Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Teenage Disco bans inappropriate outfits

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

In other words, you have no argument and believe what you believe "just because". Probably because society has taught you to think that way without any further reasoning behind it.

Personally I wouldn't have done it at that age (I say that as if I had numerous opportunities, of course ;) ) but I don't believe anything at all can be described as objectively wrong unless somebody is a victim.

Talk to a 14 year old girl or boy for like approx one minute and see how immature, innocent and un-adult they are. Then youll know why theres a good moral argument against them being allowed to have sex

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,790 ✭✭✭up for anything

H3llR4iser wrote: »
    If they want do deny entry to anybody who doesn't wear what Mike Pence wears at his pal's parties, that's their choice.

What does Mike Pence wear to his friend's parties????
    anna080 wrote: »
    In fairness it's a ball, not a standard disco. A bit of class and decorum is to be expected when going to a formal function like that.

There is no difference between a ball and disco except the dress code. There's nothing extra and special to be classy and decorous for.
    Cina wrote: »
    There really isn't, as long as you use a contraceptive that will eliminate the risk of STD's and pregnancy. Sadly our sex education is still terrible here due to our outdated views so this likely won't always be the case for many.

I'd love to know what contraceptive you think eliminates the risk of STDs besides an Aspirin. Even with someone wearing a condom it is possible to contract Herpes, Genital Warts, Chlamydia and Gonorrhea to start with. A condom only covers so much skin and a lot of STDs can be transmitted via contact with the penis, vagina, anus or mouth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

This nonsense about puritan attitude is tiring. I know plenty of parents who would have no problem going to nudist beach with the family, girls who would be topless on the beach and yet that kind of clothing would be considered inappropriate and overly sexualized for young girls to wear. It is certainly not uniquely Irish attitude.

I think some are mistaking healthy attitudes to sexuality, nudity and positive body image with what is basically race to the bottom. 15 years olds most certainly don't have personal confidence and maturity of adults. While I understand they want to push the boundaries the role of parents is to limit risky behavior. I don't mean risky behavior in sense of getting pregnant because they will have sex regardless of how they are dressed. I am talking about risk of measuring their self worth by shortness of their hems. I certainly don't want my daughter to think she will only attract boys in a skimpy outfit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,116 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Mutton dressed up as wolves in sheeps clothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,114 ✭✭✭222233

I really don't think it matters what a girl wears, unless for security reasons someone for example can't wear a hat or a hoodie, I don't see why anyone cares.

Suppressing individuality is never a good idea, particularly with teenagers, they will have the rest of their lives to be "modest" if they wish.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭infogiver

Catholic Ireland will never die.

Mmmm. Interesting. Can you explain how you have linked a corporate event organiser company setting a dress code for an event with an organised religion.
    TIA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

222233 wrote: »
    I really don't think it matters what a girl wears, unless for security reasons someone for example can't wear a hat or a hoodie, I don't see why anyone cares.

Suppressing individuality is never a good idea, particularly with teenagers, they will have the rest of their lives to be "modest" if they wish.

They're not being individual though, they're totally following the crowd and wearing whatever other girls are wearing. (With the exception of girls like my niece who go to discos in converse, no make up and her glasses cos they could not give a fcuk)

222233 wrote: »
    I really don't
    So individuality is expressed with mass produced skimpy outfits? I think you are mistaking insecurity for individuality.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭lawlolawl

I work in public transport and i see a lot of teenage girls commuting to school during the during the week dressed in their uniforms.

Seeing the same girls on the weekends/holidays with their boobs hanging out or wearing yoga pants/jeans that leave absolutely nothing to the imagination is a bit weird but i can filter it out. The half scuttered guys in their 20s/30s/40s hitting on them because they legitimately can't tell what age they are is a bit jarring and i've actually had a couple of the girls ask me to intervene because some lad/group was hassling them on occasion.

I'm talking about Junior Cert students having a group of lads on a stag describing what they want to do to her in vivid detail. It's a weird situation and i don't really see a "solution" as such.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 712 ✭✭✭GG66

The conversation is drawing a direct correlation between the way girls dress and the the likelihood they are having sex.

Is there any evidence that wearing a dress below the knee leads to less sex than dresses above the knee? Or does boys having buttons instead of zippers leads to less sexual activity.

I think there's a bigger issue with underage binge drinking (and overage for that matter) where frank conversations would go much further than finger wagging.

And on that front, frank open conversations about safe sex.

Changing dress code isn't going to change radical hormone induced behaviour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Arcade_Tryer

infogiver wrote: »
    Mmmm. Interesting. Can you explain how you have linked a corporate event organiser company setting a dress code for an event with an organised religion.
    TIA
    Yes. The reasons behind setting the dress code. Plus the support the decision is getting here. Next question.

GG66 wrote: »
    The conversation is drawing a direct correlation between the way girls dress and the the likelihood they are having sex.

Is there any evidence that wearing a dress below the knee leads to less sex than dresses above the knee? Or does boys having buttons instead of zippers leads to less sexual activity.

I think there's a bigger issue with underage binge drinking (and overage for that matter) where frank conversations would go much further than finger wagging.

And on that front, frank open conversations about safe sex.

Changing dress code isn't going to change radical hormone induced behaviour.

No I don't think longer skirts will mean less sex. However especially girls have to learn that they are more tham just sex object and their worth should not be defined by how sexy they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,866 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

So I take it that latex catsuits are out. :pac:

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

Another reason this dress code is right is that what if a 14 or 15 year old girl is wearing something skimpy and for whatever reason she comes to be on her own. A male over the consenting age sees her and thinks because of her make up, hair and the way she's dressed that she's older than she is. At that age she is vulnerable to any unwanted advances and will not be able to get away from it. It's a worse case scenario but it could happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

Empath wrote: »
    It's get's tiresome when people use any excuse to have a go at the Church. Ok we get it, you feel like you were repressed and missed out when you were young but it's time to get over it!

Ireland is filled with people that cannot get over the influence the church had and they now use the internet to rebel against the oppression they either felt or heard about because they are too young to remember it. I reckon its the latter. They are too young to remember it, but think its really cool to use it as an excuse for any kind of stance on morality. For the record, I'm no church going, religious loving type. I simply believe in morals, based on humanity and my own circumstances. In this case I have a young daughter and I wouldn't like to see her forced to sexualise herself at 14/15 based on trends or what some nutty liberal type virgin on boards thinks.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭infogiver

Yes. The reasons behind setting the dress code. Plus the support the decision is getting here. Next question.

So any event anywhere in the world that sets a dress code including The Epsom Derby, Royal Ascot no my cousin Emma's black tie 21st are all as a direct consequence of Cathloicsm?!?
    You did say next question.
    So, can you explain the connection between Catholiscm and The Epsom Derby then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,975 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Teenagers need boundaries, they don't have the developed sense to know whats appropriate in every situation..
    Parents need to set these boundaries be that in dress sense, self respect, behavior..

We all see the results of teenagers who have been given no boundaries, we all remember kids from our youth who went off the rails.. I've seen girls with no self respect pass themselves round like a splif at a college party and the result was nearly always the same.. many reach their mid 20's with a string of kids by different men with no qualifications, no career, and nothing ahead but a lifetime on benefits.. there's nothing wrong with parents not wanting this life for their child.

I know this will be an unpopular opinion but its the truth of real life..

Much of the excessively liberal rubbish being spouted here about it being ok for 13/14YO's to be old enough for sex and sexual activity is insane and I'd wager not from parents.

Ffs like. They just said have a bit of decorum and don't have your tits and arse hanging out. They're not expecting you to rock up in a moo moo. They're children and if the parents had any cop on the venue wouldn't have to enforce this in the first place. Bringing Catholicism in it is futile but there's always one.

meeeeh wrote: »
    So individuality is expressed with mass produced skimpy outfits? I think you are mistaking insecurity for individuality.

Thats quite the statement. You can't assume that every girl who is insecure wears skimpy clothes in my experience the opposite in fact may be true. It's a phase, we all did it, some will wear skimpy outfits, some will be bohemic, some will be gothic, it's whatever they are into at that age. I really don't see the issue, it's very easy for adults to say "down with that sort of thing", it was no different when I was a teen, for some people it may have been more conservative but that doesn't give anyone the right to make assumptions on a persons clothing choices, unless as I said it's for some form of a security reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 712 ✭✭✭GG66

meeeeh wrote: »
    No I don't think longer skirts will mean less sex. However especially girls have to learn that they are more tham just sex object and their worth should not be defined by how sexy they are.

I agree, there's much more to being an attractive human being than your physical appearance and how much clothing you wear.

But I don't think feeling sexy and having a more rounded opinion of self worth are mutually exclusive.

They're not being individual though, they're totally following the crowd and wearing whatever other girls are wearing. (With the exception of girls like my niece who go to discos in converse, no make up and her glasses cos they could not give a fcuk)

My point exactly your niece is individual just as the girls who wear makeup and more revealing clothing are. There is no "right" or wrong to individuality, the girl who wear no makeup is no more individualistic than the girl who does.

On another note I own a dress pretty much the same as the one on the far left and feel quite classy when I wear it, I'm in my twenties. I find their "keep it neat and discreet" a bit offensive. The dresses they have shown are actually quite modest in comparison to what I was expecting, that's the style at the minute and what you would probably see on a standard night out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,028 ✭✭✭H3llR4iser

What does Mike Pence wear to his friend's parties????

Listen to this comedy skit very carefully, from 3m20s roughly, and draw your own conclusions :D

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jCZV4b9I26w#t=3m21

infogiver wrote: »
    So any event anywhere in the world that sets a dress code including The Epsom Derby, Royal Ascot no my cousin Emma's black tie 21st are all as a direct consequence of Cathloicsm?!?
    You did say next question.
    So, can you explain the connection between Catholiscm and The Epsom Derby then?
    Different dress codes exist for different reasons. And your questions are based on false logic.

It's not a bad thing to want to be concerned about the welfare of teenage girls, but at what cost? When does protecting women become just another excuse for controlling their choices? This thread suggests it happens at the first sign of a bit of flesh unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,367 ✭✭✭X6.430macman

222233 wrote:
    On another note I own a dress pretty much the same as the one on the far left and feel quite classy when I wear it, I'm in my twenties. I find their "keep it neat and discreet" a bit offensive. The dresses they have shown are actually quite modest in comparison to what I was expecting, that's the style at the minute and what you would probably see on a standard night out.

That's a ball though not disco I think

I think it's classy enough for a ball, I'd absolutely wear something similar - the "debs" style dress is long since dead. Thats what's in trend, there are some very elegant plunging midi dresses out there. I think pointing out what you "can't" wear sexualises women's clothing choices more.

Ffs like. They just said have a bit of decorum and don't have your tits and arse hanging out. They're not expecting you to rock up in a moo moo. They're children and if the parents had any cop on the venue wouldn't have to enforce this in the first place. Bringing Catholicism in it is futile but there's always one.

But the parents obviously don't have a problem with it. Or any cop according to you. The venue are acting of their own accord in line with beliefs about decency and decorum. It couldn't be much closer to Catholicism really.

What?! So any venue that insists on a standard of dress is acting in line with Catholicism?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

What?! So any venue that insists on a standard of dress is acting in line with Catholicism?

Don't mind him. Been beating the same drum all thread.

Back in the day I remember all these half-naked 14-year-old girls running across the road in Donnybrook every week going to the Wesley disco. Even in the snow these children would be half naked. At the time there was always widespread bafflement at the type of parents who let their children go out like that. At very, very best, these parents were incredibly naïve.