Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off Topic Thread 3.0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,555 ✭✭✭swiwi_

Bazzo wrote: »
    I always thought Russell Crowe was Australian. Isn't he a league fan!?

He's a bit dodgy alright. He was born in NZ, his cousins, especially Martin Crowe (RIP) were well-known NZ cricket players.

From memory he lives in Oz though, and he has that weird love affair with the South Sydney Rabbitohs.

Maybe you just head him talking and assumed it was an Aussie accent :rolleyes: :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,047 ✭✭✭Bazzo

swiwi_ wrote: »
    He's a bit dodgy alright. He was born in NZ, his cousins, especially Martin Crowe (RIP) were well-known NZ cricket players.

From memory he lives in Oz though, and he has that weird love affair with the South Sydney Rabbitohs.

Maybe you just head him talking and assumed it was an Aussie accent :rolleyes: :pac:

No no, I can tell the difference. Australians are like "Where's the car" whereas Kiwis are like "Where's the car".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,634 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

I suppose Sam Neill is fairly well known.

It's a bit like Irish golfers vs Kiwi golfers...

I'm a big fan of Rhys Darby the kiwi comedian, he has a handful of film credits.

Saw a kiwi actress called Caren Pistorius in denial yesterday. She was pretty good. Also rather attractive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Russell Crowe is a kiwi, Sam Neill is a paddy.

Sky and Discovery reached an agreement, fans of tennis/snooker/motogp/tiddlywinks rejoice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,018 ✭✭✭Bridge93

Fascinating watching the wheels come off quite spectacularly at Leicester City. It makes last year look all the more impressive. Were it to happen surely they'd be the first ever champions to be relegated the following year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 201 ✭✭zambrotta11

And cycling more importantly. I thought I was going to have to cancel sky if they lost eurosport

Bridge93 wrote: »
    Fascinating watching the wheels come off quite spectacularly at Leicester City. It makes last year look all the more impressive. Were it to happen surely they'd be the first ever champions to be relegated the following year?

Man City did it 80 odd years ago.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

I have to say fair play to ye lads and lassies in here.

Modding the politics cafe has been full on the past few weeks, and it's refreshing to come in here to a forum where you can relax and enjoy the posts :)

Stheno wrote: »

Modding the politics cafe has been full on the past few weeks, and it's refreshing to come in here to a forum where you can relax and enjoy the posts :)

Take an under performing Ireland and a coach picking players from the province he coached or some other nonsense and things would derail fairly swiftly if were early / mid six nations or coming into the World Cup.

The world of politics is changing dramatically. I truly hope the status quo (much as they are miles from perfect) find a way to bring things back to the middle of the political spectrum. Brexit, le Pen, Trump all make me worry for my kids.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Take an under performing Ireland and a coach picking players from the province he coached or some other nonsense and things would derail fairly swiftly if were early / mid six nations or coming into the World Cup.

The world of politics is changing dramatically. I truly hope the status quo (much as they are miles from perfect) find a way to bring things back to the middle of the political spectrum. Brexit, le Pen, Trump all make me worry for my kids.

My point was more that compared to the extremes of the politics threads, it's been nice to see a different approach here which is probablly more reflective of the general population :)

• Administrators Posts: 55,122 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Isn't Aragorn from NZ too?

awec wrote: »

No he's an American of Danish descent, but that's close to Old Zealand so you get half a point.

I thought Viggo Mortensen was Argentinian? Or something South American. I'm learning a lot today.

Hugh Jackman too, right?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,341 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

Stheno wrote: »

Modding the politics cafe is a form of sado masochism I'd imagine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 grumpyScotsman

Hugh Jackman too, right?

I think he might be Australian.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,212 ✭✭✭Yeah_Right

Russell Crowe is a kiwi, Sam Neill is a paddy.

Russell Crowe considers himself Australian but can't get Aussie citizenship :pac:

Sam Neill is a kiwi. Nice try IBF ;)

The only other kiwi actors that I can think of who have done anything overseas are Cliff Curtis, Jermaine Clement, Karl Urban, Manu Bennett, Anthony Starr and Rhys Darby but none of them would be household names.

Some of our actresses would be more famous; Zoe Ball, Melanie Lynskey and Anna Paquin. That's something I've found interesting about Ireland. You churn out great male actors but I can't think of any great female ones.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,116 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Bazzo wrote: »
    I thought Viggo Mortensen was Argentinian? Or something South American. I'm learning a lot today.

I was sure he was Norwegian.
    Apparently he did live a good bit in south America

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Yeah_Right wrote: »

Some of our actresses would be more famous; Zoe Ball, Melanie Lynskey and Anna Paquin. That's something I've found interesting about Ireland. You churn out great male actors but I can't think of any great female ones.

Well Ruth Negga has just been nominated for an Oscar. Soirse Ronan has been nominated a couple of times. Maureen O'Hara is probably our most famous export, and Brenda Fricker won an Oscar in the 80s I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,212 ✭✭✭Yeah_Right

Zzippy wrote: »
    Well Ruth Negga has just been nominated for an Oscar. Soirse Ronan has been nominated a couple of times. Maureen O'Hara is probably our most famous export, and Brenda Fricker won an Oscar in the 80s I think.

Yeah there have been some good ones (I know who Ronan and O'Hara are) but no where near the quantity of Irish male actors that have made it big. It's always been one of those trivial things that I find interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,555 ✭✭✭swiwi_

errlloyd wrote: »
    Saw a kiwi actress called Caren Pistorius in denial yesterday. She was pretty good. Also rather attractive.

She's a project actress, qualifying as a Kiwi after being in NZ for 3 years.

(I had never heard of her before TBH)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,634 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

She's a project actress, qualifying as a Kiwi after being in NZ for 3 years.

(I had never heard of her before TBH)

Her dad is obviously South African, but I think she primarily considers herself kiwi. She's only been in a handful of movies, and was a small enough role in Denial. (I recommend it btw better film than the lack of hype would indicate)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 29,815 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

The only other kiwi actors that I can think of who have done anything overseas are Cliff Curtis, Jermaine Clement, Karl Urban, Manu Bennett, Anthony Starr and Rhys Darby but none of them would be household names.

And he is in one of the finest movies of all time

MV5BODkyNDQzMzUzOF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwODYyMDEyOA@@._V1_UY1200_CR90,0,630,1200_AL_.jpg

(not a joke - love that movie)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

Podge_irl wrote: »

And he is in one of the finest movies of all time

MV5BODkyNDQzMzUzOF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwODYyMDEyOA@@._V1_UY1200_CR90,0,630,1200_AL_.jpg

(not a joke - love that movie)

I liked that post initially thinking that was a joke. I then read the last line and unliked it. :D

As bad movies go it's grand for passing a hungover Sunday. And it's clearly a lot better than the Stallone attempt. But it's still pretty meh IMO.

Sure wasn't Urban in LoTR, the new Star Trek films, RED and one of the Bourne movies (and not forgetting the Doom film too!). He'd be very close to a household name I reckon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

And he actually took that role off an Irish man. LOTR started filming with Stuart Townsend who was sacked after filming had already started. Poor bloke spent months trainnig and getting into character. His career might have been something rather different if he had been kept in the job.

Daniel Day Lewis, an Englishman (but Irish citizen) turned down the role too.

Interestingly, Nicholas Cage was rumoured to have been offered the role also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

Buer wrote: »
    And he actually took that role off an Irish man. LOTR started filming with Stuart Townsend who was sacked after filming had already started. Poor bloke spent months trainnig and getting into character. His career might have been something rather different if he had been kept in the job.

Daniel Day Lewis, an Englishman (but Irish citizen) turned down the role too.

Interestingly, Nicholas Cage was rumoured to have been offered the role also.

I did not know any of those things. Every day really is a school day!

EDIT: Also, Stuart Townsend as Aragorn!? Eh, no.

molloyjh wrote: »
    I did not know any of those things. Every day really is a school day!

EDIT: Also, Stuart Townsend as Aragorn!? Eh, no.

I live to give.

Townsend used have Charlize Theron on his arm around Howth back in the day a few times. The stuff of teenage fantasies.

I think he might be Australian.....

Australian, New Zealand, same thing really.

Kinda like being from NI and ROI.