The "Today I did something to my bike" thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭stewygriffin

Slick mode plug........its the red one.:P:D

20161014_121948_zps8xymm0em.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,715 ✭✭✭D3V!L

Slick mode plug........its the red one.:P:D

20161014_121948_zps8xymm0em.jpg

I had one of them on my GS Adventure, turned on "ludicrous mode" :D

D3V!L wrote: »
    I had one of them on my GS Adventure, turned on "ludicrous mode" :D

Its a shock to the senses the 1st time you use it allright.:eek::D

Yup, you wouldn't think a barge like that could power wheelie with so much ease. I dread to think what the 1000RR is like :eek:

D3V!L wrote: »
    Yup, you wouldn't think a barge like that could power wheelie with so much ease. I dread to think what the 1000RR is like :eek:

Swapsies??...:pac::D

Right,Ive to head off to Joe Duffy to see what me yoke looks like now...:pac:

I started fitting my secondary alarm and gps tracker to my Street Glide. Thankfully it's got loooooadds of accessory plugs in the front fairing I can tap into for switched power.

I took the tank off to route some cabling and I couldn't get over the fist sized loom going through some trunking !!

409451.jpg

I can't get over how easy they are to take apart and work on :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Wonda-Boy

Jaysus I would love a "Slick Mode" for the missus!!!!

:eek::eek:

:pac::pac:

:confused::confused:

Wonda-Boy wrote: »

Herself loves being on the back of the S1000rr,had to get pillion pegs for the R1 as she now wants to go on that at the weekend.:):D

blade1 wrote: »
    I'm 140 miles from Dublin stewy but thanks for the offer.
    The lad that owns the one I rode probably doesn't even know about the slick plug so I'll say it to him.
    I was expecting it to be a handful when pushing it but as quick as it is, it is very easy to handle.
    I better stop on about one or I'll end up talking myself into getting one!!:o

19,800 euro gets you a fully loaded 2017 S1000rr.:D

20170216_124532_zpskv3hu8ad.jpg

20170216_124649_zpsdtk8zuhj.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,047 ✭✭✭✭blade1

19,800 euro gets you a fully loaded 2017 S1000rr.:D

20170216_124532_zpskv3hu8ad.jpg
    Does that include Slick mode plug?:pac:

and 200bhp standard.:eek::D

For 20k it'sthe least I'd expect:pac:

Its well priced compared to the Japs this year.:pac::pac:

True, Its going a bit mental alright.

Think you and I are of the generation where your right hand and your right foot were all you need to control and steer a bike.
    Propper feel for a bike and what its doing under your ass.;)

All these electronic aids are pushing up the prices. And some makers seem to be neglecting the engine side of things.
    Honda being one of those makers.

Think you and I are of the generation where your right hand and your right foot were all you need to control and steer a bike.
    Propper feel for a bike and what its doing under your ass.;)

All these electronic aids are pushing up the prices. And some makers seem to be neglecting the engine side of things.
    Honda being one of those makers.

I'll be 45 in April stewy.:o
    I got my first bike in 1988 and haven't looked back since.
    It was all I ever wanted from a very young age.
    All my older brothers had bikes and I would have driven them even before I could reach the ground:pac:

I do like all the new gadgets and stuff but I feel they do take a bit away from the thrill of it all.

A mate called to me a while back with his old gamma 250 and I took it for a spin.
    It was great craic and probably more fun than a lot of big sportsbikes I've had.
    I definitely wouldn't mind having a s1000rr but I would find it very hard to take it handy if I had one.

I'll be 45 in April stewy.:o
    I got my first bike in 1988 and haven't looked back since.
    It was all I ever wanted from a very young age.
    All my older brothers had bikes and I would have driven them even before I could reach the ground:pac:

I do like all the new gadgets and stuff but I feel they do take a bit away from the thrill of it all.

A mate called to me a while back with his old gamma 250 and I took it for a spin.
    It was great craic and probably more fun than a lot of big sportsbikes I've had.
    I definitely wouldn't mind having a s1000rr but I would find it very hard to take it handy if I had one.

Im only 5 behind you.Few grey hair starting to suddenly appear now though.:pac:

Some of the older bikes were and are great craic.Gamma 250 was a belter of a machine for its size.
    The 1st gen Aprillia RS250s and RGV 250s were bikes I used to love being on.
    Had more fun on them than the likes of a SRAD 600 or 750.

Ive all the gadgets switched off on the S1000rr,too much going on and takes away from the feel of the bike and what the tyres are doing underneath you.

I prefer a bike to be spinning up underneath me than be having all the leccies kicking in and taking away the feel.

Anyways...............:pac:

Where did you say that new s1000rr was again???:pac:

Might be headin over to the London Bike Show on Sunday.

Might have to take 1 or 2 pics...:pac::D

Thentheres the RDS show in 3 weeks time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,677 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

paddock stand spools arrived

still waiting on a ball of cash owed to me so can't do anything with it yet. slowly ordering bits and pieces next up is new spark plugs and to fix / replace my battery and then I'll be able to hopefully diagnose what was making it run so rough

Herself loves being on the back of the S1000rr,had to get pillion pegs for the R1 as she now wants to go on that at the weekend.:):D

Jaysus had to read that twice Mr Stephen, I taught you said your missus loves being on her back!!!!

:pac::pac::pac:

Typical!!Fückin exhaust is in the way.
    I think I'll just try and find someone in the area with a welder.
    The culprit
    g6s5qtyj.jpg

Only getting around to doing something with this now.
    Exhaust has to be dropped so I had to disconnect all the rad pipes and move it forward.
    Then off the can and drop the headers.
    b3tgjjqf.jpg

Thought I was in more shït when loosening the nuts on the headers when I thought one of the bolts snapped but the whole lot just came out together.
    zlqegh79.jpg

That's it for today, I'll get back to it during the week.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 39,915 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Wonda-Boy wrote: »

More grip, is it? :p

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

More grip, is it? :p

Skidmarks!!!!:pac:

Where do I start, Quickshifter into different positions, better grip when DOWN LOW and general RPM increase......

Sump and exhaust back on.
    Got a gasket and new bolts off Fowler's of Bristol.
    They are handy especially for Triumph parts.
    Good price and quick delivery.

Now a coolant flush and then put the last few bits and pieces back together.
    hkw9kd6k.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,731 ✭✭✭goodlad

Its just under 6 months since ive used my bike. Since it was ECU flashed and Tuned on a dyno i only done about 100km on it. It was half apart in my shed for months while i learned to do bits to it then i wasnt arsed driving in the winter.

I done the oil + filter, plugs, replaced all fairing bolts with Gold bolts. New Rizoma handlebar and barends. Lowering link on it. Also just had the LED kit installed into my handguards.

Its was in with the local bike shop last weekend for new tyres, HEL braided lines and new pads on front and back. Just waiting on a nice day now to go for a spin. Gonna have to drive like a granny to bed in the pads and tyres. And im kinda bricking it getting back on after so long...

Got all my parts back from RJ Carbon.
    Some job they did on the 996 air ducts.Savage.