Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Second Captains

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭Mr Velo

That_Guy wrote: »
    Fairly par for the course football show today. As another poster previously said, skipping over a few episodes here and there isn't necessarily a bad thing to get to the content you really like.

I don't mind the football chat but I'm signed up to other football podcasts so I don't really feel like I'm missing out on anything that hasn't been covered elsewhere.

Certainly don't mind missing the football chat but the two interviews during the week have been an excellent listen.
    That's true, but it's nice to be able to get reactions to for instance a football match that happened the night before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Mr Velo wrote: »
    That's true, but it's nice to be able to get reactions to for instance a football match that happened the night before.

This is true. They did it in a good way with Richie's slot yesterday. Had a discussion at the end of the show which was grand. I'd expect them to do that a fair bit regardless of main subject matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,784 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

Wait what. Is the Thursday football pod pay only now??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭heebusjeebus

Only monday is free to air now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,910 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Will the free stuff still be available at the IT and/or the old Soundcloud page?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Will the free stuff still be available at the IT and/or the old Soundcloud page?

That's dirty..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,660 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

So far so good I think... A mod should edit thread title thing...

Would be handy to know which pods are evergreen and which need to be listened to pretty quickly though, wonder if there could be some way to do that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,777 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Where have you been?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,660 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

Patww79 wrote: »
    I never even knew that any expired.

They don't. What I meant is that some pods are only worth listening too for a limited period of time (e.g. preview of weekend's big game, etc) whereas others are less time constricted (e.g. The interview with the rower this week).

lawred2 wrote: »
    Where have you been?

I knew this was all happening but I genuinely thought they were leaving the Monday and Thursday shows as is. I didn't know we were losing the Thursday football to pay.

I have ZERO interest in politics pod or Richie earlier but the football shows are fantastic... Ugh...Guess I'll have to pay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Ivefoundgod

I knew this was all happening but I genuinely thought they were leaving the Monday and Thursday shows as is. I didn't know we were losing the Thursday football to pay.

I have ZERO interest in politics pod or Richie earlier but the football shows are fantastic... Ugh...Guess I'll have to pay.

Its two free shows a week on a Monday. They said in todays show that there is no "thursday football show" as such. It will depend on the week essentially. I took it to mean that there will be a football show if there is midweek fixtures and none if there isn't.

Do you mind me asking why you've zero interest in Richie? His shows are generally going to be football based I would think, plus this weeks had about 20 minutes of chat with ken about the CL fixtures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,608 ✭✭✭jaykay74

dulpit wrote:
    Would be handy to know which pods are evergreen and which need to be listened to pretty quickly though, wonder if there could be some way to do that?

That's a good point. You'd file the rowers interview and the Sean Dyche one as listen anytime and today's as needs to be consumed quickly to be relevant. I like the added numbering system to keep a bit more track of them, unless I'm wrong the numbering appeared recently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

lawred2 wrote: »
    You'd have been better giving your money to Breitbart.

Yes because it's either one or the other. You're either a Rabid Guardianista or a Rabid Breitbart advocate. There is no middle. Ok.

Its two free shows a week on a Monday. They said in todays show that there is no "thursday football show" as such. It will depend on the week essentially. I took it to mean that there will be a football show if there is midweek fixtures and none if there isn't.

Do you mind me asking why you've zero interest in Richie? His shows are generally going to be football based I would think, plus this weeks had about 20 minutes of chat with ken about the CL fixtures.

I thought it was the two free football shows.. boo urns.

I was happy out thinking I was getting two free football shows...
    I meant I've no interest in paying for the politics or Richie Sadlier pod on their own... I love Sadlier by the way.

So now I guess it's worth it.

One last point re the politics for those who don't understand.

Imagine SC was 100% pro-Trump/Brexit and took the p*ss out of the remainers/non-Trump crowd. Imagine this was the only narrative and there was no attempt to balance the conversation or challenge their views.

I think people would be demanding balance and contrary views to be aired. That's all some of us are asking for. Healthy debate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Ivefoundgod

One last point re the politics for those who don't understand.

Imagine SC was 100% pro-Trump/Brexit and took the p*ss out of the remainers/non-Trump crowd. Imagine this was the only narrative and there was no attempt to balance the conversation or challenge their views.

I think people would be demanding balance and contrary views to be aired. That's all some of us are asking for. Healthy debate.

Out of curiosity, who would you like to see on it to present these pro-trump/brexit views?

We're all only speculating anyway until a politics podcast is released but I don't see it being a particularly serious podcast though I'd expect Ken to get on some interesting guests representing a range of views, just don't expect Milo anytime soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 907 ✭✭✭foxtrot101

Except we are in the internet age and you can find any narrative out there that you want. What I find amusing about the people moaning about the lack of balance on SC's political output is that they are the kind of people who rail against political correctness. "We're all going to hell in a handcart because we're all too afraid of offending someone"..."What we need is someone to tell it like it is - someone like Trump".

Well, here we have Ken whose not afraid to tell you he thinks you're an idiot if you support Trump or a fascist if you voted for him(which he has done on twitter) and doesn't care if he offends you by calling you particularly dim if you support brexit and live in Ireland. A brave new un-pc world - I would of thought you'd be happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,997 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

tomwaits48 wrote: »
    each of the lads invoiced the Second Captains company circa 90k last year according to the accounts.

Great money if you can get it. In fairness the lads are excellent on sports coverage and deserve it.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,137 ✭✭✭dominatinMC

4,700 patrons as of this morning. You'd have to imagine that the lads are delighted with this. Proof that people are willing to pay for quality content.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭Cosmo Kramer

4,700 patrons as of this morning. You'd have to imagine that the lads are delighted with this. Proof that people are willing to pay for quality content.

I'd imaging they'd need more than that to make this financially viable and pay five wages as well, especially if they've been pulling 90k each a year up to now (I thought it would have been a good bit less than 90k).

However, there's still plenty of time for the numbers to go up, hopefully they will rise a good bit from 4,700.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭GeordieRebel

I'd imaging they'd need more than that to make this financially viable and pay five wages as well, especially if they've been pulling 90k each a year up to now (I thought it would have been a good bit less than 90k).

However, there's still plenty of time for the numbers to go up, hopefully they will rise a good bit from 4,700.

I suppose you also have to factor in merchandise and any live shows they do, as well as the potential RTÉ tv and radio shows. But it still seems very tight.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,341 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

considering the fiver you pay doesn't include the vat then the 4.7K would be enough to give them a good wage. That's just shy of 300K to be divided up and I'm not sure how much tax they'd pay on that. I think they're all companies so I presume it's just the 12.5% but I'm no expert in that area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,534 ✭✭✭bren2001

CatFromHue wrote: »
    considering the fiver you pay doesn't include the vat then the 4.7K would be enough to give them a good wage. That's just shy of 300K to be divided up and I'm not sure how much tax they'd pay on that. I think they're all companies so I presume it's just the 12.5% but I'm no expert in that area.

There are running costs to SC. All the guests are not free, plus rent and utilities.

Out of curiosity, who would you like to see on it to present these pro-trump/brexit views?

We're all only speculating anyway until a politics podcast is released but I don't see it being a particularly serious podcast though I'd expect Ken to get on some interesting guests representing a range of views, just don't expect Milo anytime soon.

Dunno but I guess maybe they could use their Newstalk contacts to get Michael Graham for example? Hopefully if the budget increases (glad to contribute) they might be able get Michael Graham plus a left wing Michael Graham.

Not saying I agree with Michael Graham on everything (especially climate change) but at the very least he can be entertaining and funny and provide a different viewpoint than we are used to in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭duffman13

To be honest I dont agree with a lot of there sporting opinions either but I listen to the show because I enjoy they way they put there opinion across. The politics pods are not really my thing but ill give them a listen and once the tone of the show stays the same I wont have a problem with the opinions expressed.

A very good first week, ive thoroughly enjoyed it and hope it keeps going the way they are. Missed not having two shows on Thursday but a really good week. 4929 sign ups as we speak!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

I distictly remember Murph being (rightly) dissmisive of Michael Graham as a worthwhile contributor to anything a few years ago.

It was when one of the then OTB lads used the word "euroweenies". Think it was Murph himself.

Edit: It's odd what you remember.

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    I distictly remember Murph being (rightly) dissmisive of Michael Graham as a worthwhile contributor to anything a few years ago.

It was when one of the then OTB lads used the word "euroweenies". Think it was Murph himself.

Edit: It's odd what you remember.

Fine, but I would love to hear Murph debate Graham. If his ideas are that ludicrous then it should be quite easy to show that in a debate. Unless of course some of these ideas might actually be right........

But of course we don't need to worry about that, because we'll never hear that debate!! Glad SC get to censor views on our behalf! Yay! :D