Lock, Stock and Chitchat a Seacht

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

I don't know what I thought of it! I was expecting it to be as mad as the first one but no! It's probably one of those films that needs to be watched a second time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Muckit wrote: »
    I don't know what I thought of it! I was expecting it to be as mad as the first one but no! It's probably one of those films that needs to be watched a second time.

I liked it , but I wasnt expecting much with it being a sequel .
    You were no. 1 on my Boards valentine list Muckit , fair play xxxx :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,979 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

Bullocks wrote: »
    You were no. 1 on my Boards valentine list Muckit , fair play xxxx :D:D:D

Hands off him. He's my No. 1 as well :-) :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Hands off him. He's my No. 1 as well :-) :-)

He's some boyo to end up on all the no. 1 spots . Must have heaps of road frontage :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭mayota

Muckit wrote: »
    Anyone else go to see trainspotting 2? There's a scene in it where they stumble into a slatted shed. Spotted that your man had himalayan rock salt thrown in on silage

Ya saw it last week, great movie but a little sad. Funny when they were robbing from the Huns. On the Himalayan rock salt, the wife landed home one day with two lumps of it and bulbs inside, seemingly gives off good light and positive energy. €30 each.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,411 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

mayota wrote: »
    Ya saw it last week, great movie but a little sad. Funny when they were robbing from the Huns. On the Himalayan rock salt, the wife landed home one day with two lumps of it and bulbs inside, seemingly gives off good light and positive energy. €30 each.

Saw them lamps for sale in local stores, ya could always give it the odd lick ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,471 ✭✭✭naughto

mayota wrote: »

Have one as well I do rub the chips off the lamp when I get in from the pub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,378 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Did ye ever see that ad for mini mc vities digestives were the kitten comes out of the pack, wtf, I have a pack here in the press I am afraid to open them in case a kitten comes out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭ganmo

whelan2 wrote: »
    Did ye ever see that ad for mini mc vities digestives were the kitten comes out of the pack, wtf, I have a pack here in the press I am afraid to open them in case a kitten comes out

my mam hates that ad too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

Tis better than kittens in a bucket of water or under a car wheel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

I said wrote: »
    Tis better than kittens in a bucket of water or under a car wheel

There's nothing more miserable than a wet pus- aah mog- aah cat Cat. I meant to say CAT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭davidk1394

That as for virgin media and the auld wan watching the TV with the granddaughter is pretty hard to watch. I can't stand it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,398 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

409564.JPGMy 2yo wants a movie with fish in it. Anyone recommend which is better?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

Lad's I just got the results of the soil samples back. The first time we ever did them.
    But tbh I'm having allot of trouble understanding the report. If there are a few soil fertility experts around here that wouldn't having a look I'd appreciate it. The samples are off 3 different farms one of them is a hill farm.

W2LTLGJh.png

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

TITANIUM. wrote: »
    Lad's I just got the results of the soil samples back. The first time we ever did them.
    But tbh I'm having allot of trouble understanding the report. If there are a few soil fertility experts around here that wouldn't having a look I'd appreciate it. The samples are off 3 different farms one of them is a hill farm.

W2LTLGJh.png

I am far from an expert...

But my reading is
    - put out lime in all grazing ground asap
    - put out lime on silage ground this autumn
    - start with the index 2 fields and try to raise P and K.

Not sure if you have slurry? I think 1000 gallons slurry is 7 P and 30 K (open to correction here)

EDIT : The numbers needed for P and K are shown for each field - so target each field as best you can and keep a record of how much you add each year... try to increase as best you can...

Are they all grazing ground? If they silage then you need to account for the P and K for the grass take off...

With prices they way they are - it's hard to justify big spend on bag fertiliser...

I would say go for compound fertiliser, rather than nitrogen... but again, all depends on funds too...

Interesting to hear what others say tho - as I say, I am by no means an expert...

W2LTLGJh.png

Ya need a Fock tonne of lime!

I think the max application is 4t/year

Edit sorry it's 3t/acre and your figures are ha so max 7.2/year

ganmo wrote: »
    Ya need a Fock tonne of lime!

I think the max application is 4t/year

Edit sorry it's 3t/acre and your figures are ha so max 7.2/year

Ya I can only remember lime being put out on this farm once in my life and I was very young then.

But my reading is

Not sure if you have slurry? I think 1000 gallons slurry is 7 P and 30 K (open to correction here)

EDIT : The numbers needed for P and K are shown for each field - so target each field as best you can and keep a record of how much you add each year... try to increase as best you can...

Are they all grazing ground? If they silage then you need to account for the P and K for the grass take off...

With prices they way they are - it's hard to justify big spend on bag fertiliser...

I would say go for compound fertiliser, rather than nitrogen... but again, all depends on funds too...

Interesting to hear what others say tho - as I say, I am by no means an expert...

Figured that it wasn't going to be happy reading alright.
    Why the split in application of lime between grazing and silage ground?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

But my reading is

Great reading of the results. If your looking where to start, it's lime. It's the best 'fertiliser' on any land. If money is tight, start with lime and worry about P and K next year.

It can affect the fermentation of the grass. And ya need too much to be waiting till silage is cut to spread the rest

But my reading is

Some is silage ground alright,
    Allot of that grazing ground would never have seen slurry until I took over a few years ago and got the slurry Cat in. Kinda knew myself that I'd need lime but I'm abit shocked as to how low it's gone. Especially as some of the ground would be seen as some of the best ground around (for South kerry).
    I've been putting out 18 6 22 and pasturesward instead of straight nitrogen the last couple of years on the grazing ground but it's obviously not enough with the ph so low I suppose

*i think* lime can affect fermentation of silage, so best to put it out in the autumn...

I only know that from reading what lads here say tho, I don't cut silage myself at all...

So like I say - I'm not an expert, just relaying what I've learned, mostly on here...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,292 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Whatever you do, don't lash out those amounts of lime in the one year. You will turn the ground to putty. Do it over 3 years or so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,621 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Some is silage ground alright,
    Allot of that grazing ground would never have seen slurry until I took over a few years ago and got the slurry Cat in. Kinda knew myself that I'd need lime but I'm abit shocked as to how low it's gone. Especially as some of the ground would be seen as some of the best ground around (for South kerry).
    I've been putting out 18 6 22 and pasturesward instead of straight nitrogen the last couple of years on the grazing ground but it's obviously not enough with the ph so low I suppose
    You did a great job in getting the P and K up, in fairness.

Lime should be your big spend this year. There is a 6x return on lime spread so you will probably get a huge return in the first year alone not to mind over the next few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭KatyMac

Heard of a neighbor after spotting over the calving camera two boyos in shed during the middle of the night. Wonder were they looking to see if a cow needed a hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,688 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

KatyMac wrote: »
    Heard of a neighbor after spotting over the calving camera two boyos in shed during the middle of the night. Wonder were they looking to see if a cow needed a hand.

Of course they were

You did a great job in getting the P and K up, in fairness.

Lime should be your big spend this year. There is a 6x return on lime spread so you will probably get a huge return in the first year alone not to mind over the next few years.

Thanks Buford, what's the max lime application per so? Or is that all dependent on the ground?
    I remember a few years ago before the auld got sick I was getting onto him about spreading abit of lime "ura we should of course" was his response. He used always say "that a fella would want to get his farm right first, then he could farm away mad". I think I'm beginning to understand what he meant now. I've allot of money put in here with fencing and water the last few years and was hoping to get some reclaiming/reseeding done this year but I may have to rethink the plan for the year ahead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,621 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Thanks Buford, what's the max lime application per so? Or is that all dependent on the ground?
    I remember a few years ago before the auld got sick I was getting onto him about spreading abit of lime "ura we should of course" was his response. He used always say "that a fella would want to get his farm right first, then he could farm away mad". I think I'm beginning to understand what he meant now. I've allot of money put in here with fencing and water the last few years and was hoping to get some reclaiming/reseeding done this year but I may have to rethink the plan for the year ahead.
    I think Ganmo had it above, 3t/acre with a 2 year break between applications, iirc. Plus the lime will increase the availability of N and P so your P fertility is probably a lot better than you think atm.

My inclination would be to do half the farm this year, finances permitting, and the other half next year and repeat again. Some of the top lads are testing their land every year now and topping up with lime and P&K as needed every year so land doesn't have a chance to drop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,688 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

I think Ganmo had it above, 3t/acre with a 2 year break between applications, iirc. Plus the lime will increase the availability of N and P so your P fertility is probably a lot better than you think atm.

My inclination would be to do half the farm this year, finances permitting, and the other half next year and repeat again. Some of the top lads are testing their land every year now and topping up with lime and P&K as needed every year so land doesn't have a chance to drop.

Only way to do it

When I took over here, I did a good bit of reclaiming and reseeding and the likes. But whilst I thought I was doing great work, I didn't get the soil right and feed the reseeds good enough after they went in...

In hindsight, I should have fed what grass I had much better...