Lock, Stock and Chitchat a Seacht

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

TITANIUM. wrote: »
    Fecking timing belt just snapped on the jeep. It would happen on a Sunday, where in the name of God am I going to get one today. Trapped on out farm not.

How did it happen without wrecking the engine. It happened once here in a second hand car and it done about two grands damage to the engine, luckily it was within a six mth warranty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

rangler1 wrote: »
    How did it happen without wrecking the engine. It happened once here in a second hand car and it done about two grands damage to the engine, luckily it was within a six mth warranty

I have no idea. I had just dropped herself and the small to the shops and went to the yard.first I saw the battery light on and then saw the temperature high. Pulled up and popped the bonnet and there the belt was broken clean in 2.
    I have no idea what kind of damage I've done yet. But it did seem to be driving fine till I pulled up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭davidk1394

A big congratulations is in order for Carrolls number 1. His after setting down :P

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭Jack the Stripper

I have no idea. I had just dropped herself and the small to the shops and went to the yard.first I saw the battery light on and then saw the temperature high. Pulled up and popped the bonnet and there the belt was broken clean in 2.
    I have no idea what kind of damage I've done yet. But it did seem to be driving fine till I pulled up.

That is not the timing belt.

Panic somewhat over twas the fan belt I was looking at. That'll tell you how mechanicallyminded I am. The timing belt warning light coming on in the dash must have been triggered by milage and some coincidence to the fan belt giving way.

Is it an Isuzu you are driving?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,398 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

Panic somewhat over twas the fan belt I was looking at. That'll tell you how mechanicallyminded I am. The timing belt warning light coming on in the dash must have been triggered by milage and some coincidence to the fan belt giving way.

A pair of tights will get you home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,471 ✭✭✭naughto

Ha very good. Dunno what anthem would have gotten the Clare lads going at all.

Absolutely dying today... man flu. OH made pancakes today and I only ate 1. Haven't even popped into the shed yet.?Its our family day today but she will have to drive.
    Down with man flu my self such a cough I have like a calf roaring is what iam told I sound like. Will have to take a trip to the doc tomorrow it's going for nearly a week st this stage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,471 ✭✭✭naughto

He will be cold with out his own pair

naughto wrote: »
    He will be cold with out his own pair

Don't Lidl have racing gear at the moment?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭davidk1394

What do yeah make of this for absolute horse shíte

Is it an Isuzu you are driving?

Nope a Hilux

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭ganmo

davidk1394 wrote: »

saw it on the boards around the rugby match yday, whoever is behind it has loads of money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,688 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

ganmo wrote: »
    saw it on the boards around the rugby match yday, whoever is behind it has loads of money

Celebrities donations no doubt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

I'd say a pair of the tights would of kept several lads away from home

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

As if the beef/lamb trade wasn't bad enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,722 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Anyone else watching Waterford and Kilkenny trying to kill each other. Some hits going in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,542 ✭✭✭tanko

Anyone else watching Waterford and Kilkenny trying to kill each other. Some hits going in.

Tough stuff alrite, good win for Waterford. Was watching it and listening to Cavan v Monaghan on the radio at the same time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

rangler1 wrote: »
    As if the beef/lamb trade wasn't bad enough

Vegan rugby players. Hmm I wonder. There's a couple near me vegetarian and they look miserable. Always a pale anaemic complexion.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,055 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

Seems factually correct, for snatch calving, once you strip away the sentimentality and anthropomorphism.

'I could no longer participate in that. Can you?'

Yes, is my answer. I've squared away the ethics of it years ago. Some people obviously haven't. It just goes to show the disconnect that exists, which started with the industrial revolution.

The other side of my living with the reality that we eat meat and drink milk is that animal welfare is real and not just paid lip-service.

It's a balance, I imagine, we've all made subconsciously or not.

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

Good idea for a scam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭ganmo

greysides wrote: »
    Seems factually correct, for snatch calving, once you strip away the sentimentality and anthropomorphism.

'I could no longer participate in that. Can you?'

Yes, is my answer. I've squared away the ethics of it years ago. Some people obviously haven't. It just goes to show the disconnect that exists, which started with the industrial revolution.

The other side of my living with the reality that we eat meat and drink milk is that animal welfare is real and not just paid lip-service.

It's a balance, I imagine, we've all made subconsciously or not.

i wonder would the vegetable lads get pissed if there was a rival campaign along the lines of
    'would you pick your food off the floor?'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

All those earthworms etc mulched up with powerharrows, stonepickers and veg harvesters?! A lot of these campaigns stem from an ignorance and a skewing of the facts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,633 ✭✭✭✭Water John

They'll get really excited at the farmer on ETTG, knocking off the male calves that have no value.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

I was wondering where they got the thing about cows living to 25 years old.

Then I found it.
    https://animalcorner.co.uk/animals/cows/

I think an average of 6 years may have been mentioned in a reply on here to a poster.

These people live on the internet and get their info from the net and all their concept of a farm comes from the media and the net.

Be careful what you post it could be taken up the wrong way.

There's a war going on atm the moment. A war of ignorance and a war of hearts not minds.

We look after our stock to the best or else we wouldn't be in business.
    But to people who put ads in the paper like that we are the enemy and are always wrong.

I wish I could post this better and in a more eloquent way like Kowtow could.
    But just be careful folks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,411 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Not being able to sleep at night is a scourge:(
    And I'm not the morning person I used to be either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,847 ✭✭✭✭Shannon757

_Brian wrote: »

It is hard when your body clock can't keep up

Shannon757 wrote: »
    It is hard when your body clock can't keep up

Mine doesn't have anything to keep up with !!
    I haven't worked shift work since 2009 but the Insomnia still happens anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,688 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

_Brian wrote: »

Yeah I'm back to the same boat as yourself again. 5 hours it took me to fall asleep last night. Bloody wrecked now

Reggie. wrote: »
    Yeah I'm back to the same boat as yourself again. 5 hours it took me to fall asleep last night. Bloody wrecked now

Two weeks bar the odd night, was after 3am when I got to sleep and alarm was off before seven. I find it usually lasts a few weeks and then goes away for a while.

I know before i finished niggtns I did loose the run of things, I was taking Anything drowsy to get me three hours sleep during the day and then overnight drinking a lot of coffee, maybe 10-12 mugs. I thought things would settle but still get bouts of insomnia, doc said it may never pass.