Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Have you ever lost respect for a hero?

• 18-02-2017 8:44pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭

I'm a big Eric Clapton fan, but from his autobiography two things stand out.

1. When he was in his early 20s he got a girl pregnant. Instead of taking on his responsibilities he gave her money and ordered her to go get an abortion.

2. He hooked with a young girl when he was in his 40s and got her hooked on heroin. He later got off it, but she died from her addiction.

Another one is Sid Vicious of the Sex Pistols. At a house party one night Sid picked up the house cat Charles, he brought him into the sitting room and strung him up from the light fixture with a wire. The cat struggled before finally succumbing and pissing on the carpet.

Nobody did anything to stop this psycho, although all who tell story say they regret not doing so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,023 ✭✭✭Donal55

1. When he was in his early 20s he got a girl pregnant. Instead of taking on his responsibilities he gave her money and ordered her to go get an abortion.

2. He hooked with a young girl when he was in his 40s and got her hooked on heroin. He later got off it, but she died from her addiction.

Another one is Sid Vicious of the Sex Pistols. At a house party one night Sid picked up the house cat Charles, he brought him into the sitting room and strung him up from the light fixture with a wire. The cat struggled before finally succumbing and pissing on the carpet.

Nobody did anything to stop this psycho, although all who tell story say they regret not doing so.

I thought Sids treatment of Nancy would have been more apt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

Clint Eastwood could talk to all the chairs in the world and I'd still love him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,866 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Hitler.
    Just went nuts there in 39.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 696 ✭✭✭Noddyholder

I kinda gone of hero's, there is never enough toffee ones in the Tin/bowl whatever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,893 ✭✭✭allthedoyles

Garth Brooks springs to mind

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,585 ✭✭✭jca

I wouldn't class either of those self centered cretins as hero's in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,325 ✭✭✭munster87

Batman in Batman and Robin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,360 ✭✭✭Lorelli!

I wouldn't say he was my hero but I watched a documentary a few years ago on The Rolling Stones that kind of turned me off Mick Jagger. Still love their music though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 100 ✭✭Cameo

Clapton also publicly expressed really racist views - and yes that was his opinion, but the problem was, he was quite happy to jam with black blues artists and make millions from an art form that originated among black folks in the Mississippi Delta.

An obvious one but Polanski - still adore his work so it's conflicting.

I love 70s rock but dislike the culture of sex with underage kids which was part of it - even if those kids were doing everything they could to have sex with the musicians and DJs.

I don't have any heroes. There are people I admire but none of them are famous. There are a few celebrities who I like to think are decent genuine human beings and would be a little disappointed if I found out there was something horrible there.

jca wrote: »
    I wouldn't class either of those self centered cretins as hero's in the first place.
    But they are to some. I can see why regarding Clapton and his guitar playing. Can't understand why anyone (other than kids trying to be edgy) would hero worship Sid Vicious though - what on earth did he contribute other than being quite the scumbag.

John Lydon I'd understand - because of PIL though, not The Sex Pistols.

Cameo wrote: »
    Clapton also publicly expressed really racist views - and yes that was his opinion, but the problem was, he was quite happy to jam with black blues artists and make millions from an art form that originated among black folks in the Mississippi Delta

I think I recall watching something where they mentioned that Clapton was jealous of Jimmi Hendrix but then again, who wouldn't be :)

And Hendrix loved Clapton - apparently the opportunity to work with him was why Jimi moved to England.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 696 ✭✭✭Noddyholder

Hero's ? what are they exactly ? a lot of people would say there parents are there hero's, Lots of people would say President Obama & Trump ? who decides, plus there all human and most certainly have there flaws.

Were the passengers on the United airline flight 93 hero's for stopping the course of the flight or were the Bombers who knew they were going to die hero's for doing something they believed in ?

I going back to my hero chocolates which were actually manufactured To compete against Mars celebrations. My hero's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,731 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Not sure I have heroes, but there are people who I really respect for what they do, and it's sad to find out that, while they might be great at the thing I admire them for, other aspects of their life are less admirable.

Woody Allen springs to mind.

Bit of pedantry here regarding the definition of hero tbh!

And Celebrations all the way. :)

I kinda gone of hero's, .

So, what do we do with our lives, we leave only a mark. Will our story shine like a light or end in the dark?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,410 ✭✭✭twinytwo

Define hero though?

Cameo wrote: »
    And Hendrix loved Clapton - apparently the opportunity to work with him was why Jimi moved to England.

The Who, Clapton, John Mayall, maybe I think early Fleetwood mac, were probably influences for his move. Correct me if I'm wrong but i think there was probably a bit of a clic there that may have felt threatened by Hendrix aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,189 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

Maybe not quite a hero of mine but an actor I admired was Charlton Heston. That was until I saw his stance on gun law and the Columbine massacre. He's just an old fool

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Sleeper12 wrote: »
    Maybe not quite a hero of mine but an actor I admired was Charlton Heston. That was until I saw his stance on gun law and the Columbine massacre. He's just an old fool

Michael Moore manipulated that whole situation in the movie.

There's nothing wrong about respecting the second amendment and being a member of the NRA.

Sleeper12 wrote: »

Oh ye, that's one of mine too. God damn him to hell :/:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 717 ✭✭✭Phoenix Wright

Michael Owen. He was my hero when I started watching football, but then he did the unforgivable and went to United..

At least he finally got his hands on a Premier League medal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 361 ✭✭Wang Kerr

I suppose Lance Armstrong is an obvious one
    Pierce Brosnan not so much

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,189 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

There's nothing wrong about respecting the second amendment and being a member of the NRA.

They had the right to own slaves at one stage. Just because they have a right doesn't make it right. That's my humble opinion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

I really expected this post to end up about his punditry skills

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

I really expected this post to end up about his punditry skills

I don't mind him as a pundit, he's nowhere near as annoying as a lot of other pundits.

Any man that confuses Jordan Henderson with Kolo Toure is OK in my book.

Not a hero, but I really loved Rolf Harris when I was a kiddy purely because of animal hospital.

Little bit of my childhood died with his convictions for indecent assaults. Just doesn't grok with my memory of this kindly man, tearing up over injured little kitties and looking like a nice grandfather.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 652 ✭✭✭DanielODonnell

When Rory McIlroy held up the Ulster banner flag to alienate the entire Catholic fanbase of Northern Ireland even though he is Catholic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 361 ✭✭Wang Kerr

When Rory McIlroy held up the Ulster banner flag to alienate the entire Catholic fanbase of Northern Ireland even though he is Catholic.

What has religion got to do with nationality

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 652 ✭✭✭DanielODonnell

Wang Kerr wrote: »
    What has religion got to do with nationality

Catholics - aboriginals

Protestants - scotsmen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 396 ✭✭useurowname

Asked a famous jockey had he a tip for a horse in the jacks of a pub in Galway, he told me to cop on, my heart sank .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,257 ✭✭✭BettePorter

Asked a famous jockey had he a tip for a horse in the jacks of a pub in Galway, he told me to cop on, my heart sank .

Scarlet for you...... ' to cop on' won that race at 25/1!! ;);)

twinytwo wrote: »
    Define hero though?
    Why do people keep saying this? Obviously they mean people you admire and are inspired by.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,214 ✭✭✭wylo

I can't even watch Mark Wahlberg after hearing about it his racist violent antics.

Watching him on graham norton being a dick to Michael fassbender sealed the deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,214 ✭✭✭wylo

Oh and Mel Gibson , that was harder cause I really liked him , both his acting and directing skills.

Clint Eastwood could talk to all the chairs in the world and I'd still love him.

I think Bruce Jenner said that coming out as a conservative in Hollywood was much more difficult than coming out as transgender.

It's a strange world over there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,920 ✭✭✭buried

A good few years ago I met a fairly underground music artist I was a big fan of, a few mates of mine booked him to play a gig so they had to basically look after him while he was here. The most absolute belligerent, ignorant and altogether sad individual I have ever encountered, his work is still brilliant in my eyes and I still enjoy it to this day but it was hard seperate the music I enjoy from the persona who created it. It taught me a very good lesson though, not to put anybody up on a pedestal and eventually get dissapoint

Make America Get Out of Here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Ferrari3600

A part of my soul died when Alan Partridge left North Norfolk Digital Radio to take the big bucks in Hollywood.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

Floyd Mayweather.

Great boxer. Wifebeater? No thanks.

mansize wrote: »
    Floyd Mayweather.

Great boxer. Wifebeater? No thanks.

Seems like a genuinely nasty person in general.

I bet he winds up bankrupt in 10 years.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

Chris Benoit, pro wrestler who went mad and murdered his wife and son.

Not hero's, but some of my favourite MMA fighters, Werdum and Nurmagomedov I found out they were friends with a dictator.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Reading Morrissey's autobiography and realizing that being an amazing artist unfortunately doesn't preclude being a bit of a wanker

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

Manny Pacquaoi's homophobic slurs/views

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭Cortina_MK_IV

wylo wrote: »
    I can't even watch Mark Wahlberg after hearing about it his racist violent antics.

Watching him on graham norton being a dick to Michael fassbender sealed the deal.

He sprang to mind, not a hero but I liked his movies. He attacked 2 Vietnamese men and was supposed to have blinded one but Johnny Trinh later forgave Wahlberg stating that his eye was gone anyway as he lost it in a grenade attack in Vietnam fighting with US forces.

Chris Benoit, pro wrestler who went mad and murdered his wife and son.

Not hero's, but some of my favourite MMA fighters, Werdum and Nurmagomedov I found out they were friends with a dictator.

That was terrible alright.

Benoit was probably the greatest technical pro wrestler of all time.

I can separate his work to what he did though, I can still watch and enjoy Benoit matches on the Network.

He sprang to mind, not a hero but I liked his movies. He attacked 2 Vietnamese men and was supposed to have blinded one but Johnny Trinh later forgave Wahlberg stating that his eye was gone anyway as he lost it in a grenade attack in Vietnam fighting with US forces.

He was quite young when he did that though right, is he still a racist today? I guess it would be hard to say but he's definitely turned his life around so maybe he doesn't have those views now either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

Not exactly a hero, but I was gutted when Rolf Harris turned out to be dodgy.

That was terrible alright.

Benoit was probably the greatest technical pro wrestler of all time.

I can separate his work to what he did though, I can still watch and enjoy Benoit matches on the Network.

Yeah me too, his work is too good to lose, plus that's the 'character of Benoit' I suppose. Still, ever have a look at any youtube videos of his? Full of people who excuse him