Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

People lamping foxes at night !

• 27-01-2017 11:22pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 238 ✭✭

I must warn you before you continue im on a rant

So there has been a speight of robberies around my area over the past few weeks and some d**khead shining a lamp around fields looking for foxes pulls up just below my entrance to the house ... queue everyone up out of bed looking out windows double checking everything's locked ..hearts pounding ya know the usual

How can anyone be so inconsiderate in this day and age ! Lamping isn't hunting nor a sport it's a nuisance to society
    11 o clock Friday night disrupting everyone for nothing if any lampers do happen to fall on this please be more considerate and pull away from occupied houses !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

If people want to have sex with foxes in your garden, thats their business.

Ya nosey bastid! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭DontThankMe

It's a Lampers culture to lamp whenever and where ever they want you can't tell them that they can't lamp it's their culture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Yes, please only use torches during the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

I was lamping one night around 11pm when all of a sudden every curtain in a nearby house was pulled back and heads looking out every window :)

Lamping is usually done by the same people who rob houses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,582 ✭✭✭greasepalm

i left those 2 randy foxes at it in my back garden,think he needed a fag afterwards as was trying to relax on my perspex roof later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭liam7831

**** usually trespassing too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭newacc2015

Vivienne23 wrote: »
    So there has been a speight of robberies around my area over the past few weeks and some d**khead shining a lamp around fields looking for foxes pulls up just below my entrance to the house ... queue everyone up out of bed looking out windows double checking everything's locked ..hearts pounding ya know the usual

So do you really think someone would start robbing a house at 11pm but lighting up the whole street? I thought the point of being a good robber was being discreet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,101 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

I must warn you before you continue im on a rant

How can anyone be so inconsiderate in this day and age ! Lamping isn't hunting nor a sport it's a nuisance to society
    11 o clock Friday night disrupting everyone for nothing if any lampers do happen to fall on this please be more considerate and pull away from occupied houses !

I doubt that the people out lamping have consideration for anything other than killing an animal or seeing what houses are occupied.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭Mouseslayer17

Feckin rednecks,get a few joints into them and they won't care about a poor fox out trying to feed her cubs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 238 ✭✭Vivienne23

Sam Kade wrote: »
    I was lamping one night around 11pm when all of a sudden every curtain in a nearby house was pulled back and heads looking out every window :)

I actually laughed out loud when I read this thank you !

newacc2015 wrote: »
    So do you really think someone would start robbing a house at 11pm but lighting up the whole street? I thought the point of being a good robber was being discreet

Not at 11, maybe a few hours later when it's quiter. What better way to see if a house is occupied than attracting attention.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 165 ✭✭parishsavings

Anyone recommend a good lamp for lamping? Thanks

newacc2015 wrote: »
    The fcukers go lamping usually going near farmyards checking to see what's around and then come back at a later date ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭refusetolose

some people are very easily amused it seems

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

I'm confused.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

Do people lamp foxes? I've only ever heard of lamping rabbits.

It should really be banned or some kind of restriction it's giving anyone free range to scout areas...now I think this was innocent hunting but there is definitely a rogue element to it too , it's the perfect cover

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭Vincent Vega

Unfortunately I think it's just one way to deal with difficult emotions for some percentage of the population.

I worked within a Traveller organisation for a number of years, and whilst I will defend or at least find a way to empathise with many of the difficulties and problems that are widespread within the community, frequent attitudes towards the mistreatment of animals I couldn't find any justification for.

To be honest,I feel it's pretty much a sociopathic tendency, and feel many people take part in it to process their own demons and frustrations, sometimes about the violence and pain inflicted upon them.

It's not hunting done for food.
    Pretty much killing for the thrill of seeing something being killed.

To clarify, yes, people do lamp foxes as well as rabbits.
    It usually involves shining a bright enough lamp to temporarily blind the animal, then allowing a dog to rip it to shreds.

Do people lamp foxes? I've only ever heard of lamping rabbits.
    It depends whatever misfortunate animal comes into the light is a target.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,114 ✭✭✭222233

It should really be banned or some kind of restriction it's giving anyone free range to scout areas...now I think this was innocent hunting but there is definitely a rogue element to it too , it's the perfect cover
    It should be banned. really there is no such thing as ~innocent hunting imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

Shouldn't the shooting of foxes really be banned.

They aren't eaten so it's a complete waste of an animal.

some people are very easily amused it seems
    Explain, what people? amused by what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭FISMA.

Light Force 170.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭Dave_The_Sheep

What the f*ck is lamping when it's at home?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,114 ✭✭✭222233

Absolutely it's a cruel and unnecessary menace. Very unnerving to have strange people out and about in rural Ireland at night.

Around here I think they shoot the fox , also another technique they use is squeak some aeroboard off of the car mirror to make a squeaking noise like a mating call type thing if I'm correct, out comes the fox then shine the light then pop animal dead ! It's a very cruel 'sport'

They have lovely fur though :) If you were around back in the 70's you'd have got a heart attack snaring and shooting foxes was the norm, £10/fox was the reward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,895 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Should do it in the day time

Foxes need to be culled they carry disease but yep it should be done in the daytime somehow humanely if possible and you should have to carry a license to do so !

Around here I think they shoot the fox , also another technique they use is squeak some aeroboard off of the car mirror to make a squeaking noise like a mating call type thing if I'm correct, out comes the fox then shine the light then pop animal dead ! It's a very cruel 'sport'
    My neighbour was dazzling rabbits one night on his outside farm, which was on a neighbouring farm. He had a .22 rifle shooting away, in all fairness a .22 bullet could travel 400 yards, shooting at ground level the bullet could go anywhere especially when he wasn't experienced in using firearms.

What's worse is down around our farm they've killed all the foxes so the place is overrun with rabbits, feckers won't shoot the rabbits through.

Hunting animals at night with powerful lights and guns. Lamp temporarily blinds/stuns the animal so its an easy shot.

It's usually called dazzling, does that ring a bell?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 702 ✭✭✭Xaracatz

Well lad. Ever heard of a the mythical land of Petersons in Dun Laoghaire?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭topmanamillion

Foxes need to be culled they carry disease but yep it should be done in the daytime somehow humanely if possible and you should have to carry a license to do so !

Firstly I like foxes think they are a beautiful creature but there are certain realities too.
    As you say they carry disease but also left uncontrolled their numbers can spiral.
    Which isn't good for foxes (inbreeding and diseased animals left to suffer a slow painful death).
    Its all about responsible ecological controls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 dicey82

Your a plank go find out what your talking about before you try bull**** your way in to a conversation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭Vincent Vega

Xaracatz wrote: »
    Well lad. Ever heard of a the mythical land of Petersons in Dun Laoghaire?

With the 5 year guarantee? Thought that was in Nassau St?

dicey82 wrote: »
    Your a plank go find out what your talking about before you try bull**** your way in to a conversation

So you registered in December to post this first post, keep up the good work.

dicey82 wrote: »

Touch a nerve there blood sporter? I have seen that done with my own 2 eyes although it is probably about 20 years ago , the only part I'm unsure of is if it's a mating call noise similarity or just the squeaking that attracts them , you should try it if your into that type of thing...

You can say you got the tip off a plank on dat t'internet machine

worded wrote: »
    Took 12 Sea otters to make that. They keep dropping the needle finding it difficult to grip with their paws and are notoriously bad sewers ...
    I wonder what Charlie thinks of all this with his climate change preaching and all that, don't do what we do do what we say :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭Dave_The_Sheep

Del2005 wrote: »
    Hunting animals at night with powerful lights and guns. Lamp temporarily blinds/stuns the animal so its an easy shot.

Well, that sounds delightful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭FISMA.

Touch a nerve there blood sporter? ..the only part I'm unsure of is if it's a mating call noise similarity or just the squeaking that attracts them

As a "blood sporter," to use your terminology, I would say it could be either, but usually the later.

I use a Wam caller to lamp foxes. It brings out a similar response as squeaky toys do for dogs.

Squeaky toys replicate the sounds of a stressed/dying small animal to bring out the kill response in your dog. Ever notice how fido bites down harder or shakes a toy when it squeaks? Or, when the toy is discarded when it stops squeaking?

I am no expert on the canidae breeding cycle, but have seen vixen mating calls online that you could use on your iPhone.

As for the trouble foxes can cause. All too often, I get the call that goes something like...

...The fox ran the sheep last night. The stress killed 3 ewes in gestation and they attacked another.

...The fox got into the hen house last night. Killed them all.

Foxes are nocturnal predators that do not kill for mere sustenance. As long as there is motion, like hens flapping wings, they kill. They kill until they are tired of killing. They do not stop when they kill enough to satisfy their hunger, nor that of the cubs in the den.

When they kill in numbers, they will return to the scene in order to cache the surplus food by burial for later use.

When a fox returns to cache, that is usually when meet me. :eek:

As many posters have mentioned, there is a balance to be struck and the lads lamping your drive appear to be complete muppets. If I were you, I would report the matter to the Gardai.

Anyone that understands the natural equilibrium, will often recognize and respect the dominant local fox.

Foxes are intelligent. If left to established equilibrium, a dominant/alpha fox will often establish and keep order in his locale. It's the passers-by and freeloaders that often cause trouble.

Unfortunately, too many lads want to shoot anything that reflects when lamped as opposed to keeping the natural balance.

When balance is achieved, a local alpha fox can be an asset rather than a liability. Foxes can suppress rodent populations and keep rabbits populations in check.

In regards to foxes, all too often it is: the passers-through that cause the problems or an area without an alpha male that has trouble.

Sounds like the situation you have with the idiots with the lamp: they're not locals, just passers-by.

That's my rant Viv!!! :pac:

(ps) Lidl sells cheap game cams occasionally. Get one for the drive so you can get their reg!

Do you think a burglar is gonna park up right outside your house and flute around with a lamp, shining it around the place?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Touch a nerve there blood sporter? I have seen that done with my own 2 eyes although it is probably about 20 years ago , the only part I'm unsure of is if it's a mating call noise similarity or just the squeaking that attracts them , you should try it if your into that type of thing...

You can say you got the tip off a plank on dat t'internet machine

Try avoiding Pork products when you need medical attention. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭worded

Small screen - I thought it read "people laughing at foxes"

Turned out to be not as bad as that, nothing more cruel than laughing at an animal .....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 720 ✭✭✭DrGreenthumb

here is one fox I'd lamp day or night

3.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Lamping is usually done by the same people who rob houses.

Generalize much?

There are restrictions. If you want to ban it, give a good reason for it, not "we were scared".
    222233 wrote: »
    It should be banned. really there is no such thing as ~innocent hunting imo.

What is innocent hunting?
    222233 wrote: »
    Absolutely it's a cruel and unnecessary menace. Very unnerving to have strange people out and about in rural Ireland at night.

Imagine, strange people... what's the world coming to at all.

Do you have any clue at all about hunting, or firearms for that matter? You need a license to carry a firearm.