Lock, Stock and Chitchat a Seacht

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭Sillycave

kowtow wrote: »
    Ah it was simple enough, at one point my BIL & myself had an interest in a technology Company which used to do - mainly financial - video production & broadcast. It was the early days of the Internet and at the weekend they used to use their City of London studio to broadcast stuff which paid properly compared to the FTSE 100 companies.

Obviously someone has to keep the morale of the cameramen up when they are working late on a Saturday and it must have fallen to me that night - I recall it being a weird night because I was in the City office with two big Gun dogs both of whom were supposed to be at the Countryside March the following day. At some point after the show when we were all having a drink and the girls were getting dressed to leave the collar switched from her to one of the dogs with instructions to bring it back to the daughter, which I did.

From there it went to her favourite cuddly toy at the time. She thinks she still has it after several continents and many years, although God knows where it is.

Oddly enough out of all the business people, CEO's, and big celebrities that used that studio I recall those girls as being the easiest to deal with and most polite and good humoured. They were also pretty skilled, presenting a live show from so many different angles, and with absolutely nowhere for the sound engineers to pin a microphone.

Kowtow if you ever write a life book let me know, i'd say it would be an interesting read :D
    Also if you ever write a book/notes on the stock market or starting your business (or creamery) i would say it would be a very eductional read

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,292 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

visatorro wrote: »
    brought the kids up to base prices country there yesterday. serious land up there NCD that is! went to a "farm". seen a few sheep and a donkey! they see a donkey here everyday so I suppose the sheep was a novelty!!!
    went into natural history museum them, I thought this is gonna be a waste of time, they loved it. I hate city centre but would highly recommend any bring the little ones to the museum. its beside the dept of the Taoiseach so you can call into enda with any worries you have aswell!!

Were you at Wooly Wards, Visatorro?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭sonnybill

CHOPS01 wrote: »
    Think there is no doubt that cattle prefer to be out in the open air. Feeding my few bullocks out of the yard and they have free run into a straw bed shed. Gate open out to 3 acres that doesn't have that much cover but have put down fresh straw only 3 times since Xmas.

Yeah I know what you are saying . I have enough silage and feel as though I should be feeding them as it's basically February but they happy out and full .. Making great job of an overgrown area, they wiring into heather/furze / Heath , sedge ! Needs a good grazing badly and they not suffering condition wise...
    If I bring a bale out to them that s the end of the foraging and was thinking suckler cow pre calving nuts but why would I spend money when I have silage and they dosed and bulleted with Allsure

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,621 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,378 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

There was a crash at the end of our lane last night, a car being chased by a squad crashed in to a tree. Place was crazy with emergency services, we went down to see what the story was 4 lads badly injured.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,108 ✭✭✭visatorro

whelan2 wrote: »
    There was a crash at the end of our lane last night, a car being chased by a squad crashed in to a tree. Place was crazy with emergency services, we went down to see what the story was 4 lads badly injured.

Knowing this country guards prob set up a collection for the poor devil's, wrong thread maybe but the sentence handed out to a fella in donegal recently is nothing short of disgraceful. This country is gone to fook from the ground up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,398 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

visatorro wrote: »
    Knowing this country guards prob set up a collection for the poor devil's, wrong thread maybe but the sentence handed out to a fella in donegal recently is nothing short of disgraceful. This country is gone to fook from the ground up.

Not the guards fault on a sentence. The judges should all be shipped to an island and start fresh.

A few years ago, a lad was in court for speeding and dangerous driving for doing serious speed on a back road. The judge agreed to drop the dangerous driving charge as he seemed to be in control of the car. A solicitor said he couldn't do that and the judge dismissed the case for being questioned.

The guy did a burn out in front of the guards who couldn't go after him as it would be harassment.

He was dead within a year and a half from a car crash and lucky he brought no one with him.

Not the guards fault on a sentence. The judges should all be shipped to an island and start fresh.

A few years ago, a lad was in court for speeding and dangerous driving for doing serious speed on a back road. The judge agreed to drop the dangerous driving charge as he seemed to be in control of the car. A solicitor said he couldn't do that and the judge dismissed the case for being questioned.

The guy did a burn out in front of the guards who couldn't go after him as it would be harassment.

He was dead within a year and a half from a car crash and lucky he brought no one with him.
    These werent young lads, must have been 10 squad cars there, fire brigades, 4 ambulances. One of the guards asked me was I filming it :confused: as you have to think of the dignity of the injured- what about those they could have killed with their crazy driving, I wasnt filming anything, wouldnt occur to me at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,108 ✭✭✭visatorro

Not the guards fault I know but after a few years of that craic of lads getting away with ****e they get fed up and don't bother any more. Theres no easy solution. I better go to bed before I lose the head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

Not the guards fault on a sentence. The judges should all be shipped to an island and start fresh

You can't blame the judge in this case either. The DPP downgraded the charge to careless driving causing death following a plea bargain from the accused. The maximum the judge could award is 2years in this case.
    This guy had over 500 previous convictions. He was driving recklessly with no NCT tax or insurance. And ya he was drunk into the bargain.
    Then he absconded to the north after killing an 18 year old. And only took the plea after he was extradited back to the Republic.
    The DPP is responsible for this pathetic display of justice not the guards or the judiciary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,736 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

That case was shocking alright. They should look over to the States for guidance on sentencing. I was over there a while back and a guy got 12 years for killing his girlfriends dog with a hammer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

That case was shocking alright. They should look over to the States for guidance on sentencing. I was over there a while back and a guy got 12 years for killing his girlfriends dog with a hammer.

Is there not a ridiculously high % of them incarcerated for silly things? 3 strikes and you're out sort of thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,821 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Is there not a ridiculously high % of them incarcerated for silly things? 3 strikes and you're out sort of thing.
    Yep that's the system also the US has a huge number of privately owned/operated prisons. I wonder how much commercial interests sway Judges opinion when sentencing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,821 ✭✭✭✭Base price

I was saddened to hear about the passing of John Hurt - RIP.
    I think he was one of those actors that you either loved or loathed. I will forever remember him as "the bird". I think some of us may know a simular character in our neighbourhoods.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,445 ✭✭✭Waffletraktor

pedigree 6 wrote: »

Which part finding more coppers down the back of the couch or capping payments to further prop up unprofitable farms?

I hope he remembers that he is Irish and we (Irish) are in negativity equity vis a vie our fishing rights.

Base price wrote: »
    I hope he remembers that he is Irish and we (Irish) are in negativity equity vis a vie our fishing rights.

Tis the end of Ireland in the EU.

(That's tongue in cheek by the way).
    We're living through history atm whether it'll be good or bad who knows.

Which part finding more coppers down the back of the couch or capping payments to further prop up unprofitable farms?

We better start getting on top of our game and make sure your farm is producing to the max and efficiently.
    No time for slackers anymore.
    Sort the wheat from the chaff.
    The men from the boys.
    The workers from the moaners.

Ok i'll stop now.
    But who says farming was boring.
    Certainly doesn't look boring into the future.
    As the Chinese say "Interesting times".

Went out to check calvers and milkers were out for a jog around the yard.

whelan2 wrote: »
    Went out to check calvers and milkers were out for a jog around the yard.
    It's a pleasant night to go for a jog :D

Am wrecked from being at crash last night. Media reports of crash are alot different than reality.

The devil is in the detail - "If farmers want to get direct subsidies, they need to contribute more to achieve common goals," he told the magazine.
    One wonders what the common goals are :rolleyes:

The payments in there current form are abit of a joke to be fair. I know lad's with vast amounts of mountain that are going to see their payments sky rocket to over 60k by 2019. And some of these lad's carry fcuk all stock. And no fertilizer reseeding housing ration etc etc etc bills to worry about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Grueller

The devil is in the detail - "If farmers want to get direct subsidies, they need to contribute more to achieve common goals," he told the magazine.
    One wonders what the common goals are :rolleyes:

I would interpret that in the context of his recent declaration that payments will have a lot stronger environmental focus in future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭ganmo

TITANIUM. wrote: »
    The payments in there current form are abit of a joke to be fair. I know lad's with vast amounts of mountain that are going to see their payments sky rocket to over 60k by 2019. And some of these lad's carry fcuk all stock. And no fertilizer reseeding housing ration etc etc etc bills to worry about.

We're not getting sfp to buy ration
    We're not getting sfp to build sheds
    We're not getting sfp to buy fertilizer
    We're not getting the sfp to keep stock

So why the bitterness? Do the above not pay for themselves over time? If they don't ya shouldn't do them

We better start getting on top of our game and make sure your farm is producing to the max and efficiently.
    No time for slackers anymore.
    Sort the wheat from the chaff.
    The men from the boys.
    The workers from the moaners.

Ok i'll stop now.
    But who says farming was boring.
    Certainly doesn't look boring into the future.
    As the Chinese say "Interesting times".

Say what ever you like.
    In Europe our costs are gone too high to make a margin on commodity output, the top end high value is the future until the next food shortage or the rest catch up in cost.

ganmo wrote: »
    We're not getting sfp to buy ration
    We're not getting sfp to build sheds
    We're not getting sfp to buy fertilizer
    We're not getting the sfp to keep stock

So why the bitterness? Do the above not pay for themselves over time? If they don't ya shouldn't do them

Oh Lord God. Will you hold your horses and think before you jump right in.
    I was attempting to make the point that in many instances unproductive farms Are rewarded purely on there size. While many productive farms ate being cut because of there stock to acreage ratio.
    The guy with the big mountain can sit on his hole and get paid more and more every year. While the man managing his farm well looking after the place and turning as much stock as he can (thus contributing towards the food demand) will see his payment decrease,

Which one of the above 2 examples do you think is "FARMING".

And since you seem like a very informed man,
    Why in your opinion do we get a SFP?

TITANIUM. wrote: »

I donno, i thought it was livestock farmers getting grants to build housing facilities and slurry stores, grants for handling facilities or shyte spreaders though it would seem some are good at that anyway.
    Be some craic for lads sorting out ineligible stone patches and craic on the side of a mountain though, did plenty of the donkey work with hill sheep it ain't a walk in the park like lowland can be.

I donno, i thought it was livestock farmers getting grants to build housing facilities and slurry stores, grants for handling facilities or shyte spreaders though it would seem some are good at that anyway.
    Be some craic for lads sorting out ineligible stone patches and craic on the side of a mountain though, did plenty of the donkey work with hill sheep it ain't a walk in the park like lowland can be.

Don't worry my friend my land base is fragmented and one of the farms is a hill farm. So believe me I know how hard a hard working hill farm can be. But we're not talking about the lad that actually does work. We're talking about the lad that couldn't be bothered.