Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Words only heard in Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

Runners

They're trainers/sneakers everywhere else

Tackies in Limerick :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,679 ✭✭✭✭Samuel T. Cogley

nkav86 wrote: »
    Messgiz - shopping

Used in Scotland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

I've heard that "got sick" (meaning "vomited" rather than "fell ill") is peculiar to Ireland as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,679 ✭✭✭✭Samuel T. Cogley

I've heard that "got sick" (meaning "vomited" rather than "fell ill") is peculiar to Ireland as well

Went on fire, took drink. Also strange to us Southern (English) softies.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 97 ✭✭Positively Negative

Flamin, Langer's, Goosed, Mauldy, Steamed all mean drunk, probably different levels of drunkness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,095 ✭✭✭gw80

Shellikybooky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,436 ✭✭✭✭Father Hernandez

I keep thinking of drink related words.

Flootered

Guarantee you won't find that anywhere else in the world :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

Yerra and shur. Both variations on but.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭stevek93

Careful now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,732 ✭✭✭Arne_Saknussem

Flamin, Langer's, Goosed, Mauldy, Steamed all mean drunk, probably different levels of drunkness

alf-stewart-at-marquee1.jpg&w=300&h=180&zc=1&f=

An obvious one, Spuds for potatoes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,775 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Hasp, as in closing a gate and you put the hasp on the gate, to close it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,029 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Bejasus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,436 ✭✭✭✭Father Hernandez

Also, feek & bjore.

As in, "Jaysis lads last night I was feekin' this absolute bjore"

Ride, as in making love

Meet, as in shift a girl

Turnip, as in swede

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭blackbird 49

maybe it is said in other countries Turnip - Swede

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 476 ✭✭The_Chap

Girls having a "Ronnie"

cnoc wrote: »
    Come here I want ya!

common_irish_phrases_13.jpg

cnoc wrote: »
    Go way out o dat!

nE9cwnn.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,016 ✭✭✭ct5amr2ig1nfhp

bollix

ya little bollix
    I'm bleedin' bollix'd
    etc.

The answer to ''howiya?'' (how are you?) is ''howiya?''

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,029 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Spin.

I'm going for a spin in the car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭Armchair Andy

The_Chap wrote:
    Story

The_Chap wrote:
    6 years later I still have no real response lol

My usual- " thing in a book". Usually confuses them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Went on fire, took drink. Also strange to us Southern (English) softies.

It's nearly always "drink taken" though.

"What exactly were ye fighting about right before the carpet went on fire"

"Emojis."

"..."

"There was drink taken now to be honest with you"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,234 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Noveight wrote: »
    Tackies in Limerick :P

My cousin who is from Donegal (same as me) used to call runners.."gutties" I never heard anyone else, ever, use that term for trainers/runners. He was an odd ball though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,344 ✭✭✭Littlehorny

Budgeen.....as in "I will in me budgeen!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭...And Justice

Budgie smugglers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 398 ✭✭DanMurphy

RobertKK wrote: »
    Hasp, as in closing a gate and you put the hasp on the gate, to close it.

'' Mat the Devil take him by the hasp o' the arse.'
    Limerick Co.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 974 ✭✭✭decky1

pronounced 'Tige '[not sure of the spelling] jesus yer man's an awful tige [gob****e]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭borrisboy

The quare one !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,814 ✭✭✭joe40

My cousin who is from Donegal (same as me) used to call runners.."gutties" I never heard anyone else, ever, use that term for trainers/runners. He was an odd ball though.

I believe that is a belfast term. I taught in a secondary school there for awhile and they all talked about "gutties" as runners