Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tara Palmer-Tomkinson RIP

• 08-02-2017 3:58pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭

Tara Palmer-Tomkinson has died at the age of 45 after being diagnosed with a brain tumour last year

One of the original IT girls. Her poor family. RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Didn't follow her antics but RIP all the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

mansize wrote: »

Her poor family.

Indeed.

Her feckless shenanigans must have given them more than their share of sleepless nights down through the years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

Recognised her face but had to give a Google to see where I knew her from. Her Wiki is tje first place I've ever seen the phrase "it girl".

Rest in peace.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 681 ✭✭✭Mr. FoggPatches

rip

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,633 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

RIP and all that but what exactly is she famous for?

Why would people in Ireland care?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,557 Mod ✭✭✭✭yerwanthere123

I'm sure there'll be lots of smart comments posted here later, but Tara seemed like a nice person and to die so young is incredibly sad, so rip.

I always wonder why people post on threads that doesn't affect them, then I remember boardsies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭emeldc

murpho999 wrote: »
    RIP and all that but what exactly is she famous for?

Why would people in Ireland care?

Prince Charles' god child apparently, among other things.
    I always felt she thought she was more important than she really was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,311 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

I always wonder why people post on threads that doesn't affect them, then I remember boardsies
    The same could be said for you starting this thread.
    I always wonder why people start threads about a person that doesn't affect them, then I remember boardsies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭Ann22

Very sorry to hear this. I liked her on I'm a celebrity and in other stuff. Her brain tumour was supposed to be benign. Wonder what happened to her?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Ferrari3600

Very sad!

I preferred the other one of the It girls, she had better jugs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Ferrari3600

Ann22 wrote: »
    Very sorry to hear this. I liked her on I'm a celebrity and in other stuff. Her brain tumour was supposed to be benign. Wonder what happened to her?

She took an extended break in Bolivia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

emeldc wrote: »
    One of the first people I remember being famous for....eh.... just being famous I guess!
    The makers of reality TV shows will have one less 'go-to' applicant after today.
    If cause of death is due to brain tumour, it's a sad and scary way to go.

I started the thread cos I used read her Times Column and was saddened to read of her death.

It's not as if it's one for the coveted boards likes... 😒

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭infogiver

emeldc wrote: »
    Prince Charles' god child apparently, among other things.

She was a kind of pre cursor to the Kardashians et al. She had the idea that we working class folk would be delighted to live vicariously through her high jinks.
    She gave the gossip columnists something to write about.
    RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,058 ✭✭✭✭anewme

simply known as TPT - grew up with her bring a celebrity and her wild carry on(she is my age group)

She had problems wth drugs, alcohol and was I suppose the original wild child or IT girl who settled a lot in later years.

Despite her outgoing sassy persona, she came across as vulnerable underneath and a genuine nice person . She accepted her illness with a quiet dignity.

She lived her life to the full.

Rip- 45 is no age

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,761 ✭✭✭✭degrassinoel

infogiver wrote: »
    She was a kind of pre cursor to the Kardashians et al. She had the idea that we working class folk would be delighted to live vicariously through her high jinks.
    RIP

I need you to write my epitaph when the time comes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,016 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

RIP

UK's Paris Hilton

RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Got my hopes up. Was confusing her with Gavin Lambe Murphy.

anewme wrote: »
    simply known as TPT - grew up with her bring a celebrity and her wild carry on(she is my age group)

She had problems wth drugs, alcohol and was I suppose the original wild child or IT girl who settled a lot in later years.

Despite her outgoing sassy persona, she came across as vulnerable underneath and a genuine nice person . She accepted her illness with a quiet dignity.

She lived her life to the full.

Rip- 45 is no age

If I was laying there dead on some Baltimore street corner, I'd want it to be her standing over me, catching the case. Because, sister, when she was good, she was the best we had.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

RIP

To be fair her column was kinda amusing, albeit in a semi appalling way. Very much of its time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,194 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

She was like a sort of girlie Ross O'Carroll-Kelly. Only real. There was no great harm in her. RIP Ms. PT.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 945 ✭✭✭red ears

She had some sort of rare auto immune disease and a non malignant brain tumor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

I know next to nothing about her but 45, Christ :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,023 ✭✭✭Satriale

"Celebreeties" usually give me the sh1ts, but any interviews i saw she seemed like a gas cailín, I'd have gone on the lash with her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

she seemed to be permanently out of her box in the mid-late 90's

sure weren't we all

RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

Alternative thread title.
    Resources freed up for for worthwhile person.

Oh and rip, I suppose.

I get that people can be indifferent to celebrity deaths, but this is pretty harsh

• Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭Neyite

She didn't die of a brain tumour. It's not one that you die of. The cause of death is unexplained.

She had an auto-immune condition and late last year she was diagnosed with a prolactinoma. It's a benign growth on the pituitary gland which something like 10% of the population have. It's easily treated with a single tablet a day or fairly straightforward surgical removal if it grows large enough to impact on the optic nerve.

I've the very same prolactinoma. About 10% of you have and may never know you have one. It's quite unimpressive by brain tumour standards.

I get that people can be indifferent to celebrity deaths, but this is pretty harsh

I hold my hands up. Fair enough, you can remove the 'I suppose'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭coffeepls

Sorry to hear of her passing! I used to envy her lifestyle - she's near enough my age and she had some party life. 45 is too young to die. Ah TPT.
    Shame. RIP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭PowerToWait

Her column in the ST was a bit of a guilty pleasure 15 years ago. Very desirable posh totty.

RIP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Summer wind

She had a lot of fun back in the day trying to corrupt William and Harry. Always seemed a nice lady. Sad to hear of her dying so young. May she Rest In Peace.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

Her column in the ST was a bit of a guilty pleasure 15 years ago. Very desirable posh totty.

RIP.

I was gutted when it was revealed it was ghost written.

God love her, she seemed like a bit of craic and seemed to have gotten over that drink/coke binge during her 20s. She was a dab hand at the piano too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 g2020

Meh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

The original It Girl was Clara Bow so TPT was not one of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,902 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

I liked her. She seemed good value and didn't take herself too seriously. Hope the next life is as good to her. RIP.

The original It Girl was Clara Bow so TPT was not one of them.

I stand corrected

It was only ghost written in the Sense she phoned it in and the columnist made it PG13

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭mark13

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,208 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Very desirable posh totty.

RIP.

This.

Terrible news all the same.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

g2020 wrote: »
    Meh.

8 years and just 15 posts and that's all we get. Why bother posting if you don't care.

AH, you puzzle me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭pauliebdub

She seemed like a nice bubbly person who enjoyed life and had fun though there was obviously a darker side with demons such as drug addiction. I used to love reading her Sunday Times column back in the 90s and wished I had a fabulous life back then.

RIP Tara.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

45 is way too young to die :( It's a tragic loss for her poor family. She always seemed so full of life and enjoyed it. R.I.P. Tara.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

KERSPLAT! wrote: »
    I know next to nothing about her but 45, Christ :/

Yeah, people can die at any age, such is life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Tara Palmer-Tomkinson has died at the age of 45 after being diagnosed with a brain tumour last year

Her poor family. RIP

Holy crap, this is the 1st I've heard of this.

shocked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,130 ✭✭✭Surreptitious

It's terribly saddening. I always thought she was very glamorous and have a devil may care attitude about her. She was also very pretty. RIP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,074 ✭✭✭✭bnt

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

I read the first page and skipped to the last post and didn't bother reading.

This lady was close to me in age, and in her time was a real IT girl.

She grew up, dealt with her drug addiction, was vocal about it and just as life seemed to be getting good, she has died.

When I heard the news earlier I was genuinely sad, not for me, or her family, but for her, and everything that she might have done were she still here.

I hope she is now at peace

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

mark13 wrote: »

RIP to the lady. She always seemed up for fun in interviews. On a side note though, is that Karl Pilkington at 3.26 in the video?