Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Words only heard in Ireland.

• 02-02-2017 6:59pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,485 ✭✭✭✭

So what words do you only hear in Ireland?
    I'll start this simply by suggesting this word -

Banjaxed -- for something broken and beyond repair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

The expression "to give out" to someone as in tell them off isn't used abroad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 714 ✭✭✭nkav86

Jaysus or gobsh1te

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 952 ✭✭✭s4uv3

Ara whisht.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

I'm given to understand that "slagging someone off" can have very different meanings in other English-speaking coutries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,834 ✭✭✭stimpson

Geebag n. - A bag of gees.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,485 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Craic = fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭henryporter

Musha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

Presses as opposed to cupboards

Bold instead of naughty.

Piped TV .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 789 ✭✭✭cnoc

Come here I want ya!

Go way out o dat!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭The_Chap

Well

First time I was greeted in cork

My response, well what?

Story

Wife still insists on saying that every time she rings me

6 years later I still have no real response lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Sambo :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,401 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Rashers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭The_Chap

Yoke

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,960 ✭✭✭Dr Crayfish

"Begrudgery". F*cking nation is obsessed with that word. I'm not allowed dislike U2 because it's "begrudgery". I'm not allowed think Michael O'Leary is an assh*le because it's "begrudgery". I'm not allowed follow Amy Huberman around at night with my dick out because it's "begrudgery".

So what words do you only hear in Ireland?
    I'll start this simply by suggesting this word -

Banjaxed -- for something broken and beyond repair.

One of my favourite words ever!

.....I'm not allowed follow Amy Huberman around at night with my dick out because it's "begrudgery".

I'm fairly sure that's not the only reason :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,384 ✭✭✭CPTM

steddyeddy wrote:
    The expression "to give out" to someone as in tell them off isn't used abroad.

Is this not used the whole time in the states?

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    One of my favourite words ever!

Mine too. It's a brilliant word. Love to know the origin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭fussyonion

Immersion.
    Bold. As in 'you're very bold!'.
    Grand.
    Cuppa cha.
    Greeting someone with 'alright'.
    'Haven't a washer'=broke.
    Gargled.
    Locked.
    Gee-eyed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,360 ✭✭✭Lorelli!

Rapid - cool

Mine too. It's a brilliant word. Love to know the origin.
    Closely followed by its use for labelling toilets....

Jacks & Banjacks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

'I will, yeah'= no

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 507 ✭✭✭runnerholic

****e. They say **** abroad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Aimsir

Baile

Leithreas

Uirthi

Anyone ever hear the word " beyant" meaning over there. Very often heard in Cavan and Monaghan. " He's beyant in the shed".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,834 ✭✭✭stimpson

Mot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,577 ✭✭✭Bonzo Delaney

Cute Hoor

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,005 ✭✭✭pilly

Hot press

Anyone ever hear the word " beyant" meaning over there. Very often heard in Cavan and Monaghan. " He's beyant in the shed".
    Is that not just a funny way of saying "beyond"?

Reminds of "abroad" - as in "he's abroad in the field there"

Large brown 'pan' . . .

Meaning a loaf of bread!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,506 ✭✭✭✭Alun

fussyonion wrote: »
    Immersion.
    Not unique to Ireland, what do you think they call them in England?

However, the thing the immersion lives in is called an 'airing cupboard', not a 'hot press'.

LordSutch wrote: »
    Large brown 'pan' . . .

Meaning a loaf of bread!

They say pan in France Spain Italy!

Delph.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,005 ✭✭✭pilly

I think it comes from French doesn't it?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭Jack the Stripper

Moist

"Begrudgery". F*cking nation is obsessed with that word. I'm not allowed dislike U2 because it's "begrudgery". I'm not allowed think Michael O'Leary is an assh*le because it's "begrudgery". I'm not allowed follow Amy Huberman around at night with my dick out because it's "begrudgery".

Well in addition to that im not sure Brian would be too happy :pac:

pilly wrote: »
    I think it comes from French doesn't it?

Probably Latin originally

But if you ask for one in Britain they will look at you funny :)

Unless you're after a frying pan.

Sally trees (willow).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,731 ✭✭✭Arne_Saknussem

Gallybander

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭VonLuck

"Ah here, will ye go away"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭...And Justice

Sorry I only know German. Suckin méinin cockin - My socks need washing in the pressure cooker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,684 ✭✭✭✭Samuel T. Cogley

Press, it's actually an old English word that's now only used in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,684 ✭✭✭✭Samuel T. Cogley

Nagan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭secman

Saying someone is a gas man, as in funny .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭sligolad1

Will ya shift my friend?

Yer wan

The oul lady

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 714 ✭✭✭nkav86

Messgiz - shopping

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,100 ✭✭✭Gen.Zhukov

'T'would sicken your hole'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,523 ✭✭✭passremarkable

Cat malogen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 398 ✭✭DanMurphy

I think you mean 'ferninst' as in against the wall. Takes in Westmeath (Mullingar and eastwards)

Also used in Mullingar, as are the following '
    'Adin' -inside
    'Adout' - outside
    'cashapookas' - inedible mushrooms
    'Russian boots' - Wellingtons