Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Trainspotting sequel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87,498 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Renton's dad is in the celebrity big house :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Dots1982

Watching it again last night has there ever been a modern movie with so many great characters. Some relatable & some scary but all so mesmerising to watch and take in. The script obviously is superlative as well of course. The narration by Renton in the immediate aftermath of the baby dying is the greatest piece of script I think I've ever heard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,403 ✭✭✭Jan_de_Bakker

Dots1982 wrote: »
    Watching it again last night has there ever been a modern movie with so many great characters. Some relatable & some scary but all so mesmerising to watch and take in. The script obviously is superlative as well of course. The narration by Renton in the immediate aftermath of the baby dying is the greatest piece of script I think I've ever heard.

It's good allright, and what a tough tough scene ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,282 ✭✭✭gucci

I rewatched it myself at the weekend. Such a tight movie, sound track, pace, humour, drama, horror characters and cleverly shot without being too gimmacky....just a very very solid movie.

I am really hopeful that the sequel will be as solid, even if there is nothing new or hugely challenging.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭pumpkin4life

Did ye bring the cairds?

What?

The cairds, the last thing I told you was to mind the cairds!

Well, I've not brought them.

It's fùcking boring after a while without the cairds.

I'm sorry.

Bit fùcking late, like.

Why didn't you bring them?

CAUSE I FÙCKING TOLD YOU TO BRING THEM, YOU DOSS CÙNT!

image.jpg

Perfect film.

The scene were Renton is recovering in his room ... and the baby on the ceiling!!! :o

Scariest scene in a non horror film - easily.

The scene were Renton is recovering in his room ... and the baby on the ceiling!!! :o

Scariest scene in a non horror film - easily.

And Underworld "Dark and Long" underpinning that sequence...what a perfect choice... And the aftermath, the look the nurse gives him when he winces at the needle, the bingo hall...

I'm in the Junkie Limbo at the moment...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,451 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

And this variation on a theme was on TV over the weekend;

https://youtu.be/8aKbhR1pAHM?t=30s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,263 ✭✭✭bobbyss

What accent does McGregor, Bremner and Carlyle have in real life? I think they are all Scottish. Miler, I think, is English.

In the original book what accents are they? Glasgow/ Edinburg? Leith?

Do they reproduce this accent in the film?

In Trainspotting McGregor speaks the same, I think, as he does normally but I don't know which accent he has. But have the others, Bremner and Carlyle adapted their accent for the film?

Are there any Scots out there who can say if they are good at the required accents especially Miller as he is English?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,914 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

I think Carlyle has a bit of a knack for accents. He played a convincing Liverpool fan in Cracker in the 1990s, and Sheffield for The Full Monty, for example.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 Paulieniceguy

Danny Boyle to make Trainspotting sequel with original cast in middle age

Link.

Watched it for the first time in years the other day and I'm so excited about No2..

It's film I never expected to be made after reading the book when it came out. Which I enjoyed but could have lived without. So I expect changes and hopefully to the ending, the book ends
    pretty much the same as the 1st one with renton holding the cash and I doubt it will have a broken cock scene

• Registered Users Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭passremarkable

Missed the original during the week. Anywhere else showing it soon ?

• Registered Users Posts: 12 grumpyScotsman

Tickets booked to see it Saturday. Can't wait!

bobbyss wrote: »
    What accent does McGregor, Bremner and Carlyle have in real life? I think they are all Scottish. Miler, I think, is English.

In the original book what accents are they? Glasgow/ Edinburg? Leith?

Do they reproduce this accent in the film?

In Trainspotting McGregor speaks the same, I think, as he does normally but I don't know which accent he has. But have the others, Bremner and Carlyle adapted their accent for the film?

Are there any Scots out there who can say if they are good at the required accents especially Miller as he is English?

I read the book years ago, pretty sure it was Edinburgh ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,390 ✭✭✭Bowlardo

I read the book years ago, pretty sure it was Edinburgh ..

it is all based in leith in edinburgh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,309 ✭✭✭Vertigo100

Just out. Really enjoyed it. Spud is the star of the show.

Loved the last scene.

• Registered Users Posts: 125 ✭✭sanna

In the original book what accents are they? Glasgow/ Edinburg? Leith

]Do they reproduce this accent in the film?
    In Trainspotting McGregor speaks the same, I think, as he does normally but I don't know which accent he has. But have the others, Bremner and Carlyle adapted their accent for the film

Film is set in Edinburgh, Ewan Bremmer is from Edinburgh, Robert Caryle from Maryhill, Glasgow and McGregor is from Perth. Johnny Lee's accent speaking as a Scot was believable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Sugarlumps

Saw it last night, bang average.

• Registered Users Posts: 600 ✭✭✭DepecheHead101

I loved it. A lot less snappy than the first one, really. People won't be remembering dozens of lines from it and a lot of the comedy is toned down but it's very well done and even the flashback stuff is done in a very self aware way. Without spoiling anything one line from it is "you're a tourist in your own memories." That about sums it up.

Spuds the man, too. It sort of becomes his film, which I wasn't expecting.

The last 10 minutes of it give the last 10 minutes of the first one a run for it's money. It's pretty spectacular.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭Stojkovic

Saw it last night.
    Excellent.
    9/10.

• Registered Users Posts: 15 mch82

I really enjoyed it. Like most Danny Boyle films it looks and sounds great. The flashback scenes and the split screen stuff work well and the toilet scene is very funny. It really comes together well at the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,104 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

It was great, and I wasn't really expecting it to be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 300 ✭✭Robineen

3.5 out of 5 for me. Liked it, didn't love it. Not sure why. Will write a more thorough review when I've thought about it a bit more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

Didnt expect them to pull it off but I loved it. Just the right balance of pathos, humour and nostalgia. Split my sides laughing at the scene in the club with all the flags and loved the visual touch of the shadow on the wall when Mark goes home first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,824 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

Just home from it, very much enjoyed it have to say!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,827 ✭✭✭fred funk }{

Great film.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,267 ✭✭✭threeball

Crowds out the door in Galway tonight. Never seen such queues for a movie. Not a bad movie but the soundtrack is a big disappointment following on from one of the great soundtracks of all time in the original.
    I was so disappointed in the soundtrack I came away thinking less of the movie than i probably should.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,824 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

Wasn't 30 people in Oranmore!

• Registered Users Posts: 471 ✭✭jennyhayes123

I enjoyed it. More than I expected

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,162 ✭✭✭mrsdewinter

Well, I loved it! Love the visual flair Boyle brought to it. Loved the visual jokes - Renton bypassing the scuzzy nightclub toilet; later smiling at the driver of the SUV. Loved the extra dimensions brought to Spud & Begbie's character. Loved the Rubberbandits. Loved the soundtrack. Loved the reprising of the 'Choose Life' monologue.
    I actually left the cinema with tears in my eyes.
    I know it plays on fans' nostalgia for that time but I still felt that the characters were real enough, even if the plot was a bit flimsy, to sustain it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,973 ✭✭✭ShagNastii

It's a pure nostalgia-fest with countless throw-backs to almost every major fasset of the original film. The amazing thing is it's not for a second tiresome or in anyway forced. Like the above I came out of the cinema with a mile wide grin.

I'm a big fan of Walshe's and was harking for a sequel for years. So happy the film has only been made now. Just feels right.

• Registered Users Posts: 921 ✭✭✭benjamin d

I don't know how anyone could come out of that film grinning. The despair of the characters was really difficult to watch. Fantastic film, but definitely not a feel good nostalgia-fest. The nods to the original were good though and there were some hilarious scenes.
    And I loved the soundtrack.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭C. Montgomery Gurns

r. Loved the Rubberbandits. it.

Was that what that rubbish Sick Boy was watching was? As if it wasn't enough with people sharing their clueless political opinions on FB they intrude on feckin Trainspotting :pac:

Loved it myself, although having read both the books I feel they might have done better lifting a greater portion of the plot from the book Porno (the first Trainspotting is essentially straight from the book with many parts omitted, as the film would be literally 3.5 hours long if they got the whole book in). There are plenty of basic elements of the Porno plot but a lot of details changed (the passages from Spud's writings are directly from the books).

One thing I was wondering, did
    Sick Boy and Renton actually do heroin again? Or was it just a dream sequence? In the surreal world of Trainspotting it would make perfect sense that they would argue about the damage heroin had done to those around them and say **** it let's hit it again, but the scene was fairly trippy and outside reality. It doesn't seem to be Sick Boy's scene to end up a junkie, but then again even in the first film he was able to keep his use relatively recreational and switch off whenever he wanted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,390 ✭✭✭Bowlardo

I really didn't like the way "First there was an opportunity......then there was a betrayal." was said about 50 times near the end by spud and veronika.
    The soundtrack as a CD would not be a patch on the first one but the music was used very well throughout the film. especially the last song (the on used in the trailer).
    Some great scenes in it and begbie really walks the line from being cartoon character to absolutely menacing but manages to pull it off.
    Spud is amazing in it and it is a great ending.
    The flash backs of when they were kids was brilliant.
    So many positives that are even better on further reflection...the "choose Life" rant although force really tugged something inside me

Going against the flow here a bit but I thought Ewen Bremner overacted a bit in the film, felt a bit cartoonish at times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Robineen wrote: »
    Going against the flow here a bit but I thought Ewen Bremner overacted a bit in the film, felt a bit cartoonish at times.
    You can't really say he overacted in this when the character's best scene is this in the original.

Thought he stole the entire film tbh. Great character arc considering he's the comedic foil.

Had so many positives but Franko getting his relenting son into the family trade was fantastic.

You can't really say he overacted in this when the character's best scene is this in the original.

In that scene, he had intentionally loaded up on amphetamines to purposefully mess up the interview and keep his social welfare. It's not a great comparison. In T2, I found him a bit cartoonish when he was not supposed to be under the influence of anything, just in general.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,309 ✭✭✭Vertigo100

the use of lust for life was fantastic as well. The little tease then the perfect ending. I actually thought people in the cinema were going to burst into applause. No one moved for a few minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

Was that what that rubbish Sick Boy was watching was? As if it wasn't enough with people sharing their clueless political opinions on FB they intrude on feckin Trainspotting :pac:

Loved it myself, although having read both the books I feel they might have done better lifting a greater portion of the plot from the book Porno (the first Trainspotting is essentially straight from the book with many parts omitted, as the film would be literally 3.5 hours long if they got the whole book in). There are plenty of basic elements of the Porno plot but a lot of details changed (the passages from Spud's writings are directly from the books).

One thing I was wondering, did
    Sick Boy and Renton actually do heroin again? Or was it just a dream sequence? In the surreal world of Trainspotting it would make perfect sense that they would argue about the damage heroin had done to those around them and say **** it let's hit it again, but the scene was fairly trippy and outside reality. It doesn't seem to be Sick Boy's scene to end up a junkie, but then again even in the first film he was able to keep his use relatively recreational and switch off whenever he wanted

I thought it was a dream sequence, or at least 8t didnt actually happen

Vertigo100 wrote: »
    the use of lust for life was fantastic as well. The little tease then the perfect ending. I actually thought people in the cinema were going to burst into applause. No one moved for a few minutes.

People did actually applaud it at the end in the Lighthouse cinema last night! And someone applauded Mark's updated Choose Life monologue. I was disappointed that he was given that monologue. It was never going to be as good as the first (and wasn't!) and how it happened felt a bit contrived. I just wish they had come up with someone new and memorable rather than going over old ground.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

Saw it today.

Very very disappointed Im sad to say.

It was all too bloody convenient.
    Spud is a master forger and Begbie is able to come and go as he pleases from his wife's house, no police covering the house, rubbish.

It just all felt so forced, so flat. I did enjoy the Spud narrative but other than that, nothing much to take from it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

What year is it set lads? It appears to be our present but it I always thought Trainspotting was late 80s. The new one certainly isn't set in 2008 is it?

Either way I enjoyed it.

Weird film.Very weird film. Weird in that despite the fact that T1 is one of my favorite films, T2 is not marketed/geared/set up for someone like me at all.

T1: Essentially about making the choice between your friends and family (and these people can be complete psycho fùckups who will completely destroy your life if you let them) and what is best for you, with society telling you to stick with it all. That's the core of T1 imo.

T2: Essentially about being a nostalgia junkie, that having lived a disappointing life in middle age, that you head back in your head to that place where yous had the hope, the dream, the novel you wanted to write, the wan you should have stayed with, all of that. How do you move forward with this? All of that can fùck you up.

This is a movie made for 20-25 year olds in the 90s, who are 40-45 in the year 2017. Not someone like myself who is in the 20-25 year old mark right now and who saw T1 a couple of years ago. So, the movie lacks that emotional buzz that T1 had, for the sole reason it isn't for me. So it isn't really a flaw in that sense. But I'd bet dollar to donut the people that love it are older than the people who are younger for that reason.

With that out of the way:

The soundtrack isn't as good but some class tunes here and there. I get what the movie was going for with the nostalgia porn, but there was far too much of it and too in your face in my opinion, it isn't subtly done at all really.

The scene in the loyalist pub, and the toilet scene where
    Begbie and Renton meet up
    are both fùcking outstanding, and the last third of the movie really gives the first one a run for its money. The acting is superb. The direction is brilliant. Some of the the lines in the script are a bit dodge. The Spud subplot is a bit daft and the first third of the movie is slow enough to get off the ground.

Overall tldr: Good film, decent sequel and well worth a watch, will probably get better with age, but noticeably flawed and no where near the first in terms of quality.

It got an applause in my cinema as well lol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Robineen wrote: »
    In that scene, he had intentionally loaded up on amphetamines to purposefully mess up the interview and keep his social welfare. It's not a great comparison. In T2, I found him a bit cartoonish when he was not supposed to be under the influence of anything, just in general.

Yeah that's a fair point

The soundtrack isn't as good but some class tunes here and there. I get what the movie was going for with the nostalgia porn, but there was far too much of it and too in your face in my opinion, it isn't subtly done at all really...

Will be going to it next weekend...but the soundtrack does seem a bit lame compared to the first. Would have thought Underworld's "Low Burn" a shoo in, being perhaps their finest work in years, surprised it was omitted.

True but there's some great stuff there all the same. Both of these are top tunes. Underworld do a pretty good remix of Born Slippy as well:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,005 ✭✭✭pilly

I absolutely loved it but would like to see it again just to get every bit, there's bits I'm thinking now "what was happening there?".

Agree with some on here, soundtrack not great at all, there were times when I felt there should have been music and there wasn't but maybe that was on purpose.

I'd really have to watch it again to get it all!

1st film for years that's made me want an immediate re-run so definitely exciting from that point of view.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 785 ✭✭✭team_actimel

threeball wrote: »
    Crowds out the door in Galway tonight. Never seen such queues for a movie. Not a bad movie but the soundtrack is a big disappointment following on from one of the great soundtracks of all time in the original.
    I was so disappointed in the soundtrack I came away thinking less of the movie than i probably should.

Though the film was great. Soundtrack was disappointing though.
    Disappointed they didn't play 'Born Slippy'. Throughout the film they had slow instrumental snippets of it and it seemed like it would build up to being played at the end.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,005 ✭✭✭pilly

For me Sickboy didn't work but I think that's because I've been watching him in Elementary and he just seems to clean cut for it now.