Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread MOD WARNING POST #2944

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

I've heard talk of 40,000 odd, but I'd be surprised if it gets that. That kind of attendance is usually reserved for Kerry and Mayo games. The bitter cold and the rugby being on the same day, often has a knock on effect on attendances too, so I'd say around 30,000 odd. Hope I'm wrong, the place is like a morgue when it's that empty. Gven the hordes at the Cavan/Dublin game last weekend, I just might be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,387 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

How many does Parnell hold?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭Kavrocks

ProudDUB wrote: »
    Is it not closer to 10,000 because of Health and Safety?

Don't think so. There was well over 10,000 at the Vincents/SOPER final a few years ago. Think it was reduced down to 13,400, from the low 20's or upper teens, after the health and safety audit.

Many congrats to SN. Vinnies just not at the races all day. Some game from McKaigue. Now on to Croker, to enact some retribution on another crowd of dem durty Nordies !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

Many congrats to SN. Vinnies just not at the races all day. Some game from McKaigue. Now on to Croker, to enact some retribution on another crowd of dem durty Nordies !

Vincent's were outfought on the day really, stats showed possession 66%-34% in Slaughtneil's favour which you wouldn't often see in gaelic football except a one-sided mismatch which this certainly wasn't. Slaughtneil aren't especially pleasing on the eye but I'm sure they won't care and it would be a monumental achievement if they get to both finals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 Conto

Is the match on TV?

Conto wrote: »
    Is the match on TV?

Yeah. Eir Sport 1.

Ah right was thinking if it was a bit bigger the game could be better there but no matter.

Bloody Baltic here in Croker. They'll be lucky to have 30,000 odd here tonight....and if they do, that'll be the season ticket holders & what not all counted. It won't be actual bums on seats.

Hurlers held their own for the first 20 mins or so, but its all one way traffic now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Ditch Cunningham after the league, absolutely no point in him being near a Dublin team now. Cuala lads aren't going to make a difference

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 dean o gamhna

Hi stoner,I read in one of your posts that you had a poster from magill magazine from 1983 just wondering if you still have it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

We're useless in the wet. I keep telling you all ha ha ha

If ever you question why the GAA introduced the black card just watch Tyrone. Horrible all round. Horrible tactics, time wasting and diving.

Referee had a shocker. Think we got one soft free off him all night, at the end!

But fair play to Tyrone, they were well up for it. More than us. When they drove at us with runners through the middle they got in easy enough. Worrying enough. They kicked a lot of wides.

We were unwilling to take on any long shots. Taking too much outta the ball all night. Too many forwards were quiet. Knew Dean would miss that pen. But good come back all the same.

OGara useless tbh.

Just glad we didn't lose to them. They'd have been delighted going back to Northern Ireland with a win.

Christ almighty what a load of crap. The ref gave ye absolutely everything. I've honestly read it all now.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,812 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatInABox

Slattsy wrote: »

OGara useless tbh.

He's always needed a bunch of games to get going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Nidgeweasel

That will benefit you far more than Tyrone.

Outstanding finish by Dublin. There is no scenario now that you think Dublin will be found wanting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,790 ✭✭✭Bret Hart

31 games now and counting. It'll take some side to stop this Dublin team from,winning 3 in a row and right now there's not a side in the country that has the quality, or belief too knock us off our perch. Not at there best tonight,but still showed unbelievable resilience,in the face of adversity.

On too play Donegal next,before facing the perennial bottlers.

That will benefit you far more than Tyrone.

Outstanding finish by Dublin. There is no scenario now that you think Dublin will be found wanting.

Maybe.. They've been around long enough so we should have known what to expect.

We were poor tonight, i thought. A game we should have lost, but managed to get something out of it. Those lads will always keep going tbf to them, plenty of bottle and metal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

If Tyrone knew how to kick points they'd have won handily

McCarthy and Fenton messed up a rake of good attacks. O'Gara was wasting his time, no good winning ball if you can't turn or stay on your feet.

What's really worrying is how often Tyrone ran the ball straight up the middle without a blue shirt getting near them.

Maybe.. They've been around long enough so we should have known what to expect.

We were poor tonight, i thought. A game we should have lost, but managed to get something out of it. Those lads will always keep going tbf to them, plenty of bottle and metal.

How much training have they done? Mickey will have had this fixture signposted for months to put down a statement. Have to take all these things into consideration.

Payers coming in made a huge difference.

Bret Hart wrote: »
    31 games now and counting. It'll take some side to stop this Dublin team from,winning 3 in a row and right now there's not a side in the country that has the quality, or belief too knock us off our perch. Not at there best tonight,but still showed unbelievable resilience,in the face of adversity.

On too play Donegal next,before facing the perennial bottlers.

The streak will end in Ballybofey! :p

How much training have they done? Mickey will have had this fixture signposted for months to put down a statement. Have to take all these things into consideration.

Payers coming in made a huge difference.

Yeah fair point. You're so wise!

3 weeks training I believe. Still sweating out the Jamaican run.

Yeah fair point. You're so wise!

3 weeks training I believe. Still sweating out the Jamaican run.

Red Stripe stays in the system for a good 4 weeks!

Couldn't tell ya, im a Scotch man.

Rum is vile!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,078 ✭✭✭Muff Richardson

They'd have been delighted going back to Northern Ireland with a win.

Aside from your expert knowledge of penalty kick outcome forecasting why is it necessary to point out that Tyrone is in Northern Ireland? "dem nordies"

Dem nordies do an awful lot more than the rest of us in the comfort of the republic to remain loyal to our Irish tradition, culture, heritage and in particular the GAA, all in the face of constant adversity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,023 ✭✭✭Donal55

5 points up and all their men behind the ball. Dublin will have to learn to play against this sh1te football.
    More of the same in two weeks time.

Donal55 wrote: »
    5 points up and all their men behind the ball. Dublin will have to learn to play against this sh1te football.

In fairness, all their men were behind the ball when it was scoreless.

Aside from your expert knowledge of penalty kick outcome forecasting why is it necessary to point out that Tyrone is in Northern Ireland? "dem nordies"

Dem nordies do an awful lot more than the rest of us in the comfort of the republic to remain loyal to our Irish tradition, culture, heritage and in particular the GAA, all in the face of constant adversity.

Tyrone is in Northern Ireland.

They are presumably returning back to Northern Ireland tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,413 ✭✭✭tanko

Donal55 wrote: »

Don't suppose you saw St Vincents playing with 15 men in their own half for most of the game earlier today, Sh1te football indeed.