Late Late Valentine Special?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭longshanks

I thought last nights show was good craic, I knew there'd be a thread on here whining about it though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 Wilbot

I don't want to be mean but it was very obvious to me why the audience were all single. They seemed like an overconfident group and for no obvious reason. I'd love to known where they get such self belief from. I'm all for that but surely there has to be a good foundation for it. A lot of whooping and hollering took place. Are we really just all about the sex too? You can't keep at it indefinitely. Sometimes, you'll just want to talk to your partner? ? I can't imagine having a conversation with any of the audience from last night, except for the lady who said she couldn't flirt. She seemed like the most interesting person in the whole studio. She'll have nothing to worry about if you ask me. And who was the guest at the end who did his best to shock us with talk of flossing? ? Boring! !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,069 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

LordSutch wrote: »
    Rude, crude, vulgar, loud, tasteless & Crap (with a Capital C) :mad:

It really was a total and utter disgrace.

I forgot 'crass'.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,960 ✭✭✭Dr Crayfish

I never usually channel surf to RTE 1 and 2 because they're awful TV channels that produce absolute dross, but I glimpsed this last night for about 4 seconds, and whatever I saw was as bad as I would have expected.
    Don't tune into the Late Late, please, you're only encouraging RTE to keep paying that twat 500k a year or whatever he gets. I have a feeling if no one watched it, they'd still have it on anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,687 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

The comedian (presume he is a comedian) lad put me in mind of the 80s Kit Kat ad:

"You're a hyperactive, hackneyed tedious fcukwit"

/crestfallen silence

/Snaps Kit-Kat

'You'll go a long way'

/Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,687 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

longshanks wrote: »
    I thought last nights show was good craic, I knew there'd be a thread on here whining about it though.

I've no problem with the format as a rule. Plenty of other shows do it. It's popular. I actually enjoy it when it's done well, like Graham Norton.

It's a just a bit annoying to see it on what's essentially the flagship show of the national broadcaster. A show towards which the citizens of the country are forced to pay a rather large stipend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

I didn't think people still watched the Late Late.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Turgiddy is stealing a living. I know he's a smart enough guy who is well aware how utterly terrible the LLS now is, but he neither has the inclination or the ability to do anything about it.

Saw 2 minutes of it myself and it confirmed just how bad it now is. Let's be honest, the reason they go in for this horse shít is because RTE chat shows are really struggling to get anyone on. That was effectively a week off for the people who line up guests.

The weekend of the Trump inauguration was a prime slot to get on some good political commentators and thrash out what the hell happened in the US and what this is going to mean for Ireland..........
    What does the LLS do?
    Get on Katie Fúcking Hopkins to say some outrageous shíte and pander to the lowest common denominator.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Bambi985

jesus christ RTE, know your fcuking audience like.

i know most of us think of the LLS as a laughing stock these days, but sadly with RTE there's a loyal viewership of an older generation who will tune into the Six One News, watch Nationwide and tune into the Late Late as part of their Friday evening ritual, and this was just an almighty slap in the face to those loyal viewers who frankly deserve a lot bloody better. Without them half of RTEs shows would have disappeared from lack of numbers a long time ago.

Crass, tasteless, classless, structure-less, offensive and highly unprofessional shyte out of the LLS team last night. The likes of which would've been shut down after about 2 minutes if it had ever gone to air on any other national broadcaster in any other country, not that it would ever even get that far.

I hope RTE get swamped with complaints and are torn to shreds by the Broadcasting Authority.

What a depressingly hopeless situation it must be to a single 20-something in Ireland too if that bunch of over-groomed cocky clowns is a representation of what's on offer.

And who the fcuk is that James Kavanagh pleb who talks with plums in his mouth and looks like some sort of hipster w@nker with an eating disorder?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

Did not watch much of it but got to see a few minutes of it. Al Porter trying to kiss Tubridy, rude crude vulgar talk. Too much mention of the R word and not about horses and bicycles either. Tubridy acting the clown. Is this what we pay our taxes to prop up?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

I didn't see much of it but enough to see some fella in the audience grabbing the wan beside him around the neck to kiss her when the kiss cam was on them that seemed closer to assault than anything else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

I didn't even watch it but it was still terrible.

"And who the fcuk is that James Kavanagh pleb who talks with plums in his mouth and looks like some sort of hipster w@nker with an eating disorder? "

lads like him make me want to fook me TV out the window!!
    when is all this, it's cool to sound and act and worship everything American SHYTE gonna end!! anyone who replaces the letter T with D should be drowned in their grannys piss!! are you coming to our parDy??? you are raiight???

and you cant escape it, it's on that first dates thing as well, this Faux yank accent!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 100 ✭✭Cameo

It's ironic that The Late Late was at times a bastion of enlightenment from the 60s to the early 90s with Gaybo.

Yet now, with much of Ireland's ultra conservativism a thing of the past, the Late Late today is weirdly a relic from the aforementioned time.

The seeming explosion in country n' Irish music is strange I think. I know there'll always be a market for it in rural Ireland (and not saying there's anything wrong with that) but there seems to be a marked increase in it, reminiscent of about four decades back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,453 ✭✭✭blastman

Al Porter is not funny in the same way that cancer is not funny. He should be, given his reputation for stealing jokes, but he's not.

there's a real underlining smirk of snobbery from tubridy too.. he asked your man Deano, what class of woman are you looking for tonight??

on a subconscious level he associates this guy with being of lower stock so much so that the word CLASS even comes into the question. Like he'd ask a heavily accented posh paws what class of lady he's looking for... it's village idiot exploitation to be honest and most of the audience were happy to be there as such..the feckin eejits!!

like he'd also follow it up with "did ye get de roide"!!!! false or what!

the big baggy weak chined face on trubridy too. I expect him to pull his face off Scooby doo style and be old man hubbard the
    carnival controller !!!!! if it wasn't for you pesky kids!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Bambi985

rusty cole wrote: »
    "And who the fcuk is that James Kavanagh pleb who talks with plums in his mouth and looks like some sort of hipster w@nker with an eating disorder? "

lads like him make me want to fook me TV out the window!!
    when is all this, it's cool to sound and act and worship everything American SHYTE gonna end!! anyone who replaces the letter T with D should be drowned in their grannys piss!! are you coming to our parDy??? you are raiight???

and you cant escape it, it's on that first dates thing as well, this Faux yank accent!!

had to google him and "snapchat celebrity" is what they're calling this wan. Or "social media influencer". is this what we've come to as a nation?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,325 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

It was like a combination of Rag Week, awful country western and awful comedy, awful, awful stuff. That Porter lad gets the bloody Body & Soul slot in the annual Electric Picnic TV programme, such a tosspot.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

social media influencer, roughly translated, cannot stand the thought of getting a real job and dealing with life vicissitudes. would rather preach shyte from the parapet of his bedroom!! and the hack of them on these shows, they'd crumble if all their yes man friends hit them with the harsh truths!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,008 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

Bambi985 wrote: »
    had to google him and "snapchat celebrity" is what they're calling this wan. Or "social media influencer". is this what we've come to as a nation?

They seem to be dragging James Kavanagh out for all occasions on Rte now. I've seen him on Claire Byrne, Miriam O'Callaghan, some sort of "hilarious" sex quiz thing among others.
    Only in Ireland!

He had some sort of Sex Ed thing on Snapchat that was hailed as wonderful in the papers but the clip I saw was very dodgy, he was recommending coconut oil as a lube. All well and good as long as you don't expect your condoms to work. It's well known you can't t use oil based things with condoms as it causes latex to degrade and break. It's such dangerous info for the age group of kids who can be bothered with Snapchat "celebs" yet the papers seemed to think it was the best thing that ever happened. No idea why our media is intent on driving traffic to him and his influencing though.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,311 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

Bambi985 wrote: »
    This most likely means retweeting stuff!!

They seem to be dragging James Kavanagh out for all occasions on Rte now. I've seen him on Claire Byrne, Miriam O'Callaghan, some sort of "hilarious" sex quiz thing among others.
    Only in Ireland!

He had some sort of Sex Ed thing on Snapchat that was hailed as wonderful in the papers but the clip I saw was very dodgy, he was recommending coconut oil as a lube. All well and good as long as you don't expect your condoms to work. It's well known you can't t use oil based things with condoms as it causes latex to degrade and break. It's such dangerous info for the age group of kids who can be bothered with Snapchat "celebs" yet the papers seemed to think it was the best thing that ever happened. No idea why our media is intent on driving traffic to him and his influencing though.

bang on 100% mate. these clowns are self professed experts in all areas and yet something as fundamental as reading a box of condoms is lost on him. and these are the ****wits that plan to lead??? after seeing a post here I checked out his twitter and it's vacuous twentysomething eejits dying to get a mention, a like or even a friend acceptance!! jasus christ what's the country coming to. I really do sound like sean locke!! thank god for it too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,098 ✭✭✭conorhal

rusty cole wrote: »
    bang on 100% mate. these clowns are self professed experts in all areas and yet something as fundamental as reading a box of condoms is lost on him. and these are the ****wits that plan to lead??? after seeing a post here I checked out his twitter and it's vacuous twentysomething eejits dying to get a mention, a like or even a friend acceptance!! jasus christ what's the country coming to. I really do sound like sean locke!! thank god for it too.

He must be part of the growing pantheon of 'Irish celebs' like Nicky Byrne, Al Porter, Seile Seoige, Kathryn Thomas, Jason Byrne, Craig Doyle, Brian Ormand and Darren Kennedy (I could go on and on) that RTE hand prime time slots to like they were throwing $h1t at a wall in the hope that one will stick.
    For all that we like to go on about ourselves as a nation of witty, craic having, charming, lovable rouges, you'd imagine we'd be able to find one presenter with at least a personality to front a show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,236 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭annmc882

who is James Kavanagh?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,236 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

annmc882 wrote: »
    who is James Kavanagh?!

A guy who makes a living from being paid to post crap on snapchat

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭annmc882

A guy who makes a living from being paid to post crap on snapchat

Right, well I am getting old coz I've no time for that crap. The teens of today are "influenced" by ... ejitts!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

blastman wrote: »
    Al Porter is not funny in the same way that cancer is not funny. He should be, given his reputation for stealing jokes, but he's not.

Al Porter is a swing/jazz singer who does songs like I Ain't Got Nobody and that's what he should be promoted doing. RTE have decided to turn him into a crude gay comedian who embarrasses the gay community. That's not Al's fault, Tubridy egged him on. And Tubridy is probably told by the geniuses producing this show that this is the way to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,043 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

blastman wrote: »

If I was on a desert island with Al Porter and a tin of corned beef, I'd eat Al Porter and talk to the corned beef.

EVENFLOW