our misery. Who is he?

Ah no point name dropping the guy. He's not that well known and there's no point dropping it just to $hit on him publicly when he doesn't get much press, or even money for his work anyways. He could have just been a cranky ba$tard that weekend, it was work for him after all

Bullet The Blue Shirts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,059 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

McGyver, after it turned out his first name was Angus.

buried wrote: »
    Ah no point name dropping the guy. He's not that well known and there's no point dropping it just to $hit on him publicly when he doesn't get much press, or even money for his work anyways. He could have just been a cranky ba$tard that weekend, it was work for him after all

I assume it's not that guy from The Fall? Given it wouldn't exactly be news that he is cranky?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,796 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

Kinda lost respect for the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle Donatello after he retreated into himself.

cut him some slack. there rest just come out of their shells

osarusan wrote: »
    McGyver, after it turned out his first name was Angus.

Could be worse though, it least it wasn't Clive or Norman. Or Tristram.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

Wouldn't call him a hero exactly, but I was miffed that Sean Connery turned out to be a bit of an arse (to put it mildly).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

I didn't hold him in a hero status but I admired him and his wholesome image on screen so my addition to this thread is Bill Cosby. He always played dads that people turned to or looked up to. The same with Stephen Collins who played Reverend Camden in 7th Heaven.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,980 ✭✭✭buried

I assume it's not that guy from The Fall? Given it wouldn't exactly be news that he is cranky?

No, definitely not him anyways! All I'd say this guy was a underground, electronic musician, techno/electro/rave music, so you'd think in your head "yeah this guy will be up for a laugh and a party judging by the work he's put out" , your just playing yourself building up the image of what you want to encounter. It taught me a valuable lesson

Bullet The Blue Shirts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,311 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

what about that leginadary tipp hurler that said horrible things to anoponant about his relitive that comited suicide

Who was the 'leginadary' hurler?

longshanks wrote: »
    The worst crime of all.

The waste of space was in the hospital recovering from a heroin overdose when Never Mind The Bollocks was recorded.

Steve Jones plays both bass and lead guitar on the album. Glen Matlock their original bassist played on Anarchy in the UK and Pretty Vacant, a song which he wrote.

Sid was there for image, he couldn't play the bass to a live performance standard. They'd plug him out at concerts and a roadie would play behind the curtain.

KKkitty wrote: »
    I didn't hold him in a hero status but I admired him and his wholesome image on screen so my addition to this thread is Bill Cosby. He always played dads that people turned to or looked up to. The same with Stephen Collins who played Reverend Camden in 7th Heaven.

Ye I don't know much about the guy from 7th heaven but it's a bit bizarre, they tend to play holier than thou characters or maybe thats typical of those types :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 361 ✭✭Wang Kerr

Lorelli! wrote: »
    Ye I don't about the guy from 7th heaven but it's a bit bizarre, they tend to play holier than thou characters or maybe thats typical of those types :/

Jude Law is playing the Pope at the moment!!..Could be fun in a few years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,557 ✭✭✭VonLuck

Chuck Norris wasn't a hero of mine, but a lot of people had respect for him a few years ago, especially with those memes. Then I found out he is a religious and right wing nut.