If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Louise O Neill on rape culture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

It takes 2 people to be involved in making it a great experience for both of them. You make it sound lile your freind was a passive participant and was expecting great sex to be done for her, without her having any role in making it a great experience.

Well, I wouldn't know, she's never said that she has never had a good one. If I'm right and she hasn't, how could I know why that is? I can't. I'm just going on my own sole bad experience with someone (male, not sure if it matters)who had no interest in making it good. And the fact that a lot of women seem unaware that they have a G spot. They're not easy to get to by yourself. It doesn't take monumental effort to find and act on someone else's but my suspicion is that some people have partners who haven't bothered to try in the first place.

I know there are women who can't be bothered in bed, too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,286 ✭✭✭givyjoe

It takes 2 people to be involved in making it a great experience for both of them. You make it sound lile your freind was a passive participant and was expecting great sex to be done for her, without her having any role in making it a great experience.

You make it sound it sound like this a stretch and that women like this don't exist.. they do :(

neonsofa wrote: »
    Even if you had amazing sex all the time, if your hormones are erratic or you are depressed, or so many other factors that i cant list them all, you just won't physically be in the mood. Women go through hormonal changes constantly during their cycle, so it makes sense that their drive is more susceptible to change (maybe?!). The pill can **** up your sex drive so bad due to hormonal changes. It's not just a case of women "liking" or enjoying sex.

Well she does like sex it just didn't seem like it has been as good as it might have been, if a good sneeze could rival it.

Yes they're all factors. I've experience of that issue with the pill, myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,476 ✭✭✭neonsofa

Well, I wouldn't know, she's never said that she has never had a good one. If I'm right and she hasn't, how could I know why that is? I can't. I'm just going on my own sole bad experience with someone (male, not sure if it matters)who had no interest in making it good. And the fact that a lot of women seem unaware that they have a G spot. They're not easy to get to by yourself. It doesn't take monumental effort to find and act on someone else's but my suspicion is that some people have partners who haven't bothered to try in the first place.

I know there are women who can't be bothered in bed, too.

But there are plenty of women who fake orgasm in bed and don't tell their partner what to do. How is a guy to know it's not doing it for you unless he is told. You keep getting what you're getting if you keep doing what you're doing. If you show a guy how to please you and then be is just not bothered then what kind of relationship is that generally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,860 ✭✭✭take everything

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XrSSiWF4obE

Okay, this is really interesting to me-and shows a deep, disgusting element to LoN's mentality.

Fast forward to the 9 minute 30 second mark-the reviewer notes how LoN includes a rape attempt, by the female protagonist on a male friend. IT's a really interesting comment review of a sequence in the book, and essentially undermines how blinkered and blind LoN is to issues affecting men.

Wow, that is a shocking scene, if it goes unquestioned in the book (which I gather it does).
    That YouTube reviewer is pretty cool.

Well she does like sex it just didn't seem like it has been as good as it might have been, if a good sneeze could rival it.

Yes they're all factors. I've experience of that issue with the pill, myself.

See there is a difference between a good orgasm and good sex. I've had amazing sex with no orgasm and amazing orgasm from pretty mediocre sex. Maybe her sneezes just are really good :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 825 ✭✭✭jameorahiely

givyjoe wrote: »
    You make it sound it sound like this a stretch and that women like this don't exist.. they do :(

Ah no, i know they exist but I don't understand their reasoning. There's a saying "if everyone around you smells of **** it's time to check the bottom of your own shoe", meaning if they never have had a good experience, ever, maybe it's time to reassess their own actions. If they can't find their own gspot and find out what "does it" for themselves, how do the ecpect other people to know?

You can keep giving me chocolate, thinking you're doing me a nice turn, but unless I tell you I don't actually like chocolate, you might never realise I dislike your actions.

Hmmm, is that an analogy for something :D:D:D:pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 825 ✭✭✭jameorahiely

givyjoe wrote: »
    Hmmm, is that an analogy for something :D:D:D:pac::pac::pac:

Crikey! it wasn't, but now you've highlighted it, it does sound dodgy :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,669 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Sadly, that would reflect the majority of women I've slept with tbh: they viewed sex as something to be done to them rather than something they had a role in making a pleasureable experience.

I suspect language and the way that that many people tend to talk about sex in this country plays a big part in this (or reveals how we think about sex) "I'd have to be dug out of her" / "Wild horses couldn't drag me off of her" / "I'd let him do anything" followed by a wink etc.

Or even at it's very simplest: why is that we tend to hear "fuck me"... rather than "fuck with me"?

Sleepy wrote: »
    Sadly, that would reflect the majority of women I've slept with tbh: they viewed sex as something to be done to them rather than something they had a role in making a pleasureable experience.

I suspect language and the way that that many people tend to talk about sex in this country plays a big part in this (or reveals how we think about sex) "I'd have to be dug out of her" / "Wild horses couldn't drag me off of her" / "I'd let him do anything" followed by a wink etc.

Or even at it's very simplest: why is that we tend to hear "fuck me"... rather than "fuck with me"?
    I think two things are being conflated there. I know a few women who want to "get ****ed" because that's what they enjoy and they get off on it. They can still be "active participants" while "getting ****ed". Weird having to use such language. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Have to massively disagree with most of what's being said here, the vast majority of my sexual experiences have involved women who are really into it and in no way passive. My ex was a full on BDSM dominatrix. One woman I've been with was only able to get off if she was on top, one enjoyed sitting on faces, one particularly hilarious one had an exhibitionist kink that got us thrown out of a nightclub the night we met :pac:

Methinks that those who are only finding passive sexual partners are either looking in the wrong places or else don't know how to spot the difference personality wise. I'm seriously into kink myself and I always find that if you're looking for someone who takes an active role in the bedroom, you can tell by how they flirt when you meet / chat eachother up. If it's a case of you pursuing and her always being coy etc, she's potentially the passive "you do things to me" type. If she takes an active role and flirts back in terms of joking, teasing, making fun of you etc and is actively courting you as well as the other way around, she's more likely to be active during sex as well.

On the other hand, you definitely can't use this method to determine whether somebody is likely to be into dominance or submission when it comes to BDSM - I've known women who were managers, bosses, and people with jobs involving authority (gardai, teaching etc) who enjoyed being tied up and what not, and I've known women who were incredibly shy and pushover-ish in their social group but who liked to wield the whip behind closed doors :D I've actually always wondered if there was something in that, psychologically speaking - one's everyday personality being an antipode to one's sexual personality. The idea of executives, bankers etc being submissive in bed is a common enough societal trope that it can't just be fiction.

I'd say one other thing - society very much pushes the dominant / submissive roles on men and women respectively when it comes to sex. If you frequent any discussion forums on the subject, you'll find hundreds of posts from dominatrixes and submissive guys who are self-conscious about their preference because it goes against media stereotypes etc - both thinking most people of the opposite sex would be turned off by their preference, so therefore hiding it and not admitting to it. So as far as passivity goes, I'd also question whether some of that isn't actually the result of suppressing natural desires rather than expressing them. As I say, I've found a more or less even split among women once I've gotten them to open up to me about it.

I mean if you think about it, if it was actually true that most women were passive when it came to sex, how the hell would a lesbian relationship work? I'm picturing two women fighting to get the other to do more :D

Have to massively disagree with most of what's being said here, the vast majority of my sexual experiences have involved women who are really into it and in no way passive. My ex was a full on BDSM dominatrix. One woman I've been with was only able to get off if she was on top, one enjoyed sitting on faces, one particularly hilarious one had an exhibitionist kink that got us thrown out of a nightclub the night we met :pac:

Methinks that those who are only finding passive sexual partners are either looking in the wrong places or else don't know how to spot the difference personality wise. I'm seriously into kink myself and I always find that if you're looking for someone who takes an active role in the bedroom, you can tell by how they flirt when you meet / chat eachother up. If it's a case of you pursuing and her always being coy etc, she's potentially the passive "you do things to me" type. If she takes an active role and flirts back in terms of joking, teasing, making fun of you etc and is actively courting you as well as the other way around, she's more likely to be active during sex as well.

On the other hand, you definitely can't use this method to determine whether somebody is likely to be into dominance or submission when it comes to BDSM - I've known women who were managers, bosses, and people with jobs involving authority (gardai, teaching etc) who enjoyed being tied up and what not, and I've known women who were incredibly shy and pushover-ish in their social group but who liked to wield the whip behind closed doors :D I've actually always wondered if there was something in that, psychologically speaking - one's everyday personality being an antipode to one's sexual personality. The idea of executives, bankers etc being submissive in bed is a common enough societal trope that it can't just be fiction.

I'd say one other thing - society very much pushes the dominant / submissive roles on men and women respectively when it comes to sex. If you frequent any discussion forums on the subject, you'll find hundreds of posts from dominatrixes and submissive guys who are self-conscious about their preference because it goes against media stereotypes etc - both thinking most people of the opposite sex would be turned off by their preference, so therefore hiding it and not admitting to it. So as far as passivity goes, I'd also question whether some of that isn't actually the result of suppressing natural desires rather than expressing them. As I say, I've found a more or less even split among women once I've gotten them to open up to me about it.

I mean if you think about it, if it was actually true that most women were passive when it came to sex, how the hell would a lesbian relationship work? I'm picturing two women fighting to get the other to do more :D

The kinky ones often have a tendency to be bat **** crazy unfortunately. Have you never heard of the crazy/hot scale?!

Regardless of whether someone is submissive or dominant during sex, they still have a healthy attitude towards sex in the examples you gave. A woman can be extremely passive in bed but still be enjoying it as you say and if that is OK with both people that's grand, but what some people were referring to earlier in the thread is more an unhealthy attitude towards sex due to certain societal factors or just a lack of sex drive for whatever reason-being passive during/towards sex rather than submissive. It's all well and good wanting to be pursued and wanting someone to seduce you, but I think its an issue when women think that it is what "should" happen and they will be judged if they stray from the norms. (Which i dont think is the case btw)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,956 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Right now, seeing as nobody knows whether there's a safe limit, people just shouldn't drink while pregnant. I'd agree with that being referred to as child endangerment, same as smoking during pregnancy - until and unless a safe quantity is established. IMO, to defend anyone who drinks during pregnancy is to defend an extraordinarily selfish, narcissistic act.

http://www.independent.co.uk/life-style/health-and-families/health-news/drinking-alcohol-early-in-pregnancy-even-in-small-amounts-increases-chances-of-harming-your-baby-9182458.html

People who drink during pregnancy should be attacked for it. There's plenty of evidence that it's dangerous and very little evidence that it can be safe.

Again, one of her points was that the clamour about a comparatively high number of Irish women drinking during pregnancy was based on flawed research/data. Do you think that is a fair point or not?

Her other point was that with conflicting reports as to the impact that moderate levels of alcohol has on the foetus, that is receiving an undue level of attention also. The very link you provided contains this:

“The advice is, if you are thinking of getting pregnant, keep off the alcohol, and if you find yourself pregnant and have been drinking alcohol, don’t worry as the effect will still be small,” Professor Cade said

I agree with you that it's always better to avoid potentially harmful substances during pregnancy (although you might be surprised how many there are - do you think pregnant women should be attacked for eating ice cream?) but I still don't think the article contains anything that merits the term 'radfem propaganda.'

And again, can I ask you where you got the bit about bodily autonomy being used as a defence for drinking in the article.

It's not unusual at all for the roles to be reversed from ordinary life to bdsm. The people in the powerful and/or high stress jobs enjoy submitting because of the break from having to be in control all the time, and the release they get from the endorphins. If you don't mind me asking, do you get the same instinct about people in everyday life or specifically in settings that cater to kinky people, like clubs?

(This part isn't to Hatrickpatrick) Just in response to my comment about my sneezy friend, there's no reason for people to assume it's her own fault if she hasn't experienced an orgasm yet. But I accept that in some cases for some people it probably is their own lack of participation that accounts for their miserable sex life.

Do most people have their first orgasm with someone else?

It's not unusual at all for the roles to be reversed from ordinary life to bdsm. The people in the powerful and/or high stress jobs enjoy submitting because of the break from having to be in control all the time, and the release they get from the endorphins. If you don't mind me asking, do you get the same instinct about people in everyday life or specifically in settings that cater to kinky people, like clubs?

It's no so much her "fault", or anybodys fault, but if someone wants to orgasm then they need to know how that happens and then they need to communicate that to the person, so it's more a case of if she hasn't had one yet then she needs to work on that before any partner is able to help her with it.

Do most people have their first orgasm with someone else?

I don't know. I think people mean two different things when they say come/climax and orgasm, though.

I have read that most women can only orgasm through clitoral rather than vaginal stimulation which might account for the g spot issue. Maybe they just don't focus on it because they usually focus further up!

I don't know. I think people mean two different things when they say come/climax and orgasm, though.

!

You've lost me now!

It's no so much her "fault", or anybodys fault, but if someone wants to orgasm then they need to know how that happens and then they need to communicate that to the person, so it's more a case of if she hasn't had one yet then she needs to work on that before any partner is able to help her with it.

Maybe. She's my friend but I know no more than any of you about it to be honest. Except that she's not massively close to her boyfriend and calls him her unboyfriend.

Or it could be for the reasons you mentioned earlier, libido suppression etc. I've also heard some women didn't have one until after they became mothers (no idea why).

I think it's sad if she hasn't for whatever reason, anyway.

You've lost me now!
    You can enjoy sex without having an orgasm. Someone else said she thought she'd had orgasms in the past until she really did have one and there was a huge difference.

(Edited, I'd confused something you said)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,845 ✭✭✭py2006

Why ya'll talking about your sex lives?!

What did I miss? Did LON say something about it?

py2006 wrote: »

Nah we're just sex obsessed! :pac:

If they can't find their own gspot and find out what "does it" for themselves, how do the ecpect other people to know?

It's at a funny angle!

py2006 wrote: »

We're talking about other peoples sex lives so it's ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

If you don't mind me asking, do you get the same instinct about people in everyday life or specifically in settings that cater to kinky people, like clubs?

How do you mean? And I've never actually been to a BDSM club, I'm not that confident despite my epic keyboard warriorness ;)

..you can tell by how they flirt when you meet / chat eachother up. If it's a case of you pursuing and her always being coy etc, she's potentially the passive "you do things to me" type. If she takes an active role and flirts back in terms of joking, teasing, making fun of you etc and is actively courting you as well as the other way around, she's more likely to be active during sex as well.

I mean this bit

I haven't been to any clubs either, because I hate nightclubs in general.

How come nobody ever says ''why are ye all talking about people getting blown up, shot, or stabbed'' which people do every day on Boards.

In fairness on a long thread people do pop in and out and they will ask why it's gone off topic if it's gone onto something very different. And sex is more exciting than stabbings I'd imagine.