Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trainspotting sequel

• Closed Accounts Posts: 300 ✭✭Robineen

Vertigo100 wrote: »
    the use of lust for life was fantastic as well. The little tease then the perfect ending. I actually thought people in the cinema were going to burst into applause. No one moved for a few minutes.

People did actually applaud it at the end in the Lighthouse cinema last night! And someone applauded Mark's updated Choose Life monologue. I was disappointed that he was given that monologue. It was never going to be as good as the first (and wasn't!) and how it happened felt a bit contrived. I just wish they had come up with someone new and memorable rather than going over old ground.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

Saw it today.

Very very disappointed Im sad to say.

It was all too bloody convenient.
    Spud is a master forger and Begbie is able to come and go as he pleases from his wife's house, no police covering the house, rubbish.

It just all felt so forced, so flat. I did enjoy the Spud narrative but other than that, nothing much to take from it.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

What year is it set lads? It appears to be our present but it I always thought Trainspotting was late 80s. The new one certainly isn't set in 2008 is it?

Either way I enjoyed it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭pumpkin4life

Weird film.Very weird film. Weird in that despite the fact that T1 is one of my favorite films, T2 is not marketed/geared/set up for someone like me at all.

T1: Essentially about making the choice between your friends and family (and these people can be complete psycho fùckups who will completely destroy your life if you let them) and what is best for you, with society telling you to stick with it all. That's the core of T1 imo.

T2: Essentially about being a nostalgia junkie, that having lived a disappointing life in middle age, that you head back in your head to that place where yous had the hope, the dream, the novel you wanted to write, the wan you should have stayed with, all of that. How do you move forward with this? All of that can fùck you up.

This is a movie made for 20-25 year olds in the 90s, who are 40-45 in the year 2017. Not someone like myself who is in the 20-25 year old mark right now and who saw T1 a couple of years ago. So, the movie lacks that emotional buzz that T1 had, for the sole reason it isn't for me. So it isn't really a flaw in that sense. But I'd bet dollar to donut the people that love it are older than the people who are younger for that reason.

With that out of the way:

The soundtrack isn't as good but some class tunes here and there. I get what the movie was going for with the nostalgia porn, but there was far too much of it and too in your face in my opinion, it isn't subtly done at all really.

The scene in the loyalist pub, and the toilet scene where
    Begbie and Renton meet up
    are both fùcking outstanding, and the last third of the movie really gives the first one a run for its money. The acting is superb. The direction is brilliant. Some of the the lines in the script are a bit dodge. The Spud subplot is a bit daft and the first third of the movie is slow enough to get off the ground.

Overall tldr: Good film, decent sequel and well worth a watch, will probably get better with age, but noticeably flawed and no where near the first in terms of quality.

It got an applause in my cinema as well lol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Robineen wrote: »
    In that scene, he had intentionally loaded up on amphetamines to purposefully mess up the interview and keep his social welfare. It's not a great comparison. In T2, I found him a bit cartoonish when he was not supposed to be under the influence of anything, just in general.

Yeah that's a fair point

The soundtrack isn't as good but some class tunes here and there. I get what the movie was going for with the nostalgia porn, but there was far too much of it and too in your face in my opinion, it isn't subtly done at all really...

Will be going to it next weekend...but the soundtrack does seem a bit lame compared to the first. Would have thought Underworld's "Low Burn" a shoo in, being perhaps their finest work in years, surprised it was omitted.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭pumpkin4life

Will be going to it next weekend...but the soundtrack does seem a bit lame compared to the first. Would have thought Underworld's "Low Burn" a shoo in, being perhaps their finest work in years, surprised it was omitted.

True but there's some great stuff there all the same. Both of these are top tunes. Underworld do a pretty good remix of Born Slippy as well:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,005 ✭✭✭pilly

I absolutely loved it but would like to see it again just to get every bit, there's bits I'm thinking now "what was happening there?".

Agree with some on here, soundtrack not great at all, there were times when I felt there should have been music and there wasn't but maybe that was on purpose.

I'd really have to watch it again to get it all!

1st film for years that's made me want an immediate re-run so definitely exciting from that point of view.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 785 ✭✭✭team_actimel

threeball wrote: »
    Crowds out the door in Galway tonight. Never seen such queues for a movie. Not a bad movie but the soundtrack is a big disappointment following on from one of the great soundtracks of all time in the original.
    I was so disappointed in the soundtrack I came away thinking less of the movie than i probably should.

Though the film was great. Soundtrack was disappointing though.
    Disappointed they didn't play 'Born Slippy'. Throughout the film they had slow instrumental snippets of it and it seemed like it would build up to being played at the end.

For me Sickboy didn't work but I think that's because I've been watching him in Elementary and he just seems to clean cut for it now.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Hopefully seeing this tonight. Sounds like it isn't a patch on T1 but works best as a nostalgia hit for old folk who loved the original back in the day. That'll do me!

Agricola wrote: »
    Hopefully seeing this tonight. Sounds like it isn't a patch on T1 but works best as a nostalgia hit for old folk who loved the original back in the day. That'll do me!

You will really enjoy it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭Tilikum

Saw it last night. Thought it was excellent.

Also must be one of the few that enjoyed the soundtrack.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Ferris_Bueller

I thought it was brilliant. Storyline is only okay but the characters are so good that they make up for it, very nostalgic with some of the references to the first one, I'd say the film would be lost on someone who hadn't seen the first one. Some of the scenes are hilarious
    the scene where Renton & Begbie are in the cubicals side by side was hilarious, that period of Begbie coming to the nightclub and ending up chasing Renton through the car park was great watching.
    Though the film was great. Soundtrack was disappointing though.
    Disappointed they didn't play 'Born Slippy'. Throughout the film they had slow instrumental snippets of it and it seemed like it would build up to being played at the end.

I thought the soundtrack was good. Different to the first in that I don't think it featured many really memorable songs from it's era
    Most of the memorable songs in it were older songs such as Radio Gaga & Relax.

I was incredibly disappointed that born slippy wasn't in it too. As you said, it felt as if the whole movie had been building up to the moment as it was teased on us in a few key scenes. I thought it was a missed opportunity for it not to come on at a really big scene towards the end.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,309 ✭✭✭Vertigo100

I think lust for life was the song they teased and the finished the film with it superbly. You hear the first few beats when Renton is going through his records. I said to my friend with me that I hope the play it in the correct place.

I was more than pleased the way they did it.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,385 ✭✭✭Nerdlingr

Saw it tonight and was disappointed with it. It's an average enough film, and the fact it's only really a companion piece to the first one that gives it any sort of saving grace.
    The story I thought was very weak. The flashbacks to the first film got a small bit annoying after a while. There's no need to keep on reusing clips from the first movie. There should have been more winks and nods than blatant flashbacks. Like the toilet scene in where renton has a look and goes to the next one. Great nod to T1 and nicely done.
    It's spuds movie really. Hes the only one really whos character develops in any way in the film. Great to see him get off a lifetime of drugs by doing a bit of writing!!
    and begbie having a change of heart over his son? Not buying it.
    Still it's not all bad. Good to relive the youth. And as someone else pointed out, and they were probably breaking the fourth wall with this, the film could be summed up by "youre a tourist in your own youth". Nostalgia. Its always nice to go back, but it's never really the way you remember it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭jcsoulinger

Seen this over the weekend, I was a bit apprehensive about watching it as I was a massive fan of the first one.

I left the cinema with a new appreciation of just how good the first one is. T2 is like a trip down memory lane it's grand full of nostalgia but no real substance, the storyline is nonexistent, Renton and Sickboy offer feck all, Spud is grand but maybe a bit OTT with the junkie done good routine sometimes, Begbie is excellent he's the best thing about the movie very funny altogether.

One of the things that really didn't sit right with me was Rentons choose life monologue, In the first one it was the perfect way to end the movie, with a smiling Renton escaping while we hear his thoughts about embracing a mundane drug free lifestyle internally while born slippy plays over it. In T2 I have no problem with the contents of what he said, It was the way it was presented he was on a date and he just said the monologue to your one with no music in the backround and no significant build up to it, It was really annoying, stupid, and above all not very Renton.

It's disappointing as if it had a more coherent storyline it could have been very good, but it's just a passable sequel 6/10

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭C. Montgomery Gurns

What year is it set lads? It appears to be our present but it I always thought Trainspotting was late 80s. The new one certainly isn't set in 2008 is it?

Either way I enjoyed it.

Very much 2016. The original Trainspotting book seemed to be set over a few years from the late 80's into the early 90's given the references they would make (IIRC when they're bringing the heroin to London Spud is wearing a Rep of Ireland Italia 90 shirt :pac:) but the film seems to have been in the 90's, concluding in 1996.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭Flaccus

Tilikum wrote: »
    Saw it last night. Thought it was excellent.

Also must be one of the few that enjoyed the soundtrack.

Same. Enjoyed the soundtrack especially Wolf Alice. Movie was all I hoped it would be. Great characters. Very nostalgic and sad in places.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,024 ✭✭✭homerun_homer

I was looking forward to this but had trepidation, regardless of the good reviews. I didn't like it. I'm not even in the middle about it, I just didn't like it. I didn't like the direction (for the most part), the soundtrack was lacking throughout (given how great the first films used the soundtrack) and it was too long. I would have been OK with the nostalgia factor but it was too much. I understand this is a film set 20 years later and the characters are reflecting back on their lives, but I don't need to see inserts of the original and constant footage of them as children.

I hated the cinematography. The digital cameras used to make this was far inferior to the look of the first film. There was a lot of digital grain and at times it looked like it was filmed on a phone, particularly the part where Renton is running past the fountain to get away from Begbie.

Overall it felt like a poor film version of the This is England TV show.

• Registered Users Posts: 218 ✭✭eldest200

Choose life, choose boards ie

• Registered Users Posts: 6,403 ✭✭✭run_Forrest_run

Just back from it, ah I enjoyed it as a trip down memory lane,
    the scene with Spud on the street after exiting the boxing gym
    just made the hairs stand on the back of my neck, very nostalgic moment (for me anyway) :D

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 20,992 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

I was looking forward to this but had trepidation, regardless of the good reviews. I didn't like it. I'm not even in the middle about it, I just didn't like it. I didn't like the direction (for the most part), the soundtrack was lacking throughout (given how great the first films used the soundtrack) and it was too long. I would have been OK with the nostalgia factor but it was too much. I understand this is a film set 20 years later and the characters are reflecting back on their lives, but I don't need to see inserts of the original and constant footage of them as children.

I hated the cinematography. The digital cameras used to make this was far inferior to the look of the first film. There was a lot of digital grain and at times it looked like it was filmed on a phone, particularly the part where Renton is running past the fountain to get away from Begbie.

Overall it felt like a poor film version of the This is England TV show.

The soundtrack is phenomenal, its of its time. Young Fathers, Wolf Alice and Fat White Family are 3 of the best alternative bands around. Then add in a healthy slice of nostalgia and it's a winner.

I thought the cinematography was great. The way it was shot was purposely horrible at times. I'm pretty sure Boyle was trying to parody YouTube phone videos in parts. Again, adding something modern.

The film wasn't without its flaws. But it was over all very enjoyable. It touched on the darkness of the books nicely. Some of the small pieces of back story were actually from Skagboys, a prequel to trainspotting, and I thought really added depth to the characters.

As a big Irvine Welsh fan, I was very happy leaving the cinema.

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

• Registered Users Posts: 7,024 ✭✭✭homerun_homer

Brian? wrote: »
    The soundtrack is phenomenal, its of its time. Young Fathers, Wolf Alice and Fat White Family are 3 of the best alternative bands around. Then add in a healthy slice of nostalgia and it's a winner.

I'm not saying the soundtrack was bad, I'm getting more at the impact it makes in the film, in comparison to how much impact the soundtrack made in the first film. I'm big into many of the bands and I couldn't wait to see how Fat White Family's tune would be used. I walked out disappointed that it was a no show and then heard the opening rhythm as the cinema door shut behind me. Wasted opportunity. Young Fathers was used well, probably the best use of new music in the film. Rubberbandits were just crammed in for no reason other than Danny Boyle got a stiffy for them when he was making it. I thought it'd be cool to see how My Dad's Best Friend gets used in it but it was disappointing. And being honest I didn't spot the Wolf Alice track being used. It must have been slight and unnoticeable.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,388 ✭✭✭MfMan

Seen this over the weekend, I was a bit apprehensive about watching it as I was a massive fan of the first one.

I left the cinema with a new appreciation of just how good the first one is. T2 is like a trip down memory lane it's grand full of nostalgia but no real substance, the storyline is nonexistent, Renton and Sickboy offer feck all, Spud is grand but maybe a bit OTT with the junkie done good routine sometimes, Begbie is excellent he's the best thing about the movie very funny altogether.

Wasn't expecting overmuch from it but enjoyed it nevertheless. Not as dark as the first one and more of a nostalgia-trip than plot-driven. Liked Sick Boy, seemed to be the most one with a plan, however ersatz, to succeed. Blondie's 'Dreaming' reminded me a bit of the Layla instrumental in Goodfellas for some reason.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,767 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Seen this in the cinema last night.
    No more than 20 people at it.

Thought it was very good, as someone who loved the first one I thought this one was a worthy successor.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users Posts: 825 ✭✭✭jameorahiely

I loved it. I thought it was very funny.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,183 ✭✭✭jobless

Saw this last night and really liked it... was never going to be as good as the first but for a sequel i thought it was great.
    Soundtrack is a cracker.... maybe those complaining havent heard of Young Fathers, Wolf Alice... but they are worth checking out.

I dont think he was ever gonna use the original Born Slippy in the film but the new version 'Slow Slippy' was excellently placed in the film... Even the version of Lust for life isnt the original

I fully expected to be disappointed going to this film but came out with a smile on my face.... I loved the nostalgia in the film but i can understand how younger people who werent around for the original might think it was overkill

• Registered Users Posts: 2,198 ✭✭✭artvanderlay

Saw it last week...very disappointed. Begbie is now a comedy character without any of the menace that made him such a scary psychopath, Spud is now some great story teller (it was much funnier in the book when Spud was writing a history of Leith, but it was rejected for being unintelligible sh*te!), the Sick Boy plot was weak (after a good start) and I can't stand Renton/Ewan McGregor (it's a pity Begbie didn't get him in the end). The scene with them improvising an anti-Catholic song was truly cringeworthy.

They should have based the story a lot more on Porno, and made Sick Boy the centre of the story. He has the best lines, and despite being so cynical, he keeps making the same mistakes, trusting Renton and others who rip him off. The book had a much more coherent story, and the characters were more in line with the original book/movie. The female character in the movie was threadbare...just there to listen to the boys talk sh*te...yawn! I had to go back and buy Porno again (or Trainspotting 2 as they are now calling it on reprinting) just to remind me what a true sequel should have been like. I think the final chapter in that book is one of the funniest chapters in any book.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭Larry SR

I was expecting way more from Sick Boy in the film, based on what his character was like in Porno.

Thought Begbie's character could have been a lot better too. Doesn't have the same menace he once did. I hope they never think of making the Blade Artist into a film as well.

Spud's book being chapters of the original Trainspotting was a superb touch.