Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Lions 2017 [MOD WARNING IN OP]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,525 ✭✭✭kilns

The Lions team could be a very interesting selection this time around because I believe that most of the teams in the six nations are teams which are better than the sum of their parts
    Even the much lauded England team have no real players of outstanding quality that are certainties for a test place

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

Really hard to give a **** about the Lions, so far away, so much can and will change. Personally I hope that the likes of Sexton, Murray don't travel, another concussion for let's face it an almost impossible task in NZ in a series that seems to have lost a ot of lustre since the 97 and 01 when the whole thing arguably peaked.
    It's fun while it lasts but too much written about it and a month later it's all but forgotten until the DVD comes out and we all watch it for Christmas and then forgotten again til 3 years later when the hype begins.
    Bah humbug.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,030 ✭✭✭jezzer

buck65 wrote: »
    Really hard to give a **** about the Lions, so far away, so much can and will change. Personally I hope that the likes of Sexton, Murray don't travel, another concussion for let's face it an almost impossible task in NZ in a series that seems to have lost a ot of lustre since the 97 and 01 when the whole thing arguably peaked.
    It's fun while it lasts but too much written about it and a month later it's all but forgotten until the DVD comes out and we all watch it for Christmas and then forgotten again til 3 years later when the hype begins.
    Bah humbug.

meow

Clegg wrote: »
    I think we have 6 definitely travelling and 1 probably. Two front rows and two backrows, Murray and Henshaw. Sexton would be a definite but he has injury problems.

All these players would be in the test side for me as well. Or at least just outside it. I've no idea who could be in the wider squad for the midweek games however. There's a lot of competition for Zebo, Earls, Toner etc to make it. Not sure they're quite good enough.

As it stands Murray is the only cert for a starting place, no way Henshaw would get a starting slot, on the bench potentially.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,728 ✭✭✭Former Former

jezzer wrote: »
    As it stands Murray is the only cert for a starting place, no way Henshaw would get a starting slot, on the bench potentially.

I think Murray will definitely be on the plane but it is going to be a dogfight between him, Youngs and Webb for the starting jersey.

correct but i still think he will get the nod, for me hes the best 9 around right now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,634 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

To be fair, all the 9s were crap last week. I expect Murray to bounce back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,049 ✭✭✭✭bilston

Christ, Kearney is lucky to be getting on the plane to Rome this weekend nevermind New Zealand this summer.
    He wouldn't get ahead of Hogg, Halfpenny or Brown unless they all contracted Ebola.

Sexton can also forget about it the way Biggar, Farrell, Ford and Russell have been performing this season.

I reckon Ireland will have one of the poorest representations in recent memory.

Off the top of my head the only guarantees are Murray, Henshaw, Stander, McGrath and Furlong.

Haha Ebola! I have to agree with you though, wicked competition for full back, Brown will probably get the nod with Hogg as back up, maybe Halfpenny...Kearney has gone so far backwards, fair enough some recent decent displays but hes not a patch on the player he was, remember him and his brother Dave were the next big things, doing milk ads and all, both will be lucky to get places in the Leinster team over the next couple of years...

With sextons injuries I dont think they would chance bringing him so farrell will get the nod with Biggar as back up and Ford as 3rd choice

I think Murray is the only real possibility as a starter on the lions..

It shows you how far Ireland have fallen when its lightly Scotland will have more Lions than us...

Jeez what a fickle post...

bilston wrote: »
    Jeez what a fickle post...

meow

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,171 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

errlloyd wrote: »
    To be fair, all the 9s were crap last week. I expect Murray to bounce back.

Laidlaw was solid...

I think Stander is very likely to travel, along with both props and probably Best. Murray is a cert and Henshaw should make the plane. I don't think any of our locks will go and nobody from 5 to 11 looks like a candidate currently. Injuries will change that though and Zebo has to have some chance. Maybe O'Brien will go but will he be fit?

One player who is now in the highly unlikely bracket for me is Henderson. He's at nothing in the row and hasn't been beasting it up at all lately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,018 ✭✭✭Bridge93

Have people actually watched Dan Biggar play this year? Russell, Sexton, Farrell and Fore all ahead of him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,049 ✭✭✭✭bilston

Bridge93 wrote: »
    Have people actually watched Dan Biggar play this year? Russell, Sexton, Farrell and Fore all ahead of him

I've said it before but I think Sam Davies is one to watch. His versatility could be handy as well. We'll see how much of a role he has for Wales in the remaining 6Ns matches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,034 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

I think Gatland will take a shining to Henshaw if he hasn't already. Firstly he's big which Gatland loves. Secondly he's versatile with experience of playing at 12, 13 and 15.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭Dog Botherer

Murray still starts for my money. Youngs has stunk the place up all season for Leicester, and England looked a far better team when he came off on Saturday. Webb is still looking for form after a long injury layoff. Laidlaw is reliable but very average, would probably be under pressure for his spot if he wasn't captain and goalkicker. In fairness though he could be a bolter if he keeps up this form, Saturday was probably the best game of his career.

Bridge93 wrote: »

Dan Biggar is a class act, probably the best 10 in the northern hemisphere on his day (sexton aside).

Many many Welsh fans are calling for Davies to start. Biggar went off at half time last week, and Davies was a huge part of their revival. DB is out of format the moment, that's for sure.

I'm not running down the ireland team but it is a fact that we just dont have the world class players we used to have, we have some very good players but the main lads are almost over the hill and the young lads have to make massive improvements...heaslip, kearney and O Brien all have their best days behind them, Best is no spring chicken, Henshaw is promising but hes no Brian O Driscoll, Ringrose for me still hasn't lived up to all the hype, the pairing are no BOD and Darce.... Payne is a massive massive loss, its also time to give O Halloran a go at full back and next week against Italy is the time to do it.
    4 and 8 years ago the Irish lads were the backbone of the lions, now they will be lucky to be bit part players, thats just the way it is unfortunately

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

I think Biggar went off injured but many Welsh people were delighted he went off. There was some confusion as to whether he got the shepherds crook or was injured but either way they were happy.

Many many Welsh fans are calling for Davies to start. Biggar went off at half time last week, and Davies was a huge part of their revival. DB is out of format the moment, that's for sure.

Is Reece Priestland out of the picture now?

Teferi wrote: »
    I think Biggar went off injured but many Welsh people were delighted he went off. There was some confusion as to whether he got the shepherds crook or was injured but either way they were happy.

who normally starts at 10 for the Ospreys? Davies or Biggar?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

I'm not running down the ireland team but it is a fact that we just dont have the world class players we used to have, we have some very good players but the main lads are almost over the hill and the young lads have to make massive improvements...heaslip, kearney and O Brien all have their best days behind them, Best is no spring chicken, Henshaw is promising but hes no Brian O Driscoll, Ringrose for me still hasn't lived up to all the hype, the pairing are no BOD and Darce.... Payne is a massive massive loss, its also time to give O Halloran a go at full back and next week against Italy is the time to do it.
    4 and 8 years ago the Irish lads were the backbone of the lions, now they will be lucky to be bit part players, thats just the way it is unfortunately

Ringrose turned 22 two weeks ago, steady on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

Ringrose turned 22 two weeks ago, steady on!

Not to mention he's only played 2 international games at 13 and one of those was the non-event that was the Canada game. That's like judging Drico ahead of the RWC in 1999.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,560 ✭✭✭swiwi_

Teferi wrote: »

Was Davies really that good?

The Welsh seem to be jizzing their pants over his performance.

Admittedly I got bored with the match and abandoned it about the 70 minute mark (Italy - yawn), but I can't say I was thinking to myself that I was watching a masterclass at 10 by any means.

• Subscribers, Paid Member Posts: 43,565 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

swiwi_ wrote: »

Admittedly I got bored with the match and abandoned it about the 70 minute mark (Italy - yawn), but I can't say I was thinking to myself that I was watching a masterclass at 10 by any means.

Italy threw in the towel after the yellow card and did their best to gift Wales the tbp, but wales still fecked that up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,392 ✭✭✭✭Professor Moriarty

sydthebeat wrote:
    Italy threw in the towel after the yellow card and did their best to gift Wales the tbp, but wales still fecked that up

They looked very poor. Based on their display last Saturday, I think England will have too much for them though England lost cohesion when France got stuck in. Jones should have that sorted by next Saturday. No real standout team so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭Dog Botherer

Is Reece Priestland out of the picture now?

Playing outside of Wales and plays most of his rugby at 15 these days anyway. Very much a Madigan sort of situation, he's struggled a lot for form when he's played for Wales the last few years, can't see him in contention.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,171 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

swiwi_ wrote: »

He got turned over twice in his first five minutes, trying to make an immediate impact. Got a lot better but.. it was Italy and they were goosed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,820 ✭✭✭Tigerandahalf

A lot of the media seem to be very taken with Hogg but I think defensively he has a lot of issues.

I think it was him who slipped off of R Kearney the time he nearly made it to the tryline.

For me Halfpenny is nailed on for 15. He is the best goalkicker too. I think a lot of people forget just how good he was before his injury.

The wings are very weak for the Lions. I don't think there is one world class winger available unless T Bowe does a lazarus. Some people have written him off but I read a piece before he came back from injury and he was saying he was beating his speed PBs so don't write him off just yet. He will also be very fresh for a brutal tour.

Henshaw/J Davies at 12/13?

With Sexton looking doubtful it could be a straight shootout between Biggar and Farrell for 10.

Murray/Webb is a toss of a coin. Webb maybe has a greater impact from the bench.

Be interesting to see how Nathan Hughes goes for the rest of the tournament. Himself and Vunipola are good options. Stander has more versatility but not sure if he is powerful enough at international level yet to play 8. Grand at pro12/European level. He doesn't offload much either.
    Warburton is playing catchup but still you would fancy him.
    Given how good the NZ lineout will be the Lions might need a good lineout option at 6 or 8. I wouldn't rule out POM. He is a great leader and competitor and again would be very fresh.

Heaslip may not even travel especially if Vunipola is fit. Is Faletau due back?

I thought Toner would be the only lock to go but he has big competition from the Grays.

Rory Best's throwing issues are coming back to haunt him and his captaincy calls are far from great re going for goal/kick to touch.
    Ken Owens is a dark horse as is Ross Forde who both do the basics very well which is what you want.

Furlong still looks the best TH.
    Jack McGrath has looked a bit tired. He has played a lot of rugby over the last 12 months and often has played til the 70th minute.

AW Jones looking a safe bet for captain.

For me Halfpenny is nailed on for 15. He is the best goalkicker too. I think a lot of people forget just how good he was before his injury.

Halfpenny's goal kicking for Toulon has been absolutely carp so far this season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,820 ✭✭✭Tigerandahalf

Halfpenny's goal kicking for Toulon has been absolutely carp so far this season.

I haven't seen him for Toulon but I'd imagine he will sort those issues.

Just the one miss from 5 or 6 kicks on Sunday and that was from distance.