Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Second Captains

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,252 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

yermandan wrote: »
    I think they are well thought out, superbly mixed and pretty hilarious. I also feel that they are an integral part of my enjoyment of the pod since it's inception!!

My fav is the mix Horgan did over Villagers 'Courage' after the Euros. Absolute gold.

I like the shorter ones, but some of them go on for far too long. The Euros one with audio of Brady's goal over a Bowie song sounded great at first, but they still play it, despite the fact that it's three minutes long and well boring by now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,659 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

Those audio beds are also really useful if you're skipping through the boring (GAA) sections, as when you hear it you know to stop skipping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,139 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Kens goools today was only 1 game, but it was possibly the best yet. Some gems in there. I listened to it 3 times to catch them all
    dulpit wrote: »
    Those audio beds are also really useful if you're skipping through the boring (GAA) sections, as when you hear it you know to stop skipping.
    Exactly. They're perfect for skipping sections you don't like. I don't like some of them, but they're useful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Cienciano wrote: »
    Kens goools today was only 1 game, but it was possibly the best yet. Some gems in there. I listened to it 3 times to catch them all

Exactly. They're perfect for skipping sections you don't like. I don't like some of them, but they're useful.

Ha ha just laughing my ass of it here. Brilliant.

Gooooools.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,777 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Best one ever :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 655 ✭✭✭splendid101

I like some of the beds...the "Coach" one, the "Shiggy dug out at Motherwell, your bags and your desk. Boom!" (not sure what he's saying)...

I can't stand the Shane Curran one. It's awful. That Kanye sound is pure sh*te. I find the Eric Cantona and outraged rugby commentator ones are quite grating.

I think they should be only 30 seconds long, anything more than that is too long. I think it's great to do a three minute one, but it shouldn't be played in full every time.

That's just my own opinion, I don't really have the patience to listen through the whole thing if it's too long, particularly if it involves shouting or if the audio is significantly louder than the lads' speaking voices.

I wonder if it would be possible to improve the audio. On my earphones I generally have it up at full volume. I have to hold my earphones in with my finger if a bus goes by or someone is talking too loudly nearby. That seems to be the case with a lot of podcasts though. Newstalk's are generally a bit louder though. It should be possible to have it around 60% volume so then you've somewhere to go if you're in a louder environment?

Maybe my earphones/hearing are crap?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,908 ✭✭✭Cazale

I wonder if it would be possible to improve the audio. On my earphones I generally have it up at full volume. I have to hold my earphones in with my finger if a bus goes by or someone is talking too loudly nearby. That seems to be the case with a lot of podcasts though. Newstalk's are generally a bit louder though. It should be possible to have it around 60% volume so then you've somewhere to go if you're in a louder environment?

Maybe my earphones/hearing are crap?

I find Ken can be hard to hear on it sometimes especially if I'm somewhere noisy like the gym.

What a day for Roscommon!

Yeah the volume always seems low. Till Ken starts laughing or shouting, which is then deafening.

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    Yeah the volume always seems low. Till Ken starts laughing or shouting, which is then deafening.

I listen to about 20 different podcasts, second captains is always the worst quality sound.

Enjoyed the chat with Horgan and Flannery, like Rugby or not, it was a big event in our sporting history so it was worthy of a reflective piece.

Ken's brothers Grimm reference was great 'John Hayes' emotion was like the magic pot that couldn't stop spewing porridge' also enjoyed his rant about the Sutton goalie, was funny that Murph got riled up about it too.
    Patww79 wrote: »
    Was the Sutton bit at the start or did they go into it after the rugby?
    Around the 40 minute mark.

I went back and listened to this bit about Wayne Shaw. I wish I didn't! I know ken likes to be a bit of a contrarian, but Christ almighty, him and murphs rant was ridiculous. "The man sold his soul, he's an idiot and behaved like an idiot, devalued the cup".

Slightly over the top reaction from Murph and Ken.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 937 ✭✭✭Homesick Alien

Lads is it worth subscribing if I'm not into football? Just looking at the schedule it looks like 2 of the extra 4 pods are footie dedicated. Used to just listen to the general ones on a Monday and Thursday but now I'm down to one. I mean I know it's only €5, I don't mean worth it financially.

It was champions league week, so it's going to be football. Although I don't think they even mentioned Porto V Juventus. But it seems to be a mix of stuff. Best thing to do is subscribe for a month and cancel if it's not your thing

I listen to about 20 different podcasts, second captains is always the worst quality sound.

got to say that I never have that problem

I use Pocketcasts and it's flawless

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,029 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Article on the lads in the new Phoenix. Mentioned they haven't done a series of the TV show since late 2015 and when contacted RTE said they have no current plans to work with them but wished them the best of luck with their new venture.

Also said they need just over 8,000 subscribers to match their 2015 salaries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭Running Balance

How many subscribers have they got now??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,908 ✭✭✭Cazale

How many subscribers have they got now??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,024 ✭✭✭✭Baggly

So 8000 x €5 x 12 = €480000 - (let's say) €100K in running expenses (rent, travel, equipment) for the year* = €380000 / the six lads = €63K each? Not bad at all as a jumping off point.....

*number plucked from my ar$e.

Subscribed on day 1 and really enjoying having content each morning/evening for my commute.

Beds are a bit jaded now 2 weeks in.....as has been said, they are only 30 seconds, but seem to be hearing the same ones too many times. I miss the Ken/Johnny Giles/Eamo one with The Eels 'That look you give that guy' in the background....they have a new dubstep one that is a bit annoying instead.

Having said that, the above gripes are all cosmetic, and im enjoying the discussion and content otherwise so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭wardides

I like some of the beds...the "Coach" one, the "Shiggy dug out at Motherwell, your bags and your desk. Boom!" (not sure what he's saying)...

"See if ya don't get a result at Motherwell, your away mate, your bags and your desk. Boom".

It's amazing. Not sure if they've removed the "Who would I want in? I'd get big Terry Butcher in".

Out of interest, can anyone point me towards the podcast of the morning after the Italy game? I've gone trawling back through the vault but can't seem to find it? Found aftermath of Sweden & France games, but not the pod with Richie, Eoin & Murph from the morning directly after Italy?

wardides wrote: »
    It's amazing. Not sure if they've removed the "Who would I want in? I'd get big Terry Butcher in".

It's still there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭styron

wardides wrote: »
    Out of interest, can anyone point me towards the podcast of the morning after the Italy game? I've gone trawling back through the vault but can't seem to find it? Found aftermath of Sweden & France games, but not the pod with Richie, Eoin & Murph from the morning directly after Italy?

MP3 download

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,933 ✭✭✭Blanco100

Pter wrote: »
    So 8000 x €5 x €12 = €480000 - (let's say) €100K in running expenses (rent, travel, equipment) for the year* = €380000 / the six lads = €63K each? Not bad at all as a jumping off point.....

*number plucked from my ar$e.

Subscribed on day 1 and really enjoying having content each morning/evening for my commute.

Beds are a bit jaded now 2 weeks in.....as has been said, they are only 30 seconds, but seem to be hearing the same ones too many times. I miss the Ken/Johnny Giles/Eamo one with The Eels 'That look you give that guy' in the background....they have a new dubstep one that is a bit annoying instead.

Having said that, the above gripes are all cosmetic, and im enjoying the discussion and content otherwise so far.

Fair play to them for splitting the income equally.

Its a bit mad though that some of the lads get the same as others who may be deemed more "key" to the setup.

Bit surprised aswell to see RTE are not interested in making anymore of the shows. The lads would be a great addition to the RTE sports department considering some of the mediocre sports people they have. And its not like they would cost a fortune either.

On that point - what exactly does Simon Hick do? Presume he's a producer?

Blanco100 wrote: »

Its a bit mad though that some of the lads get the same as others who may be deemed more "key" to the setup.

Bit surprised aswell to see RTE are not interested in making anymore of the shows. The lads would be a great addition to the RTE sports department considering some of the mediocre sports people they have. And its not like they would cost a fortune either.

Let's remember i plucked those numbers from nowhere, and that may not be the split / total amount / make sense at all.

Actually come to think of it, they probably need to pay some of their contributors as well, so id imagine their takehome goes down as a result.

Actually also come to think of it, Richie is in now as well, so that's probably another chunk of the pie gone.

TL:DR......

54158947.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

Interesting exchange on Monday's podcast re : Rory teeing up with Trump

Murph imagines Rory's predicament after getting an invitation to play golf with Donald Trump.

Rory: confused: "Well what could I do, I can't turn the president down?"

Murph "Unfortunately Rory sometimes that is the right thing to do"

Right thing to do......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,659 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

Blanco100 wrote: »

I suspect thought that they're all key, just some of the work is not necessarily front and centre. The production/tone of the show (I think at least) is driven more by Mark than the presenters (at a guess..).

I assume though that Eoin can supplement his income with hosting gigs elsewhere, and Ken/Murph get extra for their columns in the Times...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭wardides

Have they attached any advertisement to the podcast yet? This would be the main stream of income I'd imagine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,252 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

I went back and listened to this bit about Wayne Shaw. I wish I didn't! I know ken likes to be a bit of a contrarian, but Christ almighty, him and murphs rant was ridiculous. "The man sold his soul, he's an idiot and behaved like an idiot, devalued the cup".

Slightly over the top reaction from Murph and Ken.

Yup. They made a fair point about the cynicism of the whole debacle, but you know you're in trouble when Ken has to ask himself out loud, "is this a bit too sanctimonious?" Murphs bleating indignation in search of a coherent point was painful to listen to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83