Lock, Stock and Chitchat a Seacht

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,633 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Cripes, if I was Marjorie, I'd be very put out at only being worth a tenner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,736 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Ya poor Marjorie. Blatant discrimination.:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

Ya poor Marjorie. Blatant discrimination.:(

#savemarjorie

We should break out poor Marjorie no.1 from that place or maybe it's Marjorie no.37.;)

(For anyone that knows the area).
    I was driving down to camolin this afternoon and the guards were just starting to set up a checkpoint at scarawalsh roundabout as I was going down with cars with blue's on each exit.
    When I was on the way back coming through Ferns there was another squad car parked up ( I presume for any runners).
    Then back at scarawalsh roundabout the cars were on each exit and about 10 guards on the ground waving and stopping.
    Then on the old Dublin road in enniscorthy I passed another squad car that was after pulling in a boy racer in an audi. The young lad must have seen the checkpoint ahead and dived down the road but was spotted.

Some organising in an operation like that.

Wouldn't say there was any penalty points being wiped off either.:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Grueller

Jaysus lads we thought a&e in James hospital of a Saturday night was rough!!! Honduras is one fcuked up place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

Grueller wrote: »
    Jaysus lads we thought a&e in James hospital of a Saturday night was rough!!! Honduras is one fcuked up place.

My brother did 3 months there setting up screeners and crushers. Heavily armed guards at the hotel entrance. They weren't allowed out of the hotel at all after dark and had an armed support unit to and from the jobsite.
    Said it was an utter ****hole

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,971 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,688 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

blue5000 wrote: »

Waiting my whole life for this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

pedigree 6 wrote: »
    Looks like my first instincts were right.
    http://edenfarmedanimalsanctuary.com/sponsor-a-resident/

Good idea for a business/scam.
    Prey on people's good nature and tell them what they want to hear.

To borrow a phrase from a well known politician "Follow the money".:rolleyes:

Maybe I should go over to the other side.
    I could be driving a Range Rover next year.:D

I see they have acquired a dairy calf at one day old and put him in with the sheep.

He'd have been happier with the calves he was taken from I would say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,821 ✭✭✭✭Base price

kowtow wrote: »
    I see they have acquired a dairy calf at one day old and put him in with the sheep.

Tut tut, shows they don't give a fcuk about animal health and welfare. Ye cannot move a new born calf until its navel has completely healed and the umbilical cord is shrivilled. Also if transporting over 100km then the calf has to be 10 days old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭farmersfriend

Missed school bus this morning due to a sleepy head teenager, drove 10 miles toget him to school, then steam starts rising out of car onway out of town, radiator bust!! Waiting to get towed to garage. Day can only get better!!!

I wonder how much it will be to sponsor the calf?
    Surely 50 Euro.:)

Dept should close them down.
    Animal welfare me h**e.

I wonder how much it will be to sponsor the calf?
    Surely 50 Euro.:)

Dept should close them down.
    Animal welfare me h**e.

Surely someone will have to buy him a crush, with a good strong headgate to cope with a fine pair of horns, and him not squeezed (I assume). No heifers for him to run with once he's grown.... all the things which for any of us would make a bull's life a misery. But what does any dairy farmer know?

I've actually got a shred of philosophical sympathy for vegans - but that place looks like a virtual petting zoo, little different to the places they claim to rescue from.

The thing that really riles me is that places like that use animals to profiteer for themselves while claiming the high moral ground on animal welfare when as you say the farms they were bought from were most likely better than than where they are now and then putting down all framers as morally bankrupt.

Leave the animal welfare to the farmers who know how to look after their animals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,621 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

jonnycivic wrote: »
    Here you go, folks. Click on the link above and find your Boards Valentine;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

Here you go, folks. Click on the link above and find your Boards Valentine;)

Jaysus I'm a right lick arse to the mods!

QwZU5OPl.png?1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,621 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

QwZU5OPl.png?1
    And 20% Kerrymen, too.

I always thought your interests would be further North.

Much further North...:pac:

QwZU5OPl.png?1

Wahoo 3rd place.:D

And 20% Kerrymen, too.

I always thought your interests would be further North.

Much further North...:pac:

Anything to get out of Leitrim, sure North or South, what's the difference! :D

A box of chocolates for Whelan.:P

screenshot_1.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

Looks like I'll have to buy 2 boxes of chocolates. :(:)
    Wonder will it be reciprocated?

A box of chocolates for Whelan.:P

screenshot_1.png

I'm very picky LH so you didn't make my list.:D;)

I was just wondering did the calf even get biestings and who in their right mind would sell a day old calf?
    Shur they wouldn't even have proper milk to give it and its a bit young for milk powder isn't It?
    It sounds more and more to me like this is an animal abuse case.

I was just wondering did the calf even get biestings and who in their right mind would sell a day old calf?
    Shur they wouldn't even have proper milk to give it and its a bit young for milk powder isn't It?
    It sounds more and more to me like this is an animal abuse case.

It just sounds wrong, I don't think any farmer would sell a day old calf, it wouldn't have the card or be correctly registered for a start so no paperwork could be done up.
    Wonder if they just wrote that baloney to tug at heartstrings? Tag number is visible there too, someone could get a sneaky check up done in the mart :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭MickeyShtyles

Sent the car over for nct fixes last night.
    Mechanic got back to me just now. €400 to get her through. Well the curse of fcuk on it!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,292 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

St.Valentine looking down on me, yesterday when I got to the outfarm a pen of 14 yearlings had escaped from their pen and got into a bulk bag of meal. Had eaten probably 250lbs of meal. Luckily they managed to shut themselves away from their drinker.
    All OK.
    Relieved!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 734 ✭✭✭longgonesilver

On their facebook page they have a picture of a hen. They claim that she was rescued from a freerange farm. Hen looks like one that has been bullied and is featherless.

The hen is outside. I thought that all hens should be indoors, even free range hens due to the birdflu emergency orders?, not to mind one without feathers.

On their facebook page they have a picture of a hen. They claim that she was rescued from a freerange farm. Hen looks like one that has been bullied and is featherless.

The hen is outside. I thought that all hens should be indoors, even free range hens due to the birdflu emergency orders?, not to mind one without feathers.

perhaps it is sheltering under the "first cow"...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,900 ✭✭✭mf240

Sounds like she's was at a hen party that got out of hand?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,900 ✭✭✭mf240

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRgFxA8kKRjJU7B0u5X1o-mTbAx3DxpnWgEWcM9dTEhAg5nqiYz