People lamping foxes at night !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,134 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

That's great feartuath, but a little word some time before to local residents would be a welcome courtesy. AFAIK hunters often call in the area prior to shooting days so even a little note left in the letterbox advising people that you might be around some time in the near future would go a long way towards reassuring them.
    I'm in a very similar situation to OP.

Yes especially as your pet cat may be in the field.

Firstly I like foxes think they are a beautiful creature but there are certain realities too.
    As you say they carry disease but also left uncontrolled their numbers can spiral.
    Which isn't good for foxes (inbreeding and diseased animals left to suffer a slow painful death).
    Its all about responsible ecological controls.[/QUOTE]

Nature is really good at this. It goes wrong when man leaves out lots of tasty food & the fox takes advantage to increase it's population.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Urban foxes shoot back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭mackeire

Vivienne23 wrote: »
    I must warn you before you continue im on a rant

So there has been a speight of robberies around my area over the past few weeks and some d**khead shining a lamp around fields looking for foxes pulls up just below my entrance to the house ... queue everyone up out of bed looking out windows double checking everything's locked ..hearts pounding ya know the usual

How can anyone be so inconsiderate in this day and age ! Lamping isn't hunting nor a sport it's a nuisance to society
    11 o clock Friday night disrupting everyone for nothing if any lampers do happen to fall on this please be more considerate and pull away from occupied houses !
    11 o'clock on a Friday night and everyone is asleep.
    Good night John boy, good night Mary Ellen....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,162 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Graces7 wrote: »
    They would hear my dog and flee...

To get their shotgun and lamp it......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Del2005 wrote: »
    To get their shotgun and lamp it......

My dog lives IN the house when I am in.... ;)Never out even in the garden unescorted....

Discodog wrote: »
    I would agree with some of your post but the two highlighted parts contradict each other.

No; they leave kill and then when they need it go back for it.. Makes sense.

Nope. The first part says that they don't kill for sustenance & the second that they will return & store food for later - same thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,782 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

I had two ducks a number of years ago, they would be out during the day and put in at night.
    My mother put them in this particular night but had not closed the door properly, I was out at around 10.45pm to check on some cows that were close to calving before I went to bed. I noticed the door to the duck house open, I went in and there was one of my ducks with its head and neck missing, and the other duck nowhere to be seen.
    So it was January and it was freezing, I saw the other duck running away in a state of terror, it ran to my neighbours house down the road, and she being an old lady who lives alone, I tried to stay very quiet so not to frighten her.
    The duck went under this big thorny hedge, and I managed to catch it and brought it home, and locked her away.
    Next day I see the fox in my yard looking for second helpings.

btw I like foxes. I was going for a run another day and I ran around this corner, and here there was a fox running in my direction and we were both surprised, I stopped, the fox stopped before he/she quickly ran away.
    Foxes keep other animals under control, and it is good to see them around.
    There are a lot of foxes where I live, and I have a natural habitat where they have a lot of cover.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

FISMA. wrote: »
    As for the trouble foxes can cause. All too often, I get the call that goes something like...

...The fox ran the sheep last night. The stress killed 3 ewes in gestation and they attacked another.

...The fox got into the hen house last night. Killed them all.

Foxes are nocturnal predators that do not kill for mere sustenance. As long as there is motion, like hens flapping wings, they kill. They kill until they are tired of killing. They do not stop when they kill enough to satisfy their hunger, nor that of the cubs in the den.
    I'm a little surprised that foxes are that bad. It seems counterproductive for any animal to be that aggressive.

The major problem I would have with killing them, from the point of view of stopping them killing domestic animals is that killing that fox get's rid of that fox, it does nothing to stop the next one. I wonder would it be more effective to use a non lethal round, or a capture and release, so that dominant fox is still in control of that territory but afraid to come near the humans. Maybe it just wouldn't work and the fox would just see it as a challenge.

It is fair to say that the only control on fox numbers is humans. Normally there'd be wolves and bears to keep them in check.

When they reintroduced wolves to yellowstone they went on a rampage of killing foxes and the like. It actually ended up helping the numbers of a whole range of small animals that the high fox population had been hunting to extinction.

There does need to be a balance, unfortunately for foxes their environment has been pulled out from under them and replaced with our back gardens and farms. They're becoming more acclimated to humans now, they're moving into cities and towns. Maybe we'll end up with a new best friend if they domesticate themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

No, they will kill, take it to a cache and return to kill more. They do not kill en masse and then return to it for caching. And it is for sustenance, not for fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,162 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

ScumLord wrote: »

It is fair to say that the only control on fox numbers is humans. Normally there'd be wolves and bears to keep them in check.

Nature will keep them in check if we stopped interfering. If the fox population gets too big it'll hunt so much that prey decreases. Foxes will die off allowing prey to increase. Then when the prey population increases the foxes will increase as they have more food available.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Studies have shown that hunting foxes does nothing to reduce the base population. Killing a Fox just increases the chances of survival of another fox. Densities are the same in areas where they are hunted or not hunted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 279 ✭✭Stravos Murphy

I had a pet one years ago called Timothy, my aunt Shiela ran him over one day in the Carina E lean burn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,297 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

I had a pet one years ago called Timothy, my aunt Shiela ran him over one day in the Carina E lean burn.
    B1tch :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

RobertKK wrote: »
    Foxes keep other animals under control, and it is good to see them around.

What about keeping foxes under control? :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭prinzeugen

I would lamp foxes as well. Destroying my allotment.
    (Lamp is a Scottish term for hit, punch, box the head off or similar. For example " I am going to lamp that c#%t if he does not stop talking pish"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭feartuath

Yes especially as your pet cat may be in the field.

Stray or feral cats dont last long around my farm.
    They have too much of a liking for shrews.field mice and songbirds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,705 ✭✭✭Mountainsandh

feartuath wrote: »
    Stray or feral cats dont last long around my farm.
    They have too much of a liking for shrews.field mice and songbirds.

This situation is not you managing the land around your farm though. It's about people coming to hunt in someone else's area, with someone else's pet.

In my area some cowboy lampers occasionally drive up the road in a pick up truck. The lamps and armed men are in the back of pick up, they lamp and shoot from the road. I call the guards on that one.
    I also call the guards when they're on our local farmer's land right beside my house, as I know the local farmer has not given permission. They just think they'll get away with it because his home is not within sight of that spot.

OP we too have had a spate of burglaries, and I too was very suspicious at the last poachers we had, they were in a prime spot to scout my house and were in too much of a hurry to leave when they realized I had spotted them to have been innocently lamping foxes or rabbits.

Of course I know they're probably poachers as it's not in the fields they want to lamp it's into the woods adjacent, for deer.

The guards took my phonecall very seriously in light of the current burglaries and advised to ring if it happens again, so they must also think that poachers are very likely to also be scouters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,647 ✭✭✭✭machiavellianme

Shouldn't the shooting of foxes really be banned.

They aren't eaten so it's a complete waste of an animal.

Not if it takes 20 of your finest laying hens.
    They're a pest, just like all the dogs that are dumped in the wild because Christmas is over.

Save boards.ie by subscribing: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

As someone who's had to pick up rubbish spread all over my garden manys' the time because a playful fox had got at the bins, I disagree with the above.

I mean, ok, if there was an obvious over-population area then it might need a bit of management, meaning the shooting of a reasonable number to re-establish balance. Also, in cases where foxes become very tame and intrude on urban areas, there might be a situation calling for a cull.

Other than that, I think it is really up to us humans to fox-proof our bins and hen coops. I live in a rural area, and I'm the one intruding on their territory.

I would understand a farmer having explored all other avenues having to "deal" with a fox as a last resource when it threatens their livelihood. I haven't really heard any lamb/fox stories around though tbh, I have heard plenty of stray dog/ewes-lambs stories.
    I think the foxes around my parts must gorge on the numerous rabbits rather than go and bother ewes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,210 ✭✭✭pablo128

There was a fox wandering around the road here an hour ago. Housing estate in Tallaght. A dirty mangy looking yoke. Usually they flee when you make a noise but this thing stood there looking at me. It looked that sick, that I chased it halfway up the road in case it came into my garden to die.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭feartuath

Shooting from the road or from a vehicle whether on or off road is illegal.
    Hunting without permission is also illegal.
    Shining a lamp from a road into fields without permission could be also be defined as hunting.

Yes call the guards if you think a crime is being commented.
    Thankfully this year the NWPS have been patrolling areas after guys poaching deer mostly for money.

However the NPWS are about 8 years too late.
    This is another different topic altogether.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭liam7831

Sounds pretty deflating ...

feartuath wrote: »
    Shooting from the road or from a vehicle whether on or off road is illegal.
    Hunting without permission is also illegal.
    Shining a lamp from a road into fields without permission could be also be defined as hunting.

Yes call the guards if you think a crime is being commented.
    Thankfully this year the NWPS have been patrolling areas afterbguys poaching deer mostly for money.

Howevet the NPWS are about 8 years too late.
    This is another different topic altogether.

Yeah, I rang about the ones driving up the road some years ago, and to be honest at the time the guards didn't seem to care much. Or maybe they just didn't want to be dealing with that then. It's different this time it seems.
    Maybe I was just unlucky with the guard I reported to.
    I have no problem with regular hunters, but you wouldn't feel reassured when it's poachers. I had some 16 year old telling me he was shooting deer "wi' me uncle" before, and no permit or anything, so I have visions of youngsters like that with guns beside my house, not good.
    When it's lamping, it's hard to tell if they're poachers at the deer, or if they're legal hunters at the foxes or rabbits. I just presume if it's all in the forestry it's deer.

Well well well, hello again, Mr Mountainy Man ...
    https://media.tenor.co/images/f851214c8aea508f6f53c65124e248ba/raw

Nope. The first part says that they don't kill for sustenance & the second that they will return & store food for later - same thing.

Nah you are totally misreading it.. They kill BEYOND what they need.. good little "preppers" thinking ahead... Ah well, the foxes and I know what is what.

Now lamping and shooting mink would be great...they kill hens and just eat the heads...

This situation is not you managing the land around your farm though. It's about people coming to hunt in someone else's area, with someone else's pet.

In my area some cowboy lampers occasionally drive up the road in a pick up truck. The lamps and armed men are in the back of pick up, they lamp and shoot from the road. I call the guards on that one.
    I also call the guards when they're on our local farmer's land right beside my house, as I know the local farmer has not given permission. They just think they'll get away with it because his home is not within sight of that spot.

OP we too have had a spate of burglaries, and I too was very suspicious at the last poachers we had, they were in a prime spot to scout my house and were in too much of a hurry to leave when they realized I had spotted them to have been innocently lamping foxes or rabbits.

Of course I know they're probably poachers as it's not in the fields they want to lamp it's into the woods adjacent, for deer.

The guards took my phonecall very seriously in light of the current burglaries and advised to ring if it happens again, so they must also think that poachers are very likely to also be scouters.

Exactly why I checked on the torch I saw here. They had walked in as there had been no vehicle passing .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,266 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

F**k off and buy your own patch and lamp on it instead of coming in trespassing on someone else's. The sense of entitlement in some of these hunters thinking they can traipse all over someone else's property without asking permission is beyond belief. How would they like it if I did whatever I wanted in their garden at home??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Sam Kade wrote: »
    They have lovely fur though :) If you were around back in the 70's you'd have got a heart attack snaring and shooting foxes was the norm, £10/fox was the reward.

I remember seeing a fox trapped in a snare in the 1980s around here when I was walking to school one day, it was still there when I was on the way home.

Very cruel practice for someone to take part in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

FISMA. wrote: »
    As a "blood sporter," to use your terminology, I would say it could be either, but usually the later.

I use a Wam caller to lamp foxes. It brings out a similar response as squeaky toys do for dogs.

Squeaky toys replicate the sounds of a stressed/dying small animal to bring out the kill response in your dog. Ever notice how fido bites down harder or shakes a toy when it squeaks? Or, when the toy is discarded when it stops squeaking?

I am no expert on the canidae breeding cycle, but have seen vixen mating calls online that you could use on your iPhone.

As for the trouble foxes can cause. All too often, I get the call that goes something like...

...The fox ran the sheep last night. The stress killed 3 ewes in gestation and they attacked another.

...The fox got into the hen house last night. Killed them all.

Foxes are nocturnal predators that do not kill for mere sustenance. As long as there is motion, like hens flapping wings, they kill. They kill until they are tired of killing. They do not stop when they kill enough to satisfy their hunger, nor that of the cubs in the den.

When they kill in numbers, they will return to the scene in order to cache the surplus food by burial for later use.

When a fox returns to cache, that is usually when meet me. :eek:

As many posters have mentioned, there is a balance to be struck and the lads lamping your drive appear to be complete muppets. If I were you, I would report the matter to the Gardai.

Anyone that understands the natural equilibrium, will often recognize and respect the dominant local fox.

Foxes are intelligent. If left to established equilibrium, a dominant/alpha fox will often establish and keep order in his locale. It's the passers-by and freeloaders that often cause trouble.

Unfortunately, too many lads want to shoot anything that reflects when lamped as opposed to keeping the natural balance.

When balance is achieved, a local alpha fox can be an asset rather than a liability. Foxes can suppress rodent populations and keep rabbits populations in check.

In regards to foxes, all too often it is: the passers-through that cause the problems or an area without an alpha male that has trouble.

Sounds like the situation you have with the idiots with the lamp: they're not locals, just passers-by.

That's my rant Viv!!! :pac:

(ps) Lidl sells cheap game cams occasionally. Get one for the drive so you can get their reg!

Foxes don't chase sheep, they might take newborn lambs but it's usually dogs chasing sheep that cause them to abort their unborn lambs.

I'm not a farmer but I grew up on one where we had sheep so it you're going to defend something at least have the facts right.