Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

British monarch references painted over on street signs.

• 02-02-2017 4:23pm
    Registered Users Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭

“The group are engaging in Civil Disobedience to remove Victoria’s name, stating that this is necessary in order to respect the memory of the millions who starved and were dispossessed under her reign,” Mr Ó Cadhla said.

The lads do seem a bit mad in fairness.

But in principle I wouldn't be against renaming some streets if the public will was there for it to be done.

Should we rename Irish Streets? 259 votes

Rename streets.
    0% 0 votes
    Don't rename streets.
    28% 73 votes
    It doesn't matter.
    71% 186 votes

Breaking news from 1907?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

I think civil disobedience would have been taping a bit of paper over the name. Painting is just pure vandalism, and will cost money to be cleaned up, or new plates manufactured. I suppose their argument is that while new plates are being made, they could change the names at the same time, but it's not that simple, and while the decision was being made (which could take a year), you're left with no usable plates.

Cretinous act.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,161 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

“The group are engaging in Civil Disobedience to remove Victoria’s name, stating that this is necessary in order to respect the memory of the millions who starved and were dispossessed under her reign,” Mr Ó Cadhla said.

But in principle I wouldn't be against renaming some streets if the public will was there for it to be done.

looked at the twitter feed you linked. Are they the guys who tried to burn the EU flag and then discovered that thanks to EU regulations it was made from fabric that couldn't burn?

• Registered Users Posts: 40,283 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Grayson wrote: »
    looked at the twitter feed you linked. Are they the guys who tried to burn the EU flag and then discovered that thanks to EU regulations it was made from fabric that couldn't burn?

Health and Safety gone mad.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Changing street names will not change history.

The references to Queen Victoria keeps certain things alive, remove Victoria and then no threads that remember how some called her the famine queen.

Changing the names of places is like one is trying to forget their history.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭farmchoice

ya he'd want to get with the times alright most of the street names were changed years ago (1940's?). in Ballina some of old and the new names are still used interchangeably, ''you know such and such a pub on king st'', ''you mean o'rahilly st'', but this is dying out, my grand mother always used the old names and real townies still will occasionally.

its peculiar because some of the new names stuck like o rahilly st, pearse st, tone st, stuck while with other streets only the old names are ever used hill st, bridge st, convent hill.

funnily enough ballina had a Victoria terrace, that was re named Emmet st, the house that mary robinson grew up in ( the one that was in the news) is victoia house. the only people who ever use victoria terrece now a days are her family.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

TBH why change the street names at this stage they are part of our history. Surely there are far more pertinent issues that are effecting people today that they could try and highlight if they have time and energy to waste :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

We are a soverign county and can rename any streets we want and gloss over history if we want.

Painting over it will require tax payer funded repairs.

I doubt these lads pay taxes seeing as this was done during office hours.

Idiots of the highest order.

Should all be charged with vandalism.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

The Lord Mayor rejected the claims he ‘snubbed’ the group.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,902 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Maybe if they painted and brightened up things that needed painting instead of acting the gowl?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

The Willie Frazer of Cork.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,584 ✭✭✭blackwhite

Whether you agree or disagree with their politics.......

It's a very special type of stupid that poses for photos whilst committing a criminal act

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Next they'll be forcing people with planters surnames to change to an Irish one.

I always found it curious how many of the nationlist northern paramilitaries lads had these names. When didn't they just go home instead?

All aboard for Fruit Cake Central...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

Jaysus!!!

What are they going to do to the English Market :D

• Registered Users Posts: 9,839 ✭✭✭Jelle1880

I think I've seen those guys in Cork city center.

They looked like a bunch of weirdos.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Jawgap wrote: »
    Jaysus!!!

And the Queen's plaque? :eek:

• Registered Users, Subscribers Posts: 47,283 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

blackwhite wrote: »
    Whether you agree or disagree with their politics.......

It's a very special type of stupid that poses for photos whilst committing a criminal act

The guy on the left looks like a complete numpty standing there with his pathetic little flag. If you're going to make a political protest, at least buy yourselves a decent flag and look the part, rather than holding something you picked up for a euro in Carroll's.

Never mind Princes Street.......

• Registered Users, Subscribers Posts: 47,283 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Jaysus!!!

Never mind Princes Street.......

Well when they're done with all them we have a load more they can have a go at in Dublin - North & South King Streets, North & South Earl Streets, a load of places named after King George, Talbot Street...

The only problem is that the street signs are a lot higher up so they'll need to bring a ladder with them. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 7,959 ✭✭✭Patser

It'll cost them a fortune to paint all the Georgian houses....

Zaph wrote: »
    Well when they're done with all them we have a load more they can have a go at in Dublin - North & South King Streets, North & South Earl Streets, a load of places named after King George, Talbot Street...

The only problem is that the street signs are a lot higher up so they'll need to bring a ladder with them. :D

Grand Parade will really screw with their heads!!! A name as Gaeilge that alludes to a British king!!! That'll set their eyes swivelling!!!!
    Grand Parade (Sráid an Chapaill Bhuí in Irish), is one of the main streets of Cork city, Ireland. It ......... The Irish name of the street, Sráid an Chapaill Bhuí, comes from a time when there was a statue of King George II on horse-back at the junction with South Mall.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

As it appears in that article, they've daubed over Victoria in both the Irish and English languages. It now looks like...
    Bóthar Victoria

Victoria Road

Personally, I think Bóthar Road has a good ring to it!

Omackeral wrote: »
    As it appears in that article, they've daubed over Victoria in both the Irish and English languages. It now looks like...

Personally, I think Bóthar Road has a good ring to it!

OMG, they forgot to paint over the hated Anglo-Saxon 'Road', this is an outrage!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,201 ✭✭✭bobbysands81

Absolutely pointless.

Leave the names there, it'll actually contribute to an honest historical debate as to what happened in our past.

Only when we're comfortable with the past can we move to the future, pretending things never happened won't help that.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,363 ✭✭✭corner of hells

What will they do with the Royal Canal ? Drain it away ?

• Registered Users Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

What will they do with the Royal Canal ? Drain it away ?

The Dublin part of it is 75% trolley anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,519 ✭✭✭✭dudara

Jaysus!!!

They'll never take the English Market! Never!

On a serious note, our English past is just as much a part of our history as...well anything. To think about renaming 100 years on is just a bit daft.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

What is their policy position on pre independence post boxes, not to mention county borders.