Tara Palmer-Tomkinson RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭coffeepls

Sorry to hear of her passing! I used to envy her lifestyle - she's near enough my age and she had some party life. 45 is too young to die. Ah TPT.
    Shame. RIP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,813 ✭✭✭PowerToWait

Her column in the ST was a bit of a guilty pleasure 15 years ago. Very desirable posh totty.

RIP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Summer wind

She had a lot of fun back in the day trying to corrupt William and Harry. Always seemed a nice lady. Sad to hear of her dying so young. May she Rest In Peace.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

Her column in the ST was a bit of a guilty pleasure 15 years ago. Very desirable posh totty.

RIP.

I was gutted when it was revealed it was ghost written.

God love her, she seemed like a bit of craic and seemed to have gotten over that drink/coke binge during her 20s. She was a dab hand at the piano too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 g2020

Meh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,059 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

The original It Girl was Clara Bow so TPT was not one of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,253 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

I liked her. She seemed good value and didn't take herself too seriously. Hope the next life is as good to her. RIP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

The original It Girl was Clara Bow so TPT was not one of them.

I stand corrected

It was only ghost written in the Sense she phoned it in and the columnist made it PG13

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭mark13

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,490 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Very desirable posh totty.

RIP.

This.

Terrible news all the same.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

g2020 wrote: »
    Meh.

8 years and just 15 posts and that's all we get. Why bother posting if you don't care.

AH, you puzzle me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,073 ✭✭✭pauliebdub

She seemed like a nice bubbly person who enjoyed life and had fun though there was obviously a darker side with demons such as drug addiction. I used to love reading her Sunday Times column back in the 90s and wished I had a fabulous life back then.

RIP Tara.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

45 is way too young to die :( It's a tragic loss for her poor family. She always seemed so full of life and enjoyed it. R.I.P. Tara.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,297 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

KERSPLAT! wrote: »
    I know next to nothing about her but 45, Christ :/

Yeah, people can die at any age, such is life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,069 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

mansize wrote: »
    Tara Palmer-Tomkinson has died at the age of 45 after being diagnosed with a brain tumour last year

Her poor family. RIP

Holy crap, this is the 1st I've heard of this.

shocked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,130 ✭✭✭Surreptitious

It's terribly saddening. I always thought she was very glamorous and have a devil may care attitude about her. She was also very pretty. RIP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,245 ✭✭✭✭bnt

Government resting upon the will and universal suffrage of the people has no anchorage except in the people's intelligence.

— Grover Cleveland

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

I read the first page and skipped to the last post and didn't bother reading.

This lady was close to me in age, and in her time was a real IT girl.

She grew up, dealt with her drug addiction, was vocal about it and just as life seemed to be getting good, she has died.

When I heard the news earlier I was genuinely sad, not for me, or her family, but for her, and everything that she might have done were she still here.

I hope she is now at peace

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

mark13 wrote: »

RIP to the lady. She always seemed up for fun in interviews. On a side note though, is that Karl Pilkington at 3.26 in the video?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,456 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

When an IT girl dies is the correct term RIPIT girl?

Or what is the social convention?

When I saw the name on the TV screen ticker my initial reaction was, who?

An information technology woman CEO I never heard of?

Then I saw her picture.

Oh! Yer wan! The mad posh serial partier wan.

She lived a long time considering her "profession".

She will continue to rip it up, if there is some form of afterlife.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,687 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

I remember that interview. Was hilarious.

Was reading the funny tribute to her in popbitch today and they claim it was rumoured she once 'interrupted a bland bout of doggy-style by turning and asking 'I say, you couldn't take it up a notch, could you?'.

Probably not true but should be :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

She was young.
    RIP.