Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy chit chat II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,449 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

stanflt wrote: »
    Cows fed 1.68 ton last yr with a feed cost of 5.4 cpl based on sold milk only

285 days at grass

4ton dm grass fed per cow roughly.

Wouldn't consider it high input winter herd as all cows just fed to their dm intake requirements- spring calvers get same feeding regime as winter millers as feed is fed thru feed to yield in parlour

Output including stock sales over 40 cpl in 2016

Drawing of 120k on 140 cows last yr

Draw your own conclusions from the above
    By drawing you mean wage and loans ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,797 ✭✭✭stanflt

By drawing you mean wage and loans ?

No by drawings I mean wages living expenses diesel for family car etc

Excluding bank repayments

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

285 days at grass

Wouldn't consider it high input winter herd as all cows just fed to their dm intake requirements- spring calvers get same feeding regime as winter millers as feed is fed thru feed to yield in parlour

*wonders if Stan has any teenage daughters, preferably not too fussy about brains.

Fair play Stan for the ms output but just on my own figures
    You sent 144 kgs ms/cow more than me
    But you fed 1t per cow more

Kg ms for year worth about 3.10€?
    Leaves you at 446€/cow over me
    1t of meal 350€

Not a whole lot in the difference bewteeen the 2 herds when you account for the purchase price of FTY for parlour

Herd also 50% 1st and 2nd lactation here. They'll be back up to a 530 kg herd within the next few years I'd imagine off the same 700kgs of meal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

1t of meal 350€

Not a whole lot in the difference bewteeen the 2 herds when you account for the purchase price of FTY for parlour

Herd also 50% 1st and 2nd lactation here. They'll be back up to a 530 kg herd within the next few years I'd imagine off the same 700kgs of meal

Stan / GrasstoMilk is it feasible to break down the MS or sales per Full Time labour unit to add to the comparison?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,143 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

kowtow wrote: »
    Stan / GrasstoMilk is it feasible to break down the MS or sales per Full Time labour unit to add to the comparison?

And kgms/ha aswell.
    (Very interesting figures)

Easy enough
    2 full time
    Brings it to 238kgs MS /cow / labour unit
    841 kgs ms for every ha we farmed last year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Keepgrowing

285 days at grass

120k for wages, house and diesel for car from 140 cows

All bank payments land rental, variable and fixed costs from 140 cows also?

120k for wages, house and diesel for car from 140 cows

All bank payments land rental, variable and fixed costs from 140 cows also?

Yeah 30k on land rent alone

Remember 8000litrea sold per cow at 40cpl gross output

24cpl total cost

Volume pays when you have control of your inputs

1t of meal 350€

You need to go back to maths lesson gg
    Remember cost and output is based on litres not solids so if you did -480 kgs that's about 5900 litres sold per cow - say your gross output for last year was 34 cpl and realistic costs of 24cpl that leaves you with 590 euro per cow

Now take the 8000 litre with say for arguments sake I base my gross output on 34 to leave me similar output figure to your so that would leave me with 800 profit per cow

800 minus 590 is 210 more profit per cow not the 94 you stated above

210 multiple by 140 is an extra 30k per annum

Now add the stock sales and really see the difference

Ps my figure is well below 24 without labour included

35000 kg ms per labour unit-

870 kg ms per ha farmed including all land used for replacements bulls and tillage

1.1 replacements per cow

Yeah 30k on land rent alone

Remember 8000litrea sold per cow at 40cpl gross output

24cpl total cost

Volume pays when you have control of your inputs

24c per litre total cost? Is this your break even price i.e. If you get less you're losing money. Does this include every cost inc drawings

Pm sent

Remember cost and output is based on litres not solids so if you did -480 kgs that's about 5900 litres sold per cow - say your gross output for last year was 34 cpl and realistic costs of 24cpl that leaves you with 590 euro per cow

Now take the 8000 litre with say for arguments sake I base my gross output on 34 to leave me similar output figure to your so that would leave me with 800 profit per cow

Go back and read my previous post. I was comparing your output per cow in ms terms vs meal fed and what was left after the meal feeding over mine.
    While you may have had the output you needed to buy it to get it out of them.
    No matter what way you dress it up our kgs of ms are still worth the same. You need the litres to get the MS and you'd need to buy the feed to get the litres

Go back and read my previous post. I was comparing your output per cow in ms terms vs meal fed and what was left after the meal feeding over mine.
    No matter what way you dress it up our kgs of ms are still worth the same. You need the litres to get the MS and you'd need to buy the feed to get the litres

Your still missing the point
    The extra meal feeding is resulting is costs being diluted which is resulting in 210 euro profit more per cow than just the 94 as you suggest

Work your feed from forage figure out mine are getting slightly more from it

Ps you never sent me a photo of your report so we can't really compare when fact is vs fiction!!!!!

Your still missing the point
    The extra meal feeding is resulting is costs being diluted which is resulting in 210 euro profit more per cow than just the 94 as you suggest

Work your feed from forage figure out mine are getting slightly more from it

Ps you never sent me a photo of your report so we can't really compare when fact is vs fiction!!!!!
    I did ;)

I did ;)

I know I was only trying to annoy you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,124 ✭✭✭jaymla627

With feed cheap and a top quality 16% nut probably working out at 255 ton for 2017 if you pump out 7500 litres plus of 1.5 ton meal/grazed grass pushin out 600 kgs of solids your going to be generating a nice wad of cash, say a base price of 30 cent for the year would mean at 4bf 3.5pr% you'd be looking at 32.5 cent litre x 7500 litres means your pushing out just on 2450 euro a cow in milk, after the mill has been payed you still have over 2 grand to play with

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Signpost

At a dairy clearance sale today. Nice cows (not huge EBI) with good solids, average was 1500 gallons, 3.92 Fat, 3.47 Protein, SCC 67 & mostly young cows.
    Anything you'd really want to bring home was starting at 1500, mostly around 1600 + thou with one maiden going for 1710. Was there to buy but couldn't justify it animals which were to Polly or stock bull FR. What way are prices around the rest of land?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,705 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Signpost wrote: »
    At a dairy clearance sale today. Nice cows (not huge EBI) with good solids, average was 1500 gallons, 3.92 Fat, 3.47 Protein, SCC 67 & mostly young cows.
    Anything you'd really want to bring home was starting at 1500, mostly around 1600 + thou with one maiden going for 1710. Was there to buy but couldn't justify it animals which were to Polly or stock bull FR. What way are prices around the rest of land?
    1500 should be minimum price that lads consider for selling heifers as that is what it costs to get them to parlour for most

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭Fixture

mahoney_j wrote: »
    1500 should be minimum price that lads consider for selling heifers as that is what it costs to get them to parlour for most

Agree. Lots of heifers sold "below cost" every year. No value placed on owned land and own labour

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

What would ye value 10 to 11 month old bulling heifers at. And what should target weight at bulling be?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Pm done finally. 1st year I've properly paid myself. Between all drawings, like for my dad also they come to 10c/l. Sobering enough that they are that high, anyone calling likes of 20c/l their cost of production must love beans on toast every day of the week ha.

Timmaay wrote: »
    Pm done finally. 1st year I've properly paid myself. Between all drawings, like for my dad also they come to 10c/l. Sobering enough that they are that high, anyone calling likes of 20c/l their cost of production must love beans on toast every day of the week ha.

Did you draw more than you spent i.e. Was your salary more or less than you required

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 607 ✭✭✭jack o shea

The wind and rain today will be a big blow to the muppets in the race to be on the front page of the journal with the cows out this Thursday, or were they on it last Week?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭Sillycave

285 days at grass

You must have serious stock sales, 30.9cpl on your report and you are saying over 40cpl including stock sales
    THats amounts to around 110K stock sales unless i have f*cked up my maths....COYBIG :)
    Any nice heifer calves for sale :D

The wind and rain today will be a big blow to the muppets in the race to be on the front page of the journal with the cows out this Thursday, or were they on it last Week?

LMAO

Did you draw more than you spent i.e. Was your salary more or less than you required

I quite like beans on toast. And no family yet. And some properties can earn you a 15% roi.

Lovely day for some fencing...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,705 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Mine were out and back in just before rain Arrived at 11.30 .be back out again after milking till 9 tonight .not arsed with been on front page of anything ,but am arsed setting my farm up for year and taking any chance to get grass into cows jack