Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread MOD WARNING POST #2944

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,037 ✭✭✭Ken Tucky

Is Killarney a bigger stadium?

Much much bigger. Holds about 45,000.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Coincidentally, I'm in Killarney that weekend for a romantic trip away with Mrs Slattsy...

I hope they change it to Killarney! Ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Would surely make the most sense to change it to Killarney given the weekend it falls on.

Would be incredibly stupid if they didn't switch venues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

It nearly certainly won't be changed to Killarney IMO.

Tralee business owners put a lot into the development of Austin Stack Park, to help it to be refurbished. The pay off for that is the two big matches this year Dublin and Mayo - on the Saturday night to create an atmosphere and then have the supporters out in Tralee Saturday night.

There are no lights in Killarney so a Saturday night in Killarney is out of the question.

To change the day at this stage would put many people off.

It makes perfect footballing sense to change it to Killarney, so as many people as possible can see the game, but from a business point of view (and a politics point of view) I can't see it being changed.

DDC1990 wrote: »
    It nearly certainly won't be changed to Killarney IMO.

Tralee business owners put a lot into the development of Austin Stack Park, to help it to be refurbished. The pay off for that is the two big matches this year Dublin and Mayo - on the Saturday night to create an atmosphere and then have the supporters out in Tralee Saturday night.

There are no lights in Killarney so a Saturday night in Killarney is out of the question.

To change the day at this stage would put many people off.

It makes perfect footballing sense to change it to Killarney, so as many people as possible can see the game, but from a business point of view (and a politics point of view) I can't see it being changed.

The match is on Sunday no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

Ken Tucky wrote: »

Nope Saturday @ 7.00 pm

DoctaDee wrote: »

Nope Saturday @ 7.00 pm

Has it been changed...when I was doing my booking I took the Monday off because I didn't want to travel back after the match. Ted I'm mad confused!!!

Our lads are heading to Killarney Friday afternoon, upto Tralee for the game Saturday, then Sunday lunch in Killarney - that bus is going to be rocking Sunday night !

Not a ticket to be had if ya don't have one already - season ticket is yer only definete (not necessarily yer own :D)

Sorry ignore above post. A quick Google confirms I am a complete dope.

The missus is going to love this. Meant to be taking my young lad to this. Taught it was a 2 or 3o'clock throw in on Sunday.
    This is going to hurt!!!

Yeah I'm a hill season ticket holder. Was going to use my brothers card to get my young lad in. Brother is 52,my son is 7 lol!

They will throw me in jail I reckon lol!

Yeah I didn't bother looking for planning permission from herself - turns out the 1st round of the U16 championship is that weekend - and I don't have a Paul Clark I can trust :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

Anyone see the Examiner story about Cavanagh giving out about Dubs players apparently getting free Suburus?

First I'd heard about it but he does have sort of a point. Not sure I agree with such "benefits in kind" to be honest. Nor the impact it might have down the road.

Bonniedog wrote: »
    Anyone see the Examiner story about Cavanagh giving out about Dubs players apparently getting free Suburus?

First I'd heard about it but he does have sort of a point. Not sure I agree with such "benefits in kind" to be honest. Nor the impact it might have down the road.
    Ah yeah Bonnie the Subaru deal superseded the Toyota one.. has been on the go for a good few years now

Dubs and Kerry an official sell out a month in advance of the game - there's the possibility the capacity will be extended to 12K subject to a H&S review. Following on from last years sellout in Croker in the league and AISF this rivalry is arguably the top occasion in Irish sport

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Play it in Croker!

Slattsy wrote: »
    Play it in Croker!

Aye and give Kerry the home dressing room - just to be seen to be fair :D

Dubs and Kerry an official sell out a month in advance of the game - there's the possibility the capacity will be extended to 12K subject to a H&S review. Following on from last years sellout in Croker in the league and AISF this rivalry is arguably the top occasion in Irish sport

There is no question but that it is biggest rivalry in Irish sport and always has been. I remember reading a newspaper report on the 1922 All Ireland (played in 1923 because of Civil War) and it said there were 40,000 at it. Which was probably biggest ever gate for any sporting event in Ireland up to then. Something like 8 trains came from Kerry.

I was at league games in 70s which had official attendances in 20,000s but place was at least three quarters full. Then again kidgers like me used to get in for free :)

There is no question but that it is biggest rivalry in Irish sport and always has been. I remember reading a newspaper report on the 1922 All Ireland (played in 1923 because of Civil War) and it said there were 40,000 at it. Which was probably biggest ever gate for any sporting event in Ireland up to then. Something like 8 trains came from Kerry.

I was at league games in 70s which had official attendances in 20,000s but place was at least three quarters full. Then again kidgers like me used to get in for free :)

I feel sorry for my young lads never having got to be lifted over the turnstiles in The Hill - a rite of passage for any young fella !

Leinster/Munster in Rugby over the last 10 odd years has seen a great rivalry evolve, Cork/Tipp in Munster has probably lost some of the gloss - but yeah the consistent standout has to be Dublin/Kerry (even when we were getting caned every other year)

I feel sorry for my young lads never having got to be lifted over the turnstiles in The Hill - a rite of passage for any young fella !

Leinster/Munster in Rugby over the last 10 odd years has seen a great rivalry evolve, Cork/Tipp in Munster has probably lost some of the gloss - but yeah the consistent standout has to be Dublin/Kerry (even when we were getting caned every other year)

Cork/Tipp used to be huge. Means little or nothing now with decline in Cork and the back door. Still guaranteed to sell out all the same.

The Hill back then as a child was some crack! Made the Black Hole of Calcutta seem like a night in the Waldorf Astoria :)

Ah stop would ya .. dunno if it by chance or otherwise that the game threw in during the holy hour on a Sunday .. I'd say a lot of fellas went to the game just to fill in the hour or 2 .. the mens jax was like the slums in Calcutta alright

There was only the one toilet wasn't there? Bizarrely situated in the top left hand corner as you would look at Hill from the pitch. Never had the pleasure of using its facilities. We were too posh!

It was mad fkn place on big days. Invariably the gates were either knocked down or opened to relieve the crush which meant that there sometimes twice as many people on Hill as paid in. No exaggeration. Wonder no-one was ever killed. They dodged a bullet to be sure.

There was only the one toilet wasn't there? Bizarrely situated in the top left hand corner as you would look at Hill from the pitch. Never had the pleasure of using its facilities. We were too posh!

It was mad fkn place on big days. Invariably the gates were either knocked down or opened to relieve the crush which meant that there sometimes twice as many people on Hill as paid in. No exaggeration. Wonder no-one was ever killed. They dodged a bullet to be sure.

As a young lad yer very rarely in touch with your own mortality, but I do remember the sense of panic at the '83 final coming off The Hill down the grass bank and my feet not touching the ground til we were on the Clonliffe Road - I'm nearly sure they opened the gates that day to ease the congestion, and as ya say it just invited more in - strangely enough I was in Dalyer a couple of years later for the Ireland/Italy game and the huge fuss that was made of the crowd crush honestly passed me by

In fairness to Croke Park, they learned the lesson and avoided the sort of disasters that happened in other countries. 1983 final was last one I think where you could pay into Hill and Canal on the day. £3 or something! All ticket from then on.

I think it was 50p for chizzlers in '83 - dunno whether it was an urban myth but they say there was ladders running up the wall down the railway end with a fee to the owner - he was probably the same fella that was minding yer car too :D

50p! I was "adult" by then and even managed to get served in a few pubs before and after. Night ended with me being thrown out the back of the Harp "nightclub" in D'Olier Street. I had managed to summon up the courage to ask some woman to dance but fell over her table. And that was the end of Bonnie's celebration of the Twelve Apostles ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

As a young lad yer very rarely in touch with your own mortality, but I do remember the sense of panic at the '83 final coming off The Hill down the grass bank and my feet not touching the ground til we were on the Clonliffe Road - I'm nearly sure they opened the gates that day to ease the congestion, and as ya say it just invited more in - strangely enough I was in Dalyer a couple of years later for the Ireland/Italy game and the huge fuss that was made of the crowd crush honestly passed me by

I remember contemplating my mortality when my old man was dangling me over the railway wall to drop me into the arms of some randomer on the tracks. Could have been the same day.

One time I was truly scared at a GAA stadium was a crowd crush when I was leaving thurles with my uncle after a Cork Limerick game, saw a guy on crutches go down and people were having a hard time getting him back to his feet. Even as a kid I knew that meant things were going very wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,059 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

They re-vamped the hill after that:

https://crokepark.ie/stadium/about/stadium-history-development/1975-1984

"On September 18th 1983 during the All-Ireland Football Final between Dublin and Galway a number of near fatal incidents occurred on Hill 16 which prompted calls for the reconstruction of Hill 16."

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

They re-vamped the hill after that:

https://crokepark.ie/stadium/about/stadium-history-development/1975-1984

"On September 18th 1983 during the All-Ireland Football Final between Dublin and Galway a number of near fatal incidents occurred on Hill 16 which prompted calls for the reconstruction of Hill 16."

I never knew that ..but it had to be seen to be believed .. I think there was only about a dozen crash barriers in those days too

It was dangerous. I was at 83 final and we took our usual position about a third of way up, just to left of goal. Don't ever remember consciously moving feet but ended up way up behind the goal!

Another thing about that year was there was a lot of scum who used to go and start fights. That was other good thing about ticketing through clubs. Almost totally eliminated that element.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Dunno how people weren't killed in the crush after Barney Rock's goal in the '83 Cork semi. It is my earliest Croke Park memory. I remember being pretty effing terrified, despite the euphoria. I think the big brother got an even bigger fright, as he was the one who swore blind to the mammy that nothing would happen to me. :rolleyes: