Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cyclists mega-thread (WARNING: Before posting you must read post #1)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

cdebru wrote: »
    I don't think so, it is mixed messages if it is not OK to cycle on the footpath then why keep putting cycle lanes on footpaths ? If it is not OK to cycle through a red light why keep designing traffic junctions that ignore cyclists ? The new contra flow at Camden street is a perfect example, cyclists can use it but don't set of the lights only a bus will trigger the lights, so what do you do ? Sit there waiting for a bus or jump the light. Thousands of cyclists face this every day leaving an estate with a light only triggered by a motor vehicle etc.

You learn patience :)
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=94037148&postcount=9
    from DreamerB

Sorry for the delay in getting back to this. Work is seven shades of frantic. After Doctor Bob's helpful posts (and his cycling the route especially to check my allegations), I spent a few commutes carefully observing how the lights are working.

He's perfectly right about the pedestrian lights at the Bleeding Horse.<snipped>.
    I think you have to differentiate between the cyclists who just boot through a pedestrian crossing or junction and dont give a **** and those who stop give way and take off if the road is clear, the same with those who mount the footpath because the road way is completely blocked and they are getting around the blockage and those who just bfly down a footpath and think pedestrians should get out of their way.

Err, both are breaking the same laws, why differentiate?
    Taking off a little early at a red light if the way is clear is often a lot safer than fighting for road space with cars, buses and trucks and the new cycle lights in the city center are I believe supposed in the future to give cyclists a green ahead if other traffic for that exact reason.

Correct, and until such time as a set of lights is updated then follow the law
    Other times it is a lack of common sense provision of infrastructure take Clare street/ Leinster street Nassau street, why isn't there a contra flow by cycle lane to the Dublin bikes station, do we seriously expect cyclist to go all around pearse street and back down or off uptowards Stephens Green and down Dawson street maybe the car parking spaces along there are more important.
    Again, correct but until such time as you are allowed, either walk the bike or follow the designated traffic route, probably even more so whilst road users are distracted trying to work out where they are meant to be while Luas works are in progress

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,761 ✭✭✭cdebru

Spook_ie wrote: »
    You learn patience :)
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=94037148&postcount=9

Err, both are breaking the same law, why differentiate?

Correct, and until such time as a set of lights is updated then follow the law

Again, correct but until such time as you are allowed, either walk the bike or follow the designated traffic route, probably even more so whilst road users are distracted trying to work out where they are meant to be while Luas works are in progress

I actually used it the day after it opened there was a guy there from Dublin cycling handing out a leaflet and bike lights and the lights didn't change and he informed me that they were set up to change only for buses, if they have changed that's welcome but that is how they were set up when it opened. Also it doesn't address the lights all over the city that are set up to only be triggered by a motor vehicle? What should you do there wait for a car to come and change the lights ?

One is breaking the law without any thought for their own or anyone elses safety the other is protecting themselves from mixing with vehicles that can kill them at one of the most dangerous times taking of from a stop, they are completely different. The same way legally you shouldn't cross a stop line at traffic lights but when cycling it is often safer to do so to try and ensure traffic can see you especially at junctions that dont have the stacking area for cyclists.

I don't use Dublin bikes but I see loads of users taking the direct route either on the footpath or going against the flow of traffic everyday and common sense would say it is stupid to place a bike station on a one way street and not provide access.

Also during the strong wind there a few weeks back I saw a few people take to the footpaths and I wouldn't be blame them as long as they are not putting pedestrians at risk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,905 ✭✭✭Aard

I don't use Dublin bikes but I see loads of users taking the direct route either on the footpath or going against the flow of traffic everyday and common sense would say it is stupid to place a bike station on a one way street and not provide access.

You're absolutely right. A few that come to mind are:

- Cathal Brugha Street: it'd be nice to be able to cycle straight onto O'Connell Street, especially to access Parnell St westbound.

- Parnell Street: difficult to access the station to/from the westbound carriageway.

- Great Strand Street: no access to Liffey St; huge detour via Capel Street necessary to get onto the north quays.

- Exchequer Street: no access onto George's Street.

- Greek Street: no access onto north quays.

- Smithfield: generally confusing oneway system and cobbled streets (impossible to cycle on); I'm sure nobody uses the streets here according to the one-way system.

In most of these cases, there is plenty of space to put in a 1.5m contraflow lane. It's often the case that there are double yellow lines along these routes so there wouldn't even be a loss of car parking (not that I would particularly lament it if there were).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭HydeRoad

This is what happens when people who don't cycle in Dublin, design cycle lanes; people who don't drive buses, design bus lanes; people with no real interest in any of this, appoint the people to plan it all.

It is not for want of people to plan these things properly. Rather, the problem lies in rotten government, local and national. People who can do their jobs properly are not wanted, because they show up all the others who are there solely because of their connections, and their party politics.

There's no answer to this. Excuse me for being a cynic. You're banging your head off a wall explaining why things should be better designed than they are. It's plainly obvious they should. But it's not wanted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,394 ✭✭✭Sheldons Brain

I wonder do the cyclists yield to the pedestrians?

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 14,109 Mod ✭✭✭✭monument

Off-topic post moved from this thread: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057461776

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭pclive

I actually used it the day after it opened there was a guy there from Dublin cycling handing out a leaflet and bike lights and the lights didn't change and he informed me that they were set up to change only for buses, if they have changed that's welcome but that is how they were set up when it opened. Also it doesn't address the lights all over the city that are set up to only be triggered by a motor vehicle? What should you do there wait for a car to come and change the lights ?

If you position your bicycle (metal framed bikes only) over the induction loop detector before the stop line you will call the phase. Works for me every time

Bicycle induction loops are also on the contra flow at the Bleeding Horse similar to the ones used on the Grand Canal cycle track

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 redmicky

HydeRoad wrote: »
    This is what happens when people who don't cycle in Dublin, design cycle lanes; people who don't drive buses, design bus lanes; people with no real interest in any of this, appoint the people to plan it all.

Its not what you know, its who you know.
    NTA is just a handy job for people loyal to the party, they are making a mess of things.
    How hard can it be to sort it out?
    1, make fare simple.
    2, straighten out routes.
    3, remove at least 20% of stops.
    4, get the police to arrest a few of the dirt bags on public transport.
    This would take many people out of their cars onto public transport, freeing up more road space making it safer for cyclists, even more would leave the car to cycle and it would only increase the safety on the roads, leading to more cyclist, less traffic, the bus could travel faster. Better for everyone.
    Thats all it would take to vastly improve the transport in dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 205 ✭✭ceannair06

Never. Ever, ever, ever. I walk up from Heuston daily and dream Dame Street/Great George's Street. Cyclists couldn't give a **** about pedestrians.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 205 ✭✭ceannair06

HydeRoad wrote: »

It is not for want of people to plan these things properly. Rather, the problem lies in rotten government, local and national. People who can do their jobs properly are not wanted, because they show up all the others who are there solely because of their connections, and their party politics.

There's no answer to this. Excuse me for being a cynic. You're banging your head off a wall explaining why things should be better designed than they are. It's plainly obvious they should. But it's not wanted.

How does the design of a road excuse running a red light en masse oblivious to pedestrians trying to cross ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

ceannair06 wrote: »
    How does the design of a road excuse running a red light en masse oblivious to pedestrians trying to cross ?
    It doesn't. And in no part of that post was he excusing anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,925 ✭✭✭RainyDay

ceannair06 wrote: »
    Never. Ever, ever, ever. I walk up from Heuston daily and dream Dame Street/Great George's Street. Cyclists couldn't give a **** about pedestrians.
    All of them? They're all the same, are they? Or is it just possible that you only notice the ones who are causing problems? BTW, do you notice the drivers breaking the red lights too? And speeding? And on their phones?
    redmicky wrote: »
    How hard can it be to sort it out?
    You know your job? It's as hard as that.

Except with the added bonus of changing political priorities and changing resources.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,295 ✭✭✭n97 mini

I've been driving in south Dublin after dark a lot lately and I'm astonished at the number of cyclists with no lights. So I decided to do a count the other night. 12 out of 20 had none at all and only around 4 had full front and rear lights.

Last night I nearly hit one with no lights cycling across a junction in Donnybrook (he broke a red light too, another common phenomenon). So I decided to contact the ministers for transport and justice as enforcement seems to be absent.

Anyone else witnessing what seems to me to be a chronic problem?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,522 ✭✭✭Wheety

I've seen it a lot too and they tend to be wearing dark clothes too. Very hard to see them. Do they have a death wish?

I say this as a cyclist too in case people think I'm cyclist bashing. it's just common sense to have lights on your bike at night time and high-vis too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,498 ✭✭✭Fighting Tao

Ah the famous bike ninjas that apparently can't be seen but really are seen. Some people have a death wish. To quote Forrest Gump...Stupid is as stupid does. As a driver, cyclist and pedestrian I don't understand it but then the human brain works (or sometimes doesn't work) in mysterious ways.

The cycling forum has it's own thread on it too: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=101668803

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,121 ✭✭✭amcalester

I see the same fella each evening dressed in all black with no lights on his bike, surely only a matter of time until he comes a cropper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,203 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

If the guards can put a checkpoint on the M50, it shouldn't be too hard to stand in the cycle lane on the quays and pull over every cyclist who does not have lights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,236 ✭✭✭lucernarian

It's incredible how many people do that despite the law being clear on the requirement for over 50 years now.

More people are kitted with high vis clothing than lights in my experience, if on their own bike.

I suspect thats in part due to free high vis jackets being easy enough to come by from RSA etc., and the mistaken emphasis in the public domain on high vis clothing even though it's not a legal requirement.

One blessing of the Dublin bikes scheme is that it's much easier to see them coming with their lights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,712 ✭✭✭Hrududu

I genuinely think some people think "If I can see you then you can see me." Lots of ninjas out these evenings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,823 ✭✭✭✭First Up

Deedsie wrote:
    Not in a whataboutery way but cars with missing headlights/brake lights are also deadly.

Driving with broken lights is a human right - like free water. Of no interest to the RSA as it doesn't involve speed, texting or drink and we all know they are the only things that cause accidents.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,454 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

some of the lights you do see for sale - and being used - would barely qualify as a fairy light on a christmas tree. how about a regulation that to sell or use a light, it must meet a minimum standard?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

Sad thing is it's the motorists who are held to be at fault for hitting these idiots.

I cycle and drive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,229 ✭✭✭LeinsterDub

Sad thing is it's the motorists who are held to be at fault for hitting these idiots.

I cycle and drive.

And rightly so they are the ones in control of a ton of metal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,823 ✭✭✭✭First Up

In all cases?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,229 ✭✭✭LeinsterDub

First Up wrote: »
    In all cases?

In the vast majority of cases

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,612 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

anyone who cycles in the dark without lights is an idiot, and I say that as a regular cyclist and driver. You can buy LED lights in Dealz for €1.50 that are plenty bright - there's no excuse for not having any. A raggy old flourescent vest from when you worked on the sites in 1998 is not a substitute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,394 ✭✭✭✭Professor Moriarty

You should start a petition to remove legislation forcing cyclists to use lights at night. Stupid law and only a fool would see any point to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,665 ✭✭✭Macy0161

RSA and Gards continually focus on builders jackets and helmets rather than lights. They're done promotion campaigns on commuter routes giving out lights that don't meet the minimum requirements ffs. Their focus should be on lights, and ideally introducing standards that the likes of Germany have which make things clear cut.

It is the same with pedestrians - torso height reflective strips is what they suggest and give out. They should be recommending ankle/ arm bands and a torch!

Just for the bit of whataboutery though, I think I'm averaging about 3 times an evening (car) commute this week where I've flashed cars coming the other way for having no lights. That's not counting the ones just on driving lights, the ones in the same direction with no lights or those with only one working headlight. Like everything, it's people that are the issue not their mode of transport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,665 ✭✭✭Macy0161

RSA and Gards continually focus on builders jackets and helmets rather than lights. They've done promotion campaigns on commuter routes giving out lights that don't meet the minimum requirements ffs. Their focus should be on lights, and ideally introducing standards that the likes of Germany have which make things clear cut.

It is the same with pedestrians - torso height reflective strips is what they suggest and give out. They should be recommending ankle/ arm bands and a torch!

Just for the bit of whataboutery though, I think I'm averaging about 3 times an evening (car) commute this week where I've flashed cars coming the other way for having no lights. That's not counting the ones just on driving lights, the ones in the same direction with no lights or those with only one working headlight. Like everything, it's people that are the issue not their mode of transport.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 11,831 Mod ✭✭✭✭devnull

I also had an accident this week because a car had no lights, breaking the speed limit, ignoring traffic lights and came right for me, I narrowly avoided the car by turning very quickly but damaged the bike and now can barely move or walk because of the fact I have wounds and bruises all over.